Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 608 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Can I just say that certain comments by Picard have been taken out of context and used to justify an exaggerated concept of human evolution in the future. I really don't see DS9 as being fundamentally at odds with the values espoused in TNG and certainly not in TOS.

Even Season 1 of TNG, when Rodenberry was still in charge, had a character (Tasha Yar) from a planet every bit as violent and destructive as the worst of the past. This was a human colony let me remind you.

I disagree with Elliott's claim that a post scarcity society would largely eliminate the violence that plagues our current society - and I'm not even sure that's what Rodenberry had in mind frankly.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 9:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Tim, in defence of the episode, we can presume that the computer processes information at such a high rate of speed that even at 1/1000 its normal speed (or whatever the rate of time in that area) its response time would still be essentially instantaneous from the point of view of anyone using it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

On the subject of the Cardassians, there are some interesting traits that may help explain Garak's behaviour. As Peter mentioned, Garak may have done what he did for the sake of love and devotion to his father, Tain, but not out of loyalty to the state.

Filial devotion is one of the defining traits of Cardassians, as we saw through the Dukat character, not just through exposition but actions.

He sacrificed his career for the sake of his daughter (even if he needed a push from Kira) and even before he made that decision, he justified his attempt to murder her as being for the sake of his legitimate family. He's kind of the exception that proves the rule - even this supremely self-centred unprincipaled individual was bound to respect the power of family, even if that impulse was usually perverted to serve his own goals sooner or later.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Given how meticulously JMS planned Babylon 5, it wouldn't surprise me if the White Star was part of the material he shared with Paramount.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

"A few hundred or thousand people (however many are on the starship) are certainly not big enough to be considered an entire civilization. They shouldn't be scared of the Borg at all."

In the very first episode the Borg appeared, they attacked the Enterprise, which was one ship.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

"Another thing cosmopolitan about TOS that the subsequent series lost was the allure of the exotic; strange new worlds were portrayed as exactly that: strange and new. There was never a sense of comparing or asking who's more enlightened or better between them and the Enterprise. More of the allure is to see the new culture and go "wow, look at that", and leave judgement aside. The only times the crew took issue was when the new cultures would take decidedly aggressive action against the Enterprise, in which case Kirk would have to set them straight (such as in A Taste of Armageddon). "

Could you pleaae give some examples of this? I can't recall a single TOS episode that left "judgment aside" or just looked at a strange culture without judgment. By my recollection, 90% of the episodes were Kirk judging an inferior alien culture with 10% being a superior culture (or super being) passing judgment on the crew (with Spock occasionally doing so).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

Elliott, the colonists' reasons for refusing resettling on a different world were discussed in Journey's End. I think that aspect of the story was explained pretty well, and was at least understandable in the context of Native American history and spiritual beliefs.

But the problem with the Maquis is that none of these reasons should apply to the non NA human colonists, who have no historical or spritual context justifying their decision to stay put. Indeed, why don't they just leave?

This is where that fuzziness in the setup for The Maquis becomes maddening. Is this a continuation of the Journey's End story or some kind of retconn? The story plays fast and loose so that the answer isn't totally clear - perhaps intentionally to cover up its narrative flaws.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Jammer, I have generally respected your viewpoint and refrained from calling you out when I have disagreed, but your reviews of the new SW movies seem... unbalanced. 3.5 stars for this drek? Really?

I finally got around to watching this on Netflix and it was as bad as everyone said. I mean there was an entire section of the movie that was utterly pointless. I can only describe it as a level from a video game. That's what it was. And in the end it came to... nothing.

I can say more about the movie, but I just can't bring myself to believe that you believe this is a 3.5 star movie. I have never before felt this way.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"It's absolutely chilling to watch this in 2018. It resonates with me so much more than it did in 1991. And I don't see any Jean Luc Picards on the horizon to save us from our current band of Admiral Saties who have hijacked our country and have an angry, self-righteous mob to support them. "

Haha You know what's funny about this comment? Pretty much 100% of the population would agree. 50% would point at the other 50% and the other 50% the reverse.

And everyone might be right!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

This debate reminds me of the one currently taking place with automation. Robots and computers have been eliminating our jobs since the industrial revolution, and will continue to do so at an accelerated rate. Even knowledge jobs are threatened due to AI.

As I purchase a candy bar in the pharmacy in my office building from a computer terminal (while a hapless employee stands by to assist, essentially training customers to render her job useless) I ask myself: is this a better world? Does buying from a computer improve my life or even the pharmacy's bottom line in a manner that's sufficient to justify the human cost of rendering half the population unemployable?

The answer seems to be obviously no. Objectively, it makes our lives worse. I frankly doubt that even the pharmacy is more profitable today than it was 5 years ago before they brought in computer terminals. "Progress" sometimes seems like a losing proposition.

