Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 422 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

I noticed Mariner had her sleeves rolled up too, and yes, I think it's a nice bit of attention to detail. Also, the Cerritos crew's dress uniforms were slightly different from the Titan-style dress uniforms we saw in the TNG movies and DS9, which were also seen in this episode. So even for the dress uniforms, they're sticking to two different uniforms depending on the class of ship. More consistency and attention to detail.

I have no idea about the white shoes being a reference to the goof with Bashir's tennis shows (they didn't think his feet would be seen in the shot--oops!), but seeing as how they're only worn by the blue Sciences division, I'd certainly believe it, haha. I'd just figured it was because they look better with the blue uniforms than black boots, but maybe wouldn't look good with red or yellow uniforms.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Wed, Sep 15, 2021, 6:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

Speaking of uniform humor as we have been over the last few episodes, the "skant" jokes got a huge laugh out of me. "Nobody wears those anymore!" I really wish Mariner and Boimler had put them on after all, haha.

Also the Ceti Alpha IV/V joke was pretty great. If I hadn't just recently re-watched Wrath of Khan I'm not sure I would have caught it, but it still would have been a humorous exchange to hear. The writers of this show REALLY love Star Trek. There's never any question of that, to me.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Sep 15, 2021, 10:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

Do the Prophets ever call themselves Prophets, or anything at all? I know they're always saying "we are of Bajor" and other vague claptrap, but do they ever say their own pronouns? The whole Founders vs Changelings thing is a little different I think, because they refer to themselves with those terms. At least I know they call themselves Changelings (as a species). Do they call themselves Founders ever, or is it only the Vorta and other Dominion subjects who do that?

Anyway, if "Wormhole Aliens" or "Wormhole Entities" is too offensive then maybe "The Bajoran Prophets" would be an appropriate term, but not simply "The Prophets" which presumes universality just like saying "God" (capital G) without any further clarification. Prophets is a vague enough term, like the term god, that using it singularly is really only appropriate within the particular religion itself. Bajorans would refer to Fek'lhr as "The Klingon Devil", not just "The Devil" (assuming they believed in a devil at all). That at least has a distinction between a proper noun and an improper noun, whereas prophet and god could be either. So requiring Keiko to refer to the Wormhole Aliens as "The Prophets" is a bridge too far.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 9:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

"Why didn't Picard leave the Nexus and go back to when he is in Ten Forward chatting to Soran and have him locked up by Worf until the Nexus passes the planet and mess up his plans?"

Because then three elderly men wouldn't be able to awkwardly fight on some rocks, and the movie would end unceremoniously without any contrived conflict.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Sep 8, 2021, 9:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"While I accept your point, the same thing is true in reverse for British viewers..."

Sure but Star Trek is an American production first and foremost, and the British audience is a small fraction of the viewership at best. So I can see how the producers/directors/actors may want to stick to American pronunciation since it jibes with their primary audience. It's not unlike newscasters trying to speak in "standard" American English as much as possible, even in the deep south or New England where they have distinctive regional accents.

Tom Scott is a popular British YouTuber with a worldwide audience. As an American myself, when he says maths or zed or alu-MINI-um (as opposed to al-OO-min-um) it perks up my brain in a way that wouldn't be desirable when telling a narrative story like Star Trek. Either way someone's going to be irritated by it, so I assume the goal was to minimize the collateral damage.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 3:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

"This episode brought to mind the real-life “Goiânia accident”..."

Wow, that is pretty frightening. I'd never heard of that one before.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 3:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"Do we really believe that American TV audiences are so stupid that they would hear the word “enquiry” pronounced “in-CHOIR-y” rather than “INK-wirry”, and not understand it? I resent the fact that the producers forced Patrick Stewart to speak certain words as an American rather than as the Britisher that he is."

I think it's more that those British-isms can be just jarring enough to take the viewer out of the story for a moment. Not that they wouldn't understand, but they could lose the immersion. I do a bit of a "wait what?" when Tom Scott says maths instead of math, or someone on Linus Tech Tips says zed for Z instead of zee for instance.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 3:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

"Pol Pot, Stalin, Mao, and the benevolent Kim family of North Korea."

Red herring.

Being an atheist means simply not believing in a god/gods. There are no tenets, no scriptures, no clergy, no pronouncements. It is not a belief system, it is a rejection of a belief system. It's not really an 'ism at all, it's the opposite of an 'ism. Thus, the repugnant actions of despots like Stalin or Mao have to come from elsewhere, whether that's ego, power, loyalty to the party, or to any number of social and economic ideologies. The anti-religious aspects and crimes of communism have been committed in the name of communism, not atheism. Atheism is incidental.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 8:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

@ Tim C

Ha! I didn't know THAT! Pretty funny. "Mugato" sounds way better than "gumato" anyway--or at least it sounds more like a dangerous animal rather than a garnish for your soup, haha.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 9:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

Can I just say how much I appreciate that, right as I've been driving myself crazy trying to figure out what the Mariner character's backstory is, the show recognizes that a lot of its viewers would be doing exactly that at this point, and does a whole episode about it? Haha.

