Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 48 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Meh. This was 2 stars at best. Watchable, but I have no idea why so many of you liked it. It's yet another "exploration" of a Borg being an individual, and as such is entirely predictable. Borg is born (by the way, Seven said that this isn't the way Borg are born, yet in the VERY FIRST Borg episode in TNG, Riker uncovers a Borg baby in a maturation chamber...), Borg assimilates knowledge, Borg realizes "being an individual" is important (why? why is the idea that being in the collective is better never explored?), Borg sphere approaches Voyager, viewer is completely relaxed because Voyager always beats the Borg through some deus ex machina, and surprise surprise the sphere is destroyed because apparently 1 Borg with some future technology can effortlessly outwit a million Borg on a space vessel.

I hate the way they dealt with the Borg throughout Voyager. They took them from being a menacing enemy to being a wimpy collective that one never felt any fear of whatsoever. Everything in this episode felt rushed and by-the-numbers. Most of it revolved around focusing on Seven as she "showed her emotion" about her "accidental Borg child" during different stages of its development. Big wow. Couldn't care less. Nothing particularly new or interesting. There's only so much exploration of individuality you can do until it becomes boring (they had Huw in TNG, and then of course Seven, and probably a few I've forgotten - what is the point in this episode, again?) It would be far more interesting if they did a story from an assimilated Borg's point of view, being offered individuality by Voyager and rejecting it, preferring to be part of the collective. But no, individuality is always better (possibly because everything is being seen from the POV of individuals...?) Just Another Borg Episode.

4 stars? You've gotta be joking.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Sep 27, 2018, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

My biggest problem with this episode is the ease with which Voyager defeated the Borg sphere, as usual. Transporting a bomb into the other ship as the sphere mindlessly tractored them in? The Borg are meant to be hundreds of billions of minds networked together, not the Pakleds, and they're routinely outsmarted by a few people on the bridge of one ship. Why on Earth didn't they predict this course of action and put a dampening field around Voyager to prevent transports, or something? It's lazy as hell.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Sep 17, 2018, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

An episode with a couple of major plot holes:

1) They can detect viruses and weapons in transporter transit. How the hell did they not detect a WMD with huge amounts of explosive material??
2) Why keep the bomb on Voyager when transferring its intelligence to a holographic matrix? Do it on the planet surface, put some distance between Voyager and the bomb, then transfer it to the mobile emitter. At least then Voyager couldn't be destroyed.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 6:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

This episode's whole storyline really pissed me off. It's pure pompous moral grandstanding. If I was ill and the only thing that could save me was a cure developed by my worst enemy who had killed my family, I'd use the cure! The way knowledge is obtained, once the knowledge has been obtained, is utterly irrelevant and any suggestion to the contrary is idiotic beyond belief.

Frankly I found Krell to be the logical one at the end, and Doc was just jumping on the moral outrage bandwagon by deleting him.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 8:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

What really bothered me about this episode was that they couldn't decide how dangerous Omega was. One minute "a small chain" of them could destroy a quadrant, the next the aliens had synthesized hundreds of MILLIONS of them! Then there were a few hundred thousand which was for much for a torpedo to handle, but apprently, only just: getting them down to 60% allowed the torpedo to finish them. I wish they'd tied that down properly.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 8:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

How harsh is this review?! I thought this was a really fun episode with a genuinely cool opening cliffhanger, a good script, and well-executed acting. The reveal where Seven walks around seeing people with instruments on their bodies out-of-phase was so unexpected and great to watch. As for the captures scientist coming across as cold - of course she was cold and calculating! She's calmly performing deadly scientific experiments on the crew like they're guinea pigs, that's what her personality should be like!

Come on Jammer. This deserves at least 3 stars. Maybe even 3.5.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

I totally disagree with those of you saying the baby should've lived. No, that would've been yet another deus ex machina and made the whole thing boring and unmemorable. Oh look, Phlox did his medical magic and the baby lives, yay! Nobody dies isn't is all great!

No, the final scene actually got me in the feels. It was far more poignant and I approve of the decision to kill the child off. I will actually remember that storyline.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jul 1, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Woah, Jammer seemed determined to hate this one. A rather harsh review (and really, must you lefties call everything "sexist"? Jesus.)

I'd have given it 2 stars. All the time the green women spent seducing the men was rather tedious, but I found the idea of the women enslaving the men interesting (though it does beg the question of why they are still referred to as "slave girls" in the DS9 era), and the telepathic link between Trip and T'Pol explained why they had the same dream... I had been wondering that.

Lighten up, people.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

No no no, I loved this episode. 3.5 stars. I thought it was really touching when she telepathically linked with her brother and he said "remember me" just before he died. The destruction of the Romulan drones had me cheering and for once I totally enjoyed the convenient happy ending. Then at the end, presumably Trip wanted to leave the ship because of his feelings for T'Pol?

