Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 28 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Wait, this isn't Enterprise, this is Islam.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 2:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Hey, a currently-ongoing Enterprise episode discussion! I don't have anything to add, but dammit, it's nice to see.

Rewatching this one momentarily.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 22, 2015, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

1989-2005 for no Doctor Who episodes on television... the Trek version would be 2005-2021. I can live with that. I can live with six more years without weekly Trek.

I don't want to live with it, but I can!
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 22, 2015, 1:02am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

Some of these comments leave me baffled.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Fri, Jul 27, 2012, 3:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Well, I guess they were saving the pregnancy for later... er. Yes. That's right. Or something.

Anyway, I just watched this one for the first time since it premiered, and oh my goodness, I agree with this review regarding Janeway's cheesy-arse line. She had a lot of them this season, didn't she?
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Eh, I loved the climax too damn much to give this episode a single star. Most of the rest of the episode is fairly weak but damn if I didn't feel my heartstrings getting pulled a bit when the bulk of the main cast all gathered to await their potential end.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

I watched this on first-airing as an eight-year-old eager for all things Trek. No matter how bad an episode actually was, I dutifully tuned in and thought it was spectacular.

I thought then, at eight years old, that this episode was horrible.

That's... there's no worse criticism as far as I'm concerned.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I probably would have sighed a bit at this season finale if I were an adult when it first aired some twenty years ago. (Instead I ate it up undauntedly like I did with all things space as a five-year-old. But I digress.)

Following "Best of Both Worlds, Part I" and "Redemption, Part I" this episode definitely doesn't hit the mark. But as a small piece in the great tapestry of Trek, viewing it while ignoring its place at the end of the year, it's a solid three-star excursion. Fun all-around.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Stef:

I... do not believe that was the statement made in "Far Beyond The Stars"... at all.

@pviateur:

What everyone else said.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Discussion about "The First Duty" so often becomes discussion of the Locarno/Paris name change first and foremost, heh.

Voyager was conceived as a ship running into Adventures of the Week (AotW) with a far less perfect crew than TNG's. The story of redemption is very much a Tom Paris thing. It would have been every bit as much a Nick Locarno thing. So yes, to this day it kind of irks me.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Lwaxana Troi's appearances on TNG and DS9 were good ones exactly twice -- "Half a Life" and "The Forsaken". Majel Barrett was a terrific actress; like you said, Jammer, it's what she's given that matters here.

"Cost of Living" is easily one of the elder Troi's absolute worst appearances.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Aah, everybody was talking to Jeff! I'm so confused!

@Angel
Being considered attractive =\= useful. :)

At any rate, this score is a bit lower than I'd personally provide. It's a two-and-a-half star over here: Troi's incompetence is grating and the one-on-top-of-the-other cliche syndrome, irksome.

Oddly enough, while I usually don't care for stories involving children in my fiction I thought Picard's end of the deal was surprisingly OK, no doubt in large part because Patrick Stewart could read the phone book and get an Emmy nomination out of it.

Speaking of things that very rarely do it for me, the baby delivery was something I was dreading going back into "Disaster" as an adult. I hate the vast majority of these scenes. And yet the dialogue between Worf and Keiko proved exceptional. Possibly the highlight of the hour. Never, ever thought I'd say that.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Sep 4, 2011, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

One day, somehow, the TNG-versus-DS9 wars shall end.

For my money, "Darmok" is three-and-a-half stars. I like it a lot but I don't quite love it. Everything about the episode is wonderful high-concept science fiction but there was a bit of a pacing issue as far as Riker's scenes were concerned.

When an episode isn't just as comfortable a fit no matter which set is being filmed I tend to subtract a bit of the score. Riker's scenario wasn't intended to be quite as compelling as Picard's, I'd imagine... but every time I saw the bridge I just desperately wanted to see the planet again.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Thu, Oct 21, 2010, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I think the two stars Jammer gave this episode are a bit more credible than most of you think. It's my understanding (and I could be mistaken) that he tends to review episodes primarily on their own merits.

