Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 95 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Janok
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

This was quite the episode! At first I was worried this would be just another filler episode that tried to sell an old TNG/VOY plot but with an Orville twist. I ended up really liking this episode, not only because it showed depth to Gordon's character besides being the practical joker, but also for the concepts of having affection for simulated people.

I think this episode hit very close to a perfect balance between humor, philosophy, and pulling on the emotions of the viewers. The latter is IMO the closest any Orville episode has scored since "Home" earlier this season. Viewers like myself who have watched all of Star Trek are reminded of similar episodes with the concept of characters becoming emotionally invested in an illusion, such as Barclay's episodes, "11001001", "Galaxy's Child", and more recently, "If Memory Serves". "Lasting Impressions" is unique in that the main setting is not in the time frame of the rest of the show, but in *our* time. It definitely left me feeling hyper-aware of my own mortality and the meaningless of my daily life in the perspective of humans hundreds of years from now. It was a little unsettling, but not enough to detract from the rest of the episode.

The episode cleverly pulls its message with an A-plot initially focused on holodeck - er, "simulator" - addiction. This concept is present throughout and is mentioned more than once by other crew members. However, the real thought provoker here is the question posed to viewers: if you know something isn't real, does that diminish the value you place on it? Fortunately this is left open-ended, and for good reason. With the rise of increasingly realistic digital content, is our modern society comfortable placing value on digital content at the expense of real life content?What does that mean for younger generations that are now dependent on technology - they're missing out on the benefits of old-school ways, but is that necessarily "bad"?

Back to the episode, I also have to give credit to Scott Grimes and guest star Leighton Meester (playing Laura) for playing these characters convincingly. I got the sense that they were "real" people with depth, which in Gordon's case, is something that has been lacking thus far. What would really help Gordon's character was if he had a recurring romantic interest on the show, and over the course of the show we see him develop a legitimate, deep, meaningful, and not holodeck - er, "simulator" - relationship.

The B-plot played a supplementary role. Bortus' and Klyden's addictions to "ancient" cigarettes played as the "minor" to the A-plot. It's a rather obvious in-your-face method of pushing the addiction concept, which oddly enough works to add subtlety to the other concept. I'm starting to wonder if the writers are able to write stories for Bortus without being 100% serious or 100% comedy, it seems all we get are extremes. To be fair though, I can imagine it's hard to write character stories for such an unemotional species; after all, almost every Star Trek episode featuring a Vulcan has been 100% serious and very little comedy, with the exception of Star Trek VI.

I don't like to give out ratings, since the method of awarding stars is subjective to each viewer. I'll stick with a Vague Scale™. "Lasting Impressions" is in the upper third on the Vague Scale™ of Orville episodes.
Set Bookmark
E. Kristjansson
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I watched this episode, then looked up your review. I fully expected you to thoroughly bash it, possibly even giving it a rare "zero stars" rating.

But, no... You actually gave this piece of shit 2 1/2 stars.

My trust in you, is fading.
Set Bookmark
Janet
Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Karel, I (and many other fans) must have missed something if the Riker storyline was clever. I still don't get what it has to do with Trip's situation. Can you please tell me? Plus it's hard to take Riker's problem seriously when he spends a lot of time gossiping with the holocrew.
Set Bookmark
Jangus
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 11:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

This thread is one of the whiniest and obnoxious I’ve seen in a long time. Projection much? I didn’t recognize any of the supposedly preachy or “SJW” elements in DSC, but then again, I wasn’t obsessively looking for them like a hypersensitive adolescent.

I thought DSC was mediocre. Not because of ugly Klingons or acne (lol seriously?) or canon issues or any other bogey-man. It just wasn’t very well written or well acted, IMHO. I’m withholding judgment on S2 until I see it, but I’m neither optimistic nor pessimistic.

