Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 124 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Django_Fett
Sun, Aug 22, 2021, 8:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

What an absolute WASTE of JG Hertzler. i was expecting that at the end, he would be tied up on the klingon ship and maybe in the continuation (which i havent watched yet), archer or crew would find him and theres about ten different story opportunities there, but nope.... the episode is over and no Hertzler. WHAT AN ABSOLUTE WASTE!!! NOT COOL! 👎
Set Bookmark
Sjan
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 8:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Star Trek was great because of the mythical nature of the characters, I.e Jean luc, worf, garak, etc. They were inspiring to me and to the context of my life, in the same way you might think of characters from Game of Thrones, or Greek myth, or the Mahabharata. They may have flaws, but they represent something essential and inspiring about humanity. Discovery not only fails in this tradition but also fails to create any semblance that these are real humans. It’s like watching a really really bad version of the Office in space. Actually I’d rather watch Michael Scott and Dwight in space rather than this trash.
Set Bookmark
Janey
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 10:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Midshipmannorris

"Do you usually make perfectly reasonable and polite requests of a few people who've gone waaayy off topic for 20+ posts and are ignoring Jammer's reminder of the guidelines an episode or 2 back?"

Why yes I do. (Since you like to misquote to say whatever you want).

No barking of orders happened. It's just a little tedious when 2-3 people take over the comment section with walls of irrelevant text.
Set Bookmark
Janey
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 5:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I come back see if anyone else had anything interesting to say about the episode but no walls of irrelevant from the usual 3 or 4 people. You guys should use discord or something. It's getting hard to find anything related to the episode. I think the last comment was about 20 comments back that had anything to do with DSC. I don't care about the political systems of.your various countries. And we don't need to ask each other to read slowly or educate ourselves. This isn't Twitter (at least the speeches would be shorter and you could mute people).

You're pretty much doing this every week now.

My 2 cents is that it was a fairly boring episode with a couple of entertaining scenes (Tilly and Saru). The locusts were ok but the green lady was a poor actress. 1.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
sjan
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

This show is such a disgrace to the patient storytelling of shows like TNG or Deep Space Nine. The emotions are fake, the stories are melodramatic, and there is no sense that these are real people carrying out their lives in deep space. Science fiction uniquely allows us to broaden our thinking: there is no imagination in this show, no sense of real drama or stakes. It's a wonder that a show about a drug dealer making meth in barren Albequerque New Mexico is more transportive and optimistic about human potential than a show set among the stars.
Set Bookmark
janeway fan
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I wonder why they didn't include any trans or genderless crew members in that diversity. That was and is still a very much alive topic, in the US at least. All the other types of diversity Trent mentioned are nothing new for Trek.
Set Bookmark
Janet T
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I just rewatched this episode and I was struck by all the echoes of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein: the fear of the villagers, the little girl who accepts him, the fact that Data was a manmade "creature."

Wiliam B's sharply analyzed and brilliantly written review (2013) says it all so much better than I could. But I was delighted to see someone else caught the references to
" Frankenstein "
Set Bookmark
Alejandro
Mon, Aug 17, 2020, 1:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

This episode reminds me of a crew comprised entirely of Dwight Schrutes.
Set Bookmark
Cjanus
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

It’s reassuring to know that if the ship is ever in jeopardy, Bridge Officer Troi will - if given a few days and several do-overs - eventually come up with the resolve to sacrifice a hologram.

(This plot line reminded me of my beef with Christianity - in which the central event is that God sacrifices his only begotten son for less than a weekend, knowing he’s going to pop back up on Sunday morning.)

Fortunately, the A story was a sweet delight, thanks to Data’s relationships with Gia and the local scientist. “You are an iceman!” will never not be entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Cjanus
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Pros:

- I enjoyed the solid and relatable (but not done-to-death) set-up: a character encounters a race of telepaths and the telepaths discover a secret lurking in her psyche. Most episodes se to focus on ship-in-jeopardy plots or “We’ve encountered a strange phenomenon,” or political intrigue with other races, so I find the different ones refreshing. This one, as well as “Eye of the Beholder”, “Lower Decks” and even the Beverly ghost story all appeal to me because they break the mold.

