Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 471 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

There are not going to be other reviewing projects. Three and a half months is about all I can manage in a year. It's not sustainable.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Without summarizing my thoughts on the creative value of either show overall (I find strengths and weaknesses for both), I'll just say that creative and commercial success are often two different things. Drawing a correlation between the two is tenuous at best. Lots of people like garbage, while many gems go unappreciated.

Also, comparing the streaming business to the traditional broadcast one is a clear case of apples and oranges.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Okay, this unending personal argument has nothing to do with the episode and is completely out of hand. I'm going to delete it and ask that it be stopped at this point. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I think this thread has run its course.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Oh, give it a rest, @Alan Roi. Your constant refrain that the only explanation for anyone who has a negative take on Discovery's plotting is that they aren't watching the show closely enough or don't understand it or can't follow it (unlike yourself) just comes across as arrogant condescension and arguing in bad faith.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

@Chrome: "I wonder if this is because you think the writers aren't doing a very good job, or that you don't have time to go back and rewatch for the details?"

I lean to the former in some of these cases like the whole need for the time crystal (which I suspect has a purpose yet to be revealed, but I don't know what Pike expects to do with it now), but leave open the possibility of the latter. A well-motivated, clear plot wouldn't need to have every minor detail scrutinized. But when very specific rules or technobabble or flimsy explanations are needed to answer basic plot questions, then the writing is on shakier ground. If I don't catch it the first time, that's the way it goes. Watching it twice is not in the cards. I'll do my best and admit when I'm confused.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 2:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Be well, William B. You are one of this board's most respected contributors (by me, at least), but a focus on self-well-being is of course more important, and the board will be here whenever you wish to return.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Everyone,

Please refrain from posting items from news stories that are potential spoilers.

Speculation based on what's on the screen is fine, but some of us here don't go looking for headlines outside of what has already aired and would rather be surprised by what unfolds on the screen.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

There are no bad seasons of The Wire.

I've heard the argument season 2 sucks.

I've heard the argument season 5 sucks.

They are wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

To recap:

Control hijacks the board. Confusion ensues.

Control is eradicated. Immediately it's back to arguing and snark.

Sounds about right.

Maybe Control should stick around.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

The AI insurgency of Control has been put down. Our hearts go out to the victims of this most heinous and egregious robotic assault on internet comments. We will never forget April 1.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

0401. 0401. 0401.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Control now in control under Directive 04012019.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I'm not going to moderate every bit of rudeness, snark, or implied slight. People need to grow up. To the trollers: Don't insult others. To the aggrieved: Have thicker skin. It cuts both ways. I shouldn't have to play referee. I'm certainly not going to crack down on every piece of sarcasm, or where will it end?

The same people always seem to be involved in these feuds. Do your part to end it, rather than pouring gasoline on the fire. That means not responding to comments that annoy you, rather than continuing the cycle by drawing attention to them and being oh-so-offended by them.

That's my take.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

The whole star rating thing is driving me nuts to the point of giving up. I wavered between 3 and 3.5 and do think this is one of the better outings of the season and series, but did it make it over the line from one rating to the next? Who knows. I ultimately decided against it. I question just about every rating after I issue it these days, and everything seems to be borderline on two scores. And then I just conclude, on some level, IDGAF. IDWID.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 2:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I can't be in here 24/7, and I sometimes get 50 or 100 comments behind and it takes me a while to catch up. But there are certain things that are getting old and we need to see less of in here, such as:

* Posts that attack ad hominem other users, or fans in general of another show.

* Posts that take the implied or explicit position of pitting the fans of one show against the fans of another show.

* Posts that discuss the behavior or arguing techniques of others, or decry how "the people who did X are worse than what we're/I'm doing."

* Posts that accuse others of launching attacks without having the self-awareness to realize they are engaging in similar behavior from a supposedly (or even actual) defensive posture.

If you respect this place and its host -- who doesn't have time to wade through the details of every argument to try to piece together and judge who is more in the wrong on every individual case to be "fair," which I am NOT going to do -- then just ask this one simple question before you hit submit:

Does my post discuss the shows and related issues, or someone else's behavior?

If it's the latter, then try again. Please and thank you.

(Furthermore, I don't want to argue about any point I made in this post if you think it's targeted at you specifically -- which it very well may not be -- or you don't like my position. I don't have the time and I'm not going to do it. But I think everyone would be better served by just talking ABOUT THE SHOWS.

Thanks to everyone who is contributing in the discussion politely.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.