Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 399 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, May 7, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

You are all being silly. The gaps explaining the backstory for TFA will be revealed in Episodes 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6, give or take a few decimals.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, May 6, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or punch your computer screen." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, circa 1997

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or throw your mobile device." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, alternate version, circa 2012
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 5, 2018, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The MU is 100% writer's device. There is no logical way you can have a divergence that is so similar, with the existence of the same people, yet completely different or "opposite." There is no way to reconcile it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 4, 2018, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

My review is finally posted. May the Fourth be with you!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I see everything. :)

Thanks, Katie. I didn't know any of that. Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

"Another thing, when I was growing up in Seattle (not a small city by any means) the local broadcasters refused to air this episode because it depicted the devil."

What?? In Seattle? Are you sure it wasn't preempted for baseball or something?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"deus-ex-technobabble" -- I love it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

If I recall, in the very first episode of Voyager, someone calls Janeway "sir" and she says that although that is typical Starfleet protocol, she prefers "captain." (She says "ma'am" is acceptable in a crunch but less preferred.) So it's written as a preference thing.

Either I am imagining that or have a good memory about one obscure scene.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

For the record, the review is also from 1997. The comments just weren't turned on until 2007.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I hope to have this reviewed soon. Had to demote it on the priority list for a while, and time flies by faster than you expect.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"Forego" is a valid variant spelling of "forgo" -- one I happen to prefer.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

To answer a few questions with no particular methodology:

@Karl: No, I won't be revising the ratings retrospectively. There's just little point in trying to figure out how the breakdown "should" have been and I'd rather they just stand for how I felt at the time. It do what it do.

@Plain Simple: If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)

@Artymiss: If memory serves, Discovery's first season was originally going to be 13 episodes, and they actually upped it to 15. So they had more episodes than originally planned. Either way, whether it's 13 or 15 or 10, that's plenty of episodes to tell a season-long arc. It's all about planning out the story and leaving out what's not necessary.

@Everybody:

The T'Kuvma killing is worth revisiting. I never commented much on it because I think I may have missed something. I am with others who say his death was clearly not intended by the storyline to be this big thing that Burnham did. I never noticed at the time that she specifically set the phaser from "stun" to "kill." I kind of read it as she shot him to stop him from further attacking Georgiou in the heat of the action. I fully admit that may be an incorrect reading.

Like a lot of things on this series, I think this partially stems from a failure of sloppiness by the producers. They didn't comment on it because they probably didn't intend it to be this big decision of "murder" even if that's how it was shot. I only watched the scene once and don't recall the exact shot selection, so I could simply have missed it. But I think the writers missed it too, or that it got changed on the set, or something, because it was never made out to be anything than something that happened in the middle of the action. Either way, I see that sloppiness or omission as being on the creators for making it unclear, or not following it up with dialogue.

Also, @Everyone: I'm not actively taking solicitations on what to review next. You are free to submit them for fun, but the series has already been decided, if I can figure out how and when to make it happen.

Lest everyone think Discovery's reception is universal doom and gloom, there are some positive reviews out there by respected critics who have thought this through. Notably, this one from Matt Zoller Seitz:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/02/star-trek-discovery-season-1-finale-review.html
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

No. The "season recap" is contained in this review. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I would take the ratings stats with a grain of salt. The ratings are far from scientific or consistent across the different series, and the serialized/cliffhanger nature of Discovery often makes the ratings a problematic exercise.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Trek fan: Let the speculation begin!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

It's not the reveal of Lorca as a season-long liar that bugs me *per se*. It's the reveal of him as a liar so they could give us a character with so little depth or nuance just to then kill him off. It all feels so pointless.

Now, if the Discovery crew does some serious soul searching over how they were fooled and betrayed, that would help ease the annoyance some. But based on the show's track record, I suspect it will be hastily on to the next thing with little reflection on the events that have happened.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

No, the full-season recaps ended with Enterprise in 2005.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 4:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

The streams for "Despite Yourself" and "The Wolf Inside" were both very good, with only a handful of video stutters. But the stream for "Vaulting Ambition" was terrible, full of dropouts and several lengthy "buffering" delays. Sigh. CBSAA is still woefully inconsistent (using the Android app and Chromecast).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

"By the way, I'm start to wonder if something happened to Jammer. He normally doesn't take this long to post his reviews..."

You clearly haven't been here long enough. :)

I am determined not to fall behind into a backlog, but posting the day or two after airing, while a goal, will not always be possible. I have two kids under the age of 5, a full-time job, and household obligations that make time a premium. Sometimes the reviewing schedule just won't work out. I am frankly amazed it has so far since the fall.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The reveal that Sharon is a Cylon is the last shot of the miniseries. And every episode of the first season, starting with the first, begins with a prologue about the Cylons having many copies, with a split screen showing Boomer/Sharon. Not sure how you can say that wasn't a clear, defining part of the character from the get-go.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.