Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 151 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Jim
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

I've been watching the series for the first time. Jammer's Reviews and the comments are terrific. Keep commenting Brian!
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me simply the best Star Trek episode ever written! Excellent acting all around. Captivating and riveting dialogue. Not one punch thrown, not one phaser fired, not one explosion. The current people working on Star Trek could learn a lot from this episode. 4/4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jim Seigler
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Just rewatched this.
Interesting how they called "evil Kirk" an imposter.
He was a part of Kirk, not a fake version.
I recall reading the novelization of all 1st season episodes, and in that, Spock actually noted that "evilKirk" is just as much Captain Kirk as "goodKirk", or that goodKirk was just as much imposter as evilKirk, point being, that neither goodKirk nor evilKirk were the real James Kirk; both had equal claims, and yet while separate, neither was the real artifact.
Anyway, interesting the novelizations.
Set Bookmark
JimwZDP
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

I just discovered this site, as I’ve been binge watching the Star Trek episodes on Netflix. The reviews and comments are insightful, on point an humorous when need be.

Which is why I have to disagree with the score on this. It has the funniest and most truthful statement in that whole series. And yes, I know everybody loves “The Doctor”. But I find him to be the most obnoxiously overbearing pedantic boor on the entire show. And yes, Robert Picardo is a fine actor who plays that character well. But this exchange is classi
CHAKOTAY: I've been reading a report from the Doctor. You didn't show up today.
PARIS: I was a little busy this morning. Saving someone's life, as I recall.
CHAKOTAY: Is there something wrong, Tom? Anything bothering you?
PARIS: Nothing is wrong. Since when is not wanting to spend time with the Doctor a capital offence? You'd have to throw the whole crew in the brig for that one.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I can't and never will consider Discovery as ANY part of classic Star Trek canon. Probably not the Picard show,Or the Section 31 show either.I don't care what CBS or the show-runners say. Discovery is just too aesthetically and tonality different for me to reconcile it with classic Trek. They have just taken wayyyy too many liberties with aesthetics and canon. The ridiculous things for me that will never fit in for instance the R2-D2 like droids on the Enterprise hull or the Red Angel Iron Man suit . They are not era appropriate. For me these and the terrible (IMO) writing and unlikable characters are just insulting, laughable and cringe worthy . But if people like it that's absolutely fine. Everyone is different and has different opinions and tastes. I totally get it I just can't bring myself to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Quincy......

You can get your point across, if you have one, without the language.

This is a forum for discussion and points can be made without fuc*ing
this and fuc*ing that.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Well it had to happen sooner or later I suppose.

Tonight was The Orville takes on the Star Wars universe with a little
bit of the usual Star Trek baggage that the show has for good measure.

We even get Alara back for a couple of scenes and if I am not mistaken a snatch
of music from either Alien or Aliens when the crew enter the Orville at the
bottom of the ocean.

It is quite the mismash going on here and much to my surprise, it all works and
works quite well.

I was engaged from the moment the ep started right up to the end even tho the
end was not a surprise, the ride there was just one of those things that one can
watch with a smile on the face and enjoy the silliness as it unfolds.

Good way to end the season and hope to see season III.

4 stars for me on this one.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Every week I tune into The Orville and ask myself "What TNG rehash am I going to
see this week?"

Truth be told, I do not mind most of it. The Orville is the closest thing to what I call
Star Trek, to what I grew up with being Star Trek and is just enough far away from
Star Trek to allow me to enjoy this universe that The Orville exists in.

Its hard for me to place this show. On some levels I hate it and on some others
I really enjoy it but for what it is worth, it keeps me coming back for more and
that I guess is enough for it to make it work for me.

This time around we get "Second Chances".

This time around, instead of a transporter accident we get a gravity wave.

This time around we get old relationships that seem to have come and gone
but are suddenly renewed when one party gets the chance to make up for the
mistakes that ended it in the first place.

TNG handled this material better IMHO.

In TNG, Riker be he the Riker we know or the RIker that has had his wheels
spinning are pretty much the same Riker. Here the Kelly that is and the Kelly
that was come off as two different people.

One is a Commander and in charge of her life and the other comes off like a
confused child who likes to party and "dreams" of being a Captain and being
married and having people like her and berates her older self for not having
done those things.

