Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 650 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 26
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

For the first time in a long while i can agree with the review. A long, boring walk in the forest, some nice parts and a strong ending. 2 or 2.5 stars seems right.
Set Bookmark
JayW
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

This might be my least favorite episode of Voyager. There are some which might be technically worse, like Threshold, but they at least produce some laughter. I struggle to even finish this one. The entire Tom Paris plot line is ridiculous, and the writers show no regard for the character they've worked so hard to develop.

"They're just not like us."

"...maybe you're right."

Give me a freaking break.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

4 stars? Madness. I'm watching it now, but it's so boring, so poorly acted, so cliched that I literally can't watch it. The voice-over with Jake doesn't work, the responses to the attack are all too calculated. The scenes in the compound are overdone and theatrical. It just stinks. Not even one star. Next!
Set Bookmark
Jay
Wed, Feb 7, 2018, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I still can't get into this show, and my mind still doesn't want to grasp that it's Star Trek at all. I can't look at technology that makes TNG era look primitive and keep straight that this is actually a prequel not only to TNG but to TOS. My brain still won't look at these monsters and think "these are Klingons". I admit that the Star Trek I wanted is one set in the post-TNG/DS9/VOY era. But I could tolerate this disconnect between technology and setting if they had kept the look of the Klingons as it was in the TNG era so there would at least be that tether to familiar Star Trek. I normally judge Trek shows on a Trek curve (I liked ENT better than it had a right to be liked because it was clearly Star Trek visually), but since this show doesn't feel much like Star Trek at all, I judge it independently, adn it doesn;t fare very well for it.
Set Bookmark
John Jay Witte
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

After last week's episode, I found myself really enjoying this episode. Sure it had the patented "Person is placed in charge and has to earn the trust of his teammates" story, but I felt like the execution was well handled. Even though it came out of left field, it felt surprisingly organic to the show.

I also liked the subplot involving Ed finding out about Kelly's efforts to get him the command of the Orville. Once again, I enjoyed how the episode built off the history of the show over the past few episodes and also built on the history of Ed and Kelly's past relationship.

And even still, I liked the who two dimensional universe plot too. Sure, it has been done before in all iterations of Star Trek, but it also felt surprisingly fresh and different. I know that the show is stretching the plausibility of the ship being functional in any way after passing through 2 dimensional space, but I'm willing to roll with it.

Lastly, and this is the weirdest part of all, I thought the crude humor worked for me throughout the episode. After watching all of the episodes, it seems like sometimes the show either is too crude or barely crude at all. I know that the show has struggled to find the right balance. The show has billed itself as an irreverent take on Star Trek, so it needs to be irreverent.

I know you could argue that Majority Rule and About a Girl are better, but I'm willing to go out on a limb and say that this one is my favorite, because it features a more straight ahead story and doesn't rest on any serious themes to help carry it through. It's really a shame the season is almost over because I think they're starting to figure things out.

3.5 stars out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Jay Jay
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Worf and Quark scene on the Defiant...Gold man, just gold!
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Such long comments on this episode and even positive ones. Unbelievable. It stinks. Zero stars. Only watched it because I am watching all of the episodes but this episode should have been self-destructed. Sucked from the first second and a pure waste of time.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I find it a bit unfortunate that the writers dedicated so much effort across multiple episodes to constructing the Ezri Dax character considering the show was nearing the end at this point. It feels like a waste, but at least they made her short tenure as worthwhile as they could.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I've been a bit torn on how I feel about this episode. I think the message it intends to convey is worthwhile, important, and well-enough realized. That it's "heavy-handed" is completely irrelevant, and I honestly struggle to imagine a non-white observer making that particular complaint.

My sole concern was that the dedicated audiences of DS9 would be less likely to need this episode than most television audiences.

Then I came to Jammer's page and saw this very thread of comments stretching back nearly a decade now.

Clearly this episode was necessary.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sun, Jan 8, 2017, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I feel like I know what Rom and Leeta's baby would look like now...
Set Bookmark
Jay
Thu, Nov 3, 2016, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

First, have enjoyed reading these review and many of the comments. I've been quite surprised sometimes (both positively and negatively).

Decided to finally comment on something just because of the creepiness of the holodeck scene. For me, one of the most memorable scenes in all of Trek. Your opinion of that one scene pretty much makes or breaks the episode for you. If you couldn't suspend disbelief, then you don't like this episode. If you can, then its a really good one. Its just a little odd to see such a vehement argument about the computer knowing what the characters wanted too well....I mean, its a 47 minute episode, did you honestly think they were gonna spend ten minutes describing Worf's scissors to the Nth detail?

