Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Thu, May 14, 2015, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

@Nathan G: the behind the scenes reason for no shuttlecraft is that this early in the series the idea of the Enterprise having shuttlecrafts hadn't been created yet. So for the original audience of this episode it wouldn't have been a concern. But all these years later anyone viewing this episode will have a difficult time letting this in-universe gaffe slide.

I enjoy this episode, especially Spock's explanation of what is happening to Kirk and comparing his own inner battle with his Vulcan and human sides. I do wish the "evil" Kirk could have been more talkative. I understand that he is meant to personify Kirk's anger and rage, but EK still has intelligence and reasoning as well.

A few filming gaffes (some of the EK scenes are clearly reversed from how it was actually filmed) tend to annoy me a bit, but I like how even for 1966 and just a few episodes in TOS was tackling some wonderful philosophical and ethical issues. And William Shatner (for all the acting bashing he gets) does a superb job (in my opinion) of embodying two diametrically opposed versions of himself.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

And we never do find out what the People of Vaal find so humorous about Spock's name, do we? :)
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Sat, Apr 11, 2015, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Having recently rewatched this episode and "Alliances" from season 2, I can't help but find Janeway's change of mind regarding establishing alliances mildly amusing. Here Janeway tells Tuvok that any alliance could be helpful even the Nistrim, despite Neelix already informing her that the Nistrim is the most violent sect. Granted, at the time Janeway makes this statement she hadn't met Mage Culluh yet. But then in "Alliances", at the end of the episode, Janeway tells the senior staff that the only ally they need is the Federation rulebook. Which is it Captain?
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

I do enjoy this episode, but I have to wonder if Voyager's library computer would truly contain the vast amounts of biographical and historical data the crew uses in this episode to research the past. It seems like any starship (not just Voyager) can call up information on anyone or anything no matter what world or time period. I just find it a little hard to believe.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Sat, Aug 3, 2013, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I've often thought that the dialog in "Time Squared" and "Cause and Effect" regarding the nature of their situation and what to do about it is exactly the same. I've never watched the episodes back to back to see if this is true. But they sure sound similar.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Mon, Oct 22, 2012, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

The only comment I'll make regarding "Carbon Creek" is that with the ending shot of the episode the writers seem to deliberately shoot STAR TREK: FIRST CONTACT in the foot. If the episode ended on a note of mystery I would have liked it better. But now the episode ends completely revoking what made FIRST CONTACT so special and key to the TREK mythos.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Mon, Sep 17, 2012, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Just a few comments and questions.

1) The truck floating in space makes for a unique image, but in the end it seems almost sillier than seeing Abe Lincoln floating in space in TOS: "The Savage Curtain." And no explanation is ever offered for how it got there in the first place.

2) I realize we're dealing with people living in the 24th century, but would they really confuse a 1930s truck with an early version of hover car?

3) Referring to 20th century Earth as "ancient" seems silly to me. That would be like us referring to the Revolutionary War as being an ancient war.

4) Definitely crediting Sharon Lawrence as Amelia Earhart in the opening credits gives away the surprise, but I'm sure the UPN episode trailers did that for weeks prior to the episode airing.

5) It does seem hard to believe that no one would want to stay. One of the hardest things to believe on this series is the blind loyalty the noname crewmembers had for Janeway and the other main characters regardless of what Janeway,etc wanted to do. It's also hard to believe that Earhart wouldn't want to travel the stars and explore in a way she never could have imagine during her lifetime. But the reality of the situation is this is a TV series and clearly the writers and producers weren't going to have Earhart be a recurring character on the show. Pity. VOYAGER had so many chances to break the mold and shied away from almost all of them. Pity. I give it 2 stars on the low end.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Mon, Sep 17, 2012, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I had forgotten about Neelix mentioning that water was hard to come by. That never gets mentioned again, not even in the rest of season 1.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Sat, Jun 23, 2012, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I like this episode a lot. I've been a fan of the Romulans for quite a while now. On the whole Romulan episodes seem to be especially good. But while reading your review a question suddenly popped into my head that I had never considered before.

If Toreth's father was taken away by the Tal Shiar all those years ago, how is it that Toreth could succeed in the military, including being given command of her own ship. Part of me is thinking that any background check on her would show her father being taken away by the Tal Shiar and with that incident in her background she'd never be allowed to join the military much less rise to command level.

Merely a question though. I really like the episode.
Set Bookmark
Jeff Bedard
Mon, Apr 26, 2010, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

Overall I enjoyed this three parter. It certainly helped the Vulcans regain their original stature from TOS. I really wasn't happy with their portrayals up to this point.

My overall complaint though is that the actors playing V'Las and Kuvak just didn't look Vulcan. Yes, they had the ears and the eyebrows, but their faces, especially the blue eyes, just didn't look Vulcan to me. I didn't buy it. Not to mention that they were emoting all over the place during the trilogy. Simply illogical. At least this trilogy fixed the damage initially inflicted on Vulcans in this series.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.