Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 404 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My quick take, and an overdue excuse to change the home page photo.

https://www.jammersblog.com/2018/08/10/pondering-patrick-stewarts-return
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

The "calm" refers to the tone of the scenes, and is not saying the director himself was necessarily calm. That said, I don't single out writers or directors nearly as much anymore with TV episodes (this review was written 22 years ago). The process of making a TV series is so collaborative and so much a product of a whole lot of people operating in almost an assembly-line fashion that attributing individual qualities to individual people (aside from actors) is likely to be guesswork at best, and frequently wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Aug 4, 2018, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

What??

https://deadline.com/2018/08/patrick-stewart-star-new-star-trek-series-jean-luc-picard-cbs-all-access-1
Set Bookmark
awful reviewer jammer
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This review is as awful as the episode it tries to review. I never been dissapointed by a review more than an episode. congratz
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I'm going to make this simple. Any further comments discussing past events involving a certain poster who left the board and has now returned -- and rehashing any of the events surrounding that person's departure -- will be deleted. This includes any comments referencing past events that are made by the person who left the board and returned.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, May 7, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

You are all being silly. The gaps explaining the backstory for TFA will be revealed in Episodes 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6, give or take a few decimals.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, May 6, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or punch your computer screen." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, circa 1997

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or throw your mobile device." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, alternate version, circa 2012
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 5, 2018, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The MU is 100% writer's device. There is no logical way you can have a divergence that is so similar, with the existence of the same people, yet completely different or "opposite." There is no way to reconcile it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 4, 2018, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

My review is finally posted. May the Fourth be with you!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I see everything. :)

Thanks, Katie. I didn't know any of that. Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

"Another thing, when I was growing up in Seattle (not a small city by any means) the local broadcasters refused to air this episode because it depicted the devil."

What?? In Seattle? Are you sure it wasn't preempted for baseball or something?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"deus-ex-technobabble" -- I love it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

If I recall, in the very first episode of Voyager, someone calls Janeway "sir" and she says that although that is typical Starfleet protocol, she prefers "captain." (She says "ma'am" is acceptable in a crunch but less preferred.) So it's written as a preference thing.

Either I am imagining that or have a good memory about one obscure scene.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

For the record, the review is also from 1997. The comments just weren't turned on until 2007.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I hope to have this reviewed soon. Had to demote it on the priority list for a while, and time flies by faster than you expect.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"Forego" is a valid variant spelling of "forgo" -- one I happen to prefer.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

To answer a few questions with no particular methodology:

@Karl: No, I won't be revising the ratings retrospectively. There's just little point in trying to figure out how the breakdown "should" have been and I'd rather they just stand for how I felt at the time. It do what it do.

@Plain Simple: If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)

@Artymiss: If memory serves, Discovery's first season was originally going to be 13 episodes, and they actually upped it to 15. So they had more episodes than originally planned. Either way, whether it's 13 or 15 or 10, that's plenty of episodes to tell a season-long arc. It's all about planning out the story and leaving out what's not necessary.

@Everybody:

The T'Kuvma killing is worth revisiting. I never commented much on it because I think I may have missed something. I am with others who say his death was clearly not intended by the storyline to be this big thing that Burnham did. I never noticed at the time that she specifically set the phaser from "stun" to "kill." I kind of read it as she shot him to stop him from further attacking Georgiou in the heat of the action. I fully admit that may be an incorrect reading.

Like a lot of things on this series, I think this partially stems from a failure of sloppiness by the producers. They didn't comment on it because they probably didn't intend it to be this big decision of "murder" even if that's how it was shot. I only watched the scene once and don't recall the exact shot selection, so I could simply have missed it. But I think the writers missed it too, or that it got changed on the set, or something, because it was never made out to be anything than something that happened in the middle of the action. Either way, I see that sloppiness or omission as being on the creators for making it unclear, or not following it up with dialogue.

Also, @Everyone: I'm not actively taking solicitations on what to review next. You are free to submit them for fun, but the series has already been decided, if I can figure out how and when to make it happen.

Lest everyone think Discovery's reception is universal doom and gloom, there are some positive reviews out there by respected critics who have thought this through. Notably, this one from Matt Zoller Seitz:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/02/star-trek-discovery-season-1-finale-review.html
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

No. The "season recap" is contained in this review. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I would take the ratings stats with a grain of salt. The ratings are far from scientific or consistent across the different series, and the serialized/cliffhanger nature of Discovery often makes the ratings a problematic exercise.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Trek fan: Let the speculation begin!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

It's not the reveal of Lorca as a season-long liar that bugs me *per se*. It's the reveal of him as a liar so they could give us a character with so little depth or nuance just to then kill him off. It all feels so pointless.

Now, if the Discovery crew does some serious soul searching over how they were fooled and betrayed, that would help ease the annoyance some. But based on the show's track record, I suspect it will be hastily on to the next thing with little reflection on the events that have happened.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

No, the full-season recaps ended with Enterprise in 2005.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.