Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 202 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 4:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Whatever it was, I don't think Ira Stephen Behr saw it as a non-event. There was a segment in the DS9 documentary where he brought out a whiteboard and checked off the areas where his series broke new ground. This was on it, and he also lamented not doing more with the show regarding LGBT rights.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 3:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Paralax

"I respect your point. I mean people like different things. Some like animations that are funny and provocative, some like them more sentimental, societal, most western audiences just like Disney fare etc. Saying that there is no audience for something you dislike is a different thing though. And I do feel there is a big audience for the series as it is even if I am not aligned 100% with that, my favorite animated shows being in the vain of "Future boy Conan" (which is an absolute masterpiece)."

Just to be clear, I wasn't saying there was no audience for it. It was a genuine question, in response to someone earlier in the thread telling anyone who dislikes the show that they are not the show's audience.

"Also emotional resonance is something difficult to achieve in such a short timespan and format, especially since we have not seen the entire thing so far. I do feel the series will get to that point progressively but it is an achievement to be won over time rather than an instant gratification. "

Netflix's "Hilda" managed to do it in less than a handful of episodes. I was well and truly won over by the main characters by the 6th episode, and most likely a lot earlier. "Infinity Train" is another example.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Well according to these comments about who the show is for, I should like it. I like animated shows, I like hanging out in the TNG universe, and I'm not too bothered about canon or violence.

What I have noticed is that when people talk about animated shows that Lower Decks is "in the style of" they are never the ones I could appreciate. Largely quip or reference-based, mean people making fun of others, lots of fast-paced physical humor. The animations I like tend to have more emotional cues, subtle observations about society and people, and slow-burn themes or dilemmas that last the episode. I would have thought a Star Trek animated series is better suited to the latter style, but I'm not an executive so what do I know.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I keep hearing this statement "it's not made for you", but I really would like to know who it IS made for? It's too violent for kids and way too immature for adults.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Forget Threshold and STV. This week's episode was the worst Trek I've seen by far. Just unwatchable.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Aug 19, 2020, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

The divine is always unprovable, sorry to say. You can't prove a higher dimension from the point of view of one below it. If we lived in a 2D world we couldn't prove there was a third.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Omicron-

Actually, Jammer took on a fairly daunting task right from the beginning: filing reviews of the hundreds of episodes of Trek already produced while also doing reviews of all the new episodes moving forward. It was a huge job and it took a while, but he did it. So why quit now?

And all he has to is add Lower Decks, and yes the other shows when they come out, to the list of series to click on at the top of the main page. Then, if you are right that he has zero interest in the show (And maybe the future ones), or wants to make some kind of editorial statement about there being too much Trek or something, he can take Booming’s suggestion above and write extremely short reviews, ones that are more overview than opinion (though I think one sentence would be a bit miserly, lol).
This will at least let the readers still have their areas for each individual episode for their own comments.

Hey, once again, my position is actually a compliment: this is a great site for the fans and should remain so. And, to be snarky for a sec, I completely don’t understand that the advent of a period when we’ll be getting all kinds of Trek is in any way a bad thing. And it can be easily manageable to keep covering all that Trek on this great site.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

C’mon, Jammer. You started a Trek review site... one that fans really like... so REVIEW Trek. If you pick the limited ads option, CBS All Access is $5.99 a month. Six dollars. Once a month. Take some credit for getting us all attached to your well-designed and immersive site... but now do your job. Review the new Trek. You don’t have to do 2500 words per episode if animated, humor-oriented Trek isn’t your preferred thing (myself, I’m kind of finding it fun so far). But after each episode you can knock out a fair and even-handed 800 words with no sweat over your morning coffee, then let the rest of us chime in and continue enjoying the site. Do your job. You created this site and you need to keep doing its mission.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Fri, May 15, 2020, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

A moron wrote this episode. Right handed people do not always catch with their right hand. They catch with whichever hand is on the side of the body the object is nearest. In fact, anyone who has spent any time on a baseball diamond will often catch with their non dominant hand when an object is near enough to be easily caught with either.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Wed, Apr 29, 2020, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

How did that “Short Trek” episode about the abandoned Discovery and its computer rescuing and befriending that guy, tie into any of this? I saw the short thing first and said to myself that I just needed to catch up on the regular Discovery episodes to see how the abandoned ship came about. But, no. Unless I’m missing something.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Gerontius
"Anyway, Riker looked pretty good, and it was great seeing him back again. He always struck me as a more likeable version of Kirk, and he retained that. What's a few pounds between friends? "

Riker is much less likeable than Kirk. I doubt I could bear to spend more than a few minutes hanging out with Riker. As a character he comes across as a strongly opinionated alpha male, who must always be "right" and demonstrate his superiority, and gets offended easily.
Set Bookmark
Joel F
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

I didn't mind this episode. The only bit I hated was leaving the guns on the floor. Why didn't they pick up the guns? This really pissed me off. I'm a pretty easy going viewer which explains why I'm not as critical of Voyager as others but leaving the guns was such a stupid error that made no sense at all.
Set Bookmark
Joel F
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

I would assume Starfleet and Earth would be more receptive of these kinds of phenomenon. Strange events that happen on space voyages are documented and presented to Starfleet; Kims story would have some plausibility. Kim could have revealed classified information to prove he was on Voyager and Earth could have benefited from the knowledge of what happened to the ship. The family and friends of those aboard Voyager could have benefited from knowing the crew is alive and well.
Set Bookmark
Joel F
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Recently binge watching voyager on netflix. This episode saw a change of pace from other episodes which I personally welcomed. I loved the screenplay of this epsiode and I loved the way the actors explored their roles. I really believe that this epsiode epitomizes a time and place that I am reminiscent of.

