Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 389 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 13, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I just wonder if they had this in mind when they conceived Thomas Riker:

RIKER: It's not a question of harm. One William Riker is unique, perhaps even special. But a hundred of him, a thousand of him diminishes me in ways I can't even imagine.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

"It’s not like anything bad happens to Will in this episode."

Well in Up the Long Ladder he basically claimed that if he was cloned he would lose his soul. I guess the joje was on him - he lost it already. The spirit of his murdered clone must be laughing at the irony.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

This episode is Riker's comeupponce for being such a bigoted jerk to those clones in Up the Long Ladder. Oh yeah, and for murdering his clone in cold blood.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I am not really taking issue with the trope itself either. I just don't really think Ro is a great example, or any example really.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

DLPB, I guess Ro is "badass" in some overarching sense, but that's never been the vibe I got from this particular episode. She's more depressed and damaged than anything. She never actually fights anyone. It's not like Rey beating up 3 thugs in episode 7or Jadzia battling the Jem'Hadar.

It almost seems like you and others are reacting to your own head canon of what the Ro character is supposed to be rather than what is on the screen. Ro is tough but not in a cartoonish way that would be outlandish for a real person.

If I am wrong please point out the parts of this episode that are so unrealistic. I'm curious.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 29, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@hlau I for one am perfectly content with Vic's "docility". The idea that a hologram (or, in reality, an AI manufactured by a computer) could be sentient or present as sentient, a la Moriarty (and later the doctor) is an interesting one, worth exploring. But this can't be more than an exceptional circumstance, or else it defies all sense. Quark's holosuite should not be able to just conjure up a sentient AI. I am perfectly happy to conclude that VIC is an incredibly sophisticated intuitive program but still - just a program.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 28, 2018, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

"It’s not quite as simple here because the scientists presumably use inorganic matter in the process of reproduction. So were the clones killed here still mostly in the inorganic stage?"

I don't really get you here. You seem to be using "organic" to mean "alive" or maybe "biological"? But even then I can't follow you. You are suggesting a cluster of cells growing in a woman is automatically alive but not necessarily a fully recognizably human clone?!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Chrome, I find it inconceivable that any court today would arbitrarily conclude that a human clone has no rights and can be killed without consideration. Ethically, morally and legally I see no serious argument on this point. I suppose the Federation could be different, but that seems unlikely. Imcidentally, a ban on cloning hardly equates to stripping clones of their rights and permitting their murder.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 16, 2018, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"I'm not saying anything about white people in general. Shakespeare was white and was working with a white cast and he made great art. "

You don't seem to be saying much of anything at all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"That's splitting hairs as the Empire simply went by a different name and some people were always against it without the formalized name "Rebellion."

Huh? What name was that? You mean the Republic? And the rebels would be who, the Trade Federation and the seperatists? You do realize that Palpatine was controlling both sides in the war, right?

One of the great things about the prequels was that the Clone War was just a distraction; it was the very antithesis of the rebel versus evil empire we saw in the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"@ Peter G. When did I say that movies starring white people cannot be meaningful??"

You're the one who brought up Lucas's race in the context of whether ESB was a good movie.

Regarding Alec Guinness, he was obviously entitled to his opinion, but being an artist, even a great one, does not automatically make one a great art critic or even a smart person.

Not to say that he was wrong, just that his opinion isn't the be all end all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

In addition Chrome, I'd suggest that Worf's perspective is one of a very rarified elite in Klingon society. He isn't just a Klingon living among humans; he is basically royalty in exile. His perspective comes from being the heir to one of the great houses in Klingon society. His ideas about honour, family, marriage etc.. would not be from the point of view of a rank and file Klingon.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

Lupe, if you were a rodent, you'd probably notice that Odo is a cheap copy of one too. The answer to your question is literally "takes one to know one".

As for the rock question, this is tougher to answer. To fool 24th century tricorders, changelings must do more than just mimic what they are changing into superficially. Pretty whacky concept and hard to imagine how such an organism could naturally evolve.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 11, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I took it as pretty much the text that Sarah was unwilling. But I'd say that the notion of Gods messing with unwilling mortals goes back to ancient Greece and to the Book of Job.

I think the ancients figured out that Gods will do what they're going to do. Trying to throw human morality in their faces is as futile as trying to win an argument with a hurricane.

The mature and adult response is what Sisko does; express displeasure and make your feeling known, but realize it's a fait accompli and wringing your hands about it is pointless.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 11, 2018, 6:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

"Sisko is a rape baby. Full stop"

The Prophets don't care, full stop.

They're basically Gods.

What would you have Sisko do, lecture the Prophets about consent for the rest of the season? Demand that they go back in time and annul his existence?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, May 6, 2018, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Repli, who knows what, if anything, J.J. had planned in his first draft. I for one think if Johnson tossed it in the garbage, maybe it wasn't worth much. I doubt Abrams planned some big climax to any of the mysteries he started.

Anyway, your article notes:

"The expectation is that Abrams will provide more of what fans enjoyed about The Force Awakens and restore the feeling of a Star Wars movie to the final installment of the new trilogy. "

That's the biggest joke of all. I can only pray that Abrams is around long enough to take the fall for crashing Disney's cash cow and killing the proverbial golden goose. The weasel usually high tails it before the shtf but maybe this time he won't come off so glossy as usual.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Apr 29, 2018, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Wow Reaper, thanks for that. Fascinating.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Apr 26, 2018, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

"It doesn't matter what you see. That's reality. A bloodthirsty genocidal enemy is not going to let the son of one of the main leaders of opposition roam about the station being a reporter.

