Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 219 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Joe
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 6:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I think TOS's issues with sexism reflect the issue of the show's quality overall. It can't live up to the high bar it set for itself in S1. Pointing back at Number One to defend individual episodes is difficult, both because "The Cage" is getting further and further away but also because it only highlights that the show is capable of better.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 2:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

The final goodbye scene is undercut by how little Kirk, Spock, and especially McCoy cared about Miramanee in the previous scene by the obelisk. They didn't spare her a second - nay, a *first* glance - for a good 5 minutes while they dealt with Kirk. Have to get her out of the way so Kirk can remain unfettered.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Fri, Sep 17, 2021, 12:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

I feel like echoing the very first comment here. The uncaring way this episode treats women is a new low for the series imo. 'Space Seed', as uncomfortable as it was, remains infinitely better than 'By Any Other Name'. Even though I'm unsure how involved he was, this one smelled of Roddenberry in all the wrong ways.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Have to agree with Skeptical, on rewatching this was an unexpected episode that made me quite uncomfortable. I think having spent most of my time with Voyager in syndication, it dials back the Doctor's abrasiveness to more tolerable levels. But binged over a month, he really doesn't hold up as well as I remembered.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

This is definitely a four-star episode.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 12:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

*shakes fist at the Vorta*

The B story on occupied DS9 was also perfect.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

One of the best episodes yet! I shed a tear for the Jem'Hadar. The Vorta was brilliantly played.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 10:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Something I'm surprised I didn't see in the discussion for this episode is how directly it pulls from previous material. And not even older ToS stuff, as with Blink of an Eye, but episodes airing in the previous 10 years.

The scene in the conference room where the away team put together their memories felt very similar to TNG's "Schisms", where abducted crew members piece together an operating table on the holodeck.

Obvious parallels to TNG's "Inner Light" have already been noted.

And even in Voyager's own run, "Nemesis" has an extremely similar plot but is in my opinion far more effective in message.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 8:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

This was actually a pretty great episode. Most episodes have an A and a B story; this one had like A through G stories, all relevant to larger arcs, and all woven together nicely. Very nice use of all the characters and cultures.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Mon, Jul 5, 2021, 11:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

This is actually one of my favorite DS9 episodes so far. Four stars!
Set Bookmark
Joel
Tue, May 25, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

The taboo against reconnecting with past intimate relationships didn't seem to make sense to me due to the continued friendship between Dax and Sisko, but come to think of it since Sisko is a human and not a Trill, maybe that's why it's not considered much of a big deal. Sisko will not live as long as a symbiont.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Thu, Mar 18, 2021, 7:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I actually really liked the matte painting. Best Dax episode yet, definitely.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 11:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Hell, when it comes to Tilly, I'm still not sure how there are even fatasses in Starfleet at all, at least among people younger than Admiral age.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 8:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

*claps* Yes, Boomer! Can we finally get over the crazy idea that DS9 somehow represents actual religious or spiritual ideas? At best, the Bajorans are a superpowered-being worship cult. Comparing it and using it to discredit monotheism would be like bringing in Ptolmaic geocentrism to discredit astronomical science.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 8:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

"Divine" versus "divine being" - very different things, to my mind.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 6:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

"So no, a modern materialist will never find "proof" of the divine because his own worldview excludes the possibility of such a priori."

I'm not sure about that. Let's say a materialist was standing before Jesus. And let's say, notwithstanding historical accuracy, that this materialist witnessed numerous miracles performed, systematically breaking each of the laws she thought governed her reality. Matter created from nothing, bodies resurrected, illnesses cured instantaneously. Wouldn't that be enough to say, okay, maybe my worldview wasn't correct after all? Because if not, if there is really no miracle or law of the universe that could be broken to convince the materialist, what are they left with?
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 3:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

@Tomalak
"Joe, wouldn't God or some other divine entity appearing be sufficient proof? Obviously they may not do so, but I think it should be possible to come up with a test for a divine being. "

