Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 561 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 1:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 3:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

@KRAD: Oops. Fixed. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 3:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Considering I wrote this in 1998, if I was losing it then, I must be in real trouble now. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Sep 3, 2021, 9:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 11:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jul 2, 2021, 5:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

Ten new reviews posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 6:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Yeah, the number crunching, while fun, is rarely a good reflection of the gut feelings (art translated to data loses a lot of ambiguity in the process), but I must say the rankings themselves of the seasons are pretty spot-on of what I feel for TNG. 1 and 7 are clearly the worst. 2 is probably ranked where it belongs relative to the others, but I never considered it bottom tier like 1 or 7. Didn't know that was a general consensus among the fandom.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 22, 2021, 9:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 8: Redemption

My general point is that this is more about executing on tried-and-true Star Wars comfort food (and that is done very well) more than it is groundbreaking or innovative.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, May 16, 2021, 7:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Sigh. Does everything have to devolve into the standard tired partisan politics crap? Can't we have one place in the known universe where we don't litigate the 2020 election and all the conspiracy nonsense?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, May 4, 2021, 12:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 5: The Gunslinger

Reviews for Chapters 5 through 8 now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 3:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

I subscribe to William B's interpretation of the holodeck as a public/common space. Perhaps they can be reserved, like a pavilion at a public park (especially if you're the captain or other high-ranking officer), but that's probably not always the case, like here, where Barclay is supposed to be on duty. Perhaps this is also why DS9 called it a "holosuite" rather than a "holodeck," to indicate a more private space.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Mar 13, 2021, 2:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

@Jeff Gill,

BSG was and remains a very special show, and I am glad your experience with the show was augmented by the reviews and comments here. Thanks for sharing!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 5:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

Reviews for Chapters 1 through 4 now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 6:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

"You just don't seem like a guy who neatly slots into some artificial political binary, if the fair-minded way you approach reviews from multiple angles is any indication."

That's the thing. Most people probably *don't* fit into any particular binary political box, but the partisan (and increasingly polarized) state of our electoral politics has all but forced everyone into one, and the no-compromises, take-no-prisoners political combat media infrastructure has made it very hard for sane voices and middle ground to be paid any attention. Even ones who just want good governance and policy that lean in one direction or the other.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 11:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

"Jammer's insightful commentary and tolerance is commendable in this day and age. I mean, I've read hundreds of thousands of words from the man and I still have no idea of his politics. He's also even-handed in his moderation. (News people could learn a thing or two from him)."

Thanks. I guess I'm somewhat surprised you can't figure out where I stand politically based on those hundreds of thousands of words, but I suppose I could see why it's murky, because I generally stay out of the political fray here. Politics have become an absurd, toxic, contact battle sport, and it became clear to me years (decades?) ago that one side is never going to convince the other, and it's not something I'm interested in having litigated here. There's a time and a place, but I don't feel like that place is here. This place is about Star Trek and sci-fi. So I try to keep mostly out of that, because down that path only lies rhetorical ruin. I'd rather be a uniter at this place, not a divider.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 9:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Yes, there's definitely a slippery slope here. I will give you that. But employment, especially with companies with deep pockets and an image to protect, comes at a cost to certain freedoms when you are in their employ, like it or not. Unfortunately, some of that is "shut up and play ball." I'm not saying it's right. I'm saying it's not unusual and not a symptom of a recent "cancel culture."

I also don't understand why someone with the job she had, with so much to lose, couldn't pull it together and not get mired in constant social media controversies of her own making. Again, it's the whole social media thing, where every opinion has to be broadcast and doubled down upon, and where apologies and seeing other viewpoints is seen as weak, and poking people in the eye is seen as a virtue. The whole thing is tiresome. (This, by the way, applies to certain individuals on all points on the political spectrum.)

We'll see if her career is over. It may not be. I don't hope for it to be, just like I wasn't out there posting hashtags calling for her firing. But every time she was in the news, I would hope for her to stop, simply because it was clear she was playing with fire and it was only a matter of time before she would get burned.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 9:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Well, I don't know that this is blackballing. We do have a much different situation now where social media gives everyone a platform, which they can use stupidly and it gets them in trouble.

The McCarthy era was more about guilt by mere suspicion, whereas with social media we now have the ability for (1) anyone to say anything and get it out there widely and (2) the irrefutable evidence of those statements right there to be used against you. The question becomes are the statements alone cause for termination. That I can't say without knowing what the code of conduct was and how many warnings someone got. We'll never know that. But I suspect this was not out of the blue.

