Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 407 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

@Elliott: "Very curious how this and 'Little Green Men' got mixed around in Jammer's Reviews. Even the air-dates are reversed."

I was very curious about this as well. So I looked into it. And guess what? Against what you may expect (and indeed, what I expected), the error is not mine. It's literally everyone else.

I first checked the obvious sources -- Wikipedia, IMDb, and even the printed cover of my copies of DVDs for DS9 season 4. They all say that "Little Green Men" aired *after* "Starship Down," which is the reverse of what I have. I wondered, how could it be that I reversed these and even had the air dates flipped? Possibly something just got flipped around on my web pages? Given my workflow, it seemed unlikely that I would have the air dates wrong in addition to the index ordering and not have caught the error.

So I went back to my original Word doc from 1995-1996, where all the reviews for season 4 were written in a single continuous document from the beginning of the season to the end. In that doc I would simply add each new episode to the end of it as the season continued. Well, that document also matches what I have on my site, which is that "Little Green Men" aired first. This also contradicts the "official" record. Still very curious.

So there was one authoritative source from the time that I knew of that could either confirm I was right or wrong based on the truth of how these episodes actually aired in real time: Tim Lynch's reviews. If you don't know, Tim Lynch was a well-known reviewer in the 1990s who reviewed TNG, DS9, and limited stints for VOY/ENT in real time as they aired and posted the reviews online in a public FTP directory. (If you haven't read his reviews, I highly recommend them.) At some point, Lynch's reviews were archived by someone here. Specifically, you can see the DS9 season 4 reviews here.

You might think this also proves me wrong -- because this episode listing also has "Starship Down" listed before "Little Green Men." But look a little bit closer. At the bottom of each review, Lynch included a "next week" blurb that was written based on the trailer for the next episode. If you look at the "next week" blurb of both of these episode reviews, you will see that his reviews agree with my record of the air date order, in which "Little Green Men" aired first, followed by "Starship Down," and then "The Sword of Kahless." Whoever compiled these reviews into this site likely went off the "official" record for the episode listing, but the text of Lynch's reviews themselves contradict this official ordering, as mine do.

My listing reflects the *actual* air date order. Tim Lynch's reviews, which like mine were written as the episodes actually aired, agree with my witnessing of the order.

So why does the official listing go against this? I'm not sure, but my guess is that the *intended* air dates or production order were perhaps what made it into the official record upon which everyone bases their lists -- whether that be Netflix or IMDb or even the DVD box set. But that is NOT the order in which they actually aired at the time.

Therefore, I will be leaving my listing in the order you see it. It is my firm belief that everyone else, quite simply, is based on an inaccurate record.

Interesting indeed.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

"And now they've announced that a Star Trek Animated series similar in tone to Rick and Morty from one of its writers is coming out. What the hell is going on over there???"

CBS has come down with a serious case of Netflix Development Syndrome. Between this and the Picard series, they're in a development phase where they are simply trying to create more, more, more, as quickly as they can. And since Trekkies are apparently the unique audience they believe they hold captive, they are trying to turn out a lot of different Trek-based things while they think they have an opportunity. (What data they have to support this is beyond me, but one assumes such data exists.)

This strategy strikes me as self-defeating, because they will end up simply creating so much stuff that it will become watered-down and routine, just like the endless parade of Netflix shows -- which once were novel, and now are so numerous you can't keep track of them. See also: Lucasfilm and the Star Wars saturation over the past few years. But like with "Solo," I think they are going to find there are diminishing returns on putting so much content out there when the demand may not be what they think it is.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I've opened a general space where you can discuss Discovery's upcoming second season or the shorts that are being released on CBS All Access. Please post those thoughts there moving forward. Thanks!

https://www.jammersreviews.com/st-dsc/s2/discussion.php
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My quick take, and an overdue excuse to change the home page photo.

https://www.jammersblog.com/2018/08/10/pondering-patrick-stewarts-return
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

The "calm" refers to the tone of the scenes, and is not saying the director himself was necessarily calm. That said, I don't single out writers or directors nearly as much anymore with TV episodes (this review was written 22 years ago). The process of making a TV series is so collaborative and so much a product of a whole lot of people operating in almost an assembly-line fashion that attributing individual qualities to individual people (aside from actors) is likely to be guesswork at best, and frequently wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Aug 4, 2018, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

