Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

The Sisko talks to the camera and acts overly-dramatic again shitshow.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Reffin
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

In defence of the Geordi/Susanna relationship, [heterosexual, male] nerds don't have problems relating to women, they have problems relating to women they are attracted to. It seems perfectly plausible to me that Geordi formed a great working partnership and friendship with Susanna in the past. Also, I don't buy the complaint that we haven't heard of her before or see her again. Those of us who have reached a certain age can recount a number of friendships (work related or otherwise) which are simply no longer functioning because you are not in each others lives anymore but which can re-form instantly when you do get together.

You might argue that Geordi would have to be blind NOT to be attracted to Susanna, but that would be pretty insensitive in the circumstances.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Frame of Mind is a far better episode. This one leans too hard on the technobabble radiation. There's no compelling story underpinning it. Kes and the Doctor's conversation about wondering about the nature of one's existence is too little, too late to bring meaning to the past hour of randomness and arguments about whether to shoot the magnetic constrictor coils.
Set Bookmark
GLJeremy
Tue, Feb 25, 2014, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

There is a lot to like in this episode but I think part 1 is superior, primarily because the character changes for Janeway in this episode don't feel right at all. When I first saw it, I was so assuming there was some other force acting on the ship (Like killing the first entity accidentally set off a sort of virus that eroded the human ethics) It would have explained Janeways change of character and why Ransom seemed to come out of a fugue when he was the primary instigator and Max seemed to get worse, and it would have explained the Equinox's descent into monstrous actions. It really seemed set up for this. They called the entities something like "Good fortune spirits" so I kept thinking they were going to reveal they potentially effected Humans oppositely. I was so surprised when it was just a strait forward "Janeway is out of character" moment. Especially when it was just the season finally before that the characterization was directly opposed to.
Set Bookmark
GLJeremy
Wed, Oct 30, 2013, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

I do like this episode and feel that the strength of the "A" story makes up for the bland "B" and "C" stories. It would have been pretty cool is they had gotten Alexander Siddiq to play EMH-2 but despite the usual nature of his roles, Andy Dick does a pretty good job. I like to think that because of the controversy surrounding Bashir, his personality was used but not his likeness when Zimmerman began work on the EMH-2. Hence the fact that the dialogue does sound very Bashir (at least to me).
Set Bookmark
GLJeremy
Tue, Oct 29, 2013, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I Don't love this episode and do agree there are a lot of problems, but I do not get all the hate this one seems to get. As has been said, I also think for the most part the Neelix/Tuvok works, and I have always appreciated that there seems to be a play on trying to improve the moral of "Galileo 7." Although G7 is a far superior episode over all, it always annoys me that in the end no one acknowledges that it's combination of things or a middle ground that wins the day. Instead it pretty much comes out and says The Racist-irrational people are right, and no one really pays for disrespecting the order of command. While this episode is inferior, I do appreciate that it tries to show a more rounded pro/con of a Vulcan command. Here Tuvok and Neelix learn to respect each other, instead of the odd ending where everyone patronizes and laughs at Spock. To reiterate I love G7 but I do appreciate that this episode tries to deal with the one part of that G7 that knocks half a star off of the score for me. (My Opinion: G7 4.5 Stars, Rise 2.5 stars)
Set Bookmark
GLJeremy
Tue, Oct 22, 2013, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Just wanted to echo the sentiments that this is a great episode.

@Kristen - Thank you. I am Always trying to explain to people that the prime directive is multifaceted and not just about hiding from pre warp cultures. As you described, it is a multi-faceted directive about interference with other civilizations sovereignty. I think the issue in "Sumbiosis" was that they could help the Ornarans since they asked for it (if there had been an actual plague for Crusher to cure), but couldn't reveal the Brekkan's deception because it would disrupt the Brekkan's non-federation social order. Admittedly a fine line but those hard calls are why Picards the captain. I also like to use "The Hunted" as an example as it well describes how much the federation will interfere with all its discussions of "Internal security matters."
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Tue, Mar 26, 2013, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Solid review, these two hours hold up. They really should have gone to Q for a movie before the franchise dried up.

Ever thought about picking up a new series such as Game of Thrones? Homeland, maybe?
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

"Why not just toss the whole lot into a sun or black hole" is a large plot hole. The other thing that got me about this was it took Julian just a moment to cure O'Brien back at DS9. If the Harvesters were so easily cured, why was it such a threat that the warring races wanted all people who knew anything about it killed.