This was a mature, well-written, well-acted episode and thoroughly enjoyable. Jammer has been wayyy too harsh here.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

I must say I'm getting tired of 2- and 3-parters. I think they almost invariably tend to drag on and you forget what happened in last week's episode. They also seem a bit lazy because the writers only have to think of one storyline premise instead of 2 or 3. I wish they had just done single episode stories, like the vast majority of those in TNG, DS9, and VOY. They ensure that the story is paced fast enough to end by the end of the episode and you get some (hopefully interesting) new material each week.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Nah, I liked this episode. Seemed to me that it could've been an alright TNG ep. I'd give it 3 stars. Emory didn't want to tell the truth about what he was doing because, given that it could risk the lives of crewmen, Starfleet may have said no to letting him use the Enterprise. I also don't see why Jammer assumes that Quinn's death was inevitable; I half expected the attempt to rescue him to work. And I'm glad we're back to one-episode storylines. I'm tired of these 2- or 3-parters which inevitably seem to drag on and get too long.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

Am I the only one irked by the fact that the writers here got the mind meld words wrong? It's "your thoughts to my thoughts" not "my thoughts to your thoughts".
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Am I the only one whose brain always translates "Katra" into "Kama Sutra"?
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Dreadful start to season 4. Comic book Nazis, mind-numbing action sequences, and absolutely no interesting ideas explored whatsoever. I did not become a Trek fan for this BS. No stars. The only positive is hopefully we've waved goodbye to the temporal cold war and the Suliban and we can get on with some more TNG-style exploration now.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I have to day, I didn't see the ending coming... because I had already considered and rejected the possibility. If T'pol was under, why wouldn't the doctor remember putting her under? He should've said "T'pol did you wake up?" But he didn't. So I assumed I missed something. Turns out I didn't.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I didn't mind this episode, a bit more light-hearted than most. I'd give it 2.5 stars. I seriously hope, though, that this can mark the end of the Trip-T'pol Vulcan neuro-pressure scenes. They are so tedious and they've been in so many episodes now.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Maybe I'm just too damn cynical but I called BOTH deceptions. I said to myself at first "this is probably a simulation inside Enterprise and I sure as hell wouldn't trust Archer", and the second time seemed very suspect too. Still a more interesting plot than some lame action sequence though.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

I think Combs isn't bad as Shran, but he doesn't quite fit into the character as naturally as he did Weyoun. When I first saw Weyoun I immediately got his character - something about Combs' voice and mannerisms perfectly fit a measly sycophant. :-)
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

I quite liked this episode, probably 3 stars. A reasonable depiction of closed-minded religious zealots that works quite well as an analogue to human religion, perhaps radical Sunnis. The fact that he didn't know the transporter didn't kill you was believable because they didn't seem all that technical. And I quite liked the bit at the end where their religion had destroyed their world. Quite appropriate.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I was REALLY hoping they weren't going to have the symbiant speak English and have Trip's memories. I was happy to suspend my disbelief about greatly accelerated embryonic development, but you don't get memories from DNA. That's where the storyline broke for me.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

I don't know why commenters are saying they liked this episode: it was predictably awful. Wild West stuff has been done to death to the point where I'll be happy if I never see another Wild West set in my life. As for the storyline, let me summarize:

Dat's raycist!
Dat's slavery!
Dat's preduduce!
We hate raycism!
We hate slavery!
We hate preduduce!!

Why can't they come up with a more interesting storyline? Where were the surprises here?
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

A reasonable episode, although I found Hoshi holding the crystal orb hostage rather amusing... would the alien not keep something as valuable as that safe? Or agree to let her go back, then when she put the orb down simply change his mind? lol
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 3, 2018, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

I'm surprised you gave this one 3 stars; I'd give it 2 or less. It fits in with the last few episodes - while not terrible, it was stale, predictable, and unimaginative.

When I heard that the ship captain's name was Duras, I thought maybe they were going to explain the backstory to the rise of the house of Duras, leading to TNG. That would've been a lot more interesting. But no, we were treated to another tiring outing of the "Klingons used to have honour but now the empire is corrupt" trope which has been done to death in TNG (Worf falsely accused) and DS9 (we need Kahless to be a spiritual leader because the empire is corrupt). Disappointing, exactly the kind of thing that makes me sure I'll never bother rewatching it.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I thought this episode was horribly preachy. And liberals, there is actually a good reason people are stigmatized for having AIDS; they're more likely to have recklessly participated in risky sexual behaviour that spreads a deadly disease. It is not automatically a given that all stigmas are unreasonable. Get off your high horse.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Why does everyone think Darmok was so good? It has some HUGE plot holes, like the fact that the aliens had words like "ocean" and "fell", nouns and verbs, which was exactly what they were supposed to NOT have. And the universal translator couldn't figure out that their proper nouns were metaphors? It figures out WAY more complex stuff than that translating languages. It's dumb.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.