Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 302 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I'm a huge Jammer fan. But this is a 3.5 star episode for me.

I loved the debate in the conference room with Harry and Janeway on one side and Chakotay and Tuvok on the other. Like the best "Treks," I found compelling arguments on both sides.

In the end, I agreed with Janeway's call.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

3.5 stars for me. Great episode.

I particularly enjoyed Jeri Ryan's Ferengi.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Two and three quarter stars.

And I like the holonovel. This is a much better use of the holodeck than the usual BS of safety protocols off, etc.

Naomi is cute. Nice character moments. Good moments in the shuttle.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 7:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

There's nothing quite like watching an episode of "Voyager," enjoying it and then coming on here and learning about all the reasons it wasn't actually good! LOL.

I thought it was a good -- but not great -- episode on all counts. And I still think "Voyager" had the best look and visuals of any Trek show or movie. I love the alien ships and vibrant colors.

And I like the Malons as pollution villains.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Great episode. Only one element missing for me. This creation comes from not two, but three, beings: The doctor's device, Seven's nanoprobes and the DNA of the crewman.

I feel like he should have been part of the story, too.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I liked the episode. One of the more interesting aspects of this is another segment of DQ space that tends to keep inhabitants separated from each other.

This dark void, the Nekrit Expanse and large portions of normal space controlled by xenophobic aliens help explain some things, such as the Kazon and species on the far edges of the galaxy not having the same level of technology, etc.

I wish they had given us a little more lay of the land, as it were, of the DQ.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Mostly a misdirected, hokey, jokey mess -- but buried deep within in this is a really good story:

First of all, get rid of "God," the galactic core, Nimbus III and Shatner's hammy direction.

Sybok is a religiously fanatic Vulcan who has embraced emotion, has a messianic complex, powers stronger than a mind meld, the same ability to reach a person's pain (the best part of a movie) and a quest to reunite Romulus with Vulcan.

(And he happens to be Sarek's younger brother -- not Spock's older brother. And the back story is he attempted to help Spock embrace his human, emotional half).

At any rate, Sybok's vision is a blending of the two world with himself as its benevolent head, bringing emotion to Vulcans and logic to Romulans in harmony. His Romulan "ally," on the other hand, is a cunning female Romulan woman who dreams of outright conquest of Vulcan. She the true villain of the piece.

It's something of a MacBeth tale -- and the Shakespearean tragedy of the movie is Sybok realizes too late his Lady MacBeth has driven him to acts that are both cruel and illogical.

And I think each "Trek" regular should get a scene exploring his or her pain.

I think that could have been a great movie.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Usually, I think Jammer and a lot of the gang are a little hard on the show.

This time, I find the roles reversed. Jammer liked the show a little more than I did.

I WANTED to like it more. All the pieces were there. I think maybe this is the kind of show that would actually work better in a novel. I find a tad on the boring side. (I did like 7 of 9's attempts at efficient crew organization).
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 2:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Never saw this until today. I'm amazed how many Voyagers I missed until I began this recent beginning-to-end viewing.

I'm with the majority this time. Not only is this one of Voyager's finest hours, it's one of the finest hours of any "Trek."

And it has more to say in 2020 than in the 20th century!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I think 3.5 stars is just right. I like this episode a lot.

What was interesting to me was the four-way conflict here. You had:

Hirogen vs. 8472.
Federation vs. Hirogen.
8472 vs. Borg (represented by 7 of 9)
8472 vs. Federation
Hirogen vs. Borg (briefly)
Federation (Janeway) vs. Borg

Each of the four represented species or groups had a particular point of view consistent with previous Trek history that put them all in conflict with the other three.

I was fascinated with see it play out. And the effects were stunning. Just shy of four stars.

They've definitely upped the risk factor for Season 4: Borg / 8472 / Krenim / Hirogen / Dream Invaders. That's definitely a more formidable set of opponents than the Kazon and random spacial anomalies.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Typically, I'm not a fan of "Is it real or not?" Trek episodes.

But for a show of this type, it was pretty good. And I'm rather fascinated with dreams, so the lucid dreaming part was enjoyable.

The intro was the best part.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

Oh man. Tough crowd. This is three and three-quarters "Trek" to me -- just shy of a four-star classic. Loved the evacuation speech and pods leaving at the end.

Surprised the Borg haven't tried to help themselves to Krenim technology. Of course, maybe the Borg have't been around at the right time!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, May 25, 2020, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

I agree with Justin: " It stands right up there with but slightly below the great ones."

It's not as good as "Wrath of Khan." And It's not as engaging and fun as "Voyage Home."

But it is a very solid followup to "Khan" with splendid cinematic scenes and nice character moments.

And it ruins the whole "odd number" theory. In fact, as far as I'm concerned, "The Motion Picture" also ruins the "odd number" theory.

Now the upcoming No. 5 -- yeah, it's "odd" and it's a stinker. Not looking forward it to, but I will persist. But first I get to see a shrieking probe wreak some havoc!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, May 24, 2020, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

This whole "how does Neelix know" thing is a good example of people so overzealously looking for plot holes that they now come up with holes that don't exist.

Neelix had the info he had because he is the ship's liaison in these matters sometimes and he had talked to the ambassador. It's not a big moment, but they do write that in.

Anyway, I thought it was a good but not great episode. Three stars felt just right. And going back to "Before and After," that makes 10 in row. Or 9 with one semi-weak one.

That's a good streak.

And I personally loved the colorful way of speaking they wrote for the group Chakotay encounters.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, May 23, 2020, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

I think this two-parter was the best thing "Voyager" as yet offered up. I never got to see the conclusion, so that was a nice treat.

