Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 162 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This was one hot mess of an episode. Worse than I remembered.

I haven't seen "Spock's Brain" since the 1970s -- and I have a feeling I'm going to like it better than "Omega Glory."
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

It's rather premature of Spock to be contemplating Federation membership for the two planets -- especially Ekos.

And I'm not sure why either would have any interest in joining the Federation after what happened.

I see this as a Romulan opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Jennings
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Prepare to live up to your name, grumpy. Who knows, maybe you’ll like it? :-)
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

If "City on the Edge of Forever" is the best TOS drama, then "The Trouble With Tribbles" is the best dramedy. (I say dramedy because there were dramatic stakes to the episode, which made the comedy all the better).

I think one reason the episode is so good is the characters stay true to character. They didn't have them behaving out of character just to achieve some laughs.

I think this episode is the one that cemented "Star Trek's" place as an enduring franchise. It's also the peak of the TOS to me. I don't see another episode coming up that matches it.

It's also one of the few Trek episodes or movies that puts every single minute to extraordinary use. The others:

City on the Edge of Forever
Mirror, Mirror
Doomsday Machine
The Wrath of Khan
The Undiscovered Country

+++

The Measure of a Man
Yesterday's Enterprise
Best of Both Worlds
Inner Light

+++

Duet
The Die is Cast
The Visitor
In the Pale Moonlight
The Siege of AR-558
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Wow -- much better than I had remembered. One of the few of TOS that I had not seen since the 1970s.

The Big Three really standout in this episode, but the supporting players and guest stars turn in strong performances as well.

The episode has a quality to it you don't see again until DS9. It's pretty dark -- in a good way.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I must have a must higher tolerance for rapid-aging stories than the average "Trek" fan. I really liked the Next Gen rapid-aging story in season 2, and it's mostly panned.

I enjoyed this one as well, and it sure resonates with the almost 57-year-old me a lot more than the 12-year-old me.

Poor Lt. Galway. She's was treated like an afterthought. I don't know why, but her death always stuck with me as a particular sad one, and last night's viewing didn't change that.

That line about what a stupid place to put a mirror -- that's a great moment.

I had forgotten about the entire Romulan angle. Glad they had it in there.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

One of the best episodes of TOS and any Trek. I keep hoping for canonical treatment of the DM again.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

Wes B. -- I had the exact same thought on the Deck/Ilia probe.

I've also wondered how folks would have felt if that had been Uhura or Chapel in the shuttle dying and left behind to make sure handsome Mr. Cochrane had someone to knock boots with.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Goofy costumes aside, the Capellans made for one of the more interesting one-time-visited alien races in all of Trekdom.

I think they could make a compelling villains-you-respect race in the Prime Universe set in the decades after DS9 and Voyager.

At that point, they've had a couple of centuries of being exploited for their minerals and they've decided to give up their tents and head for the stars. As a space-faring race with technology equal to the Federation, they could easily emerge as worthy rivals to the Federation, Klingons and Romulans.
Set Bookmark
Jenkins L.
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

I think complaints about Voyager are less about it being bad (it’s at least as good as Dawson’s Creek created in the same era), it’s more that the other Treks are that much better. TOS was way ahead of its time with space sci-fi, idealism, and TV overall. TNG brought us a whole new era of post Cold War thinking. DS9 explores the nuances of the future utopia on the frontier and how it tests us. Voyager is just there with a High Concept of the week. It’s entertaining, but it doesn’t elevate the medium like the old shows.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

There are a lot of reasons I love this episode, but at the top:

Mirror Sulu, Uhura and Mirror Chekov. It showed what they would have been capable of if they had been given more chances.

They should have each had one episode per season that heavily featured them.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

In many ways, this is The Quintessential Original Series episode. It checks off so many prerequisites:

-- Multiple red-shirt deaths (this time by a variety of groovy causes: Flower that shoots poisonous "darts," lightning bolt, exploding rock, knocked in the head).

-- Philosophical argument between Spock and McCoy.

-- Showdown with a computer (they really were obsessed with technology taking over things).

-- Scotty delivering dire news about the status of the ship in orbit while the landing party is also in danger.

-- A main character "almost" dies but quickly recovers (this time, Spock "almost" dies twice).

-- Kirk briefly questions his command decision and quickly gets over it. Kirk later gives speech about freedom.

-- Yeoman De Jour beams down with landing party.

-- An inappropriate desire for romance in a dangerous situation (this time with Chekov and Yeoman De Jour)

-- An extremely red sky (I think red was their favorite color for planetary skies).

-- After another deadly mission to red shirts, quips and laughter at Spock's expense to wrap things up.

This was the kind of Trek I loved as a kid. I definitely have less kid in me these days. The ones I found a bit boring back then I like a lot now. "The Apples" of Trek are less interesting to me these days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, May 16, 2019, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A good episode. Better than I remember (this is one of the few that only saw once way, way back in the day).

The yeoman du jour was kind of intriguing.

Kirk got over the loss of his brother and sister-in-law a little too quickly. Such was episodic TV in those days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

My favorite "Original" Trek and very, very high up on my all-time, all Treks list.

I'll always think of Edith Keeler as Kirk's greatest love. Here's an aspect I haven't seen any comments on:

Joan Collins and William Shatner were two over-the-top, hammy actors. But they both toned it way down for this, and it was pure magic.