Listen, I think she actually does have a black ops past. Her denials weren't very convincing, were they? Boimler and Rutherford are gullible, but her dialogue delivery really came off like she was lying through her teeth to me. It's exactly--and I mean exactly--how an ex-Black Ops agent who can't talk about her past would play it if she came under such suspicion from a Boimler and a Rutherford as she did in this episode.

But I don't think she's lying about who she is now. I don't think she's faking her behavior and personality as a cover and still doing Black Ops stuff. I think she's exactly what I thought she was last week--a Wesley Crusher (daughter of two flag officers, grew up on starships, started piloting the ship at 12 and joined up at 16 or whatever, super-achiever, etc) who did Black Ops stuff during the Dominion War, lost her rosy-colored view of Starfleet and now just wants to coast and float through her service with the least amount of responsibility she can have.

Really enjoyed the Mugato pronunciation jokes throughout the episode. If I'm remembering right, that's because Kelley said Gumato in one of his lines in that episode and no one caught it, haha. That's a real deep cut right there. And it's funny even if you don't know that little tidbit of Star Trek history. I really appreciate what big fans the writers of the show must be to constantly be throwing in such obscure and esoteric references--while also not lazily relying on them to make the jokes work.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 11:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

"Curious … for once, nobody beat me to nitpicking! What was the reason for having to move that stellar core fragment in a single, desperate attempt?"

The longer they wait and the closer it gets to the planet, the more they have to move it. That's the principle anyway, but considering the time frame they're working with, yeah it still doesn't work. The real explanation is that the core fragment is just a plot device to bring the Enterprise into conflict with this colony.

"Also, just to be clear, the life support for the entire ship is fed directly off main power without backup batteries?"

I think what's more absurd is that they act as if termination of life support instantly kills everyone. It's not like when you turn off the heat in your home the temperature suddenly plummets, or if you lock yourself in an air-tight room the oxygen is immediately gone. For as huge as ships like the Enterprise are, they should have days if not weeks of breathable air. You can survive for two or three hours in a sealed coffin on the residual oxygen, now compare that to the amount of empty space in a ship like the Enterprise

Internal heat generation from equipment, the warp core, fusion generators, etc. would normally heat up the ship (Voyager actually did this in Macrocosm I think), but if everything was shut down, it would still take a very long time for the heat in the ship to radiate away, because heat transfer is quite difficult in a vacuum. Would it be weeks, months, or years? I don't know, but we're not talking seconds, minutes, or even hours.

One critical piece however is that artificial gravity and inertial dampers are apparently part of the life support system. If the ship were in a low-power idle state then that shouldn't be a problem, but if they're using all the ship's energy to try to pull/push something with the tractor beam, then the last thing you want going offline are the inertial dampers.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 1:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

"But they never try to gain that information. They just spend the whole episode fucking with his head."

I thought they cleared that up pretty well in the coda with Riker and Troi. The aliens weren't feeding Riker the whole mental hospital shifting reality mind screw, that was created by his brain resisting the mind probe. Much like in The Inner Light, Riker's entire "dream" could've taken place over merely 10 minutes of real time when to him it seemed like days had passed.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 1:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

"The aliens place their faith in their traditions, whilst Kim gets in the coffin and puts his faith in science, Starfleet and his compatriots."

Faith for the aliens and Kim are not the same thing. For the aliens, faith would be belief without evidence. That's the case for most religious/supernatural/spiritual claims. You're supposed to believe it without evidence, or faith is itself supposed to be the evidence (basically if you believe hard enough that makes it true).

In Kim's case, faith would be more like confidence, because it IS based on evidence. He knows their medical technology can revive him, that sensors can detect him, and that his compatriots would be looking for him. He's seen and experienced those things happening in the world. That's enough to justify the risk, but it's still a risk and his only real option.

Science doesn't need faith because it's proven itself to be reliable, and it's self-correcting when it's wrong. If faith is just a synonym for confidence, ok I guess, but that's not usually how it's used, and I would argue that the aliens' faith/confidence is unjustified.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 6:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Also, people's voices change a bit with time and age. Plus, maybe doing VO work is different for an actor and he hasn't really done any previously? Could be.