To quote the Shat (ironically in this case), those moaning about politics need to get a life. S1 was a middling sci-fi adventure/exploration story. Whatever political avatars you think you see are in your head. Get over it and please stop hijacking every discussing with your self-absorbed and narcissistic complaining.
Set Bookmark
Janet
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

I'm amazed that a lot of the men in the comments don't realize that the Orions are committing sexual assault (and possibly rape offscreen). They're green versions of Bill Cosby using pheromones like roofies. Worst of all, no one in episode seems concerned about that once they boot the bad guys. Guess some people are more willing to be sexually harassed/assaulted if the perp is hot. I get what they're trying to do with the "women are really in control" twist but it makes little sense here (like most of the episode). I like the novels' explanation that the Orion women in Bound are the elites while slaves like Marta are at the bottom of the pecking order.

Yes it's better than TATV but that's an extremely low bar to pass. It's full of plot holes Travis can drive a ship through. To respond to Rahul, I think T'Pol isn't focused on mounting resistance because she's too depressed about Trip. Understandable but what really got me was that the female MACO's from season 3 seemed to disappear. They couldn't find any women to guard the Orions? And why would Trip come back so fast? Yes he got the upper hand in the end but the fact that he was so distraught when he left Enterprise kind of undercuts the message. If I moved out to break up with my boyfriend, I would have more misgivings about coming back no matter how much I miss home and the old neighborhood. I'm a die-hard Trip/T'Pol shipper who's the first to want them back together but the writers gave them an easy fix. Plus that reduced Hernandez to a dues ex machina for them.
Set Bookmark
Janet
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I gotta push back against W Smith's assertion that the line of Mary Shelley being poet's wife is a reflection of Trip's character. Maybe because I'm a big Trip fan but I see it more as bad writing that any indication that he's backwards or shallow. I don't know any of Percy Shelley's works and haven't come across anyone talking about this episode who has either. So saying that Mary Shelley was the wife of someone she far overshadows is just weird.

Also, Kirk wouldn't waste his time watching movies? WTF? Unless you're a couch potato who watches Netflix all day long, I don't see how that's wasting your life. It's a way to decompress like it was for Yanks in the Navy. Obviously, W Smith didn't get what T'Pol learned: movies can teach important lessons. Plus since Enterprise was an earlier time, they're supposed to be less evolved than TOS.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

I agree with Jake Taylor who wrote: "Man this episode feels so forced in every way. These two people have nothing in common and the are so different, and ages apart. I am shown no reason as a viewer why they should get married."

I agree that this episode feels like filler.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

It's amusing, to be sure, but not hilarious like that DS9 episode where Quark assembles an all-Ferengi commando team to rescue his mother from the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Re-watching TOS, and I got to this episode and it stood head and shoulders above all previous episodes. Probably the best serious episode of TOS ("City on the Edge of Forever" is lighthearted affair). The pacing is so perfect compare to other TOS, and this feels like the only TOS episode where someone's death really matters and makes you sad, unlike the typical TOS episode "Oh some red-shirt guy died, what's his name? Oh well, let's carry on, no big deal."

Yes, the Romulan bridge looked like it was made from styrofoam and I noticed, but this episode transcended low-budget effects and the typical science that doesn't make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Ihatejaneway
Wed, May 2, 2018, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Nice to see an intelligent alien that that doesn't look behave and talk like a human wearing makeup, but otherwise I don't see anything great about this episode and as usual there's a lot which doesn't make sense? How can a bunch of two-bit bounty hunters trap Voyager when the Borg were unable to? How does Voyager know where all the bounty hunter ships are? Why doesn't the "think tank" just offer Voyager what they really want, a fast way back to Earth?
Set Bookmark
@jangos1
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Data's Day remains one of my favorite STTNG episodes. Regarding the dance sequence on the holodeck: Am I the only one who remembers that Data chose a sexy blonde dance partner after Dr. Crusher left the scene - or did I dream it?
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I laughed out loud at the Captain warning them (when searching for the clown) to watch out for balloon animals.