The kid would have been used as blackmail. That's the nature of war."

The nature of war is to win and I explained how using Jake as blackmail would have gained the Dominion nothing and actually hurt their aims.

How would this blackmail even work? Give us the keys to the Federation or we kill your son? Even if Sisko were the type of man to betray Starfleet to save his son, Starfleet wouldn't let him.

As an aside, the war at this point was much more about soft power than military advantage. The Dominion already was kicking Starfleet's ass with just the forces they had in the Alpha quadrant. Once the wormhole opened, it woulfn't have even been a contest - they would have easily overwhelmed Starfleet.

It was far more important to the Dominion to cultivate positive PR than to gain some tactical edge on Starfleet who they were trouncing anyway.

But I agree with Peter that Jake was certainly not "safe" by any means. And I agree the Dominion would not have hesitated to use him in a way that made sense.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

"Jake would be used as blackmail against Sisko"

I don't really see it. Sisko is a Starfleet officer - he isn't going to sacrifice the war to save his son, nor would Starfleet permit that. It's not like Jake's status was a secret or they could blackmail him on the down low.

While I suppose we might expect him to try to save Jake from harm by virtue of him being the hero, the Dominion would have no reason to think this.

Moreover, Jake was entirely correct that the Dominion was far more concerned with cultivating a good relationship with Bajor (to demonstrate its trustworthiness and benevolence to the Alpha quadrant) than inflicting harm on one Starfleet officer, however high ranking and important he might be. Killing or harming a high profile civilian, to say nothing of the Emissary's son, would have been idiotic.

There was simply zero motive for the Dominion to threaten or harm Jake until he actively aided and abetted the sabotage of the station - and they didn't get the chance to do so thanks to the retaking of the station. But they did arrest him mind you.

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I was thinking to myself if there was any circumstance where a current group would have a chip on their shoulders about an ancient wrong against them, and the answer was yes. Growing up Jewish, events like the Spanish inquisition or even Exodus were always taught to us in the context of a greater cycle of persecution. Black people still look back to slavery and connect it to current wrongs. Even Christians may look to their being fed to the lions in ancient Rome as an analog for present day persecution.

The issue with Sisko's complaint isn't the fact that 50s Vegas was far removed from 24th Century earth historically; the issue is if racism is dead and gone in the 24th century, there is simply no cultural basis for Sisko's feelings. A Jew feeling bad about the Inquisition in the context of present day anti semitism is plausible. But Sisko is like a modern day Carthaginian still holding a grudge against Italy - it is essentially an anachronism. If racism is gone by Sisko's time it's gone. Sisko should no more be offended by its historical reality than anyone else in his time.

But that said my own head canon is that Sisko was changed more than he realized by Benny Russell. In essence, he shared that person's existence over centuries influencing Benny as he was influenced by him. Given that the Prophets exist outside of time, such a link would be within the realm of possible. I don't see Benny as a delusion or a fiction but a real person who, like Sisko, holds a mysterious link to the Prophets and may even have been engineered by them.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

On the subject of the Neverending Story, the book had characters in Fantasia destroyed by a force called "the Nothing" which transformed them from works of the imagination into lies and propaganda in the real world. In essence, the antagonist of the first half of the story (which was the whole of the first movie) was nothing less than the triumph of institutions like the Cardassian state and the Obsidian Order.

I never made this connection before until Peter raised it but it's a cool reference.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Chrome I agree this theme has been utilized before. But the concept is inherently nonsensical - like a child flapping his wings around pretending to be a bird and thinkimg he understands the bird's perspective. I agree super entities and humans with super powers can make a nice morality play or exploration of the corrupting influence of power, but as a scifi concept it's baloney. A human with that power wouldn't be recognizable as a human, any more than my hypothetical opera singing amoeba would be recognizable as an amoeba.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Peter I think the issue with Q and other beings of that nature is it's pretty much a conceit in the first place to imagine a human anything with that level of power.

An IQ of 2,000 cannot adequately address a being that can casually change the laws of physics to its will. Such a being would be to humans what we are to an amoeba, and so grafting such abilities onto a human or a human like entity (while leaving the human traits essentially intact) is as absurd as grafting the ability to, say, build a football stadium onto said amoeba.

The fraud is imagining that power of that nature could come with no apparent change in insight, perspective or appearance. The Dr. Manhattan character in Watchmen is probably the best portrayal of what a super being would really be like but even that only scratches the surface.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Chrome, while the notion of a being with "powers" essentially grafted on a human body with a human personality and intelligence is a well worn scifi trope, one must acknowledge it is a crock. It is as ridiculous as imagining an amoeba with the capacity to sing opera. The idea that such beings might "present" as human for our benefit is an adequate plot device I suppose, but sidesteps, rather than solves, the inherent absurdity of beings like the Q.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Peter I am mostly with you on the TNG movies which never quite meshed for me, even the generally well regarded First Contact.

But I did give Generations another look recently, which I found kind of dull when it first came out.

I still don't think that it was great or anything, but at least it felt like TNG, albeit like a mediocre later season episode.

I think the big difference versus later movies was they still had my beloved Enterprise D. Scrapping that lovely ship amd all the memories and personality invested in it turned out to be a big mistake. Alot of the alienation I feel watching post Generations TNG films was that the Enterprise E never really had a soul. I just didn't care when they wrecked it in Nemesis and it seemed more like a plot device rather than an integral part of the world the characters inhabited.

Fast forward to Abrams Trek where the Enterprise is as disposable as one of Voyager's shuttles and you see in part where the franchise went wrong on some level.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.