Yes the point is the development of Julian and Miles friendship and characters. It was still fun to watch, just wish that they had come up with answers for the loose threads.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Sun, Jan 20, 2013, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Remembering this episode, and then seeing a 4 star review gave me high hopes going into this one. Then those hopes were dashed. This episode is contrived, and clunky, and watchable only for snark-factor. (This is coming as a huge DS9 fan, too.)
I think what did it for me was the voice over narration; it can be done well and effectively, here it was neither, and ripped me out of the story every time I heard it.
The subplot with the ensign who shot himself was a particularly egregious example of the plot machine working overtime: during his and Jake's second encounter (after Jake ran and came back) all I could think was 'wow, how curiously pertinent to the themes of the episode!'
One thing I'll give this wasted hour was that it didn't cheat at the end, nor did it hit the reset button. One is given a sense that this is a single thread in the larger tapestry of DS9, and I've always appreciated that about this series.
The worst episode of DS9 (and this is far from the worst) is still light years ahead of Voyager and Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Fri, Nov 16, 2012, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

As holodeck malfunctions go, the ones on this episode at least seem reasonable. The idea that the holodeck isn't supposed to run 24/7 without being turned off every now and then makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Thu, Sep 13, 2012, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

No mention of Steven Hawking as the only person in the whole of Star Trek to play themselves ...
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Mon, Sep 3, 2012, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

I like to think that since this whole episode was Bev telling it all to Guinan, that maybe she was a bit jaded in her story telling. That would explain a lot of the shallow guest characters, and why several of the regulars were a bit off. Maybe she thought Worf wasn't doing enough and interpreted it as disinterest and that bled over to her storytelling to Guinan. It makes the episode a lot more forgivable.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

I also really like that Moriarty makes a classic Holmes bad guy move, claiming to do something impossible or super natural. This is done a lot in Doyle's stories. You even see it in the first Robert Downey Jr. film. We also get Data cast in the Holmes role again. The one big difference from the Homes stories is that they were always written from Dr. Watson's POV, so you never knew that Holmes had figured it out until the end.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Sun, Aug 21, 2011, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

The episode definitely had it's problems, the largest ones being, nobody on ENT changed in 6 years, Sirtis and Frakes are just too darn old to play season 7 Troi and Riker, and Trip's death was kinda hokey. Otherwise, I see where they were going, and I don't see this episode as being as abysmal as everyone says it is. It's not great, but not the piece of targ dung that fans keep labeling it.
As far as the accuracy of the holodeck recreation, I kinda took it to be a magical tv story-telling thing that what we, the audience, were seeing was what actually what happened (outside of the Riker-as-Chef scenes, which obviously didn't happen)
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Wed, Aug 3, 2011, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

In addition to your question of why 2004 when it would be easier to hide in 1404, why hide in Detroit? Why not pick a place where people disappearing would be much more unnoticed, someplace like Mumbai or Juarez.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Mon, Aug 1, 2011, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

You mention the ear-dwelling indigenous life forms on Ceti Alpha V being a potential problem. I also think the fact that Ceti Alpha VI is going to explode in 120 years and knock Ceti Alpha V out of orbit could also be a problem. : )
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Mon, Aug 1, 2011, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

The shuttle pod starting to take off on its own and leaving Trip and Archer on the sphere was brilliant. It's the sort of thing I would likely do if I lived in the Star Trek world.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Sun, Jul 31, 2011, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I really liked the whole feel of the "Mission Control" room during Robinson's first test flight. It reminded me of Apollo 13 and From the Earth to the Moon, which I understand are both pretty accurate in that area. It was a nice touch to see early Starfleet looking a bit more like what we've done in real life space travel.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Sun, Jul 24, 2011, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I like that we had a "bad guys take over the ship" episode that actually didn't make the crew look like morons. This was way better than the Ferengi knock-out gas, or any number of ways Voyager got taken over.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Sun, Jul 24, 2011, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I can't call this one zero stars, but I can't call it good either. If Padma could actually act worth a flip it'd be a lot better.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy
Tue, Dec 21, 2010, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I agree with Jammer; this episode is a classic that holds up to the test of time. It shows the strength of relationships (Jake and his Dad, Jake and Nog) and the humor hits all the right notes.
@Wharf, the 'bears' line comes after the bearding the lion line; the bear, of course, referring to Bashir's teddy, and the line is a cute reference to Wizard of Oz.
A great episode from my favorite Trek.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Fri, Sep 5, 2008, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

One thing that shows how far The Federation has changed in the war is a comparison between TNG's "Reunion" and "Tacking into the Wind". When Worf killed Duras in a traditional Klingon manner, Picard was pissed. As pissed as we've ever seen Picard. When Worf kills Gowron, The Chancellor of The High Council, Sisko doesn't bat an eye.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Short
Mon, Jun 23, 2008, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

I wonder if Imperfection was originally to be after Drive. I could have sworn that Tom had his wedding ring on during Seven's operation. One of you're big complaints in Imperfection was a lack of explanation of how they rebuilt The Flyer. Drive at least explains that it was altogether a new ship. Still doesn't explain how they built the darn thing, but it at least acknowledges that it blew up in Unimatrix Zero with more than just a throw away line.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.