There's a higher probability he'd have given this zero stars if he were reviewing it as a 'franchise finale', but he wasn't.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Thu, Oct 21, 2010, 1:32am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

RLM's an annoying, pretentious, pseudo-misogynistic hack. I've watched several of his reviews and I can't stand his stage persona. Annoying, trite and self-indulgent barely begin to describe his so-called theatrics.

As a preemptive measure, should he happen to swing by here and attempt to stun me with a response, it won't have any effect. This is the internet. It doesn't take much to type a few words.

Maybe he's a decent guy when he isn't doing his reviews, but too much of his points get neutered by his desire to run unfunny jokes longer than he spends actually analyzing things. At least, in the reviews I've checked out.

I'm aware of his stance on "First Contact", but I just rewatched it for the first time in a long time (Blu-Ray, baby; god, the film looked like it just came out yesterday!) and it's a fairly terrific movie. Some of the Borg Queen lines are over-the-top, some of the earlier scenes are a little too 'horror' for my tastes... but apart from these quibbles, it's a good film for non-Trekkies and a great one for the rest of us.

The pacing being problematic is a complaint I disagree with. Of course the space walk scene is slow. It's SPACE. And the official First Contact scene clocking in at ten minutes? Try closer to five, and it never felt like it dragged to me. AJH and I clearly just have far separate interpretations on... time.

The producers really brought their A-game to this compared to the other TNG films, and it's bittersweet knowing that "Insurrection" and "Nemesis" don't come close. I don't hate either one like some do, but they're not this good. Not by a long shot.

I'm not planning on doing reviews for the films, but I'd give this one a heartfelt ***1/2, too, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Oct 20, 2010, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

Just wrote my review for this one and I agree with a lot of what I've read here. Great episode. I felt it was a little plodding and cliche in the beginning, but really opens itself up once Odo enters the picture.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Oct 17, 2010, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Nah, I'm not a fan of 'retrospective scores'. My review thread intentionally avoids them. Episodes should be criticized based on what they offer within 43 minutes, not three seasons.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Oct 17, 2010, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Deep Space Nine, 'by far the worst Trek incarnation ever'? That's... pretty hard to swallow. I can see where someone wouldn't like it, but finding its overall quality significantly lower than Voyager or Enterprise? Really?
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sun, Oct 17, 2010, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Just watched this one last night. Sorry to disagree, but I did indeed love it. I found Hopkins' performance decent if not stellar; it seemed to fit the character that she was so uncertain.

Thanks for confirming for me that there was a glaring inconsistency regarding the runabout, though. That was driving me nuts.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Thu, Oct 14, 2010, 2:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

The only two people I'd have been entertained by seeing Seven wind up with were The Doctor or Janeway. Either way, it would have been making a powerful statement.

I'd vastly prefer it be The Doctor, but Janeway helps Seven along on the road to reclaiming her humanity for so long that if either of them swung that way, I could see it.

Chakotay, though? Seriously? What?
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Mon, Oct 11, 2010, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

I sympathize, Zack, but the show has been over for eleven years. I simply wouldn't recommend combing through sites like this one until you're finished with it.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sat, Oct 9, 2010, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

And I was nine. And it was glorious.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sat, Oct 9, 2010, 11:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I must admit, I get a real kick out of going back in time and reading some of Jammer's wants and predictions. Here, he says the writers should probably tackle 'some kind of war episode' in which the Dominion are defeated, at some point down the line.

And then we got seasons six and seven.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Sat, Oct 9, 2010, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Apart from one of the scenes between the scientists running too long and without relevant substance, I did find this episode surprisingly enjoyable. Remembering it back from its original airing, when I was but a wee lad, I had fond memories. Still, I expected them to be at least a little shattered by the harsh reality of watching something as an adult.

It was a pleasant experience, finding out it was actually pretty good. The in-joke about Gabriel Bell was ridiculously funny. I had to pause for a moment to regain my composure so as not to miss a line, then Quark piped in about how 'all hew-mons look the same' and I nearly had to pause again.

I'm still reviewing the earlier episodes of the third season, but I think I'll be giving "Little Green Men" a rather respectable score, personally.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Fri, Oct 1, 2010, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I'll be doing something long before then. Waiting is boring; the woman who raised me was a political activist, and if things get just a tad worse than they are now, I'll be thinking very seriously of following in her footsteps.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.