Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 169 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I would have had Kirk voluntarily relieve himself of command before anyone else even suggested it, as he knew he was rapidly declining in ability. That would have freed him up to seek a cure along with the others affected. It would have also prevented the leaden hearing scene. In the end, though, a watchable episode.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

It would have been interesting to see what Kirk would have done with that society if he wasn’t forced to act because his ship was in danger.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

There should have been a line at the end where Kirk says something like, “Now it’s time to visit all those other infected planets and see what we can do there, now that we have the antidote.” Would have been a nice bit of closure.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Wed, Jun 20, 2018, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Where was Scotty? Why was Engineering relocated to some broom closet sized room off some random corridor? And yes, it was indeed ludicrous that Lazarus was allowed to simply roam around the Enterprise as he saw fit. Lol, strange episode.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

When Picard mentions Pearl Harbor......is he actually insinuating the US declaration of war was wrong? I'm curious.......because if thats the case, then that line has Roddenberry to blame!
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

@Ravenna
You're a simple narrow-minded piece of work. You must be lonely because I suspect NOBODY would tolerate 2 minutes of your inane drivel. Go crawl back under your rock......perhaps there's a roach waiting to marry you......oh wait....that would be too hard on the poor roach!
Set Bookmark
Joe M.
Sat, May 12, 2018, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Okay episode, but just curious— didn’t the Enterprise go to the planet in the first place because another starship had gone there some time before and was never heard from again? Did that plot thread get resolved? I was waiting to hear that the whole computer-run society evolved from the past crashed starship but nothing like that was mentioned.
Set Bookmark
Joe M.
Mon, May 7, 2018, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Good episode, but I wish there was a more detailed explanation about how the visual computer record was altered to show Kirk pushing the jettison button early. How do you alter something like that? Finney certainly didn’t seem to have the know how to do that.
Set Bookmark
JoeyLock
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

I've always loved this episode, despite the magnitude of his actions I think for most of us its probably relatable that if a loved one was killed by a group of people, the majority of us would likely want revenge in that blind anger and hatred so even omnipotent powerful beings in the universe suffer from the same overwhelming emotions we Humans do.

Also I found it quite funny how Picard says "You're free to return to the surface" like Picard could actually do anything to prevent him, I get that Kevin was putting himself in Picard's hands out of a feeling of guilt but had he wanted to return to the surface it's not like Picard could have thrown him in the brig, he could wipe out the Enterprise in one thought.
Set Bookmark
JoeyLock
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

It's interesting despite watching this episode many times before, I never noticed that the plot for the episodes outcome is essentially revealed in the first 10 minutes of the episode with Riker saying "I think he's a plant to draw us into the Neutral Zone. Then we'll look like the aggressors." Also that's probably one of the few times Riker has actually been right about a situation.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

I have to laugh at Damien.......guess you didnt get hired as a screenwriter...smh...you come across as someone who sits in a Starbucks all day using free WiFi.....while trolling patrons and websites...LOL
I thought the episode was fine if you're the NORMAL viewer....it was interesting.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

I've always loved this episode and after reading some of the comments above, peoples hatred of it makes me love it more. I swear so many Star Trek fans totally lack a sense of humour and are anally retentive when it comes to anything that isn't "Pure Trek".

But if some of the fans above are so angrily bitter about this episode being a comedy, their anger just makes me love it more.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

One thing that struck me about this episode was how in the end they sort of justified Maxwell's "shoot first, ask questions later" attitude as you said Jammer, although I understand why they did it so they could start building up the Cardassians as the future enemy but the conclusion seemed to be "Maxwell was right, we may quarrel with how he went about it but he did what had to be done" rather than "This guy was a PTSD and grief stricken man seeking revenge but just happened to be also right about his hunch".

