Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 96 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Wed, Sep 25, 2013, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Just to show how our attention spans have dwindled since the 80s. In 1982, the film producers had us wait 2 years and an entire film to know whether or not Spock would survive. These days, we waited only 2 minutes to see if Kirk survived. Things have changed. I wondered if they would have had the balls to end this film with Kirk/Spock dead. Guess not.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Fri, Oct 19, 2012, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

BSG - Best Finale Ever!!
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Thu, Oct 18, 2012, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

Regardless of what Elliott above me says, check our Bear playing the "Pegasus" theme on solo piano. It's awesome

www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHtnmAsWIIs&feature=relmfu
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Thu, Oct 18, 2012, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

The mere fact that re-watching Daybreak years after it originally aired still evokes strong emotions in me is a testament to how good this show was. Even knowing the outcome, the individual beats of the plot still choke me up. Roslin crossing the line, Kara saying goodbye to Sam, Roslin passing away and most of all, "I know about farming" and Baltar's reaction, gets me every time.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Thu, Oct 18, 2012, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

Just finished my annual BSG marathon. Every time I watch Daybreak I get choked up. It ages well. The entire series ages well.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Wed, Oct 17, 2012, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Just doing my yearly BSG marathon. Did anyone else notice at the beginning of this episode, Hera is playing in Galactica's CIC on the planning board and she rams Galactica into a Cylon Baseship?

Nice bit of foreshadowing there.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Mon, Oct 8, 2012, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Not for nothing, and not to pick nits, but Kendra Shaw had THE. WORST. PAPERCUT. in BSG history. I mean, look, she had the same band-aid on her finger when she first met Admiral Cain that she had on when she was in the kitchen with Starbuck.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Wed, Sep 19, 2012, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

@NickP - "I personally think this is where Michael Hogan dramatically takes over this series."

So true. Tigh became the best character in the series following this episode.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Sun, Sep 16, 2012, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

Here's a silly question from someone who watched this series from it's original airdate and is just now going back to watch again.

When Baltar tested Boomer, didn't her results come back almost instantly? Now all of a sudden it takes hours? Did I miss something?

Still, greatest series ever on TV.
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Sat, Jan 14, 2012, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I just read my own review of this episode after 2 years. I must admit I was wrong. This is a good episode, and DS9 is NOT the worst Star Trek series (that distinction goes to Enterprise). In terms of continutity, entertainment and plotting, it is the best series.
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Mon, Nov 23, 2009, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

Easily the funniest episode of Star Trek ever! So many wonderfully funny moments to choose from. B'Elanna to the doc: "He's not half the man you are!". It's funny if you really listen to Garrett Wang's voice in the next line, you can tell he's trying very hard not to laugh! "Over my dead program!" AUSTRALIA RULES!
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Mon, Nov 23, 2009, 8:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Harry is an idiot! If I was him, and Seven said to me "Do you wish to copulate?", I would have said: "Yes please, but not here. How about my quarters?!". Seven's body...hmmm... as Q2 said: "Perfection"!
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Fri, Nov 20, 2009, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Avery Brooks is a weak actor. Sisko is a poor captain. The cast has no chemistry. Save for a few episodes, it's utter rubbish. Voyager and TNG runs rings around this series. It's the most overlooked trek for a reason.
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Fri, Nov 20, 2009, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

After I read Jammer's review of this episode, I was prepared for a great episode. After watching it though, I was greatly disappointed. It was pure garbage! For starters, the acting was extremely poor (and that's being kind!) The plot was not affecting at all. It was so bad, that I kept thinking to myself during the episode: "This is rubbish". I had to force myself to watch it, hoping it would get better. It didn't. It's the biggest try hard episode ever! Sisko and Dax talking on the Defiant. What was that scene trying to convey? It ended up looking silly. And that guy who kept saying: "The Klingons are comming, the Klingon's are going to attack the compound". If it was trying to create a sense of urgency and dread, it failed miserably. One of the worst Star Trek episodes I have ever seen. Worse than "Fascination", worse than "Threshold". I cannot at all comprehend why Jammer would give this **** stars. Deep Space Nine is by far the worst Trek incarnation ever!
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Thu, Nov 19, 2009, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I finally got a chance to see part 1 last night. I was delighted that James Cromwell reprised his First Contact role. I thought it would have been someone else. Great opening scene.
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Wed, Nov 18, 2009, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

