Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 150 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, May 16, 2019, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A good episode. Better than I remember (this is one of the few that only saw once way, way back in the day).

The yeoman du jour was kind of intriguing.

Kirk got over the loss of his brother and sister-in-law a little too quickly. Such was episodic TV in those days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

My favorite "Original" Trek and very, very high up on my all-time, all Treks list.

I'll always think of Edith Keeler as Kirk's greatest love. Here's an aspect I haven't seen any comments on:

Joan Collins and William Shatner were two over-the-top, hammy actors. But they both toned it way down for this, and it was pure magic.

I usually roll my eyes at Kirk's "loves," but I totally buy in to why Kirk fell so hard, so fast for Edith Keeler, thanks for Joan Collins' on-spot performance.

My favorite part in an episode that was excellent from first to last minute was indeed that last minute back on the Guardian planet. I'm so glad they didn't do the usual yucking it up on the bridge at Spock's expense.

The ending leaves you with such as strong sense of Kirk's loss.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 10, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Has anyone every noticed that McCoy is always by the captain's seat, needlessly questioning every decision of whoever is in command?

Scotty, who had the situation well in hand, should have sent him down to Sickbay with orders to stay there.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Here's one thing I've never seen addressed:

The High Commissioner was absolutely right when he said the investigation of the quasar was an unnecessary risk. It was.

I can't think of a more important mission than transporting emergency medical supplies.

The HC is treated as some kind of pompous ace-hole, but I think he was spot on from the start.

And let me add my voice to the chorus of people praising Mr. Scott. I'm really impressed with him in Season 1. I'm sorry that as time went on, he started being treated as comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

I agree with Springy above, and I consider this episode a watershed moment for the franchise.

It really helped establish the foundation of our notions of Starfleet and the Federation. Before this episode, the Enterprise was out there going from one thing to another -- extrapowerful aliens, Mudd's womenfolk, mad scientists, mysterious diseases -- but none of it was connected together.

"The Menagerie" did that. We now have context. We're beginning the process of universe building.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Lt. Bailey would later return to Earth's past to infamously interrogate secret prostitute Karen Wolek during Victoria Riley's murder trial.
Set Bookmark
Jenreto
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Karl Zimmerman

If the Discovery storyline had gone full-out horror, you would have criticized it for THAT. ("Star Trek doesn't do horror," or something such).

@MidshipmamNorris

No one cares that you may or may not be a self-styled wonk in harping on how awful SMG'a acting is (so you say). However, it should be noted that saying it ten times (with various CAPS key stylings, each more intense than the prior line) does not make it anything more than one person's opinion, than saying it once does.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Time crystals DO exist.
https://news.berkeley.edu/2017/01/26/scientists-unveil-new-form-of-matter-time-crystals/
"In a paper published online last week in the journal Physical Review Letters, the UC Berkeley assistant professor of physics describes exactly how to make and measure the properties of such a crystal, and even predicts what the various phases surrounding the time crystal should be — akin to the liquid and gas phases of ice."
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

This show is about Burnham... so to say it does otherwise isn't really thoughtful... you knew what you were getting into
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Georgiou cares for Burnham - the hand, the fear of losing her.
I thought it was rude that Stamets brushed off Culber
Wow, Burnham's mum?
Tillys comedic moments... excellent
I liked the Spock and Burnham moment but Spock still seems snarky but a lot better this episode
That Leland and his eyes got punctured... wtf?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

4 stars
Saru seems more snarky, after his evolution.
That episode on Voyager, Kes returns and Tuvok could figure out why the time-line has changed, it just reminded me of that.
This episode told us that Burnham must be important somehow, or that Spock and Burnham are important to this series. Why save her then? Without the Red Angel she would have been dead...
I think the fight between Culber and Ash needed to happen.
And what is going to happen to Airium? The camera is pointing at her after all these unauthorised business so they want us to think about her... what is this three red dots? Does it mean anything?
Ok, so the crux of this episode is that Spock is now better after visiting the Talosians because they have mind powers? The change in the timeline made Spock trying to make sense of the change in the time line, then Spock was trying to make sense of it when more of the sightings were happening... Spock became affected and Talosians cured him?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