Seven years, if this is your career track is not that great a period of time and
I would have expected younger Kelly and older Kelly to be more in tune with
the younger one having more of the rough edges.

Think Commander Shelby and Riker in TNG:TBOBW and you get an idea of
what should have been happening here.

And Mercer comes off like a complete jerk here IMHO. He could not handle the
fact that Kelly moved on, so much so that he ended up being jealous and even
stalked her a bit jumps at the chance to "try" again and is put off by loud music
while the rest of the crew gets their freak on.....

Again, TNG did this and did so in a much more convincing way.

2 stars for me.

This show is following the TNG track as far as eps go.

In TNG, the first season is total garbage with one or two standouts.

Season 2 got better but still had rough edges.

Season 3 is where it took off and became what it would become.

If The Orville gets a third season, I expect that pattern to continue as
the bugs will finally have been worked out.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I just rewatched the end of it. The thing that *really* bothered me was when Janeway said in her closing log that it she was going to destroy it. (Though I suppose maybe she just meant "it will now be locked away in the computer's coldest cold-storage, encrypted with post-quantum-ring-learning-with-errors-to-the-thousanth-power, then transferred to a holocube and placed in an air-and-subspace-gapped vault until Section 31 pulls it out..)

If indeed Seven's Magic-Chamber-Of-MacGuffin-Balls indeed worked (it wasn't a fluke), then Janeway destroyed the best way to *neutralize* Omega in the future. The mission itself showed that other races could indeed create it - which is why the directive existed in the first place. Classify the information at the highest levels, certainly. But don't destroy it. I'm guessing the NSA/CIA/GCHQ/etc have done exactly this with nuclear EMP technology.

To do what the Omega Directive said (destroy it *and* all information) would have been like if (during the Cold War), the US had made some discovery about the danger of nuclear weapons before the USSR - but we knew that the USSR knew about it as well.

And then the US just threw up it's collective hands and said - "yeah, we know the USSR has this weapon that can destroy the world - but this is just too dangerous, so we're going to stop *all* research, and destroy it for good measure. Sayonara I guess if the USSR decides to destroy the world!"

Or for an example (maybe) a bit more relevant to today:

Us saying that nuclear power is too dangerous because of the waste problem, so we shut down *everything* - including research into fourth-generation nuclear that might provide a safer and better way to do it. (liquid sodium fluoride, pebble bed reactors, etc. that *cannot* melt down).

Even though other countries already can do the "too dangerous nuclear technology" themselves. And we don't do the research (and then give/license/sell it to others). Not to mention that *that* (fourth generation nuclear reactor technology) may be (at least part) of the only way to generate nearly enough electrical energy (*) to run everything we do now *and* the 99.8% of current non-electric cars that would have to be replaced (**)

(*) In combination with wind, solar, hydroelectric, tidal, geothermal - including perhaps deep-sea geothermal outfits above the Mid Atlantic Ridge:

See "Hawaii is chasing 100% renewable energy — with active volcanoes" (2015) [https://www.businessinsider.com/hawaii-volcanoes-first-100-percent-renewable-energy-state-us-2015-7]

(**) "There are more than 2 million electric vehicles on the road around the world" (2017) [https://arstechnica.com/cars/2017/06/there-are-more-than-2-million-electric-vehicles-on-the-road-around-the-world/]:

"Although more than 2 million EVs now travel the world’s roads, they only make up 0.2 percent of the total light-duty passenger vehicle share around the world." [And that's not counting the trucks or other things.]
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

I don't understand all the fuss about the end of the episode. Hedford is basically the same as an organ donor today. She finds happiness with Cockrane.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Trent: Well said. I agree with what you said here.
Set Bookmark
JIm1701
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Easily the worst episode of the second season if not the entire show.

Nothing to see here than a plot that one can easily stay one step ahead of with
some high school antics thrown in for good measure.

1 star and that is being generous.
Set Bookmark
Jim1701
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Really liked the ep!

Finally The Orville got my attention and I stopped thinking about what Star Trek
they were doing this week and was able to enjoy it for what it was.

The references to BOBW are IMHO, Monday Morning Quarterback stuff after one has time to think about it.

While I was in the moment, I was entertained and I was on edge and looking forward to what came next.

If this is indeed a "Riker Beard" ep and I hope that it is before knowing if the second part of this ep will be as satisfying then The Orville is indeed the Star Trek
I have been waiting for since the early 2000's.....