I remember being 13 years old watching this for the first time, and it happened to be fairly late at night. I was freaked out. It's still creepy over 20 years later.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Thu, Oct 27, 2016, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

There is too much poor acting in this episode. And what about the hair of these Kajagoogoo rebels? "I want to kill everybody but I'm nog all bad because I draw pictures." Idea might be nice but execution is afwul.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Sat, Oct 22, 2016, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Man, the horrible outfits of Beverly Fonda & Troi. The terrible music during the "romantic" scenes. The not realistic fling of Troi. And annoying Ferengi. One star. At the most. Only Troi being put in her place was kind of a nice moment.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Mon, Oct 3, 2016, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

This was really bad. Not only the unbelievable handling of the situation by Riker (who is the dumb one now?). But also the operation of Picard: no trouble...but then: trouble! And ofcourse the Enterprise must come rushing in because there are just 2 doctors on the Starbase. And Picard just lies there. For everything that happens this episode is still very boring. Bad on all fronts.
Set Bookmark
Jayman
Sun, Oct 2, 2016, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I think this was a mediocre episode at best. It was a nice diversion from the 'norm' that we've come to expect from the show, but really what was the point of it? It sounds like the guy really didn't have a nefarious intentions - he simply needed a host to survive, and he rewarded whoever he chose to fulfill that position. It was kind of a story out of left field, with no continuity whatsoever with any episode before or after it. I suppose it was fun to watch the first time when you didn't know what was going to happen, but since then I've never had any desire to watch it again.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Fri, Sep 16, 2016, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

"Chakotay" says that "no one will be killed today" but leaving Janeway and Paris stranded in a shuttle is pretty much a death sentence. Also, this "wide beam" setting Seska mentions on a phaser would have come in handy in dozens of other episodes, funny how we never see it used.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Fri, Sep 16, 2016, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

So are Starfleet computers still based on "binary" or not? Here Gegen inspects a Voyager console and says "a simple binary system", but in Future's End Harry says they have to "reconfigure to binary" in order to interface with Starling's computer.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

Voyager didn't change the shield access codes after Seska left the ship?!?!? And really, why would Seska have ever known them?
Set Bookmark
Jay
Tue, Jan 5, 2016, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Enjoyed the episode and thought it had decent character development. It was interesting that at the beginning of the episode we learn that male metamorphs are common whilst female ones are extremely rare. I suspect the episode may have come across less as a male orientated thing if one of these common male metamorphs that would mold themselves to nearby women was featured in the episode (perhaps as part of the ambassadors team).

I do however think that unless they used the male metamorph moments to replace the ridiculous Ferengi scenes that it may have compromised the brilliant character development (if they had to cut the Picard scenes). A sad but enjoyable episode.
Set Bookmark
Jayson
Thu, Oct 29, 2015, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Ben: Not to get too far off the subject but someone wrote a long paper explaining the economics of The Federation. It's definitely worth a read and watching Star Trek most of my life it seems like most of the people we've seen in the Federation have become minimalist.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

@ Grumpy

It still doesn't make sense for Worf to not consider K'Ehleyr a "Klingon woman"..she doesn't self-identify as Klingon but her career is almost entirely involved in working with them, and then obviously consider his son to be Klingon, although he (until DS9) wants absolutely nothing to do with them.
Set Bookmark
jayLB
Thu, Oct 1, 2015, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

I liked how the episode started out letting you think it was gonna be another Chief-Doc-Bromance and then subverted it by pitting them against each other, culminating in Bashir pulling rank. Nice!

@DLPB
"Can anyone clue me in on why any man would choose to marry a woman like Keiko? She is rude, overbearing, obnoxious, and comes across as some kind of condescending man-hater, or feminazi"

O'Brien is the grumpiest human on Star Trek, beaten out only by Worf (the grumpiest Klingon) and all the Vulcans. The guy never smiles, never has a good time. Even when he's with his buddy Bashir, he's always just grumpy.

I'd become Keiko too if I were married to that.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sun, Sep 27, 2015, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

The suffocation attack at the end of the episode was rather absurd...it was pretty much Q-like - any technological explanation for that capability would almost certainly be ridiculous.. And the lunacy that he could fix it shipwide by touching the wall was Q-ish too. Is that what these people are supposed to be on the verge of becoming?
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

It's hard to believe that Klingon-Human hybrids exists (K'Ehleyr and B'Elanna Torres, and its hard to believe they're the only two in the universe) without a Federation doctor having no clue about it. I'd presume that as rare as they are presented here, such case studies would be part of a medical school curriculum, especially a Starfleet medical school.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

It seemed that there had been no contact whatsoever with this civilization...they seemed pre-warp. So how was it that the universal translator could instantly translate Sarjenka's 4 word "is anybody out there" distress call with absolutely no context? It should have sounded like gibberish.
Next ►Page 1 of 26
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.