I guess it's canon now that Paris stayed in Starfleet after Voyager got home and that he received a promotion to full lieutenant. As an unabashedly huge Voyager fan, it makes me really happy to finally know that.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 4:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Wait, so Mariner served on DS9 during the Dominion War? That's . . . a bit hard to reconcile. This whole time I've figured her backstory is that she was basically Wesley. Child prodigy, started serving at sixteen or thereabouts, was the Starfleet wunderkind, then over the last ten years or so she lost her taste for it, starts seeing the seams and cracks in Starfleet and in how they do things and realizes they don't have all the answers about how to live your life, and given how young she was she joined up, that kind of rocked her worldview and her sense of herself and now, in reaction, she's being who we see her being on the show. With the expectation being, of course, that eventually she'll grow up and realize it's her responsibility to make Starfleet (and the universe) better if she feels it's lacking. Because that's what being an adult means.

I guess serving under Sisko during the Dominion War might be harrowing enough to break down that Boimler-like unquestioning belief in Starfleet as the perfect ideal and cause that shift in her. I just don't think the Mariner we see on LD could EVER serve under Sisko. He would straighten her out in five minutes flat. And if she was really such a Starfleet wunderkind--heck, Riker is supposed to have mentored her in the time between the loss of the D and the launch of the E, which would mean DS9 was her next assignment directly after that--it seems strange, given the various situations on the station as a result of the war, that we wouldn't have met her. Not impossible and not inconceivable, but strange.

I don't know, I just think the writers should be careful here. They should have a very good idea of who Mariner is and how she got to be that person, the events and the timeline that shaped her. If instead they think they can just "be funny" by throwing out a ton of different conflicting information about her past that couldn't possibly add up, well, I submit that isn't funny. I want characters who feel like real people at the core of the show, not a collection of characteristics and tropes that they can make stuff up about at the drop of a hat for the sake of a throwaway punchline, ya know? Hard to connect or care about them then. And not that this is how it's been so far, just that I hope they indeed recognize this need and that they're careful.

Actually, now that I'm thinking about it, wasn't it hinted that Mariner was part of some elite black ops team at some point? I'd have to guess that was during the war. Maybe the team was based at DS9 at the time. So she didn't really serve *on* DS9, but that's what she would tell people. And we didn't see her because she wasn't reporting to the senior staff and wasn't part of that personnel pool, she reported to the team leader instead. Hmmm. I think that would fit.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 3:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

@ Tim C

My point was only that I don't really think there actually were inconsistencies until they themselves introduced them, or at least they were very minor before then, so this joke of theirs doesn't really land for me. I'm not bothered by their decision to use two uniform types concurrently with no explanation on LD, I'm just not laughing at it because of that. And admittedly, I do rather enjoy coming up with "in-universe" reasons to explain inconsistencies in Star Trek, exactly because it's a silly and frivolous exercise. I think it's great fun. Love reading other people's, too!
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 1:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

Worf does look odd sitting at the Ops station, and I agree that it seemed a bit jarring. Chalk it up to Barush not knowing any better, or perhaps Worf screwing up and being demoted/held back (he came close in TNG several times, and after DS9's "Change of Heart" was basically told his career wouldn't advance any further). Maybe the battle where he got that scar was a royal cluster?
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 9:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

I don't think the uniform thing has traditionally been all that complicated. It's really only in NuTrek that it's gotten complicated. It's a joke about, basically, something they invented themselves.

In the TNG era, there's the changeover from the season one-two uniforms to the collar version of season three onward. The spandex versions continue to be used on background characters for the third season, for obvious budgetary reasons, but also, in-universe it's pretty clear that senior officers and department heads are wearing the new uniforms first as a phasing-in process.

On DS9, it's made clear that starbase personnel wear the new, more informal "colored shoulders" version, and starship personnel wear the TNG uniform. We see, for example, Sisko wear the TNG uniform when he's on Earth, because that's what they wear at Starfleet Command.

In Generations, Starfleet has changed its mind about split uniforms for starship and starbase personnel and started rolling out the DS9 uniform to all ships, so some of the crew wears that. (Behind the scenes, this was a result of a mandate for new uniforms so they could be merchandised, but the new uniforms they designed were terrible and they changed their minds, so all they had available were the DS9 uniforms. There was no money to make new uniforms again, and only some of the cast wears DS9 uniforms because they're literally wearing already-made uniforms from the show's wardrobe, and there were none that fit the other cast members.)

Voyager wears the DS9 uniform because that was the standard now after being phased in to being worn on starships in Generations.

When First Contact happens, DS9 switches uniforms, just as they're supposed to now that Starfleet has decided everyone should be wearing the same thing. Voyager doesn't switch, because they're out of contact, and then when they re-establish contact, they don't switch because it would be a waste of resources. Oh, sure, they could switch slowly as uniforms are replaced, but then you have a hodgepodge of uniforms being worn amongst the crew, and the point of a uniform is to be . . . uniform. Clearly Janeway decided that, for crew unity, the whole crew switches at once, or not at all.

