Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 157 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Jim Witte
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

> By the 24th century, we could surely have a wheelchair which can go over obstacles

Heck, it's the twenty-*first* century, and we *already* have the technology to make wheelchairs that can go over (simple) obstacles. I don't know if anyone is making a wheelchair with such, but they could.)
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

My first comment on here. Discovery took 4 or 5 episodes to get me in to it (and I really enjoyed it, apart from Michael) and it's taken 5 in Picard for something to actually happen.

So far, it feels like the writers have just played mass effect 2, storyline pretty much identical. Build a team, go to a nightclub ruled by a powerful woman, negotiate a deal, now to save the galaxy.

It's not terrible, but I think the major problem is some scenes are rushed, or not enough information given, or characters are used to explain things to the audience. All this is because after adverts, intro and flashbacks each episode is about 35 minutes long. 50 mins would allow much more freedom.

I've not really warmer to any of the characters. Picard's voice has lost its gravitas and his stature. Ryan is definitely the best thing to happen so far. Picking up something that someone mentioned above, a series around seven would have worked better, with cameos from Picard, Janeway etc would have made a better series.

Each episode so far 2/4, none have stood out.
Set Bookmark
JIm
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Jake should use the Orb of Time to visit his ancestors smoking weed and playing bass in a Rastafarian band. LOL
Set Bookmark
JIm
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 3:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

There is no way Worf would abandon his post and leave no one in control of the station even as it was about to explode. There are numerous civilian ships that are lightly armored in the area and if there is a huge explosion on DS9 there must be someone there in Ops to attempt to protect them or at least steer the burning wreckage of the station away from a city if it come crashing down to Bajor.

Worf is the executive officer of DS9 and in charge of operations. There is no way he is leaving his post. Perhaps this again shows how the writers have little understanding of military traditions.
Set Bookmark
Jim Smith
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Watching this for the second time, I genuinely felt a twinge of anger. Because clearly it's possible to write a decent Trek series these days. This opening episode proves it. So how come Discovery's first two seasons were so utterly *wretched* in the main?

I loved nearly everything about this opener. I loved the continuity nods. I loved the supporting cast and their characters. I loved the visuals of space and Earth. And most of all, I loved Patrick Stewart and Picard. Boy have I missed them. His shredding of the news interviewer was pitch-perfect. And speaking not pitch-perfect, Brent Spiner still has that Data voice nailed. Yeah, he's aged some. But we're seeing him in dreams, so it's easy to imagine him looking slightly 'off'.

The episode pacing was good, slow and contemplative when it needed to be before ramping up the speed and the tension when Dahj and Picard are attacked. I thought that it was going to feel a bit rushed, especially with the last couple of minutes being devoted to a teaser for the season ahead. But it felt pretty good to me in the end.

Biggest problem? Want more! :-)
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

I remember this one as silly, and too immediately thought of TNG "Where No One Has Gone Before". Which - thinking back on it - begs the obvious question - why the $#%@ didn't O'Brien mention exactly that episode when he was aboard the Enterprise as "something strange like this happened on the Enterprise (you know, back at the beginning when we encountered a new spatial anomaly every month or so.)"

Another episode they could have hooked it up to was "Allegiance" - perhaps making "Bokai" be one of the same aliens who showed up. (Or probably a different one of the same species. I assume the one/two in Allegiance learned their lesson)

Or both - the "Allegiance" aliens could be from the what/where/when-ever from "Where No One Has Gone Before".
Set Bookmark
Jim
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

I've been watching the series for the first time. Jammer's Reviews and the comments are terrific. Keep commenting Brian!
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me simply the best Star Trek episode ever written! Excellent acting all around. Captivating and riveting dialogue. Not one punch thrown, not one phaser fired, not one explosion. The current people working on Star Trek could learn a lot from this episode. 4/4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jim Seigler
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Just rewatched this.
Interesting how they called "evil Kirk" an imposter.
He was a part of Kirk, not a fake version.
I recall reading the novelization of all 1st season episodes, and in that, Spock actually noted that "evilKirk" is just as much Captain Kirk as "goodKirk", or that goodKirk was just as much imposter as evilKirk, point being, that neither goodKirk nor evilKirk were the real James Kirk; both had equal claims, and yet while separate, neither was the real artifact.
Anyway, interesting the novelizations.
Set Bookmark
JimwZDP
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

I just discovered this site, as I’ve been binge watching the Star Trek episodes on Netflix. The reviews and comments are insightful, on point an humorous when need be.