Also Maxwell's insulting Picard by saying it "smells like a bureacrat's office" is essentially the 24th Century of a Conservative moaning about "liberals" holding him back, who try seek peaceful solutions instead of charging into war like he wants to.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

One thing I always found odd in this episode was Kirks immediate attitude toward McGivers, she must have had a pretty shaky Starfleet career before this because Kirk immediately seems irritated by the mere requirement of her presence "Here's a chance for that historian to do something for a change. What's her name? McIvers?" and Spock almost rolling his eyes says "Lieutenant McGivers" after Kirk's already walked out the room, I would assume Kirks had trouble with her in the past, considering she was in her room painting maybe she's got a very "cushy" job where she doesn't have to do much but they require her just in case which Kirk doesn't like.

That may also explain why she seemed to be swept away by Khan so easily, she seems like a civilian who only got given a Starfleet uniform because she had a PhD in History or something just like Lieutenant Carolyn Palamas who was a "archaeology and anthropology officer" and got swept away by Apollo, it's like these extremely undisciplined civilians getting given Starfleet jobs because they have specialist knowledge. They seemed to have these specialist officers into the TNG era too like Whalen in "The Big Goodbye" who comes with them to the holodeck during the Dixon Hill novel, he was never given a rank so I wonder whether he really was a officer or just a civilian historian travelling onboard, so maybe McGivers and Palamas were given Starfleet uniforms and ranks as sort of "ceremonial" roles sort of like how initially Troi was given a high rank despite simply being a counselor instead of a command or specialist officer. (Sure you can say counselling is a specialist thing but how many times did you hear "Counselor quick, we need your counseling skill or the ship will blow up!"?)
Set Bookmark
Joe
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Is it bad that I've seen Episode VII and have no idea who Snoke is? It makes me think I shouldn't bother with VIII.
Set Bookmark
JoeyLock
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

I always found the Starfleet view in this episode of "We can't just shoot them, it's not fair if we know their plan!" as being incredibly flawed and probably the reason why they're failing so miserably at the war at this point, the idea of "fair play" doesn't work well in war especially against an enemy like the Dominion who barely values your race as worthy of life. Something I would have loved to have heard Garak say to Nog and O'Brien was the immortal words of Gul Dukat "Oh now don't go spouting off your holier-than-thou Federation fair play dogma".

I mean whats the point of Starfleet Intelligence existing if they don't want to use "intelligence" to outwit the enemy? Put it into a historical perspective, when the Allies broke the German Enigma code during WWII they could study their transmissions and knew of their plans before they happened, which is a credit to why they managed to eventually win the war and prevent Europe from becoming a fascist dystopia that the Federation would become if the Dominion wins. Now imagine if some peoples personal moral view overided logic and we decided "Nah using the intelligence we gathered from breaking German codes is too "easy", it's not a fair fight. We should march onto the battlefield and meet the Nazis face to face and have a jolly old punchup like men!" we'd have lost the war within the first few years and millions would have been slaughtered in camps and massacres.

The same applies here, the Dominion is the biggest threat to Humanity in probably the history of Humanity itself, they have the Cardassian "Space Nazis" on their side and their main fighting force, The Jem'Hadar are brutal, efficient killing machines in a very literal sense, programmed to follow whatever orders they're given and that's that. These are the same group of people who have already destroyed hundreds of Starfleet vessels containing thousands of personnel and within Dominion territory itself, have slaughtered likely billions of people over the years as well as performing chemical warfare (The Blight) against civilian populations, yet we feel sorry for this squad of Jem'Hadar because their "leader" double crossed them by given Sisko their plan of attack?

This is what happens when Human Starfleet personnel "humanise" their enemy in every sense of the word, they're not Humans, they don't share our morals they don't share our view they don't even share much likeness to us or our culture. I'm not saying "slaughter every Jem'Hadar! They're not worthy of life!" or anything like that at all, I'm simply saying don't anthropomorphise them, they're not like us and as Lieutenant Neeley said "They wouldn't hesitate if the situation was reversed". There are times in war when people feel sympathy for the other side yes, this is not one of those times especially when being outnumbered 2 to 1.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

The only thing about this episode that irks me is probably the ending, I mean don't get me wrong its a brilliant scene, it's just the audacity of a countless innocents-murdering terrorist questioning the morality of Odo.

