Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 53 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

A good one this, not particularly memorable or dramatic - the alien villains aren't really threatening enough for that - but based on a decently solid plot.

It works quite well as an allegory on gaming addiction, or addiction in general. Of course it does have a few problems.

Firstly - does the idea of playing a game that literally gives you a hit in the brain's pleasure centre really not trouble anyone with the thought that it might be dangerously addictive? Riker would have left it on Risa. He must be sharp enough to know that it's asking for trouble, even without the mind control aspect and the evil plan.

I liked the scene at the beginning with Riker the giggly alien woman who turns out to be a villain.

It bothers me slightly that the crew who are under its control sometimes seem completely coherent - like Riker, Geordi et al when they're hunting down Wesley. Surely slightly crazed, drugged behaviour would be more appropriate? It just doesn't feel right that Riker and Picard have an apparently completely sober control of their senses while they're acting out a plot against their own interests.

The Morse code flasher that immediately restores victims of the game to full, conscious normality - come on, that's too easy. Lazy writing. Also, I don't mind Wesley and the specialist babe being super-sharp engineers and technologists, but we're asked to believe that they're pretty good at neuroscience, as well. It's a bit of a stretch too far.

Still - I liked it. Better than average for the fifth series, so far.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

A pretty dumb episode, this one. But enjoyable. It's a chance to watch a '70s style disaster movie in the Star Trek universe. Fun, but built on a pretty shaky premise, ie that the Enterprise could so easily be very comprehensively disabled. It doesn't really fit with my notion of the powerful, advanced Starfleet flagship we see in other episodes. And "bulkheads"? Really? I thought forcefields were used for that sort of thing. Seems a bit low tech.

Good to see Ro again. I like her spirit. For an ensign, she's certainly highly uninhibited when speaking to senior officers, and I see that she has her non-dress-code earrings on as well. There's a certain darkness though, isn't there, given her past, in that her plan - ultimately overruled by Troi - could have cost the lives of a number of her comrades?

We're reminded in this episode that the Enterprise, despite being involved in potentially lethal military confrontations every other week, is home to a sizeable population of children. It makes no sense.

Fun to see Data's head detached. What a shame he doesn't have a couple of spares, like Kryten in Red Dwarf.

Interesting that Troi is addressed as "Sir"; I'm pretty sure Janeway (for example) always gets "ma'am".

Why is the ceiling in the turbolift so high? Given that there's a hatch there that gives access to a ladder running up and down the shaft. What's the point in making it harder to use?

Geordi and Beverley's plan to repressurise the cargo deck seems reckless; what if the repressurising function isn't working because of the damage to the ship? I think this whole idea was recycled from Airport '77.

And of course - Keiko giving birth. It's the little touch that almost transforms the whole episode into a parody of disaster movies rather than an homage.

I don't understand why someone we don't recognise should be in charge of the bridge at the beginning of the episode, and I don't get how everything seems pretty much back to normal at the end of the episode. Would have been better if we'd seen another starship arriving to tow the Enterprise to a Starbase.

Despite all that - fun.
Set Bookmark
James G
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I liked this one a lot. There's some surprising acting and direction in this one, that really impressed me. Thoughts and emotions being conveyed with facial expressions that stood out - Riker's horror at seeing the colonists killed; Doctor Marr's discomfort with Data at the meeting.

It's a nice idea with some flaws. The main one is that the entity is basically a planet-destroying indiscriminate slaughterer, and it gets a lot more respect than you might imagine probable.

For a few moments I thought that Riker's love interest at the beginning was Linda Gray. And did we really need the cheesy sexual innuendo about 'dessert'? It adds nothing to the plot except to make the viewer (this viewer anyway) cringe.

The doctor with a score to settle is an interesting character, and really played well. I thought the story was largely going to be about her animosity to Data, but that aspect of it evaporates quickly.

Anyway. Some nit-picks. Judging by the speed at which the entity carves up the surface of the planet during the initial assault in which the colonists are killed, it would take it weeks to devastate a country the size of Wales, and much longer to ruin the whole planet.

I can buy that Data and Geordi aren't able to interrupt the impromptu weapon the doctor creates, but couldn't Picard just have the Enterprise back off a few million km?

Not keen on Data doing voice impersonations. He does it in one of the very first episodes, and it's a bit creepy - it makes him seem more like a tape recorder than a synthetic humanoid.

Anyway, definitely a good one.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 12:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I like this one. It's not a great one, but I enjoyed the friction between Ro and considerably more senior officers, and the way she feels very relaxed talking to them as though they were equals. I have to wonder what the evolutionary reason for Bajorans having a fossil stuck to the bridge of their noses is, though.

TNG has quite a few resistance versus evil totalitarians stories, and the plot here is adequate, but not that interesting. I always like an episode where senior ranks at Starfleet are involved in some sort of dystopian, mutinuous conspiracy though. But that aspect could have played out in a darker, more dramatic way.