I'm not saying it's right, but I'm also not saying it's not right. Actions have consequences when you represent someone else.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 8:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Booming is correct in this case. This is not McCarthyism, and it's not a free speech situation. It rarely is when it involves a firing. Free speech applies to your ability to say what you want without government interference. That's not what this is. Gina Carano was fired because she stepped over the line in the eyes of her employer. Whether you agree with it or not (I'm ambivalent; while I think people should be able to voice political views outside of work, I think this is more about a pattern of behavior than this one specific tweet, which was simply the straw that broke the camel's back), it's pretty hard to make the case that an employer has to continue to employ someone for breaking their code of conduct.

Carano stupidly played the game of chicken in trying to be a Provocative Twitter Warrior while also being a Corporate Conglomerate Employee. You cannot do both. Eventually you will lose the latter while doing the former. Carano was in the headlines every other week with the Twitter controversies. That will get under the skin of any company, because it eventually looks like they are condoning the views or behavior.

For those arguing Pedro Pascal did the same thing, I would argue that with Carano there was a pattern of behavior (and likely, she was warned behind the scenes) and the bosses simply grew tired of it and decided it wasn't worth the trouble for the ongoing negative press.

What amazes me is that people choose to be Twitter warriors when being employed is far more lucrative. But, hey, she decided she wanted to do the Twitter provocateur thing and it didn't work out. She's free to continue to speak out; no one has silenced her. It's happened to a lot of people (on both sides of the political spectrum) and it will happen to many more, because companies will make a calculation and ultimately protect the bottom line. If this were an isolated mistake, I would be more bothered. But I have little doubt she was warned she was on thin ice.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 5:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Yes, the spoiler guidelines are written very clearly in the commenting rules (last bullet point). Please try to follow them. Thanks.

https://www.jammersreviews.com/info/terms.php#comment-rules
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 6:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

I generally hate Adam Sandler movies, but I love this quote.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 6:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Before we turn this thread into a huge tangent on The Expanse (or other shows), let me say that I'm hoping to provide somewhere else on this site where you can do that soon. (I'm also going to launch the tip jar shortly!) For now, if you can hold off, please refrain from discussing that show in this thread.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Back in 2005, I used PayPal to fund the TNG reviews (when I had to shell out more than $500 to buy all the DVDs, before streaming was a thing; my how times have changed). That was pretty straightforward. I'm just trying to figure out if one of these newer services that are centered on content creators (Patreon, Buy Me a Coffee) might be a better fit for potentially creating a space for bonuses of some kind, not that I'm necessarily going to offer that up. Also, transaction fees would be a consideration.

Philosophically, it gets dicey, as I already see people saying they'd gladly chip in if I were to pick up or go back and do X or Y show. Unfortunately, it's just not going to work that way. (This really would be tips for services already rendered, not pressures for future work.) I can tell you I do not have the time or will to go back and review something that's already 50 or 100 episodes backlogged. It took me eight years to retroactively review TNG. Never again.

Thanks for the ideas. Keep them coming!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 9:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal: "That's why I have many times suggested that @Jammer that he put up a tip jar. But I guess he does this for the love of scifi, and not the love of money. Which of course is why this website is full of love and good feelings."

That's not why I do this, but, sure, I like money. ("Everybody needs money. That's why they call it money.") I just haven't adequately explored monetizing opportunities, which has long been an oversight of mine, probably to my own personal detriment. If I put out a tip jar, how many would actually contribute, and more to the point, how many would actually contribute without expecting something extra in return? That's what I wonder. I've considered setting up a Patreon page, but haven't fully researched it. But it might be time, especially since this site has been going through a bit of a renaissance the past few years and has been taking up more of my time.

If I did do some sort of Patreon, the one thing I can't promise is extras for paid users. And the one thing I don't want to do is change how things work around here. The content all gets put on the site, and I won't have time to create exclusives and I certainly won't want to shut off parts of the site for paid members only, or change how interactions go between patrons versus non-patrons. Would people really donate without the incentive of extras?

I don't know. What do people think? I certainly wouldn't mind getting a little something for my efforts. I'm not against that. In about 10 years I'm going to have to start putting my kids through college, after all. :)
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.