Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 982 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 40
Set Bookmark
John Paul
Wed, Dec 4, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Not a good episode but the Essentialists are absolutely right and if I were unlucky enough to live in the 24th century (though it's already pretty unlucky being born in the late 20th UK, rather than the 2nd century BC Rome or 17th century France ) I'd certainly join them.
Set Bookmark
John E Brengman
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

^.^

The high points of this episode really didn't save the episode very much. As ti a cimment made earlier ...

"The "way to eden" is perhaps the only really "reactionary" episode in the history of star trek. whatever the faults of the youth movements in the '60s these were the people who ended the war in vietnam"

Actually nope! Although the youth movement and the entire anti-war element put pressure on the government, in reality, after Tet, the communists had momentum, and that was sealed after the US removed their support for the South Vietnamese military.

" and fought for civil rights."

Not really. Martin Luther King was not part of the youth movement. The youth were more interested in sex, drugs, rock music, stepping off, and dropping out ... of society. More than a few adults in the room did what they could to push the US to get out of Vietnam, and it was adults in the room who pushed civil rights.

However, the anti-modern stance of the episode is kinda interesting. How many people nowdays remember when there was not an Internet? I was at Subway earlier, and I saw a couple, but rather than talking to each other, the guy was engrossed in his smart phone, rather than talking to the girl sitting across from him.

John B.

John B.



They deserved a better treatment. And perhaps the "middle aged", "middle class" people were the demographic target (aren't they allways?) but they were not, in the end, the people who liked and supported star trek.
Set Bookmark
John E Brengman
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

^.^

Couple things ...

1): Spock confirmed the existance of the Beta XII-A colony. The alien could not negate physics, otherwise the ship's phasers would not have destroyed the Klingon ship.

2): actually, McCoy was affected quite quickly. In the turbolift, he started making a racial comment. "What proof do we need? We know what a Klingon is."

John B.
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 4:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I just got out of rehab for heroin and they had the TNG box set there, everyone loved this episode lol
Set Bookmark
JohnG
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

"@Peter G.
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

"I didn't miss Bajor not joining either. In fact I'd call it a feature, not a bug. Putting aside the fact that it would have had to be tossed in as a brief mention, which wouldn't do it justice, there are series-based reasons why I think it would have been bad to have them join on the end of a war."

For some reason, I have in the back of my head that the reason Bajor wasn't in the Federation was their "cast system"

Can anyone else elaborate? .... disprove?"

You are correct that the return to the caste system, implemented by the other "Emissary" was dropped by the end of that episode, when they consulted to the prophets and found out that Sisko was the true Emissary.

The reason Bajor did not join the Federation was that Sisko new that Bajor would be the first target of the Dominion invasion, and likely be destoryed, if they were Federation members.

Remaining independent allowed Bajor to sign the non-aggression pact with the Dominion, keeping it relatively safe while the Federation fought the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
JohnG
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I just rewatched it for the first time in a long time and I didn't hate it like I did the first time.

I always liked the ACTING Grand Nagus" running gag and Worf's comment that it might not be such a bad thing if the Dominion conquered the Ferengi.

I thought the idea of selling women's rights on the idea that they would be great for the economy, as opposed to it being the right thing to do was very clever.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

One of my favorite episodes, yes trelanes castle has 101 inaccuracies in it but it still is great and once again a great job of casting campbell as trelane.
my review--simply smashing!!
Set Bookmark
John P.
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 4:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I truly felt this amounted to a one star episode of Voyager, a uniquely weak instalment of the series. When I first read the preview text, I said out loud, “I bet we’ll hear about targs, bloodwine, p’tahks, qaplah, bat’leth, Stovokor, honor, gagh, and Fek’lehr.”

As though the writers were reading their own Klingon wiki page, we get remarkably little new lore for the fan-favorite race, save that their dead ride a viking ship to an afterlife contained within the walls of a particularly bad miniature of Castle Grayskull.

For the record, I love Klingons. Some of the best hours of late DS9 centered on Worf and Martok and the Empire. I’m also one of those odd people that loves Ferengi; I’m a sucker for any Trek race beyond the standard humanoids with nasal ridges. My issue isn’t that we spent another hour with Klingons.

As many other commenters noted, this episode is derivative. Unlike the reviewer, I have been marathoning these episodes long after they initially aired sequentially along with TNG and DS9. Lazy Klingon tropes, half-baked musings on religion, what amounts to a full-episode dream sequence without even the courtesy of a technobabble explanation, odd character behavior, and unimpressive sets lead me to write my one and only comment so far (I have been a regular reader of these reviews during my marathon).