If this is a fake out however and it turns out to be a "simulation", a "test" or some other nonsense, then I will have to rethink it all.
Set Bookmark
Jim Hanson
Tue, Apr 10, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

i agree there are continuity issues BUT watch q who and specifically guinan--guinan's quizzical and "there's more going on here/something is off" looks add some depth to the multi-time line arguments.
Set Bookmark
Jim Sondergeld
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

One track at a time....

1) Lursa and B'Etor are jaw-droppingly incompetent at corruption. How they could believe that the two individuals to try and bribe/seduce, respectively, over to their side were Picard (in Part I) and Worf beggars belief. If they were truly that stupid, it's no wonder Sela was so contemptuous of them. Ditto their belief the Toral could have served as their figurehead on the Klingon High Council, given that they themselves beamed out and abandoned him after their forces had lost.

2) The writers pretty much had to use Denise Crosby in the Sela role. Nobody else could have conveyed the consequences of Picard sending Tasha Yar to the Enterprise-C in the closed Federation-Klingon war timeline. She had a nice three episode arc (beginning in "Mind's Eye") and was an effective, if conventional, Romulan antagonist. Though her capitulation after Data's exposure of her fleet did seem awfully belated, as though written that way to conform to the episode's time constraints. And I never did understand how her failure here wasn't punished, such that she was able to fail again even more spectacularly in "Unification" several episodes later.

3) Hobson could have been written with more depth - as less of a "wrong-headed jackass" - given that the point he makes to Data when requesting his transfer about androids not being suited to starship command did have some validity. Is that not the seed of franchises like "Terminator" and "The Matrix" and even the TOS episode "The Ultimate Computer"? The fear of artificial intelligences taking over? The reason, of course, why Hobson wasn't written this way was because this story thread wasn't about Hobson, it was about Data. And it worked as written, particularly Data's initiative in exposing Sela's fleet being acknowledged by Hobson after the fact by acknowledging the android as "captain".

I didn't think much of Worf sparing Toral's life in the final scene (I seem to recall the latter reappearing on a later TNG episode or an episode of DS9 to attack Worf, illustrating Kahless's parable about never leaving live enemies behind you on the battlefield) and his justification - not punishing the son for the sins of his father and grandfather as a parallel to the unjust discommendation he endured for his own father's alleged crime at Khitomer - made no sense because Mogh was framed for that BY the Duras, whereas Toral was complicit in it. I also questioned how Worf could just abruptly blow off his duties and responsibilities with/to the Klingon Defense Force and return to Starfleet, especially after having insulted Chancellor Gowron by leaving a potential enemy to his rule alive. I attribute that to the episode's time constraints as well.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I don't understand anything the producers/showrunners are doing with Discovery.

Making the show a prequel makes little sense to me. They want to set the show in the cage era and insist its prime timeline. But nothing matches up at all. All the previous treks at least tried to make it all seem like the same universe just different eras. Like respecting the visuals and story. If they don't want the show to look like the TOS era because it looks too "primitive" for modern audiences, which I understand they really should've set it post-Voyager/Nemesis. All they would need to do is make some adjustments. Set the show several hundred years in Voyager/nemesis's future They could still have a faction of radical Klingons who are opposed to federation ideals. Instead of Sarek, just have another prominent Vulcan. Plus all the technology would make perfect sense because its in the future. People would expect technological advances. But setting the show pre-TOS era makes me feel like discovery is really not prime timeline but a different timeline having nothing to do with previous trek shows.

Also I don't understand why they have to re-imagine everything in trek now. I've heard there are licensing issues but doesn't CBS own the rights to the Star Trek prime designs? I was under the impression they only had to change the designs/iconography for the movies.
Set Bookmark
Jim Witte
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I just saw this and the first thing I thought was, "what, they don't have heart/lung machines in the 24th century?" Or for that matter, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation - research on that apparently was in 1956. I was also surprised that the Doctor basically banned Kes from the sickbay "except for visiting hours" - given that he should know (from his encyclopedic knowledge if nothing else) that Neelix's psychological health was going to get frayed, to say the least.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

@Scotty: ... not to mention Data standing downrange while Geordi fired the rifle. I also saw Geordi open fire without looking up to see where Data was.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

I don't understand this. They want to conquer our galaxy but are headed back home ? Thanks..new to Star Trek Original series
Set Bookmark
Jim Oz
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This is not Star Trek. After watching for 25 years with my children I will no longer watch ST. Swearing? Openly gay characters. Pathetic. I'm getting a divorce after 25 years-I'm gutted.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

@ Justin
> How Axum was assimilated at Wolf 359 [..] Seriously, have any non-canon nerds out there tried to retcon this one?