Which is why I have to disagree with the score on this. It has the funniest and most truthful statement in that whole series. And yes, I know everybody loves “The Doctor”. But I find him to be the most obnoxiously overbearing pedantic boor on the entire show. And yes, Robert Picardo is a fine actor who plays that character well. But this exchange is classi
CHAKOTAY: I've been reading a report from the Doctor. You didn't show up today.
PARIS: I was a little busy this morning. Saving someone's life, as I recall.
CHAKOTAY: Is there something wrong, Tom? Anything bothering you?
PARIS: Nothing is wrong. Since when is not wanting to spend time with the Doctor a capital offence? You'd have to throw the whole crew in the brig for that one.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I can't and never will consider Discovery as ANY part of classic Star Trek canon. Probably not the Picard show,Or the Section 31 show either.I don't care what CBS or the show-runners say. Discovery is just too aesthetically and tonality different for me to reconcile it with classic Trek. They have just taken wayyyy too many liberties with aesthetics and canon. The ridiculous things for me that will never fit in for instance the R2-D2 like droids on the Enterprise hull or the Red Angel Iron Man suit . They are not era appropriate. For me these and the terrible (IMO) writing and unlikable characters are just insulting, laughable and cringe worthy . But if people like it that's absolutely fine. Everyone is different and has different opinions and tastes. I totally get it I just can't bring myself to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Quincy......

You can get your point across, if you have one, without the language.

This is a forum for discussion and points can be made without fuc*ing
this and fuc*ing that.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Well it had to happen sooner or later I suppose.

Tonight was The Orville takes on the Star Wars universe with a little
bit of the usual Star Trek baggage that the show has for good measure.

We even get Alara back for a couple of scenes and if I am not mistaken a snatch
of music from either Alien or Aliens when the crew enter the Orville at the
bottom of the ocean.

It is quite the mismash going on here and much to my surprise, it all works and
works quite well.

I was engaged from the moment the ep started right up to the end even tho the
end was not a surprise, the ride there was just one of those things that one can
watch with a smile on the face and enjoy the silliness as it unfolds.

Good way to end the season and hope to see season III.

4 stars for me on this one.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Every week I tune into The Orville and ask myself "What TNG rehash am I going to
see this week?"

Truth be told, I do not mind most of it. The Orville is the closest thing to what I call
Star Trek, to what I grew up with being Star Trek and is just enough far away from
Star Trek to allow me to enjoy this universe that The Orville exists in.

Its hard for me to place this show. On some levels I hate it and on some others
I really enjoy it but for what it is worth, it keeps me coming back for more and
that I guess is enough for it to make it work for me.

This time around we get "Second Chances".

This time around, instead of a transporter accident we get a gravity wave.

This time around we get old relationships that seem to have come and gone
but are suddenly renewed when one party gets the chance to make up for the
mistakes that ended it in the first place.

TNG handled this material better IMHO.

In TNG, Riker be he the Riker we know or the RIker that has had his wheels
spinning are pretty much the same Riker. Here the Kelly that is and the Kelly
that was come off as two different people.

One is a Commander and in charge of her life and the other comes off like a
confused child who likes to party and "dreams" of being a Captain and being
married and having people like her and berates her older self for not having
done those things.

Seven years, if this is your career track is not that great a period of time and
I would have expected younger Kelly and older Kelly to be more in tune with
the younger one having more of the rough edges.

Think Commander Shelby and Riker in TNG:TBOBW and you get an idea of
what should have been happening here.

And Mercer comes off like a complete jerk here IMHO. He could not handle the
fact that Kelly moved on, so much so that he ended up being jealous and even
stalked her a bit jumps at the chance to "try" again and is put off by loud music
while the rest of the crew gets their freak on.....