So that's not really all that confusing, is it?

No.

But then you get to Discovery, which has its crew not wearing TOS uniforms for some reason. Okay, fine. But then Pike shows up wearing, of course, his TOS uniform. So they make it out that the TOS uniforms are only worn aboard Constitution class vessels right now, because they're "prestige" vessels, being long-range deep space exploration ships meant to be out of contact with Starfleet for months or years at a time. And then by Kirk's time that will have changed, and the whole fleet will be wearing the Constitution uniforms. I guess it works, but this is REALLY where they made it complicated, and not before this. It honestly wasn't complicated or inconsistent until right then.

And then on Lower Decks we have the Cerritos uniform and the First Contact uniforms being worn by crews on nearly the same duties and assignments, and there really isn't any good reason for this. Most of the fleet seems to be wearing Cerritos-style uniforms, and if the Titan were a special class of ship on a special kind of "prestige" mission, well, why are they wearing the OLD version of the uniform?

So I maintain that, really, when they make jokes about uniform inconsistency, they're making jokes about something that was barely even there until they themselves MADE it be there.

Really enjoyed the joke about extra rank pips really just being pieces of corn stuck to the collar though, heh. Miles O'Brien must LOVE him some corn on the cob!
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Aug 19, 2021, 6:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

Seeing as it's 2381 now on the show, which is the year Thad Riker was born according to ST: PIC, I'm guessing the in-universe reason Troi isn't on the Titan's bridge is that she's on maternity? Obviously the real reason is they don't have the budget to get both Frakes and Sirtis on at the same time more regularly. Still don't see why they couldn't just draw her there and not have her say anything, though.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Thu, Aug 19, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Clues

"...the glaringly obvious problem of 48 missing hours."

The writers accounted for that by noting that wormholes have time distortion effects. "We're lucky we didn't end up half way across the galaxy in the middle of next week."

"Another issue is why, when it was clear the attempt had failed, Data let them proceed. They were safely away from the Paxans; why not tell Picard what he wants to know?"

Because Data was following Picard's order to the letter, never to reveal the existence of the Paxans. He was incapable of disobeying that order due to his programming. Once the Paxans revealed themselves through Troi then he was free of that burden. Had Picard worded his order differently, or given Data an out of some sort (which maybe he did do in the second try) then it could've played out differently.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 4:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

"It is still classed as a theory after all."

A theory is the highest form of scientific understanding. It is an explanation of an aspect of the natural world that has been repeatedly tested and verified, having withstood rigorous scrutiny. The vernacular use of the word, which more often means "guess" or "unsubstantiated hypothesis", pollutes the discussion because of its different meaning.

Evolution itself is an observed proven fact. We've seen it happen in the short-ish term from selective breeding (artificial selection), drug and pesticide resistant bugs, moths that changed color due to pollution, etc. The theory of evolution by natural selection is the best explanation we have of how it works the way it does. The fossil record, even if it's not complete, corroborates the history of speciation, as does the continuing work on genetic sequencing.

So the "it's just a theory" statement belies a complete misunderstanding of the term, and is no different than saying "well gravity is just a theory."
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

"Deanna is only half Betazoid. We’ve been told she can only pick up emotional states not actual thoughts. Yet she clearly 'heard' her mother’s thoughts."

There seems to be some intra-Betazoid or parent-sibling connection that allows them to communicate with each other. That said, in Encounter at Farpoint she was speaking telepathically to Riker while also staring daggers at him. I'll chalk that one up to poor season-1 writing, but overall it seems like "with training" it's possible to communicate telepathically where it wouldn't normally be expected. Maybe Lwaxana can boost Deanna's abilities, sort of like Saketh and Sarek, or Tuvok and Kes.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 2:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Worf was gloating about how he had "enhanced the targeting system for increased accuracy."
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

"Kai Winn(makes me shudder to call her Kai)..."

Just call her Nurse Ratched.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"Things I learned today: Avery Brooks wasn’t acting when he broke down."

I re-watched the "What We Left Behind" documentary over the weekend (which incidentally is freely available on YouTube now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHixW9PLsAc ) and that's where it was mentioned that Brooks went all-in on that breakdown. There was also some discussion about whether he should direct or not, because usually they don't like to do that, but in this case it made sense.

From Memory-Alpha, quoting "What We Left Behind":

First Assistant Director Lou Race recalled shooting the scene; "He falls to the floor, and I'm saying, 'Well, I gotta say cut. But how long should I let this go on?'" Nana Visitor related, "They called cut, and he's… not coming out, and I know what that feels like as an actor. You're gone, and he was… he was gone." Added Lou Race, "If I'd stood there for half an hour, I think he would have kept on. He was very committed to that part and very committed to that scene."
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.