I suppose you could assume that there was another Borg cube there (backup?) that no-body saw somehow. Maybe they assimilated a Romulan cloaking device. (That they never seem to use.. Maybe it takes too much energy, even for a species that uses.. who knows what.. for power)

Maybe they have escape pods? Nah, they'd just leave them behind, like the Borg Kids.

Or, if you want to go the full silly-technobabble route, you postulate there was a solar flare at the same time that they blew up the cube at W459, which then interacted with a polaron field and cross-polarized neutrinos emitted from the Borg Eye Of Harmony power source, which opened up a wormhole to the nearby Borg transwarp conduit, as well as simultaneously creating a spatial divergence field. You know, like the one in TNG "Second Chances", VOY "Deadlock", and DS9 "Children of Time" (well, not really).

What all that nonsense means is that while one Borg cube was indeed destroyed, the other one slipped down the rabbit.. er *worm*-hole and returned to the Delta Quadrant.

Or more likely, it ended up stranded who knows where, because the divergence field and the cross-polarized neutrinos threw the cube into some random spot in the transwarp network. Sort of like that ship in Andromeda that lost it's captain, and so wandered around in the slipstream for a number of years.

Anyway, they got found eventually, and so Axum finally joined the collective.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

@Markus
> I don't get the "box"-punchline... :(

See [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Secret_History_of_Pandora%27s_Box]
Set Bookmark
Jim
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

> how about using someone to write a note

You mean with *paper*?? Don't you know - paper was made *totally obsolete* in the year 2156! (At the rate we're going, we probably will be there by 2027..)

> The only flaw is the way Chakotay "got his soul back"

Oh! But that gave us one of the best line in the episode - "I would consider writing a paper about it, if there were a convenient forum in which to publish it."

I would have like to see some sappy Chakotay-Janeway considering-the-deep-nature-of-reality moment at the end where Chakotay reflected on the experience and his conception of the afterlife. But that would have been far too much like (well, identical to actually) "The Next Phase" in TNG.
Set Bookmark
Jim
Tue, Dec 13, 2016, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

> By this point in TNG's run, it seems as if we've seen every possible permutation of the isolated alien village/society

Hmm, what about the "whole village is holograms" from DS9 "Shadowplay"? Did they have that before DS9?
Set Bookmark
JustJim
Sun, Nov 27, 2016, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I actually quite like this episode. Guinan makes no sense in it, however. Guinan was always a superfluous character, and there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to have a "bartender" on a warship - much less to give a bartender apparently unrestricted access to the bridge.
Without Guinan, Picard would have the ability to make a decision based on simple facts at hand - namely, one more ship will do no good here, but it has potential to make a difference in the past. Captain Garrett's crew could even have insisted that they return to the battle they accidentally left.
I would have preferred that the Enterprise D be at Narendra III investigating the actual anomaly that C came from - perhaps believing it to be a weapon? Or, perhaps investigating the anomaly in what is now deep space - but it where Narendra III was 22 years ago? Again, not for purely scientific reasons, but believing the powerful energy signatures indicated weapons testing?
I understand all the budget constraints that prevented the Enterprise D from really being a warcraft unlike the D we know. I also understand why the same basic crew was there. Except Wesley, who in no way should have been involved.
Still, one has to accept this in a live action show. In an animated show, far more dramatic differences could have been portrayed, but would they have gotten to a third season to do this episode?
Anyway, my main point is that Guinan is completely unnecessary, and that even sending Tasha Yar back into the rift could have been explained another way. For example, when Garrett died, Tasha could have insisted on going to act as tactical officer. Or - and this would have been really interesting - she could have defied orders, hijacked a transporter, and beamed aboard the C, leaving no choice but to let her go. It would have been something special then, don't you think?
I do like the way this alternate timeline resulted in a child who grew up and encountered the man who her mother served under. It's nice when Star Trek remembers its own history, as this never seemed to happen on TOS.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.