Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jerry H
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

My TOS buddies can't understand why this episode is in my top 10.

The answer is plain and simple - it contains 3 of the most compelling and entertaining scenes of all time. All 3 take place in the control room:

1. Garth as Kirk attempts to beam up when Scotty issues the "Queen to Kings level 3" directive

2. Garth as Spock and the real Kirk attempt to beam up when Kirk becomes suspicious

3. Garth as Kirk and the real Kirk are confronted by Spock who is confused as to the identity of the real Kirk.

Unfortunately the rest of the episode is fairly weak filler although Steve Ihnat, who plays Garth does a masterful acting job. If those same 3 scenes were used in a more meaningful plot, we'd be talking about the #1 ranked episode by far.

Set Bookmark
The Ghost of Jerry Falwell
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 4:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

That SJW stuff is awful. You people should be ashamed of yourself for pushing such noxious garbage in the guise of discussing Star Trek -- I especially love when these right-wing idiots pretend, oh no it's not ALL lefties and progressives, it's just pink-haired tumblr girls that go too far!

Lies. Go to any right-wing forum or subreddit. SJW is used as a slur against anything remotely progressive or left-wing. Or caring. Or humane. Or empathetic. Yes, a handful of people use the term ironically to describe themselves. That has NOTHING to do with the 4chan/The_Donald/GamerGate/MRA/Redpill unholy Legion of Doomed jerks chanting it nonsensically at anything that isn't right-wing swill.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peter G., yes, you are right. That is a pretty glaring continuity gap. That said, I can't get too upset about it because Star Wars is a franchise that has always played loose with continuity. Remember, Obi-Wan said Luke's father died, yet we later learn what he said was from a "certain point of view." Heck, Obi-Wan ages 40 years in between ROTS and ANH. Star Wars fans have always had to retcon inconsistencies. I wish we didn't have to, but for me at least the ending of Rogue One doesn't ruin the movie.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@John W, I agree. It's incredibly hypocritical that Pegg complains about sf/fantasy/superhero movies as being superficial, yet when he's given the reigns to help write the next Star Trek film he seems headed in the same direction. Shame he didn't take his own advice and try to present viewers with better material.

RIP Star Trek: 1966-2009
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Nov 8, 2015, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Thus episode felt like it was written by a 12 year old.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Tue, Nov 11, 2014, 1:28am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

What a piece of garbage. Aside from the fact that if you think your molecules are coming apart, you simply would not take it so well that you go for a workout, there was no point to the episode. Does Hoshi face a fear? Ehhhh... Do we learn about transporters? Ehhhh... Does Archer prove, once again, to be confused? Do we see just how awful Blalock's posture is? Well, yes for that: She has lousy posture, which makes her incredibly un-sexy. A worthless episode.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

I finally figured it out! I finally figured out what it is about Blalock's line delivery that annoys me so much! It's not just the monotone, it's that after every line, she deliberately presses her lips together! It's like some bizarre, beginner actor thing! It is simply not natural to do that. Sometimes, sure, but not 99% of the time; it's a hideously bad habit, and distracting as all hell.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Tue, Nov 4, 2014, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

The creators of Voyager and Enterprise forgot the main reason Spock was so fascinating: He wasn't Vulcan. He was half-Vulcan. Full Vulcans are, at best, boring. At worst, in Enterprise, they are arrogant, self-righteous jerks. Tuvok was boring. T'Pol was boring and arrogant. If they made either one, say, Half-Romulan, then you would have had a really cool character, with the logic of a Vulcan and the cunning of a Romulan. Or how about Vulcan/Klingon? (Not the annoying witch Belanna Torres was).
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Thu, Oct 30, 2014, 5:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Not a bad episode, except for Dawson's incredibly annoying directing. Good directing is invisible; Dawson's is noticeable every single second, which is, at best, distracting and, at worst, STOP WITH THE FRICKIN' FOCUS PULLS!!!
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Tue, Oct 28, 2014, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Finally, a real Star Trek episode. I echo the sentiments about it becoming a mind meld rape story, but that didn't detract from some very interesting Vulcan theory about their history, and the actors portraying the rogue Vulcans were very good. I'm not a Jolene fan, but here, at least, her character had some interesting moments. Her experience with the chaotic nature of jazz is much the same as I saw in Europe in the 60s, where members of repressed/oppressed societies were attracted to the unstructured nature of the music, rather than its melodies or lack thereof.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

Good God, the writing is atrocious.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 1:45am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Here's the speech I would have liked to have heard from Archer to Travis:
I get the whole cargo ship is a family thing. I get the whole Starfleet doesn't have jurisdiction thing. I even get the revenge against the Nausicans thing. If Ryan wants to go after the pirates, fine. But he tried to kill four innocent people, me included. I have a big problem with people who try to kill me and my crew, I'm funny that way. Don't tell me he knew the Enterprise would rescue us in plenty of time; he fired on us! He fired on my ship! That is unacceptable. I'm going after him, I'm going to throw him in the brig, then I'm going to make sure he's tried for attempted murder.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I'm TRYING to watch ENT, but the writing is so bad... "A firefight? In close quarters?" No, you stupid witch! The monks take cover, out of the way, and the instant the Andorians open the door, they're hit with phasers on stun! The writers assume that viewers are as stupid as they are, and won't/can't think of any other tactic/alternative. It's as if no one ever held a hand up in staff meetings and asked any questions.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

In TOS, you had writers like Roddenberry, D. C. Fontana, and Harlan Ellison. Now, you have...
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

About as derivative as you can get right down to the "underside, overside" garbage. Reminds me of a South Park episode with the "before Time", which was much better.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

What a shame, but I think you're right.