The most over-rated episode of Voyager! No better than other time travel stories. To give this **** stars is just plain ridiculous. Garrett Wang is a competant actor, but his efforts in this episode (where he is required to stretch himself) are poor. It's also oh! so conveniant that Voyager stays intact after crashing into the ice planet. LeVar Burton's presence adds nothing.
Set Bookmark
Jason Keon
Sun, Nov 15, 2009, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Jammer: How could you give "Whispers" 4 stars. Sure it has some interesting scenes, especially the one where O'Brien thinks that Keiko might have poisoned his dinner, but there's no payoff, and the clone's death was hardly moving. I'd give it 2 stars; at best 2 1/2.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Sat, Aug 15, 2009, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Well, I've finished my 4.5 dvd and my opinion of the show as a classic still stands. I can see why people would not like it, but it really all depends on your personal and spiritual beliefs. For me, everything made sense, but it's clear to see how the other camps feel as well.

Personally, I think the problem with the final 10 episodes was bad editing. A lot of good stuff got cut from these episodes while strange bits were left in. A lot of the deleted scenes on the dvd added a lot to the story and I don't really understand the reason for cutting them.

It's also worth noting that if you watch the deleted scenes from when they found the first nuked Earth, Roslin is worried because Gaeta is only able to confirm a handful of the constellations match (I think only 4 if I remember correctly). I guess they felt that would make it too obvious that it wasn't our Earth, but at the same time, that is important info IMO.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Mon, Jul 6, 2009, 6:56am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

"the budwiser drop was bad for one simple reason: in trek's utopian society there are no big capitalist corporations"

While I agree there was no excuse for the Nokia ad (other than product placement seems to be a must in today's economy - Look at Land of the Lost - ) I found the Budweiser drop to be funny simply because she referred to it as a "Budweiser Classic" which said to me even though the beer giant itself might not be around, someone is still brewing the classic flavor.

There is no reason to believe that people will ever stop brewing beer in some way shape or form. That would be like saying that the Romulans would stop brewing their famous Ale, and how do you think THEY feel about name dropping their beverage all over the place....Ok, I jest.

Beer is proof God loves us and wants us to be happy, as they say :)
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Tue, Jun 2, 2009, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Wow Kara....really? If you didn't realize just how far my tongue was implanted in my cheek there (FYI, there is a large hole now) than I dunno what to tell you.

No wait, I do:

www.youtube.com

Do a search on "Leave Britney Alone"

Then write me back, i'm sure you'll be a bit wiser from now on.

Cheers.
Set Bookmark
JASON K
Mon, Jun 1, 2009, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

HOW F***IN DARE ANY OF YOU MAKE FUN OF "STAR TREK" AFTER ALL IT'S BEEN THROUGH!!!

It endured through Voyager
It endured through Enterprise
And now, it's enduring through a reboot.

LEAVE IT ALONE

PLEASE....PLEASE LEAVE IT ALONE.

LEAVE "STAR TREK" ALONE RIGHT. NOW.

Any of you P*******s who want to make fun of "Star Trek", you deal with me!

(Cries softly)

You're lucky they even made a movie for you bastards!

(Cries softly)
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Sat, May 30, 2009, 6:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I really enjoyed the film. Not being a hard-core canon-based trekkie, but having seen all the films and most of the TV episodes, it was just a lot of fun to me.

I sure do get a chuckle from Eric Bana though. For some reason, when he says to Pike: "Hi Christopher, I'm Nero" it makes me laugh. Such an off-kilter line.

I also had a laugh at Bruce Greenwood in the wheelchair a la TOS' Pike after his paralysis. Also, it was cool that he was wearing a very similar uniform to the one Admiral Kirk wore in The Motion Picture.
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Tue, May 26, 2009, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Ya so the Cylon's HAD a plan.

Even the best laid plans though.......

I planned once to be a Paleontologist, so how exactly did I wind up in Audio/Visual design?? LOL
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Wed, May 20, 2009, 6:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

You know.....

BSG could always have ended like this!! Adama looks at the blue planet, says "We did it" with no emotion at all, Roslin drops dead in the CIC, and we fade to black.....

NOW WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE FALLOUT FROM THAT??
Set Bookmark
Jason K
Thu, May 14, 2009, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I think he's referring to Adama and Tigh over Adama and Galactica, Nolan. They really did deserve a goodbye scene....however, the silly thing is, had Lee not made that silly comment about Adama never coming back, this would all be a moot point.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.