What makes an entity divine? Let's say it can move back and forward in time, create different material forms, and all sorts of supernatural powers. Are those the criteria on our test? Fine. Yet it still must be limited by virtue of the fact that it is limited to a specific form. Divinity, by my own understanding, does not have that limitation. And perception, being limited to form as its object, is incapable of perceiving the limitless. So if there is any room for proof of a divine being in any kind of test devised for humans to undertake, then I do not see it.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 4:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Whatever it was, I don't think Ira Stephen Behr saw it as a non-event. There was a segment in the DS9 documentary where he brought out a whiteboard and checked off the areas where his series broke new ground. This was on it, and he also lamented not doing more with the show regarding LGBT rights.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 3:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Terminal Provocations

@Paralax

"I respect your point. I mean people like different things. Some like animations that are funny and provocative, some like them more sentimental, societal, most western audiences just like Disney fare etc. Saying that there is no audience for something you dislike is a different thing though. And I do feel there is a big audience for the series as it is even if I am not aligned 100% with that, my favorite animated shows being in the vain of "Future boy Conan" (which is an absolute masterpiece)."

Just to be clear, I wasn't saying there was no audience for it. It was a genuine question, in response to someone earlier in the thread telling anyone who dislikes the show that they are not the show's audience.

"Also emotional resonance is something difficult to achieve in such a short timespan and format, especially since we have not seen the entire thing so far. I do feel the series will get to that point progressively but it is an achievement to be won over time rather than an instant gratification. "

Netflix's "Hilda" managed to do it in less than a handful of episodes. I was well and truly won over by the main characters by the 6th episode, and most likely a lot earlier. "Infinity Train" is another example.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 9:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Terminal Provocations

Well according to these comments about who the show is for, I should like it. I like animated shows, I like hanging out in the TNG universe, and I'm not too bothered about canon or violence.

What I have noticed is that when people talk about animated shows that Lower Decks is "in the style of" they are never the ones I could appreciate. Largely quip or reference-based, mean people making fun of others, lots of fast-paced physical humor. The animations I like tend to have more emotional cues, subtle observations about society and people, and slow-burn themes or dilemmas that last the episode. I would have thought a Star Trek animated series is better suited to the latter style, but I'm not an executive so what do I know.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 6:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Terminal Provocations

I keep hearing this statement "it's not made for you", but I really would like to know who it IS made for? It's too violent for kids and way too immature for adults.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 6:50am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Terminal Provocations

Forget Threshold and STV. This week's episode was the worst Trek I've seen by far. Just unwatchable.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Aug 19, 2020, 9:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

The divine is always unprovable, sorry to say. You can't prove a higher dimension from the point of view of one below it. If we lived in a 2D world we couldn't prove there was a third.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Envoys

Omicron-

Actually, Jammer took on a fairly daunting task right from the beginning: filing reviews of the hundreds of episodes of Trek already produced while also doing reviews of all the new episodes moving forward. It was a huge job and it took a while, but he did it. So why quit now?

And all he has to is add Lower Decks, and yes the other shows when they come out, to the list of series to click on at the top of the main page. Then, if you are right that he has zero interest in the show (And maybe the future ones), or wants to make some kind of editorial statement about there being too much Trek or something, he can take Booming’s suggestion above and write extremely short reviews, ones that are more overview than opinion (though I think one sentence would be a bit miserly, lol).
This will at least let the readers still have their areas for each individual episode for their own comments.

Hey, once again, my position is actually a compliment: this is a great site for the fans and should remain so. And, to be snarky for a sec, I completely don’t understand that the advent of a period when we’ll be getting all kinds of Trek is in any way a bad thing. And it can be easily manageable to keep covering all that Trek on this great site.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Envoys

C’mon, Jammer. You started a Trek review site... one that fans really like... so REVIEW Trek. If you pick the limited ads option, CBS All Access is $5.99 a month. Six dollars. Once a month. Take some credit for getting us all attached to your well-designed and immersive site... but now do your job. Review the new Trek. You don’t have to do 2500 words per episode if animated, humor-oriented Trek isn’t your preferred thing (myself, I’m kind of finding it fun so far). But after each episode you can knock out a fair and even-handed 800 words with no sweat over your morning coffee, then let the rest of us chime in and continue enjoying the site. Do your job. You created this site and you need to keep doing its mission.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.