I checked STID on Amazon recently. There are almost 8,000 reviews and a very positive (4.5 stars) score. That makes it almost as popular as Avengers. What's going on? Does the general public really like this movie so much? Am I so far out of the mainstream?
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, May 27, 2014, 4:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Cumberbatch was OK. I thought the problem was less him or his acting and more that he wasn't playing Khan. The way he played the character would have been perfect for the villain in Skyfall - angry secret agent who wants to get revenge on his former employer - with an added dose of concern for his "family." Khan in TWOK though was an overly dramatic, larger than life character. I don't think anybody could have achieved Montalban's presence on screen, but Cumberbatch wasn't the right pick imho.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 3:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I agree with the 3 / 4 stars given. I think Michael Ansara was one of the high points of the episode, and the other was the 2nd most famous Klingon proverb - Only a Fool Fights in a Burning House.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Wed, Sep 15, 2010, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Here....

www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqWyr7cDcks&feature=related
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Mon, Nov 2, 2009, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Has anyone ever read the DS9 Nitpicker's Guide. It only covers the 1st 4 seasons of the show but the author, in the section on "The Jem'Hadar," basically says that all the subsequent Dominion stories from Season 3 onwards are (for all intents & purposes) nits because the Federation simply didn't stay out of the Gamma Quadrant as Third Talak'Talon wanted them to do.
But I guess the series just wouldn't have been as exciting if our heroes were babysitting a wormhole they couldn't use.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 3:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Alex99

It's not a question of opinion.

Yes, the planet at the end of Crossroads was our planet, and indeed the american continent. It is indeed the planet they arrive at in Daybreak. But it is not the planet in Revelations and Sometimes a Great Notion.

RDM says so himself. You can read it here:

http://featuresblogs.chicagotribune.com/entertainment_tv/2009/03/battlestar-galactica-daybreak-finale-moore-mcdonnell-olmos.html

More specifically, this is wat is being said:

MR: Talk to me about that whole second Earth thing. That kind of gave me pause me when I saw it.

RDM: It was built into the show when we decided to get to Earth. This was always the plan – the plan was to get to Earth, have it be a cinder, and then go, “God, where now?” And take the audience on this other journey and make them forget about that and not think about it. Because the concept of the show was to search for a place called Earth.

So we wanted to give that to you before you expected it and make it a downer and [have you go,] “Oh shoot, now what?” And now you’re really adrift. [The intention was] to put the audience with the characters, where they were really adrift and not hoping that anything better was going to happen.

And at the very last, at the very end, to then have a moment of hope, to have something to hang on to, and to give them the thing that they had quested for for so long, and to give that to the audience too.

MR: And so it’s as if this Earth is an homage to the other Earth, the first one.

RDM: I thought there was something interesting about that. This isn’t the original Earth. We’re actually [living on] an homage, as you said, to the original Earth. They come here and try to learn a lesson from the original Earth and make this Earth a better story.

MR: I went back and watched the closing moments of "Crossroads, Part 2" again, and the final image is of a planet that looks a lot like Earth. How does that fit in to what we see in "Daybreak"? Can you walk me through that?

RDM: That was all specifically thought out. The planet that you see at the end of "Crossroads" is this planet that we stand on. It has the North American continent and the South American [continent], it's very clear, we wanted it to be visually easy to identify for everybody.

Kara takes them to both Earths, as a matter of fact. She takes them to the original Earth, which, when we showed it in Revelations, we were careful to never quite be able to identify the land masses from orbit. We wanted you to accept it as Earth, and most people assumed it was this Earth, but we didn't want to flat out mislead you, so we didn't want to have it look like North America too.

MR: So Kara comes back in "Crossroads," she says, "I've been to Earth"…

RDM: She had been to that Earth. The original Earth.

MR: The crispy Earth.

RDM: She guided the fleet to get there. She takes us to that. That's part of her experience that she remembers. She remembers traveling there, seeing there, and comes back to the fleet saying, "I know how to get to that place."

In the finale, she makes an intuitive leap connecting the music as coordinates, enters the into the jump computer and those coordinates take us to the second Earth, this place.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@ occuprice and Alexey

It's very simple. The planet they encountered in Revelations was Earth. It was the planet the 13th tribe went to after they left Kobol. They went there and they called it Earth.

The planet from Daybreak is the planet we live on. It did not have a name, since there were no beings there that could speak (so nobody could have given it a name). The colonials called it Earth, since Earth was the dream they've been chasing since the beginning. In fact, they named it after the planet the 13th tribe went to.

We never saw the landmasses on the "real" Earth, but there is absolutely no reason to believe that planet looked anything like ours.


Or, as RDM said: We're not living on the original Earth. We're living on an hommage of the original Earth.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S1: The Mathematics of Tears

That's right, Wilson was a volleyball. Thanks Jammer. In any case, a volleyball, a softball, & a soccer ball are each more interesting than Dylan.
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Leif:

The planet that they found in Revelations was Earth. The planet they found at the end of Daybreak did not have a name, and they named it after Earth, because Earth had been the dream they had been chasing all this time. So actually, it is our planet that is not the real Earth
Set Bookmark
Jerry
Sun, Feb 1, 2009, 6:38am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

Zarek only claimed he said no to the black market proposals offered by Fisk. At the end of that episode you could see him on "the prometeus" which proved that in fact he had more to do with the black market than he had let on...
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.