Yet what is the solution? Do we ban automated computer kiosks? Okay, but why just them? Why not ban online shopping too? We laugh at the notion of buggy whip makers rioting in protest of the automobile, calling them luddites, yet how is that any different? Do the Amish have the right idea to freeze time at some arbitrary period?

As Peter G. suggests, technological progress may worsen our lot, yet to attemp to freeze ourselves or artificially constrain that progress seems wrong too, like cutting our nose to spite our face. The point is there is no going back, not without sacrificing our freedom.

Perhaps the point about the Alixus character was that her domination of the colonists and her desire for power weren't just incidental factors. Perhaps they were integral to the entire enterprise of artificially constraining human progress.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

" He should have been given the chance to tell Kira that it would take a lot of time for him to come to terms with her actions, and the fact that she nearly got his unborn baby killed, and that he might have a hard time trusting her again in the future. "

What a stupid idea. What's he going to do, find another surrogate? Fire her?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"Maybe it's best you watch the drivel on today's network TV, and leave the thinking to the unwashed masses of yesteryear."

All the cool kids watch network tv.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 13, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I just wonder if they had this in mind when they conceived Thomas Riker:

RIKER: It's not a question of harm. One William Riker is unique, perhaps even special. But a hundred of him, a thousand of him diminishes me in ways I can't even imagine.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

"It’s not like anything bad happens to Will in this episode."

Well in Up the Long Ladder he basically claimed that if he was cloned he would lose his soul. I guess the joje was on him - he lost it already. The spirit of his murdered clone must be laughing at the irony.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

This episode is Riker's comeupponce for being such a bigoted jerk to those clones in Up the Long Ladder. Oh yeah, and for murdering his clone in cold blood.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I am not really taking issue with the trope itself either. I just don't really think Ro is a great example, or any example really.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

DLPB, I guess Ro is "badass" in some overarching sense, but that's never been the vibe I got from this particular episode. She's more depressed and damaged than anything. She never actually fights anyone. It's not like Rey beating up 3 thugs in episode 7or Jadzia battling the Jem'Hadar.

It almost seems like you and others are reacting to your own head canon of what the Ro character is supposed to be rather than what is on the screen. Ro is tough but not in a cartoonish way that would be outlandish for a real person.

If I am wrong please point out the parts of this episode that are so unrealistic. I'm curious.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 29, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@hlau I for one am perfectly content with Vic's "docility". The idea that a hologram (or, in reality, an AI manufactured by a computer) could be sentient or present as sentient, a la Moriarty (and later the doctor) is an interesting one, worth exploring. But this can't be more than an exceptional circumstance, or else it defies all sense. Quark's holosuite should not be able to just conjure up a sentient AI. I am perfectly happy to conclude that VIC is an incredibly sophisticated intuitive program but still - just a program.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 28, 2018, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

"It’s not quite as simple here because the scientists presumably use inorganic matter in the process of reproduction. So were the clones killed here still mostly in the inorganic stage?"

I don't really get you here. You seem to be using "organic" to mean "alive" or maybe "biological"? But even then I can't follow you. You are suggesting a cluster of cells growing in a woman is automatically alive but not necessarily a fully recognizably human clone?!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Chrome, I find it inconceivable that any court today would arbitrarily conclude that a human clone has no rights and can be killed without consideration. Ethically, morally and legally I see no serious argument on this point. I suppose the Federation could be different, but that seems unlikely. Imcidentally, a ban on cloning hardly equates to stripping clones of their rights and permitting their murder.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 16, 2018, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"I'm not saying anything about white people in general. Shakespeare was white and was working with a white cast and he made great art. "

You don't seem to be saying much of anything at all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"That's splitting hairs as the Empire simply went by a different name and some people were always against it without the formalized name "Rebellion."

Huh? What name was that? You mean the Republic? And the rebels would be who, the Trade Federation and the seperatists? You do realize that Palpatine was controlling both sides in the war, right?

One of the great things about the prequels was that the Clone War was just a distraction; it was the very antithesis of the rebel versus evil empire we saw in the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"@ Peter G. When did I say that movies starring white people cannot be meaningful??"

You're the one who brought up Lucas's race in the context of whether ESB was a good movie.

Regarding Alec Guinness, he was obviously entitled to his opinion, but being an artist, even a great one, does not automatically make one a great art critic or even a smart person.

Not to say that he was wrong, just that his opinion isn't the be all end all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

In addition Chrome, I'd suggest that Worf's perspective is one of a very rarified elite in Klingon society. He isn't just a Klingon living among humans; he is basically royalty in exile. His perspective comes from being the heir to one of the great houses in Klingon society. His ideas about honour, family, marriage etc.. would not be from the point of view of a rank and file Klingon.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

Lupe, if you were a rodent, you'd probably notice that Odo is a cheap copy of one too. The answer to your question is literally "takes one to know one".

As for the rock question, this is tougher to answer. To fool 24th century tricorders, changelings must do more than just mimic what they are changing into superficially. Pretty whacky concept and hard to imagine how such an organism could naturally evolve.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.