Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Thu, Oct 29, 2015, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Ben: Not to get too far off the subject but someone wrote a long paper explaining the economics of The Federation. It's definitely worth a read and watching Star Trek most of my life it seems like most of the people we've seen in the Federation have become minimalist.
Set Bookmark
Jayson Vaugh
Wed, Jan 28, 2015, 3:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Just, no.

This episode was vile to me. I remember loving it as a teen. However, re-watched I found Cretak's fate too hideous to find acceptable. An innocent woman to be put to death - for nothing. No thank you.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Fri, Jul 5, 2013, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I wondered if this episode wouldn't have been a bit stronger if the character of Commander Maddox accompanied the Admiral. I guess I was disappointed he never showed up in the series again after MOAM.
Set Bookmark
Jayson C
Sat, Aug 25, 2012, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Phillip, Riker said that only six hundred million were killed. That still leaves the majority of the human population still intact. So it's not a stretch to imagine The Bell Riots still remained an important event in human affairs despite WWIII.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Mon, May 7, 2012, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Latex,

I have a few theories on why they didn't warp around the sun. It's possible that Starfleet classified all the details on that which makes sense given they do have a department of temporal investigations. Also, what O'Brien was doing did seem far easier and more accurate but I suppose once they ran out of magic time travel particles warping around the sun would have been an option.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, May 21, 2011, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I've never been a huge fan of "City On The Edge Of Forever" and while it's not bad, I actually prefer "Balance Of Terror" because not only is a good old fashioned submarine story, it's also one of those could easily have been told in any of the recent Star Trek series with out losing a beat.

In fact DS9 had a similar episode "Starship Down" but to do to budgetary reasons, it didn't quite live up to the original idea. That being said, I think you should have given "Balance Of Terror" at least 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Wed, May 4, 2011, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

"Pitty, I rather liked him" is the best Garak line in 7 seasons. Also, I recall reading at memory alpha about the producers really wanted to keep the actor and the character Entek around but if Garak doesn't kill him then it takes some of the edge away from Garak.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, Feb 5, 2011, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Nic, in the episode "By Inferno's Light" Sisko does in fact plan to seal the wormhole when it looks as if The Dominion is coming.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, Jan 1, 2011, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Jay, in both cases there was a political motivation and in both said cases, the story for both woman was fairly good. Though for Kira it was nothing new but with Deanna it was very rare.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, May 29, 2010, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Kara, I think it's no secret that the guys running DS9 were fans of TOS. While I'm not a huge fan of TOS I thought it was really neat that they chose to embrace their past rather than run from it.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Thu, Feb 11, 2010, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

Regarding Jammers comments about the TNG episode "Masks" that is really one of my more favorite and cerebral episodes of TNG. Not sure why but "Masks" is a really cool concept. Anyway "Distant Voices" is not as cool as "Masks" but it's just as entertaining. I think this episode more than any other to this point really got into Julian is as a person. For me that little bit of character insight is worth the price of admission. Oh and you can't go totally wrong with any episode with Garak, real or not.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sun, Feb 7, 2010, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Elliot, I believe in the bonus features on the season three DVD Ira Steven Behr describes the genesis for this episode. He mentions a story that someone on the staff brought to his attention. Apparently the mayor of Los Angles at the time was pondering something similar to the sanctuaries in the show. Granted, that wasn't the inspiration for the idea but it was a pretty scary conincidence.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Fri, Jan 1, 2010, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I have to admit, I'm one of those people who likes to nitpick so I don't admonish those who do the same. However, I think what some are overlooking is the point of the story which is what happens to the characters in an unusual sittuation. Also, how said characters deal the situation. So really the story is more important than some minor details.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Fri, Dec 25, 2009, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Durandal,