*laughed*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Already it seems very fast paced already, Burnham wanting to go to Vulcan, the temporal distortions on the bridge and sending a probe, Pike and Ash... The way Burnham pleaded with Amanda was not that tense, I thought it could have been more tense.
"Evasive manoeuvres" lol
When Saru took charge, it was awesome. Saru knew what to do straight away. When he mentioned Mudd, it is clear he could remember things.
When we see Spock in his condition, we could see the anguish from Michael Burnham. Did Amanda mention how she found him or how Spock came to Amanda? All Amanda said was that Spock came to her for help. How did Sarek know to follow Amanda?
I did not like how Ash and Pike were arguing though...
I am confused why Sarek would turn Spock in to section 31 (but as a human)... as a Vulcan, he would do so, because of the alleged crimes he commited... Section 31 is not as mysterious yet and not as nefarious...
(If Leland allegedly killed Burnham's parents, does that not mean Leland is the killer, and not Spock?)
During the scene with Leland, Burnham and Spock, I got the sense Leland wanted something nefarious.
When Burnham found the number was backwards, I thought, why couldn't Burnham have thought of that before?
The scene with Ash and Pike in the shuttle-craft as they were being attacked - I thought it looked like a giant virus... why would the probe be sent to the future 500yrs, back again to kill them
Saru's command of Discovery was amazing, how he praised the guy who figured out the 3 plasma bursts (Rhys)
I like how Stamets helped and gave Tilly a pep talk.
The future probe trying to determine about the shuttle craft and the Discovery...
The choreography with Georgiou and Burnham was AMAZING! I alughed out loud. They did their own stunts? I expect so.
Was Airium infected by something?
When Georgiou reacted as she shot Burnham...
It's good that Pike and Ash patched things up.
That camera shot "Fight for the future" and ended up on Airium...
What is at Talos 4? *gasp*
In the preview I saw those OCTOBOTIC things attacking Earth...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote:[lets biologically modify all the Kelpians at once, inducing horrible pain, hopefully not killing them, and overturning the balance of two species which will inevitably end up with conflict]

Devil's advocate:

I am not saying you are wrong, but the Ba'ul falsely accused of the Discovery/Federation of kidnapping Saru! The moment Ba'ul threatened Discovery/Pike, it became a Federation matter. Saru had curious instincts to explore the stars. Again, I am not defending why PD was slightly washed over, but Saru was effectively an asylum seeker on Starfleet.
1. Saru had a personal stake on this, he has a sister on the planet
2. The Red Angel is reported to have been sighted there, a Discovery mission
3. The Ba'ul (we learn now) lied about the Great Balance and is effectively oppressing the Kelpiens (apologies for previously spelling it with an a) because they were prey to the evolved Kelpiens.
4. Yes, the Kelpiens have seen warp technology, albeit very rare and occasionally.

So yes, the PD should have been explored more, but they did explain WHY they did what they did. It is not like the species were totally unknown to them and completely pre-warp. Saru was basically an ambassador and yes they did not ask for their permission to have their biology changed, but they just accelerated puberty, as it were.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote: [But the way Saru was able to quickly piece together a tool to suddenly transmit the frequency that had been somehow sent to him on his improvised device by Tilly...it was all a bit much. There was a lot of that in this episode, as has been pointed out by numerous folks above.]

Saru is intelligent, no? He could speak and understand how many languages? He got off the planet, didn't he, when he was younger? Sorry, but that quote is nonsensical. I think Saru is intelligent enough to deduce or work out how Ba'ul technology works since it is from the same planet where Saru is from... Sure it is a stretch but it is not implausible.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Yeah, Hank said it. It could be Georgiou.

*anyone (above comment)
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Oh dear... has anything thought of this... empress Georgiou could be the red angel. She has saved people in the past.. ! She's connected to Michael. Leland didn't want to help but Georgiou gave them an extra 3 minutes... "have a little faith" or something she said...