I mean we hear throughout the series about the Shakaar Resistance's "exploits" during the Occupation and especially later on in "The Darkness and the Light" (Which is an utterly brilliant episode in my view) that during one instance Kira and her terrorist buddies vaporised 12 Cardassians including Gul Pareks entire family (ergo innocents as I can't imagine his children or wife went around executing Bajorans) and crippled 23 others including Silarin Prin himself who was simply a servant who cleaned uniforms. Sure Kira defends her actions by "You didn't belong there!" but that doesn't justify her slaughter nor does it justify having the gall and the audacity to question Odo's moral stance. I know that Odo loves Kira and felt very guilty so thats likely why he didn't retort but if it were someone else they'd have likely said "You have the audacity to question my morality? You're a f**king terrorist! You blew up Cardassians for sport, innocent or otherwise yet you have the gall to moan at me? F**k off out of my office!"

Yes I got a little carried away but it's certainly even worse when you consider "Necessary Evil" where Kira lied to Odo for years and only admitted it AFTER Odo figured it out, don't throw stones in glass houses Kira.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Nov 30, 2017, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Love the write-up and I agree about the emotional angle having something to it. What bothered me about this episode was the final scene, where Worf meets Alexander in the Holodeck and basically tells him he doesn't have to practice. They walk out together. Credits roll. The problem, though, is, as a father, I would have liked to see at least some emotion from Worf. Maybe hint that, instead of Batleth training, they're going to do something together than Alexander wants to do. Instead, it plays like Alexander has FINALLY committed to doing what Worf wants and, instead, Worf's like, "Nah, never mind."
Set Bookmark
JoeyLock
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

The thing that bothered me about this episode was just a hint of hypocrisy.

I like the episode, I always enjoy two parter storyline episodes in all the different series but one thing that irritated me about this episode was the crews response to the Devidians.

Now I in no way want the Devidians to be "feeding" on Humans but earlier at the start of this season we had "Silicon Avatar" where the Crystalline Entity was "feeding" on thousands of people and entire colonies, I took the side of Dr. Marr who wanted to stop the Crystalline Entity in its path because it was clearly destructive and extremely dangerous, however the crew got extremely pissy at Dr. Marr for wanting to stop/destroy the Crystalline Entity because in Picards words "Doctor, the sperm whale on Earth devours millions of cuttlefish as it roams the oceans. It is not evil, it is feeding!" and then when Dr. Marr logically says "That would be small comfort for those who have died to feed it." Picard then retorts "I would argue that the Crystalline Entity has as much right to be here as we do."

Now, in this episode we have beings "feeding" on Human neural energy yet the crew are adament to stop them before its too late, the basic premise is the same as you have a being that is feeding on other beings and killing people yet when its a big giant snowflake in space they're alright with it, when its a sentient being that talks their language they're all pissy wanting to stop them and not let them get away with it. Interesting morality these Starfleet personnel seem to have, essentially their mentality seems to be "It's alright as long as its not happening to me".
Set Bookmark
JoeyLock
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I've seen a fair amount of anger toward the moral commentary of the episode, especially from Trek feminists who believe its just "victim shaming" and obviously a "evil man violating a poor innocent woman" despite the whole evidence pointing to Kovin's innocence.

I think its interesting to explore the other side, the side of false rape/abuse accusations that do happen more often than people realise or are told about. However rather than blaming Seven, the victim, I would blame The Doctor as he does himself.