I'm also hoping this is the end of Neelix's boring jealousy saga.
Set Bookmark
Joe C
Wed, Feb 12, 2020, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

One of my least favourite episodes. I can just about re-watch, but only fast by forwarding through the terrible romance scenes.
Set Bookmark
Joe C
Tue, Feb 11, 2020, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Despite not being a classic I’ve always had a soft spot for this episode. Whilst the overall result isn’t great, there are enough individual scenes I enjoy.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

Wasn’t Reg insubordinate by directly assembling the senior staff for that middle-of-the-night meeting? Shouldn’t he have requested it through his direct boss, Geordi? I would think Geordi would have been annoyed by Reg’s actions.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Great episode, subtle and lyrical. But two things bothered me on my re-watch last night: Picard took a little too much time on the planet to figure out what the alien commander was trying to accomplish, and Riker displayed too much simplicity and brutality in his response to the episode’s events. Sure, he’d absolutely be preoccupied with rescuing the captain, but couldn’t he have at least semi-guessed that something important might be going on down on the planet that he maybe shouldn’t interfere with? That maybe a simpleminded focus on the captain’s safety shouldn’t always be his prime focus? The alien captain might have survived without Riker’s failed attempt to beam the captain out. I’m surprised that Captain Picard didn’t criticize him later about that. Still, a top-notch episode.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Thu, Aug 15, 2019, 7:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Great episode, thoughtful and moving. But to engage in a moment of levity for a moment, not only does Data use contractions in the episode (“I’m” and “you’ve”), but he does so immediately after reminding everyone that he can’t. It’s almost like they did it on purpose to be playful or something.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

I wish there was more explanation on how a man can escape from a transporter beam!
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Thu, Aug 8, 2019, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Braka: Your comment about the vagueness of the stun/kill settings on a phaser brings up my own pet peeve, namely the broadness of the self-destruct order. Whenever the computer is asked to initiate a self-destruct countdown, the FIRST thing the computer should respond with is, “Define parameters. Destruct ship only or a defined area surrounding the Enterprise? If the latter, specify surrounding distance.” There are situations where they only want to destroy the ship itself for whatever reason, and situations where they want to initiate a major matter/anti-matter explosion to take a large chunk of space around them with it (like in the deleted scenes of ST:TNG where they consider destroying the ship in order to destroy the huge V’GER structure around them). But they never cover this extra step when doing self-destruct scenes. I guess it would slow down the drama.
Set Bookmark
Joe Langfitt
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

This type of conceptual plot reminds me very much of the Alternate worlds technique that has been used by more than one Science Fiction TV series. It amounts to a kind of cheap trick that points to a "road not taken" type of theme. Success depends on the quality of presentation and emotional buildup and this is enough for some people although to it kind of negates the more philosophical motive of what science fiction is about. This could have been a story about a ship striking an iceburg with all hands lost and it could be judged effective. I would cite one possible fruitful conjecture that was never even presented. If we live in a deterministic universe and if as was presented the copy crew and ship was completely like the original then would not their futures be identical. if you really play it out then there would be the dilemma of matter occupying the same space and time. This is the conveniance of the alternate universe where some sort of difference is assumed.
Set Bookmark
Joe M.
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

This might have worked if the balance between exploring Klingon culture and "honoring" ST VI was drastically shifted. When every single plot beat is the same, that's a rip-off in my book.
Set Bookmark
Joe M.
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

I don't think I'd ever been as invested in a Star Trek series - maybe even a TV series in general - as much as I was in the Dominion War arc up to this point. The morality of the TNG federation was being tested and re-examined in a time of war. A rich cast of characters had to make difficult, sometimes dubious decisions in search of the greater good. And...

...it wasn't enough? Wow! What's going to happen next? Oh. None of it mattered.

It's not a DEM, but that doesn't mean it's a satisfying resolution. I've read interviews with Ira Behr about this episode, and how he felt it was a great climax for Sisko and his relationship with the Prophets. Ok. I don't disagree...but there was so much more going on here than that. I've often wondered if perhaps certain voices in the writer's room had precedence, and their plots and ideas have a higher priority.

I like that DS9 addresses religion and spirituality. I love that it did politics and conflict so well. I'm just so disappointed it couldn't mix the two better than what we got in Sacrifice of Angels and the last two seasons.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Mac

I was thinking that too. I’ve essentially disagreed with every Jammer has been saying on DSC vs The Orville. Very odd. His reviews of TNG are pretty spot on but I’m a little confused on the high praise of DSC vs the heavy criticism of The Orville.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.