Again, TNG did this and did so in a much more convincing way.

2 stars for me.

This show is following the TNG track as far as eps go.

In TNG, the first season is total garbage with one or two standouts.

Season 2 got better but still had rough edges.

Season 3 is where it took off and became what it would become.

If The Orville gets a third season, I expect that pattern to continue as
the bugs will finally have been worked out.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I just rewatched the end of it. The thing that *really* bothered me was when Janeway said in her closing log that it she was going to destroy it. (Though I suppose maybe she just meant "it will now be locked away in the computer's coldest cold-storage, encrypted with post-quantum-ring-learning-with-errors-to-the-thousanth-power, then transferred to a holocube and placed in an air-and-subspace-gapped vault until Section 31 pulls it out..)

If indeed Seven's Magic-Chamber-Of-MacGuffin-Balls indeed worked (it wasn't a fluke), then Janeway destroyed the best way to *neutralize* Omega in the future. The mission itself showed that other races could indeed create it - which is why the directive existed in the first place. Classify the information at the highest levels, certainly. But don't destroy it. I'm guessing the NSA/CIA/GCHQ/etc have done exactly this with nuclear EMP technology.

To do what the Omega Directive said (destroy it *and* all information) would have been like if (during the Cold War), the US had made some discovery about the danger of nuclear weapons before the USSR - but we knew that the USSR knew about it as well.

And then the US just threw up it's collective hands and said - "yeah, we know the USSR has this weapon that can destroy the world - but this is just too dangerous, so we're going to stop *all* research, and destroy it for good measure. Sayonara I guess if the USSR decides to destroy the world!"

Or for an example (maybe) a bit more relevant to today:

Us saying that nuclear power is too dangerous because of the waste problem, so we shut down *everything* - including research into fourth-generation nuclear that might provide a safer and better way to do it. (liquid sodium fluoride, pebble bed reactors, etc. that *cannot* melt down).

Even though other countries already can do the "too dangerous nuclear technology" themselves. And we don't do the research (and then give/license/sell it to others). Not to mention that *that* (fourth generation nuclear reactor technology) may be (at least part) of the only way to generate nearly enough electrical energy (*) to run everything we do now *and* the 99.8% of current non-electric cars that would have to be replaced (**)

(*) In combination with wind, solar, hydroelectric, tidal, geothermal - including perhaps deep-sea geothermal outfits above the Mid Atlantic Ridge:

See "Hawaii is chasing 100% renewable energy — with active volcanoes" (2015) [https://www.businessinsider.com/hawaii-volcanoes-first-100-percent-renewable-energy-state-us-2015-7]

(**) "There are more than 2 million electric vehicles on the road around the world" (2017) [https://arstechnica.com/cars/2017/06/there-are-more-than-2-million-electric-vehicles-on-the-road-around-the-world/]:

"Although more than 2 million EVs now travel the world’s roads, they only make up 0.2 percent of the total light-duty passenger vehicle share around the world." [And that's not counting the trucks or other things.]
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

I don't understand all the fuss about the end of the episode. Hedford is basically the same as an organ donor today. She finds happiness with Cockrane.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 8:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Trent: Well said. I agree with what you said here.
Set Bookmark
JIm1701
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Easily the worst episode of the second season if not the entire show.

Nothing to see here than a plot that one can easily stay one step ahead of with
some high school antics thrown in for good measure.

1 star and that is being generous.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Really liked the ep!

Finally The Orville got my attention and I stopped thinking about what Star Trek
they were doing this week and was able to enjoy it for what it was.

The references to BOBW are IMHO, Monday Morning Quarterback stuff after one has time to think about it.

While I was in the moment, I was entertained and I was on edge and looking forward to what came next.

If this is indeed a "Riker Beard" ep and I hope that it is before knowing if the second part of this ep will be as satisfying then The Orville is indeed the Star Trek
I have been waiting for since the early 2000's.....

If this is a fake out however and it turns out to be a "simulation", a "test" or some other nonsense, then I will have to rethink it all.
Set Bookmark
Jim Hanson
Tue, Apr 10, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

i agree there are continuity issues BUT watch q who and specifically guinan--guinan's quizzical and "there's more going on here/something is off" looks add some depth to the multi-time line arguments.
Set Bookmark
Jim Sondergeld
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

One track at a time....