It’s no secret: Star Trek has never been able to write compelling stories about religion. Pah’wraiths and prophets, giant floating God heads in need of starships, Chakotay’s tech-enabled vision quests, or Tuvok’s bizarre role as ship’s zen master are part and parcel to the series. At best, the franchise leans into the mystery, doubt, and ambiguity of religion (take Sisko’s perspective on the validity of the Prophets to the Bajorans, for instance) . Here, we get a bizarre moral lesson: to barter with Satan for the souls of the damned, attempt a near-suicide.

Unlike Sisko and the Prophets, Janeway has no reason to believe Torres can access the afterlife. When her crewman exhibits sudden belief in Klingon spirituality AND believes herself to have traversed to the world of the damned, Janeway meekly protests and then consents. And so does the Doctor. And everyone else. Yes, Picard and Sisko allowed Worf to pursue certain physical risks in consideration for his cultural values, but Torres demands to engage in a likely death ritual to enter the realm of a magic Hell boat (why she thinks partial death will suffice or how the procedure results in her vision is left frustratingly unclear). Torres needed a counselor; her racial self-loathing having been suddenly transformed into zealous self-harm apparently elicited only minor concern (Jameway was much more worried when Harry Kim had sex that time...). A truly shabby episode.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

One of my favorite episodes, it shows once again the great job of casting the show did,John Colicos is just perfect as kor.Here we have a planet of people who everyone thinks is a primitive , laboratory example of an arrested culture but is in fact millions of years ahead of everyone.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, May 11, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor

Am I tagged in your comment as a dissenter? Coz I agree with you.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Fri, May 10, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Good episode another great job of casting -Montalban is perfect as kahn.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Spock:Im shouting and I dont know why.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Wed, May 1, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Great episode with only one minor nitpick,They shouldnt have shown the reason kirk behavior that early in the show,it would be interesting to string the viewers along as long as they can,thinking that kirk really had lost his mind.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Great episode, there we have two civilizations , they need war but dont like the messiness of it so they come up with a logical solution.BTW Fox's face may not look familiar but his voice should , he did many narrations for documentaries in the 70's.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Great episode as long as you dont take it seriously, time travel show are always a mess of science and logic.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Jammer

So the first line reads "The star rating represents a general summary of my thoughts and feelings overall."

My main comment was simply that your written reviews seem, to me, quite at odds with your star ratings for this series (by and large). Maybe there's a reason for that, maybe it's an overstatement on my part.

That's my opinion. Just like reviews are an opinion..

If you like the show more than I do that's fine but if one reads the text alone I believe you'd probably assume a lower average score.

But let me be clear. I respect your insights, thoughtfulness and integrity. Your reviews are always expertly written and this is hardly a damning indictment of your work!

And yes, admittedly, I'd probably be less inclined to notice (let alone point out) any such discrepancies if my scores on this series more closely followed yours. I mean, you have an average of about 2.75/4 where I'd be closer to 1.5/4. In your words: "Poor" :)
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Nah, I'll back @Bryan and @Mitch.

The reviews of Discovery seem at odds with the star ratings, by and large, and the bar set for other shows reviewed in the past.

But that's Jammer's prerogative.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

The big difference between the effects of The Orville and Discovery is that I’m actually impressed with the effects of the Orville, despite Discovery constantly trying to provide the biggest spectacle.

When I watched that hour long battle in the season 2 finale of Discovery, it was actually giving me a headache. Star Wars prequel level space battles aren’t interesting. They’re mind numbing and boring.

The Orville brilliantly combines real physical model shots with CGI and it looks great. When I saw the sequence of the ship going into the planet’s rings and hiding on a chunk of ice, with the Kaylon ship passing overhead, I actually said “wow” out loud. The sequence had a great sense of scale and awe and you knew what was happening and it looked great.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

One of my favorite and one of the best, Its a shame windom hated his character.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I gotta agree. Paying attention does not make this show more enjoyable. You have to pay as little attention as possible to get any kind of surface level enjoyment from it.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Are we actually supposed to believe this is an acceptable way to write out the spore drive? Was there any evidence that Starfleet didn't plan on implementing it in more ships? We saw in season one that Discovery wasn't the only ship working on a spore drive. Stamets got it to work.

Considering how technological progress happens in humans, when we discover a technology that irrevocably changes our society, we don't just mothball it if it seems a little dangerous. We work the problem until it's fixed.

It's entirely unbelievable that Starfleet would discard all information on this fantastic technology and never try to develop anything like it ever again even though it cuts travel time around the universe down to zero. Humans just don't work that way and technology progresses, it never regresses.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Alan Roi the season is over my dude. You're constantly replying to every negative comment about this show like it's your job.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

These are basically all the thoughts I had while watching the episode. Don’t blame anyone not wanting to read all of this, or just wanting to skim, but I figure it’s best to put everything in one comment rather than spam a bunch.