- I appreciated seeing (finally) a Lwaxana episode that wasn’t about her pursuit of men and romance. The series-long portrayal of her as an aggressive menopausal man-chaser (whom all the male series regulars flee from and mock) is IMO boring, grating and borderline sexist towards older women. (It doesn’t help that Pulaski was axed after a year and that Picard’s love interests are noticeably younger than he is. A pattern emerges.). While Lwaxana was partly redeemed in a couple past episodes - taking a political stance in Half a Life, and admitting her loneliness in the Alexander/mudbath ep - even those episodes revolve around her one-note pursuit of male companionship. Here, at least the writers let her do something (slightly) different.

Cons:

- This doesn’t feel like a seventh-season plot. I wish the writers had fleshed her out with a backstory by season 3 or 4 - or let it go.

- While at least it’s not a romance, it’s barely better: a mawkish motherhood drama. Compare this with Deanna, who at least got to stretch beyond her counselor persona in a couple eps (“Face of the Enemy” and “Disaster”). By contrast, every single Lwaxana story seems to mindlessly reconfirm her as needy, emotional, and defined by relationships, This is lazy and trite writing. The character gained more pathos here - but she didn’t gain more layers.

3 stars for the set-up; 1.5 for the resolution.
Set Bookmark
I hate Janeway
Mon, May 25, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

While it's too unoriginal to merit 4 stars, it's too enjoyable of an episode for the one-star rating. I had FUN watching it. The really bad episodes of Star Trek are the ones that are boring, and this isn't one of them. All of the TOS cliches, like Kirk not wearing a shirt, getting with a hot alien babe, fight scenes, etc, are done pretty well in this episode. A solid two-and a half stars.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Wed, Apr 15, 2020, 9:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Geez people find this shit so boring they haven’t commented in 18 hours.

Where’s The Crew with their usual ad nauseous banter?
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Wed, Apr 15, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Maybe it has, and maybe it hasn’t lasted long enough, why would you declare an end to something you’re not even to be involved in? Go away and stop inserting yourself. GTFO
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Wed, Apr 15, 2020, 4:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

@Picard maneuver, how old were you in the 1997 and were you a Fortune 100 professional, working with or for a female in an executive position? Asking for a friend.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Me, me me me, me me me me me me you, me me me. Me me me me, me, me me me me me me. Me me me you, me me me me me. Me, me me me me, me me. Me? Me!

Did I summarize that thought right Mommycrom?

Don’t forget August in Vegas with Captain Janeway
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Sun, Apr 12, 2020, 1:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

We should all just get the COVID so we can go to Vegas and see Captain Janeway this August. Flatten shmatten.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 10:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

It’s pure clowns like Dave in MN that make a site tedious. He can’t figure out how an entire series about refugees and illegal aliens literal, has nothing to do with the current political climate. He can’t figure that out. I’d be left incredulous if this wasn’t some porn site where it’s all been done. To cap off, he adds a “stay healthy” No that won’t work clown
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 5:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dave in MN wow i can’t touch how stupid that comment is. But as you’ve said it’ll be here forever looking back at you.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dave in MN clearly some are hit hard by COVID but loss of ability to detect sarcasm isn’t on cdc list. You should apologize to Garth for being a dunce?
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 12:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dave in MN In 713 comments, Trump is mentioned twice. In my comment he is mentioned for his personality traits. If that qualifies as everything to you, adjust your pad. If you can’t find them try amazon.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 9:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I haven’t watched it but have an opinion.

I no nothing about it but have an opinion.

It’s like Trump.

Way too many trumps. And the world burns because of them and their insidious self righteousness.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Because when The Crew has decided that a conversation has gone on long enough,

Shirley it has.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Booming argues itself into a corner for the 46482746572874772657472rd time. Lovin it.

They’ll be here all week to. Backpedaling.
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 10:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

^ [JB]

Quiet quiet Camus, one of the other labrats is about to discover there’s no purpose, shh shh. Let’s see how they handle it
Set Bookmark
Janeway labrat
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Did Tommy’s letter to Dad get sent right at that moment they popped out of the Borg transwarp conduit?

Admiral Paris: “Welcome back, how did you...”

Admiral’s 2394 iPhone: (“You’ve got mail!”)
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.