1) Lursa and B'Etor are jaw-droppingly incompetent at corruption. How they could believe that the two individuals to try and bribe/seduce, respectively, over to their side were Picard (in Part I) and Worf beggars belief. If they were truly that stupid, it's no wonder Sela was so contemptuous of them. Ditto their belief the Toral could have served as their figurehead on the Klingon High Council, given that they themselves beamed out and abandoned him after their forces had lost.

2) The writers pretty much had to use Denise Crosby in the Sela role. Nobody else could have conveyed the consequences of Picard sending Tasha Yar to the Enterprise-C in the closed Federation-Klingon war timeline. She had a nice three episode arc (beginning in "Mind's Eye") and was an effective, if conventional, Romulan antagonist. Though her capitulation after Data's exposure of her fleet did seem awfully belated, as though written that way to conform to the episode's time constraints. And I never did understand how her failure here wasn't punished, such that she was able to fail again even more spectacularly in "Unification" several episodes later.

3) Hobson could have been written with more depth - as less of a "wrong-headed jackass" - given that the point he makes to Data when requesting his transfer about androids not being suited to starship command did have some validity. Is that not the seed of franchises like "Terminator" and "The Matrix" and even the TOS episode "The Ultimate Computer"? The fear of artificial intelligences taking over? The reason, of course, why Hobson wasn't written this way was because this story thread wasn't about Hobson, it was about Data. And it worked as written, particularly Data's initiative in exposing Sela's fleet being acknowledged by Hobson after the fact by acknowledging the android as "captain".

I didn't think much of Worf sparing Toral's life in the final scene (I seem to recall the latter reappearing on a later TNG episode or an episode of DS9 to attack Worf, illustrating Kahless's parable about never leaving live enemies behind you on the battlefield) and his justification - not punishing the son for the sins of his father and grandfather as a parallel to the unjust discommendation he endured for his own father's alleged crime at Khitomer - made no sense because Mogh was framed for that BY the Duras, whereas Toral was complicit in it. I also questioned how Worf could just abruptly blow off his duties and responsibilities with/to the Klingon Defense Force and return to Starfleet, especially after having insulted Chancellor Gowron by leaving a potential enemy to his rule alive. I attribute that to the episode's time constraints as well.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I don't understand anything the producers/showrunners are doing with Discovery.

Making the show a prequel makes little sense to me. They want to set the show in the cage era and insist its prime timeline. But nothing matches up at all. All the previous treks at least tried to make it all seem like the same universe just different eras. Like respecting the visuals and story. If they don't want the show to look like the TOS era because it looks too "primitive" for modern audiences, which I understand they really should've set it post-Voyager/Nemesis. All they would need to do is make some adjustments. Set the show several hundred years in Voyager/nemesis's future They could still have a faction of radical Klingons who are opposed to federation ideals. Instead of Sarek, just have another prominent Vulcan. Plus all the technology would make perfect sense because its in the future. People would expect technological advances. But setting the show pre-TOS era makes me feel like discovery is really not prime timeline but a different timeline having nothing to do with previous trek shows.

Also I don't understand why they have to re-imagine everything in trek now. I've heard there are licensing issues but doesn't CBS own the rights to the Star Trek prime designs? I was under the impression they only had to change the designs/iconography for the movies.
Set Bookmark
Jim Witte
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I just saw this and the first thing I thought was, "what, they don't have heart/lung machines in the 24th century?" Or for that matter, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation - research on that apparently was in 1956. I was also surprised that the Doctor basically banned Kes from the sickbay "except for visiting hours" - given that he should know (from his encyclopedic knowledge if nothing else) that Neelix's psychological health was going to get frayed, to say the least.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

@Scotty: ... not to mention Data standing downrange while Geordi fired the rifle. I also saw Geordi open fire without looking up to see where Data was.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 11:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

I don't understand this. They want to conquer our galaxy but are headed back home ? Thanks..new to Star Trek Original series
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.