Well I’ll start with the good. It was cool seeing Starfleet HQ. Future San Francisco looked neat.

Ok, now that that’s out of the way. That’s seriously all the writers could come up? This whole season Alex Kurtzman has been saying that by the end of the season it would explain away all the canon inconsistencies. And their best shot is “everybody kept it a secret”? That made me actually laugh out loud because I wasn’t sure if it was a joke or not. An entire season, tens of millions of dollars spent just to ultimately say “everyone just pinkie promised to not talk about it”? It’s almost impressive what a middle finger that is to the audience.

So it turned out Michael Burnham was the Red Angel all along after all. Kinda makes that whole couple of episodes about her mom pointless. Also, was anyone expecting anything else? It was obvious from the first episode of the season it would turn out to be Michael Burnham, based on nothing else than the fact that the writers love making her the most important person in the universe. And the show treats that moment like it’s a shocking revelation. We were all ahead of the show there right?

Speaking of, I guess Discovery just happens to have the ability to replicate an Iron Man suit? I didn’t even know they had replicators. But they sure built that super advanced time traveling space suit in no time like it was nothing.

The non stop space battling was nauseating. It was full on Star Wars prequel white noise. I’m sure a bunch of animators were underpaid to create all those space battles that I had to close my eyes during because it was giving me a headache. This type of action is mind numbing and frankly, boring. Throwing more stuff at the screen isn’t exciting. For that matter, overly long scenes of people just punching each other isn’t exciting either. All I can think of is how intense and exciting Wrath Of Khan still is, and it was only two ships battling like they were slow moving submarines and not a single punch was thrown between Kirk and Khan.

And during the battle I noticed the Enterprise deployed a bunch of Star Wars repair droids that looked like Skeletor’s hover bots from the old Masters Of The Universe cartoon. Didn’t know they had those.

Admiral Cornwell’s death was ridiculous. So the only way to close the blast door was manually from the inside. Good thing the Enterprise designers created that room to be as dramatically convenient as possible. Why could they not beam her out of the room exactly? Also, this photon torpedo, that had the destructive capability of turning the Enterprise’s saucer section into a crescent shape was held off...by a blast door...is that what we’re being asked to believe? If the door was open, more of the ship would have blown up. But that one singular tiny door was so capable of holding that blast, Pike didn’t even flinch even though he was only a few feet away from it.

Leland wasn’t actually a bad guy right? Am I wrong there? His body was taken over by Skynet, right? It really bothered me how much the show reveled in the sadism of his death...this guy who was really just a victim.

Noticed they couldn’t resist ending another season without a “this is Starfleet” moment.

Security Chief what’s-her-name saying “yum yum”. I cringed out of my skin and now I’m a skeleton.

Didn’t really like Spock monologuing about how Michael Burnham is so great that she’s the reason he is who he is. I can’t believe how much the writers love making her the center of everything. No wonder she has this hero complex. Can’t really blame her. It would have been a missed opportunity not to have a goodbye between them though, so I can’t fully blame them there.

Seeing the bridge crew in the end, with the shots of the Enterprise in space dock was a neat TMP homage. And I appreciate Ethan Peck giving his all in the character, but boy howdy does the full Spock look not look good on him at all. Sad to say it was another laugh moment for me. I felt sorry for him. I also felt sorry for Rebecca Romijn in this. Her wig looked terrible. She herself was great though. I laughed again when she actually gave her name as “Number One”, but I’m sure that was an intentional joke moment.

The ending is intriguing in theory. Taking Discovery to the future frees up the show from a lot of constraints. However, it’s also emblematic of the writing problems in this show. The writers are literally having the show run away from what they think are its problems. They think taking the show out of prequel territory and eliminating all canon inconsistencies will fix the show, but that wasn’t the problem at all. The core problem is the writing style. Style over substance, weak characterization, lightning fast pacing, and boring overextended mystery box plots. Taking the show far into the future won’t fix this show alone. The writers need to fundamentally change how the show is written and structured for it to have a chance of really being good. Otherwise they’re just going to keep wasting tens of millions of dollars on fancy effects coupled with writing on par with bad fan fiction. We’ll see.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 11:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

SPOCK: Interesting. Where would you estimate we belong, Miss Keeler?
EDITH: You? At his side, as if you've always been there and always will. And you? You belong in another place. I don't know where or how. I'll figure it out eventually.
SPOCK: I'll finish with the furnace.
EDITH: Captain. Even when he doesn't say it, he does.
Great episode.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 12:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Very good episode ,forget the hard to swallow solution at the end .Its interesting to note that a year later a movie called 'whats so bad about feeling good' came out starring george peppard and mary tyler moore,which has pretty much the same story line.
Next ►Page 1 of 40
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.