I think the red angel is Georgiou
*gasp*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Near the beginning... That spinning thing with Michael, Ash and Pike, before the signal was received by Saru, was very funny now that you mentioned it. I couldn't remember where it happened but they were discussing the Red Angel. However I did not feel dizzy or anything, otherwise I would have remembered it, but it was very funny.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Booming said: //@Eric Jensen: This had nothing to do with evolution. They just induced a process that the Kelpians experience at some point. And at that point get killed/eaten? by the Ba'ul.//

Do you know what evolution means? Do you know what prey and predator mean? At some point? Not unlike a butterfly undergoing metamorphosis? And what is "induce a process"? What process? Oh wait, a biological process. What kind of biological process? Anything biological is related to evolution. Why do you think Michael, Tilly and Airum were doing discussing about what Kelpians/Ba'ul were doing in the past? Extinction and evolved Kelpians, and non evolved... are you watching the same show??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

And that scene with Saru and Pike on the bridge, until Michael stepped in between. That was tense. Also when Saru stayed in the captain's chair... will Saru become more aggressive over time?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

My thoughts/opinions: The reasons why I think they skipped the Prime Directive (PD) on this is because: 1. Saru has a personal stake on this 2. The Kelpians have seen warp technology before (from Michael) . 3. Although they did not know this at the time, the natural progression of Kelpian evolution was stunted/controlled by the Ba'ul (hinted by Saru losing his ganglia) and effectively Saru is asking Starfleet for help... 4. The investigation into the Red Angel.

Throughout the episode I was hoping the Kelpians wouldn't "evolve" to become the Ba'ul. This episode could have been better served over two episodes - why force the Kelpians to accelerate their evolution? (Obviously to overcome the Ba'ul, but without consent? And it being related to the Sphere/Red Angel, but isn't that playing "fate"?)

I feel a bit different this episode because Tilly and May's chemistry was better than Saru and Siranna's (sp?). We saw May at least 3 episodes and we see Siranna just once. I understand why Siranna felt the way she did in this episode - Saru leaving, The Watchful Eye, joining the priesthood, but it felt rushed. But I still liked the brother/sister relationship in this episode.

That superhero scene with Saru, the Ba'ul and Siranna was cool, where Saru released the darts from himself. We know Saru is physically capable but his "adrenaline" in this situation allowed him to do this because of his repression of fear. I thought the Ba'ul was menacing.

I also liked how the camera focused on Saru putting a hand on his colleagues... is that alluding to his empathy still being intact? Anyway, I felt this episode was good but not as good as the previous episode. 3/4.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I thought it was very good. It was star-trek like, in terms of reconstituting back Culber's body (not unlike transporter technology), searching for Spock, and section 31's un-mysterious elements.
The mycelium network is not unscientific. Search BBC Earth - Plants talk to each other. "By linking to the fungal network they can help out their neighbours by sharing nutrients and information – or sabotage unwelcome plants by spreading toxic chemicals through the network."
Just because others do not understand technobabble or the concepts behind it does not make the technobabble implausible or too far fetched.
I liked how Tilly helped the situation with May. Only time will tell why section 31 is so unsecretive at the moment.
As for the long discussion in the MN as DSC is being enveloped, well they did not expect to see Culber and they did not expect to see Culber vanish pass the barrier. It is hardly faith if they saw what happened to Tilly and they talked about energy is not created or destroyed and DNA and using the mycelium matter instead.
Was Culber's death pointless in season 1? Not necessarily. It showed Voq's (in Tyler's body) intentions. However it is explained in this episode that Culber isn't fully dead. Why could Stamets see Culber in the network?
They could have explained Admiral Cornwall though. Like "Cornwell briefed us on this" or something. It was completely out of the blue. I thought the acting was good overall.
4 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Mon, Aug 20, 2018, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

One of the best from "Next Gen."

This episode is what spurred my dream of a Star Trek series based on the Academy. I'm not sure why they've never considered that. Ripe material.

Take a group of classmates and follow them through the Academy and their first assignment. Handled well, it could be the best Trek ever.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Aug 3, 2018, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

I have a weakness for possession stories where the characters get to act very out of character.

Marina Sirtis benefits the most from the outing. And I thought Troi/Data/O'Brien made a potent trio.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Aug 3, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

The set-up was really weak as others have discussed and distracts from the episode. Yet watching them react to an amnesia-induced reset was very interesting.

I think this would have worked a lot better another one of Q's tests.

I enjoyed Erich Anderson's guest appearance.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.