It could have been synthohol which tastes like real alchol but with none of the negetive side effects. Either that or it was something else but honestly I never noticed before. Finally, it's the future and maybe they can drink and be pregnate at the same time.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Mon, Nov 2, 2009, 1:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Jerry, I think it was more like the Federation wasn't going to be bullied around. Either that or the Federation knew they couldn't stop everyone from going into the Gamma Quadrant and weather it was the Federation or someone else, confrontation would have been inevitable anyway. I think the reasoning was that the Dominion was going to come eventually so they had to be prepared.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, Sep 5, 2009, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I've never understood the dis-like for Vic Fontain. I loved every episode the character was in. In an ironic sort of way he was the counciler DS9 never had (minus Ezri) in a reoccuring role. Plus he was so hip and cool in a Vegas lounge singer 60's kind of way.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Wed, Jul 22, 2009, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I actually really like this episode and aside from the murder mystery is that the writers avoided the obvious. The obvious being that I thought for sure that the killer was somehow going to be related to Joran, a kind of sub-conscience kind of think. I also feel the twist making a vulcan the killer was a big surprise.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Tue, Jul 21, 2009, 5:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I would like to add to Chris's comment about the development of DS9's supporting cast. Not only were they well development and used effectivly (mostly). Aside from that, its a testement to the shows producers and writers that they could build a whole episode around two guest stars and the audience would barely notice. Both Vic & Nog are such good characters that I didn't even think about the fact that they aren't main cast members.

Btw, there was an episode of TNG called "Lower Decks" where the focus was on the guest stars but nothing as good as this episode.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sun, Jul 12, 2009, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Mischief Maker, "Spock's Brain" wasn't a comedy episode and this one was definately a comedy. Watching this episode again its probably the funniest Ferengi episode today. All of the actors crack me up in one way or another.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Mon, Jun 29, 2009, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Jammer, I got the feeling the reason the reason for Shakaar visit wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things in DS9 was because it was just "another" meeting. I think are supposed to assume that the process for Bajors admitance to The Federation entails a seemingly endless string of meetings and negotiations. Though it would have been nice to elaborate on this. Anyway I really enjoyed this episode, a painful tale of unrequited love.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sun, Jun 28, 2009, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

Damien, not only that but Joe Sisko said something that Ben just ignores. Basically that a shapeshifter could absorb some blood and let it out on cue. The only way to get around that little trick is to check the DNA its self. Also, he made the point that there has never been a test that a clever man couldn't get around. However I suppose its all Starfleet has to go with.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Sat, Jun 20, 2009, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

I was recently reading through the DS9 Companion and apparently the original ending of this episode was more ambiguous in that Doctor Bashire couldn't determine with 100% accuracy that Kira was Bajoran.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Mon, Jun 15, 2009, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Jammer, I have to disagree with you on the point that the ending was a cop-out. Infact I think putting the crew in a simulation to learn more about them as a potential future adversary makes alot of sense. It didn't feel a waste of time at all, it just clearly demonstrated how devious The Dominion could really be and they did learn something from their simulation so it wasn't a waste of time for them either.

Finally, I loved how Odo finally finds his people had has to leave them.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Thu, Mar 12, 2009, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Observer,

If you don't have the DVD's there is a segment on the bonus disk for DS9 S7 that has footage of the final wrap pary for DS9. At the party Ira Stephen Behr makes a statement about how he believes DS9 has forever changed Star Trek and that he is hopfull that DS9's legacy will live on afterwards.

Thats such a sad statement given what happend after DS9. Basically TPTB did a 180 from the quality of DS9 in favor of being "cool" & "hip" and back to this episode, as I said before. DS9 was classy from beginning to end.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Wed, Dec 17, 2008, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

You would be hard pressed to find any TV series, even a well written one that doesn't leave character moments like that. For example, in The West Wing when Sam ran for congress there was a whole arc of episodes for that story but after it was over there was no mention of weather or not he won or lost.

I do agree that it would be nice to have some time devoted to that story line but then again they were wrapping up so much of the series, it was just one of those things that got lost in the shuffle.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.