Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 535 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 22
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 10:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

No, me not challenging something is not my approval of anything. There's all kinds of stuff posted in the comments I'm not "OK with," but that's not the bar for my action here. As I've made clear, the only things that get moderated, edited, or removed are those that blatantly break the rules (and sometimes not even those).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 11:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Jammer's TOS reviews are capsule reviews that were written hastily over a weekend..."

Maybe this was meant to be exaggeration, but let's be clear: they were written over several months. If I could turn out 79 reviews (even short ones) in a weekend, I would be a machine. You couldn't even watch TOS in a weekend.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 1:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Those weren't just windows. They were transparent aluminum!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Booming, it's not even just the term itself. It's the attitude around how you respond to others who might object. Yes, I get the rhetorical context/point you were making. Most probably did. But at a certain point, isn't it worth respecting your fellow posters and considering they might not like your conduct rather than digging in and telling everyone that they have no right to challenge you?

I'd like to go one week around here without people acting like jerks to each other simply to win the rhetorical day. It'd be refreshing.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Oh, for crying out loud already.

*** The wrong way to handle things ***

Person 1: Makes point, uses offensive term.

Person 2: Cries foul, asks moderator to step in.

Person 1: Clarifies actual intent, but doubles down on right to use offensive term, on the account that offensive term is allegedly limited to USA boundaries (which apparently doesn't matter despite this site's audience being mostly from there), argues self-righteously.

*** A better way to handle things ***

Person 1: Makes point, uses offensive term.

Person 2: Objects that the term is offensive, and asks Person 1 to refrain from future usage. Doesn't immediately appeal to the moderator.

Person 1: Clarifies actual intent, but apologizes for use of offensive term in the interest of fostering community rather than scoring rhetorical points. Agrees to not use offensive term going forward.

Person 2: Accepts apology, moves on.

****

Things would be so much better around here if people would de-escalate rather than digging in and doubling down and assuming the worst of everyone else and launching personal attacks.

Here are the rules once again, recently updated. Considering I now make you check a box that you agree to these rules, it would be nice if you actually read and followed them.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

If Trek were released Netflix style all at once, I am not sure what my reviews would look like or if they would be happening at all. It would be a whole different ballgame.

Honestly, unless you have the sheer volume of content that a Netflix has, I don't know how a streaming service can build a subscriber base unless they do weekly releases. (See also Disney+ with The Mandalorian.) Otherwise, people would subscribe for one month, binge the one show they want, then leave. With a weekly release, they are getting 3 to 4 months of subscription fees even if someone doesn't stick around beyond one show.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Considering there's about 20 (?) years before Ben's insurrection, there's any number of ways they could explain what happened to Grogu. It doesn't necessarily have to be addressed by The Mandalorian again at all.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Latex Zebra: Yes. It is already underway. We are doing a rewatch as we bring our kids into the viewing.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

The star ratings always get me into trouble. Consistency has never been a thing (or a goal). It's just kind of a useful guide.

Do I think Discovery is a bad show? No. Do I think it is great? Definitely not. Do I think it is better over its first three seasons than all the other shows? Definitely not. If the stars indicate otherwise, they are not telling the whole story. Someone once compiled all my ratings into a spreadsheet. It was fun and interesting but it also doesn't really tell a real story. I don't believe you can quantify the value of these series with numeric data analysis.

(And have I mellowed in my middle age? It is possible.)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 9:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"As I've suggested before, if someone could read a post here and not even know it was discussing a Star Trek episode/the Star Trek universe then it's gone way off topic and should be brought back on topic. Jammer has said he agrees. Far too many posts above don't keep to that rule."

Let me clarify: I would never discourage reasonable discussion (and this is a great one!) that grows from issues presented in the episodes themselves, even if they might eventually only tangentally be related (which this one is more than that). So let's not assume something that doesn't reference the episode itself is no longer relevant, or necessarily "off topic" and that I disapprove.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 1:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 12: The Siege

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 9: The Marshal

Three mini-reviews now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 18, 2020, 11:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 22
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.