The humour seemed less forced in this one.
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@kapages

"f I am invited to a place where my physical voice is considered super sexy and women throw themselves at me, I will not warn them in advance"

What if they throw themselves at you because your voice is so super sexy that they are *unable* to stop themselves?

The Commander went to the lab to tell the blue man that their previous affair was a mistake. She only 'changed her mind' because he'd touched her.

I was a bit 'meh' about the humour (other than the elevator) but the moral questions raised were quite interesting even if, as I suspect, they were merely peripheral when a comedy episode was written and it was just the timing of boadcast that raised awareness.
Set Bookmark
JanielM
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

I'm just going to repeat what others have said, but my psyche needs to express it so here goes:

If you have technology that can get you out of most precarious situations - like the transporter--and you don't use it, *explain* why you are not using it, or you undermine your story by distracting your audience by the fact that they could have freaking transported Malcolm off the hull the second he was hurt. Kind of like Hermione's time turner. Just use the thing to go back and fix every possible problem in their world before it happened. Made it hard for me to feel any anxiety over Malcolm's situation as he shouldn't have been in it in the first place.

The Romulans. Hahahaha! I'm sorry, but didn't the main Romulan's voice sound like they borrowed it from Voyager's Captain Proton episodes? Sounded like Chaotica's robot to me. Heh.

And Malcolm, bless his pessimistic little head. The writers sure made it hard to like the guy over these last few episodes. He wasn't just pessimistic, he was *bitter* pessimistic. Makes you kind of want to smack him a little bit.

One general comment: Scott Bakula! You were so much better than this! It's so weird that he could by turns be believable in this part, then sound like he was reading an instruction manual from the cue-cards. Sounding official wasn't his forté, and neither was info-dump dialogue. Blah. Director and writers ought to have helped the guy out a bit and worked with his strengths. Sigh.

I love Star Trek. But it seems like there's always SOMETHING glaring out of it that bucks canon or doesn't fit. *cough* Enterprise Theme Song For Example *cough*
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

4 star episode! Best so far for Season 5. Pure enjoyment to watch.

Without Janeway around (she didn't make an appearance until 22 minutes into the episode), Tim Russ and Robert Duncan McNeill could really shine and put in a great performance. I know this Vulcan in love (or not in love) was done in several episodes of TOS, but they still did a great job with the theme here. I also liked the guest actress who played the alien woman.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

This was a fun episode! The idea of aliens who think that the holodeck is real but that the humans are fake, that's pretty creative!

Too bad Janeway had to be involved in it, it would have been better if one of the Delaney sisters played Arachnia.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Robert Picardo episodes are the best.

I have come to accept that he's a sentient being, even though in the real world, we should not believe that about computer programs we create.

Janeway acted like a real bitch to him. Totally out of character? Or who knows what her character really is?

Personally, I don't buy the BS about his computer program "degenerating" or whatever it was doing. But Robert Picardo did a great job with the script.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

How do you know when Janeway will violate the prime directive? The answer is, the more impractical it is to violate it, and the more it puts Voyager in danger, then the more likely she will violate it.

The other thing I have to say here is that it was ridiculously obvious that the alien was playing Janeway, but given how stupid Janeway is, I sort of assumed she fell for it.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Tom Paris is not a character I dislike (although not like "wow he's the best character in all of Star Trek!") so I never mind another Tom Paris episode. Nothing really bad here, but nothing great either.

Except the usual getting pissed at Janeway's arbitrary regard for the Federation doctrine of non-interference. In this episode, Janeway must let the aliens destroy their own world, but an episode later, Janeway is putting the entire ship in danger to get involved in some other civilization's treatment of telepathic refugees.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

A while back, Harry Kim tried to create a new doctor hologram but all it did was recite textbooks. I assume that off-screen, during the time since then, Harry Kim has perfected his knowledge of holo-programming, and now can create holographic experts by just talking to the computer for two minutes.

I started out really enjoying the episode, because of the great chemistry that the EMH hologram had with the Cardassian hologram.

