Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 482 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

For starters, I think there's a big misconception about JJ Abrams' contributions to "Lost," which is held up as the example for which he's the Worst Showrunner Ever. He created the show by way of writing the pilot and was involved in the first season, but beyond that he was minimally involved. That show was run by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse. All the mysteries everyone complains about and attributes to Abrams might have been (partially) initially set up by the pilot, but Lindelof and Cuse were the ones who teased them out for six seasons.

Another thing about "Lost": This idea that it was an epic failure that collapsed under the weight of all its mysteries is overstatement at best, revisionist history at worst. Maybe the ending (and the sixth season in general) wasn't everyone's cup of tea. Maybe the show went on longer than it needed to. But in litigating the mysteries and answers and resolutions (and their adequacy or lack thereof), the whole point of "Lost" -- its terrific characters -- gets completely overlooked in retrospect. This was a character show (and in many ways an anthology) first and foremost. The mystery box plotting could be dismissed almost as MacGuffin if you so wanted. I think people get so wrapped up in wanting plot answers *to their satisfaction* (let it be said "Lost" answered most of its questions; perhaps you just didn't like those answers), that they don't see the forest for the trees.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I gotta say, I've never quite understood the (increasingly fashionable) Abrams hate.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I have not. I imagine it might be a different viewing experience seen through a different lens now.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

@Springy,

I didn't say this on the DS9 thread when you got to the end of that series, but meant to: Thanks for bringing your rewatch of all these shows back here to share with us. It was fun and enlightening to hear your perspectives over the past several months!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Some quick thoughts, if perhaps we take the Picard topic over there:

https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/05/24/trailer-star-trek-picard/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I haven't really watched much of it, but my 6-year-old daughter really likes the new DuckTales. She doesn't get all the social media references, but hey.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 11, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor, Thank you for your kind words!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seeing as this pointless sniping over who said what and whether it's right or wrong, etc., blah, blah, has nothing to do with Star Trek and no sign of stopping, I'm deleting a bunch of this white noise in the hopes it will get things back on track.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The star ratings are what they are, and are explained here:

https://www.jammersreviews.com/info/ratings.php

Read the paragraph at the end. Not sure what else to say...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

There are not going to be other reviewing projects. Three and a half months is about all I can manage in a year. It's not sustainable.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Without summarizing my thoughts on the creative value of either show overall (I find strengths and weaknesses for both), I'll just say that creative and commercial success are often two different things. Drawing a correlation between the two is tenuous at best. Lots of people like garbage, while many gems go unappreciated.

Also, comparing the streaming business to the traditional broadcast one is a clear case of apples and oranges.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Okay, this unending personal argument has nothing to do with the episode and is completely out of hand. I'm going to delete it and ask that it be stopped at this point. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I think this thread has run its course.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Oh, give it a rest, @Alan Roi. Your constant refrain that the only explanation for anyone who has a negative take on Discovery's plotting is that they aren't watching the show closely enough or don't understand it or can't follow it (unlike yourself) just comes across as arrogant condescension and arguing in bad faith.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

@Chrome: "I wonder if this is because you think the writers aren't doing a very good job, or that you don't have time to go back and rewatch for the details?"

I lean to the former in some of these cases like the whole need for the time crystal (which I suspect has a purpose yet to be revealed, but I don't know what Pike expects to do with it now), but leave open the possibility of the latter. A well-motivated, clear plot wouldn't need to have every minor detail scrutinized. But when very specific rules or technobabble or flimsy explanations are needed to answer basic plot questions, then the writing is on shakier ground. If I don't catch it the first time, that's the way it goes. Watching it twice is not in the cards. I'll do my best and admit when I'm confused.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 2:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Be well, William B. You are one of this board's most respected contributors (by me, at least), but a focus on self-well-being is of course more important, and the board will be here whenever you wish to return.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Everyone,

Please refrain from posting items from news stories that are potential spoilers.

Speculation based on what's on the screen is fine, but some of us here don't go looking for headlines outside of what has already aired and would rather be surprised by what unfolds on the screen.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 6:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

There are no bad seasons of The Wire.

I've heard the argument season 2 sucks.

I've heard the argument season 5 sucks.

They are wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 11:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.