In my view the Doctors actions in this episode are analogous to a court case with a fervant lawyer or legal adviser of some sort. I've heard of cases before where people who believe they may possibly have been a victim of abuse but can't really be sure or remember will seek advise or help and if a lawyer decides to take the case as they see it as an "easy win" case with a big payout in court they'll try persuade the victim that the crime 100% did take place and that they need to punish the suspect to help the victim feel better. This is essentially what The Doctor did, I feel he let his affection for Seven cloud his judgement as we can see from his dialogue he continually insisted to Seven various possibilities and ardently defended her in front of the crew leading Tuvok to even notice that he had essentially already made up his mind that Kovin was guilty before any evidence had been found.

This "egging on" from the Doctor lead Seven herself to feel more secure that she had "support" for her memories and then when the Doctor realised he'd jumped the gun and admitted he was unsure, Seven felt like a victim again, being told she was wrong and in her words "The Doctor told me I would feel better when Kovin gets what he deserves. I want him to be punished. I won't settle for anything less." to me its analogous to a plaintiff being told by their legal advisers that they were definitely a victim and they'd feel good once they punished their alleged attacker only for the case to turn against them when the other side provides proof of the defendants innocence or at least "evidence to the contrary" that damages the plaintiffs case, which in turn causes the plaintiff to suddenly become more resolute and steadfast in what they were told was the truth despite previously doubting themselves in the beginning, its like a psychological self-defence mechanism of sorts.

Unfortunately Kovin was one of those cases where the accused was essentially hounded, persecuted and harassed into what is analogous to committing suicide. I quite like that they made the Doctor realise his mistake rather than just end the episode where everyone feels bad and nothing comes of it.

It may be outspoken to say but given the wave of Feminism and "social justice" in recent years, I can't imagine anything like this would appear on Star Trek Discovery unless Kovin was 100% guilty and it was more of a cut and dry "man vs woman" rape metaphor rather than a good ambiguous possible false accusation story this episode was.
Set Bookmark
JOEY L
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I saw both episodes. And they suck donkey balls. All it was ''boom boom boom boom''. OMG, what happened to character development? Or some dialogue? I guess my Trek is dead. At least I have my TOS, TNG, DSP, VOY and ENT to watch. DSC is dead to me
Set Bookmark
Joe
Fri, Sep 8, 2017, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

You bunch of cranky old moaners! I quite enjoyed this episode and I think it would be a good one to watch with the kids (other than the sexual undertones in a scene or two).
Set Bookmark
Joe
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I must say, Malcolm's dreams about T'Pol are a lot more family friendly than mine are.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

The outcome of Flox and Archer's decision is probably worse than a quiet decline of the dominant race. In all likelihood, the result of the Menk's growing intelligence and perhaps developing technology of their own would be war between the two species and who knows what atrocities.

However.... this doesn't mean I wouldn't have made the same choice. You can't just fly from planet to planet giving warp technology to every species that asks for it. The result would be a galaxy teeming with cultures in posession of this new power, who lack the sophistication to use it responsibly. The Vulcans had a bloody good reason for carefully shepherding humanity through the transition to being a warp-capable society.

In fact, this episode is painfully prescient to me, as a European, who has seen my country and others in our union fling our borders open to the third world and the middle east, thus attracting whole nations of people who are utterly unequipped to benefit the modern society they arrive in.

Sorry to get political, but warp technology (like 21st century western civilization on Earth) is damned hard earned and must be fiercely guarded, lest the whole galaxy be reduced to the level of the lowest common denominator.

On a lighter note: It was a good episode. Flox's love affair was a bit awkward, but Archer/Bakula came into his own here. I even got a tingle during his play god speech.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Best line of the show, "Ugh... You again..." (Ryan to Mayweather)

Quite an interesting episode. Archer gets to play the big spuds with his flashy new NX boat, up against the Norsicans. He should at least have had that beer with Captain Keene after all the kerfuffle.

Especially loving the ever more sardonic T'Pol, whose dryly mocking condescension is often as delicious as her catsuit.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.