Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 496 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

We need a return to civility here. I don't like what I've seen in recent weeks, with users constantly getting into bickering matches with each other, and all these pointless fights over who is entitled to have opinions as members of the Trek fandom, and who isn't, and who is righteous, and who feels attacked, and so on. Everyone has a right to their opinion, but you should argue in good faith and play nicely. You don't have a right to belittle other people here.

Let's just say that certain posters have been problems more frequently than others. I won't call them out, because then it becomes a useless lawyer's game of whataboutism. But, yes, I am aware of it. If you can't make the discussion about the shows and instead have to make it about yourself or the other posters, you're doing it wrong. If you can't figure it out, then I invite you to leave.

So let me be clear:

1. Impersonating other users is against the rules here, even if it's done with an abundance of sarcasm to make rhetorical points. Don't do it. If someone is using an established name on this site, don't use it to mock them or pretend to post as if you were them.

2. Wishing ill on others' health is against the rules here. I don't care if you were baited or trolled or slighted or whatever. Don't do it. Even if it's not a threat per se, it is beneath what this board should be.

I don't want to wade into who is right and wrong in all these perceived slights and user feuds. It's a fool's errand and a waste of everyone's time.

I frankly don't have time to police all of this. As the board owner, it's my responsibility to make sure things don't get out of hand, and in the 12-plus years that I've allowed comments on this site, it's rarely (although not never, especially in recent years) been a problem and I can generally be pretty hands-off. Perhaps that's changing. I hope not. My time commitment to this board cannot increase, and if push comes to shove, I will shut it down before I start moderating a bunch of bad behavior.

So as a plea to you on behalf of the board and the other users, stop this nonsense. I hate coming in like a third-grade teacher to tell people to cut it out, but, yes, cut it out. Life is too short. If you want to troll each other, find somewhere else.

Sorry for the tirade (and likely condescension), but enough is enough.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Mar 11, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

"I really hope this is the last time Kirsten Beyer writes anything for Star Trek, though it is not entirely her fault."

No, it is definitely not entirely her fault. So one thing I want to make clear is that I don't think it's fair holding individual credited writers responsible (for good or ill) for what happens in their episodes. This may seem counter-intuitive because their name is on it and it is literally called a "credit." But even though this is credited to one writer, an episode on a series like this is cobbled together from parts from an entire season's worth of discussions and story breaks, and there is rarely a one-to-one matchup of writer to scenes in an episode. I don't know how they assign writing credits, to be honest, because these shows are frequently written by committee, and rewrites by other writers or the showrunner can completely transform an episode.

For this reason you will rarely see me call out individual writers in my reviews anymore. Praise and blame goes to "the writers," because of how ideas are kind of pooled into a season-long slush fund. And I make it a policy not to attack the writers personally. It simply may not be fair to do so given how much tinkering happens at all levels. They are essentially writing from within a managed corporate bureaucracy.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

TAS is on the indefinite backlog.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

So a few quick things, now that Picard has officially premiered:

1. I did my best to get the new Picard section and the first episode page up ASAP after the premiere was released (I did prep work days ago behind the scenes), but CBS made it especially difficult by not releasing the episode titles in advance, and by also not making it obvious what time this would actually be released. (Discovery used to be released in the evenings; that's clearly not the case for Picard. I guess for Picard this is going to be midnight Pacific Time?)

2. This goes across the board for all shows, but I would really appreciate if you would NOT discuss episodes in places other than the pages for those episodes. In recent years, I've gone to lengths to try to get pages up before the review is written (by timing it with prepared automation) because I know if I don't put a place out there for people to discuss, they'll just start posting comments somewhere else. It'd honestly be great if you could just *wait* if the page for some reason isn't there (like if I can't learn the title in advance) -- but I'll make every effort to time it so the page is there when the episode hits the street.

3. I know I've said this a lot in the past few years, but I have no idea how long or detailed the reviews will be this time around. As a matter of sanity, I am committed to stay on schedule and not get behind by more than a few days, and certainly no more than a week, because I simply can't have the reviews pile up or I'm likely to just give up. I managed to find a way to still turn out good reviews for the past few years of Discovery and Orville, but I don't know what that will look like with my time-boxed schedule being even more limited than in recent years. We'll see how it goes. The fact I couldn't even muster a blog posting previewing this and have still not yet written the "Rise of Skywalker" review is probably not a great sign, but we'll see.

4. No promises, but I may see if there's a solution I can come up with to help delayed Picard watchers steer clear of spoilers in the comment stream. Hiding them all would be easy, but I don't know if that's the best option for everyone. For now, if it is labeled with "PIC S1," that's your cue to avoid it if that's your desire.

5. Play nice while I'm not moderating. I'm frequently a few days behind in reading comments. And for Picard, I may run behind as a regular practice.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

For starters, I think there's a big misconception about JJ Abrams' contributions to "Lost," which is held up as the example for which he's the Worst Showrunner Ever. He created the show by way of writing the pilot and was involved in the first season, but beyond that he was minimally involved. That show was run by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse. All the mysteries everyone complains about and attributes to Abrams might have been (partially) initially set up by the pilot, but Lindelof and Cuse were the ones who teased them out for six seasons.

Another thing about "Lost": This idea that it was an epic failure that collapsed under the weight of all its mysteries is overstatement at best, revisionist history at worst. Maybe the ending (and the sixth season in general) wasn't everyone's cup of tea. Maybe the show went on longer than it needed to. But in litigating the mysteries and answers and resolutions (and their adequacy or lack thereof), the whole point of "Lost" -- its terrific characters -- gets completely overlooked in retrospect. This was a character show (and in many ways an anthology) first and foremost. The mystery box plotting could be dismissed almost as MacGuffin if you so wanted. I think people get so wrapped up in wanting plot answers *to their satisfaction* (let it be said "Lost" answered most of its questions; perhaps you just didn't like those answers), that they don't see the forest for the trees.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I gotta say, I've never quite understood the (increasingly fashionable) Abrams hate.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I have not. I imagine it might be a different viewing experience seen through a different lens now.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

@Springy,

I didn't say this on the DS9 thread when you got to the end of that series, but meant to: Thanks for bringing your rewatch of all these shows back here to share with us. It was fun and enlightening to hear your perspectives over the past several months!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Some quick thoughts, if perhaps we take the Picard topic over there:

https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/05/24/trailer-star-trek-picard/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I haven't really watched much of it, but my 6-year-old daughter really likes the new DuckTales. She doesn't get all the social media references, but hey.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 11, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor, Thank you for your kind words!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seeing as this pointless sniping over who said what and whether it's right or wrong, etc., blah, blah, has nothing to do with Star Trek and no sign of stopping, I'm deleting a bunch of this white noise in the hopes it will get things back on track.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The star ratings are what they are, and are explained here:

https://www.jammersreviews.com/info/ratings.php

Read the paragraph at the end. Not sure what else to say...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.