Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 438 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 1:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

DS9 said Section 31 was a part of the original Starfleet charter. This was later shown in Enterprise as having existed under Article 14, Section 31. (This pre-dates the Federation, BTW.)

From there it's not hard for me to imagine that Section 31 at some point became an official arm of Starfleet Intelligence, if that's even what we are seeing here. And that arm could be completely dissolved and disavowed sometime in the next 100+ years, which is plenty of time for someone like Bashir to believably not have heard of them in the 24th century, where they could've been spun up again as an underground rogue operation.

Is it a retcon? Probably. But as retcons go, this is on more solid ground than most.

Regarding Kurtzman being an idiot: Why do some automatically assume that any executive is automatically operating in bad faith and knows nothing about what he has been charged with? And that he can't possibly have done his homework? Maybe he did and maybe he didn't, but the assumption of the worst is indicative of a really tough crowd. Let's see where this is going and give it a chance!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Dom: "At the risk of sounding like someone trapped in nostalgia, I feel like TV found the Goldilocks balance between episodic and serialized TV during the 90s and early 2000s. Each episode of DS9, B5, and BSG felt like a complete story in its own right, but also fit into a larger tapestry. [...] I probably sound cranky. My frustration is less that so many shows today are serialized, and more that far too many TV writers, reviewers, and audience members view it as the be-all and end-all of TV storytelling."

I agree with the point that there was a sweet spot 15-20 years ago that balanced between episodic and serialized by doing both simultaneously. I think that's something that works well for viewers and reviewers. (It certainly makes it easier for me.) Interestingly, I think Discovery actually attempts this more so than many serialized shows (although not necessarily well a lot of the time), in that there is often a standalone plot even amid the serialized elements. Even this episode did an entire Klingon plot and moved Tyler from Kronos to Secton 31 in a single episode (arguably too quickly, even). A Netflix show would definitely have stretched this over many episodes.

I don't know that this uber-serialized style of storytelling is necessarily so pervasive because it's considered the end-all-be-all by the creators. I think the 10-hour movie notion is more a symptom of the Netflix effect (where entire seasons are dumped on viewers at once) and everyone thinks they have to do that to compete -- not necessarily that they think this is a marker of quality or prestige. Also worth pointing out is that perhaps Discovery has a slightly more episodic structure because its creators know it is being released weekly.

(As a side note, I'm glad Discovery is released weekly or these reviews would simply not be possible!)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Where did this idea come from that I don't want to review Discovery?

Re Babylon 5: https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/01/15/will-jammer-ever-review-babylon-5/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Betazed here was originally supposed to be Vulcan, but one of the higher-ups (Behr or Berman) nixed the idea, saying it was a step too far.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 12:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Quincy, I don't necessarily dismiss the idea of Claire needing companionship to cure loneliness. But I don't think it works to frame this in completely traditional rom-com terms, where the episode just turns this into a typical comedy of the sexes, with the robot standing in for the man. It does not really explore the idea of AI at its core that you seem to be getting at.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 11:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Hank: For the record, I agree that @Stargazer's sweeping generalizations are not helpful and are insulting to many. When I saw the comment, I rolled my eyes.

That being said, I don't police opinions on this board, wrong-headed as they might be. Because once I do that, I am policing everything, and then I become the speech gestapo who is taking sides. (1) No one wants that, and (2) I don't have time for it.

My rule of thumb for everyone: Dumb opinions are permitted. Aggressive personal flame attacks are not, and will be called out if I see them (and deleted, if they persist). Try instead to take the high road by arguing against positions you disagree with rationally (as several users subsequently did).

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

"My trust in you, is fading."

Bummer. I suppose there are other reviewers out there who can confirm your opinions. It's a big internet and Google is there to guide you! :P
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Hank, I realize you're upset with the sweeping generalizations of the silly comment you are replying to, but I am going to ask you to abstain from profane personal attacks like that. That's not behavior I condone on this board. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 11:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 7:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I will just say that today's comments in this thread should be held up as a case study on how to disagree about things and conduct oneself on a discussion thread. I salute you all for your willingness to listen and argue intelligently and respectfully. Were the world only to follow your example. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 9:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

So this is where I need to ask everyone to please stop posting comments about other people and their behavior and keep it on topic and discuss the shows or related issues. Everyone gets to talk, and not everyone is going to agree. As has already been said, what is the big problem here?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I absolutely will never post or make available ANY user's information of any kind. There is no reason for anyone to see that. Doing so would more likely be a violation of GDPR, not compliance with it.

There is no edit or delete feature because that would require a registration system that would require me to collect more data from users to validate their posts and link them to individual login credentials. I have no desire to take on the administrative overhead for that -- and it would also make it harder for people to post comments, and far fewer would choose to.

As it is here, everyone is essentially anonymous unless you overshare at your own risk. The email field is optional and email addresses are NEVER shared with ANY third party.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 8:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

"Jammer doesn't get comedy."

I get that comedy should be *funny*. And that the tone of a show that mixes elements should make some sort of sense, not just throw a bunch of jokes at a wall and see what sticks. (Admittedly, some of them do.)

You know what one of the funniest dramas ever made was? "The Sopranos." There was a show in masterful control of its varying tones, without it coming across with a completely jarring and nonsensical sense of whiplash.

"The Wire" was also often funny. McNulty drunkenly crashing his car and then deconstructing the crash in his mind in a drunken stupor and then *trying to do it over again*? Now that is some funny shit.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 8:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Finally getting back to reading some of the comments on this thread...

Please, everyone, refrain from attacking each other personally or making claims about other posters. I am going to dive in here in a while and see if there are posts that need to be deleted. Keep it civil. Excessive sniping is not going to be allowed.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Review now posted. Happy new year!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

@M.P., I am not in the habit of removing comments unless they are clear cases of spam, abuse, trolling or cluttering up the discussion with off-topic arguments or personal attacks. Dumb viewpoints I don't agree with don't qualify. I'd rather the users of the board have the conversation.

Ignoring people who annoy you is generally your best option. It's a big world filled with people, some of them you won't agree with.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.