I usually roll my eyes at Kirk's "loves," but I totally buy in to why Kirk fell so hard, so fast for Edith Keeler, thanks for Joan Collins' on-spot performance.

My favorite part in an episode that was excellent from first to last minute was indeed that last minute back on the Guardian planet. I'm so glad they didn't do the usual yucking it up on the bridge at Spock's expense.

The ending leaves you with such as strong sense of Kirk's loss.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 10, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Has anyone every noticed that McCoy is always by the captain's seat, needlessly questioning every decision of whoever is in command?

Scotty, who had the situation well in hand, should have sent him down to Sickbay with orders to stay there.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Here's one thing I've never seen addressed:

The High Commissioner was absolutely right when he said the investigation of the quasar was an unnecessary risk. It was.

I can't think of a more important mission than transporting emergency medical supplies.

The HC is treated as some kind of pompous ace-hole, but I think he was spot on from the start.

And let me add my voice to the chorus of people praising Mr. Scott. I'm really impressed with him in Season 1. I'm sorry that as time went on, he started being treated as comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

I agree with Springy above, and I consider this episode a watershed moment for the franchise.

It really helped establish the foundation of our notions of Starfleet and the Federation. Before this episode, the Enterprise was out there going from one thing to another -- extrapowerful aliens, Mudd's womenfolk, mad scientists, mysterious diseases -- but none of it was connected together.

"The Menagerie" did that. We now have context. We're beginning the process of universe building.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Lt. Bailey would later return to Earth's past to infamously interrogate secret prostitute Karen Wolek during Victoria Riley's murder trial.
Set Bookmark
Jenreto
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Karl Zimmerman

If the Discovery storyline had gone full-out horror, you would have criticized it for THAT. ("Star Trek doesn't do horror," or something such).

@MidshipmamNorris

No one cares that you may or may not be a self-styled wonk in harping on how awful SMG'a acting is (so you say). However, it should be noted that saying it ten times (with various CAPS key stylings, each more intense than the prior line) does not make it anything more than one person's opinion, than saying it once does.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Time crystals DO exist.
https://news.berkeley.edu/2017/01/26/scientists-unveil-new-form-of-matter-time-crystals/
"In a paper published online last week in the journal Physical Review Letters, the UC Berkeley assistant professor of physics describes exactly how to make and measure the properties of such a crystal, and even predicts what the various phases surrounding the time crystal should be — akin to the liquid and gas phases of ice."
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

This show is about Burnham... so to say it does otherwise isn't really thoughtful... you knew what you were getting into
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Georgiou cares for Burnham - the hand, the fear of losing her.
I thought it was rude that Stamets brushed off Culber
Wow, Burnham's mum?
Tillys comedic moments... excellent
I liked the Spock and Burnham moment but Spock still seems snarky but a lot better this episode
That Leland and his eyes got punctured... wtf?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

4 stars
Saru seems more snarky, after his evolution.
That episode on Voyager, Kes returns and Tuvok could figure out why the time-line has changed, it just reminded me of that.
This episode told us that Burnham must be important somehow, or that Spock and Burnham are important to this series. Why save her then? Without the Red Angel she would have been dead...
I think the fight between Culber and Ash needed to happen.
And what is going to happen to Airium? The camera is pointing at her after all these unauthorised business so they want us to think about her... what is this three red dots? Does it mean anything?
Ok, so the crux of this episode is that Spock is now better after visiting the Talosians because they have mind powers? The change in the timeline made Spock trying to make sense of the change in the time line, then Spock was trying to make sense of it when more of the sightings were happening... Spock became affected and Talosians cured him?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

*laughed*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Already it seems very fast paced already, Burnham wanting to go to Vulcan, the temporal distortions on the bridge and sending a probe, Pike and Ash... The way Burnham pleaded with Amanda was not that tense, I thought it could have been more tense.
"Evasive manoeuvres" lol
When Saru took charge, it was awesome. Saru knew what to do straight away. When he mentioned Mudd, it is clear he could remember things.
When we see Spock in his condition, we could see the anguish from Michael Burnham. Did Amanda mention how she found him or how Spock came to Amanda? All Amanda said was that Spock came to her for help. How did Sarek know to follow Amanda?
I did not like how Ash and Pike were arguing though...
I am confused why Sarek would turn Spock in to section 31 (but as a human)... as a Vulcan, he would do so, because of the alleged crimes he commited... Section 31 is not as mysterious yet and not as nefarious...
(If Leland allegedly killed Burnham's parents, does that not mean Leland is the killer, and not Spock?)
During the scene with Leland, Burnham and Spock, I got the sense Leland wanted something nefarious.
When Burnham found the number was backwards, I thought, why couldn't Burnham have thought of that before?
The scene with Ash and Pike in the shuttle-craft as they were being attacked - I thought it looked like a giant virus... why would the probe be sent to the future 500yrs, back again to kill them
Saru's command of Discovery was amazing, how he praised the guy who figured out the 3 plasma bursts (Rhys)
I like how Stamets helped and gave Tilly a pep talk.
The future probe trying to determine about the shuttle craft and the Discovery...
The choreography with Georgiou and Burnham was AMAZING! I alughed out loud. They did their own stunts? I expect so.
Was Airium infected by something?
When Georgiou reacted as she shot Burnham...
It's good that Pike and Ash patched things up.
That camera shot "Fight for the future" and ended up on Airium...
What is at Talos 4? *gasp*
In the preview I saw those OCTOBOTIC things attacking Earth...
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.