But then, they threw us the incredibly stupid moral dilemma. The only reason the hologram looked like a Cardassian war criminal is because our EMH thought it would be cool if the hologram looked like an actual medical expert. But they could just have easily used any random schmuck as the model, and given that Harry Kim can create a hologram in 2 minutes, it would have been that easy to say "Don't worry B'Elanna, will have a human doctor in two minutes."

I really loved what a commenter above mentioned, that they've previously used Borg nano-McGuffins to save crewmember lives, and the Borg have killed BILLIONS of people. This Cardassian doctor killed only a few hundred people, and for the benign purpose of saving lives in the future and not for the purpose of conquering the entire galaxy.

Now that Harry Kim is such a great holo-programmer, why don't they create holo engineers, holo bridge grew, and let the holograms run the ship, doing a better job than the humans (never needing to take breaks to sleep or go to the bathroom) while the humans do more self-actualizing stuff?
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

@Jason R
It's from tribune, the official in the classical world. Strictly, the 'tri' doesn't mean three; originally there were ten tribunes in the Roman system. Standard usage in English law usually implies a bench of three but I, too, have argued before a tribunal of one. I confess I wasn't enrtirely serious in my comment but the greater point is that I dislike attempts to design an 'alien' legal system which then ignores any principle of justice.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I guess you're supposed to just enjoy Jeri Ryan acting as a bunch of different personalities, and ignore the stupidity, incompetence, and plot holes surrounding it, but the bad parts were so bad I could not suspend my disbelief to enjoy the episode.

The Borg are the greatest threat to the galaxy, and Janeway should be doing whatever she can do defeat them. She shouldn't have taken the McGuffin on board in the first place, and she should have handed it over to the aliens immediately.

Sucks for Seven, but the needs of the many (and we are talking tens of billions who will be assimilated by the Borg in the future) outweigh the needs of the one. Spock taught me that. Captain Kirk and Spock would have done the right thing. McCoy might have complained about having to let someone die, but he would have lost the argument.

And on top of that, don't they have security cameras in the future? And the Doctor making fun of Tuvok's mind meld is completely out of character.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Better than the average Voyager episode, but overrated.

Reasons to like it:

Cool visuals (Voyager entombed in ice, Voyager crashing into ice, interior of frozen Voyager)
Good job making Harry Kim and Chakotay look older
Garrett Wang gets to play a more serious version of himself instead of the goofy never-promoted guy who's intimidated by Seven's big boobs.
Geordi La Forge fan-service cameo

Reasons why it's just another stupid Voyager episode:

Another episode with time travel
Another episode with a crash landing
Another episode with loads of technobabble
Another Gilligan's Island episode where they find a way to get home but it doesn't work
Another episode where the day is saved at the last possible second
Why they have to use the slip stream drive if it's not completely tested makes no sense.
Why Voyager has to crash into a planet makes no sense.
Why does Chakotay have a girlfriend whose willing to die in order to violate the Temporal Directive, makes no sense
Why can't they send more messages back in time? Why don't the Borg themselves use the technology?
Etc.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Of all shuttle crash episodes, this was the very best. I give it four stars. Neelix, a much underrated character, shined in this episode. The child actress who played Naomi did a fantastic job. And even Tuvok had some wonderfully poignant things to say on the shuttle. If you didn't like this episode, you have no humanity. Even a Vulcan gets it.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

1. Enjoyable episode, Robert Beltran did a good job with it, I think he's a good actor held back by Chakotay being given a boring personality.

2. Demonstrates how EVIL Janeway was in Scorpion. The Borg are the greatest threat to the entire galaxy, and when you discover they are at war with another species, you DON'T HELP THE BORG.

The Borg will never return any favors to humans whom they will try to assimilate again in the future, but we see that Janeway made another dangerous enemy for mankind by taking sides.

This is also, I think, the first episode showing Seven being wrong and the captain being right. (Although by being right here, it's an admission that she was horribly wrong in Scorpion.)
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.