What??

https://deadline.com/2018/08/patrick-stewart-star-new-star-trek-series-jean-luc-picard-cbs-all-access-1
Set Bookmark
awful reviewer jammer
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 5:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This review is as awful as the episode it tries to review. I never been dissapointed by a review more than an episode. congratz
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I'm going to make this simple. Any further comments discussing past events involving a certain poster who left the board and has now returned -- and rehashing any of the events surrounding that person's departure -- will be deleted. This includes any comments referencing past events that are made by the person who left the board and returned.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, May 7, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

You are all being silly. The gaps explaining the backstory for TFA will be revealed in Episodes 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6, give or take a few decimals.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, May 6, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or punch your computer screen." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, circa 1997

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or throw your mobile device." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, alternate version, circa 2012
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 5, 2018, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The MU is 100% writer's device. There is no logical way you can have a divergence that is so similar, with the existence of the same people, yet completely different or "opposite." There is no way to reconcile it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 4, 2018, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

My review is finally posted. May the Fourth be with you!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I see everything. :)

Thanks, Katie. I didn't know any of that. Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

"Another thing, when I was growing up in Seattle (not a small city by any means) the local broadcasters refused to air this episode because it depicted the devil."

What?? In Seattle? Are you sure it wasn't preempted for baseball or something?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"deus-ex-technobabble" -- I love it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

If I recall, in the very first episode of Voyager, someone calls Janeway "sir" and she says that although that is typical Starfleet protocol, she prefers "captain." (She says "ma'am" is acceptable in a crunch but less preferred.) So it's written as a preference thing.

Either I am imagining that or have a good memory about one obscure scene.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

For the record, the review is also from 1997. The comments just weren't turned on until 2007.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I hope to have this reviewed soon. Had to demote it on the priority list for a while, and time flies by faster than you expect.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"Forego" is a valid variant spelling of "forgo" -- one I happen to prefer.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

To answer a few questions with no particular methodology:

@Karl: No, I won't be revising the ratings retrospectively. There's just little point in trying to figure out how the breakdown "should" have been and I'd rather they just stand for how I felt at the time. It do what it do.

@Plain Simple: If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)

@Artymiss: If memory serves, Discovery's first season was originally going to be 13 episodes, and they actually upped it to 15. So they had more episodes than originally planned. Either way, whether it's 13 or 15 or 10, that's plenty of episodes to tell a season-long arc. It's all about planning out the story and leaving out what's not necessary.

@Everybody:

The T'Kuvma killing is worth revisiting. I never commented much on it because I think I may have missed something. I am with others who say his death was clearly not intended by the storyline to be this big thing that Burnham did. I never noticed at the time that she specifically set the phaser from "stun" to "kill." I kind of read it as she shot him to stop him from further attacking Georgiou in the heat of the action. I fully admit that may be an incorrect reading.

Like a lot of things on this series, I think this partially stems from a failure of sloppiness by the producers. They didn't comment on it because they probably didn't intend it to be this big decision of "murder" even if that's how it was shot. I only watched the scene once and don't recall the exact shot selection, so I could simply have missed it. But I think the writers missed it too, or that it got changed on the set, or something, because it was never made out to be anything than something that happened in the middle of the action. Either way, I see that sloppiness or omission as being on the creators for making it unclear, or not following it up with dialogue.

Also, @Everyone: I'm not actively taking solicitations on what to review next. You are free to submit them for fun, but the series has already been decided, if I can figure out how and when to make it happen.

Lest everyone think Discovery's reception is universal doom and gloom, there are some positive reviews out there by respected critics who have thought this through. Notably, this one from Matt Zoller Seitz:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/02/star-trek-discovery-season-1-finale-review.html
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

No. The "season recap" is contained in this review. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I would take the ratings stats with a grain of salt. The ratings are far from scientific or consistent across the different series, and the serialized/cliffhanger nature of Discovery often makes the ratings a problematic exercise.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Trek fan: Let the speculation begin!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.