To me, if Part I was four stars, then Part II is three and a half. It fell a little below what Part I set up, but just a little.

And I liked Species 8472 and fluidic space and all that. It was the most ambitious thing any Trek outing had tried up to that point.

Whatever else you say about Voyager, it LOOKED great. As far as visual spectacle goes, it's my favorite Trek. (That included the current offerings and the horrible JJA movies)
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, May 23, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

To me, "The Gift" is almost "Scorpion Part III". And that's high praise, because Parts 1 and II were the best things so far on "Voyager."

I liked it more than most of the board here. (That's not unusual -- I tend to think half a star to full star higher than Jammer and most of the crowd on at least half the shows).

I liked the handing-off-the-baton from Kes to Seven of Nine. And I enjoyed Janeway's situation: She was reluctant to let Kes evolve and grow and yet was forcing Seven to do the same kind of thing.

And yes, it would have been nice for Kes to have more of her final episode be about her, but I also liked the contrasting situations between her and Seven of Nine.

To me, there was enough there for the "The Gift" to have been something of two-parter too, as others have mentioned.

As for Garrett Wang -- I think his acting was better than the general consensus here without saying it was stellar. But then the writers rarely gave him material to work with either. He did great in "The Chute." So who knows.

But I think People magazine made a good choice. He did look really good at the time. Very boyishly handsome.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, May 21, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I just watched this again for probably the fifth or sixth time. I'm with the crowd on this one: Still the best "Trek" movie out there.

So many great lines and themes. I still love the ending line:

"How do I feel? I feel young."
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 15, 2020, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I clearly remember exiting the theater in 1979 (yeah, I'm old) and being pretty disappointed. Of course, in 1979, I thought "The Apple" was great "Star Trek" because they killed a lot of crewmen in a lot of ways. And I thought "City on the Edge of Forever" was boring.

So, 1979 me was kind of stupid is what 2020 me is saying.

Since 1979, I've seen the movie a few more times over the decades, the last time being last night. And I must say the movie grows on me more and more with each viewing. It grows better with age and as I age.

I agree with Mark above. It's the most cinematic Trek movie ever. It's the most beautiful Trek movie ever. For my money, Kirk and Scotty could have taken twice as long surveying the stunning Enterprise from their little shuttle. It was glorious.

The movie is blessed relief from the whiz-bang / lens flares / million action moments we get today. I had a subdural hematoma about 10 years ago, and all that stuff literally gives me a headache since then.

Also, I like films, such as "Lawrence of Arabia," that I can actually STUDY. And this lets you study.

And no one has talked about it much on here, but the Klingon opening and score was a perfect 10!

In the end, though, the characters came off a bit cold. And Trek characters should be warm and emotive and passionate. Like many others, "Wrath of Khan" is the best Trek movie for me. It was character-driven with big thoughts. This was more scenically driven with even bigger thoughts.

In the final analysis, though, it's a good movie. Nowhere near the bottom of my Trek movie list. They aimed very high and lofty with this and didn't quite reach it, but the effort was laudable and gorgeous.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 15, 2020, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

I'm back to my usual enjoying-a-Voyager episode, then reading all the reasons (that I can't argue against too much) I shouldn't have liked it!

Sometimes this crowd is a bummer! LOL. But the points are well-taken.

That said, I still enjoyed it and found some of premises interesting. I just posted in "Before and After" that it kicked off six good episodes in a row. I still believe it.

But this one was probably the weakest of six. But it was still enjoyable time spent in the never-ending coronavirus era.

The EMH would have figured out Covid-19 in 19 minutes.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 15, 2020, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Also, looking ahead, I think "Before and After" kicks off six good episodes of "Voyager" in a row here at the end of Season 3.

I can't think of a time in Seasons 1 or 2 or the first half of Season 3 with that many in a row that I thought were in the good or better categories.

And I happened to have missed a lot of these particular ones back in the day.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 15, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I'm often swimming against the stream on this board as I am easier on Voyager than most of you, but this time out, I agree with the bulk of the reviews and Jammer's.

We were headed toward four-star GOLD with this episode until the holodeck malfunction. Thanks to that trip up on the landing, it gets demoted to silver.

I honestly don't know why they didn't do more "community building" / character development / comedy episodes. Just forget the peril. Yes, most weeks, you need peril. But this show would have gone as epic if that had possessed the courage to ditch peril and just let the battle of the holonovel play out.

And on such long journey home, it totally makes sense that they would sometimes be in empty stretches of space, with nothing going on.

I wish there had been more community/camaraderie/comedy capers, not fewer. And full-on.

And it would nicely counterbalance the extreme intensity of the upcoming, high-stakes episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 13, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I'm saying this as a serial overanalyzer and overthinker, but sometimes you just go to chill the phuck out, relax and enjoy the show.

And I enjoyed this show. Especially the Year in Hell foreshadowing.

Long-hair, post-Neelix Kes is great. Sorry she's nearing the end of her run.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 6, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

I found myself squarely in the middle on this one. I enjoyed it better than the detractors. But I can't say I loved it either.

I'm still trying to figure out Gandhi's "dark" side, though.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, May 4, 2020, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

@Elliott -- always enjoy reading your breakdowns.

I think you are too hard on "The Price" and too easy even with 1.5 stars for "False Profits," but points well taken on your critique.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, May 4, 2020, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Count me squarely in the 3.5 LIKE IT camp.

Lots to think about philosophically and lots of good tension and twists. Very nice set designs and special effects.

The nitpicks aren't wrong, but unless something is egregious, I'm just learning to let those go. You're going to get a bunch of boring stories if the fourth Trek series 100% rigidly adheres to every little thing,
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.