I never watched Deep Sleep 9 so I don't have the wider context to place this episode in. But how many hostile, devious alien empires does the Star Trek universe need? In a galaxy where there exist beings as powerful as the Q, The Traveller and immortal god-like people like Kevin from 'The Survivors', I have to doubt that they'd last very long, anyway.

Interesting to hear about Federation "prison". Ro even speaks of a stockade, where it gets hot in the afternoons. I'd expect a Federation prison, minimally, to have reasonable climate control.

Really enjoyed Guinan's part in this one, but that hat .. no rational person would wear something like that on their head indoors.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I started off liking this one a lot, because the difficulty in communicating with the enigmatic aliens proved very intriguing. I was also reminded of Kirk and the Gorn from an early original series episode.

But in the end it has too many problems. Firstly, beaming Picard down to the planet to face possible death at the hands of monster, even as a team-bonding exercise, is a pretty hostile act - but the Tamarians get a pass for this, ultimately. Picard is almost grateful for being kidnapped and placed in mortal danger.

Secondly, I don't find the metaphor language element of the plot very convincing. What would a technical manual look like, in Tamarian? It's far too clumsy a medium of communication to express ideas to be believable in a race that has learned to travel the stars and make precise energy weapons.

Still - I appreciate the originality of the idea.

The Tamarians remind me of the Ameglian Major Cow from Hitchhiker's.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

In an unexpected contrast to my reaction to the first part of this story, which I found tedious, I was thoroughly entertained by this one. Yes, the overwrought, scenery-chewing dialogue between the various Klingons is just as preposterous. But I found the way the plot plays out quite absorbing, and ultimately satisfying.

I love the Android leadership sub-plot. Very memorable that one. Nice that the usual cliche of the apology at the conclusion, when the First Officer has learned his lesson, is avoided - although there is a hint of it.

Of course, there are a few nit-picks to record here. First one: the woman who plays the Starfleet admiral whom Picard negotiates with at the beginning. Is she actually an actor? She just seems to read out the lines, and in a scene with someone as capable and natural as Patrick Stewart, that's unfortunate. Just looked her up on IMDB (Fran Bennett) and she's done quite a bit, so perhaps it was a bad day at the office, or she was uncomfortable with sci-fi. Certainly nice to hear a West Indian accent on the series, although she was born in Arkansas apparently. I like that. A reminder that Starfleet isn't just an American club.

Apart from her ears, Sela is an identical twin to her mother. Even though her father is a different species. Really? And in a society as downright nasty as Romulus, would a mostly-human-looking half human really rise to such a status? It would be like having a mixed-race Wehrmacht general in Nazi Germany.

Finally - Data submits himself to Picard's discipline at the episode's conclusion with an apology, stating that the ends did not justify the means that he indulged. This makes no sense at all. If he actually thought that, he just wouldn't have done it. It wouldn't be logical.

Despite all that, a belting episode that gets the fifth series off to a very good start.
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I don't like this one. I should qualify what I'm about to type by saying that in this case I think it's partly a personal taste thing. I just find Klingon politics boring, and the dialogue between them generally reminds me of the Monty Python Spanish Inquisition sketch. Except that, after a while, you do expect it.

Actually, I never liked the Klingon redesign anyway. I much preferred the more humanoid-looking original series Klingons with dark skin and bushy eyebrows and I don't find the various attempts to retrofit an explanation for the change of appearance very convincing.

I find it phenomenally unlikely that a race as proud and self-obsessed as the Klingons would allow a Starship captain from the Federation - their old enemy and in their eyes a considerably weaker culture - to take such a prominent and decisive role in their internal affairs.

Similarly, at the conclusion of the episode, when Picard is asked to support the rightful Klingon regime against the rebels - it would never be up to a Starship captain to take a decision like that. It would be like asking an aircraft carrier captain to put down an insurgency somewhere in the Middle East in the present day.

While I'm being picky - this is a criticism of the entire franchise, not just this episode - but every time we see spacecraft encounters in space, they're always in the same plane, like ships floating in water. Wouldn't it be nice if every now and then, one of the ships was seen travelling (from the viewer's perspective) "up" or "down"?

Nice to see Tasha or her likeness turn up again. I can't actually remember how a replica of Tasha managed to become a senior Romulan, so I'll look forward to finding out next time. She actually turns up, obscured by shadows, in 'The Mind's Eye' - many viewers won't have noticed that though and would have forgotten about it by the time that this one was shown, so possibly a waste of time.

Anyway - I found this one grindingly slow and tedious.
Set Bookmark
James G
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Something of a sub-par episode, this one. I like the idea of exploring Data's capacity to have a relationship. But I felt it should have been the sub-plot to the potholes in the space-time road surface, which itself could have been a bit more dramatic and interesting.

There are some nice moments, though. The dialogue between Worf and Data which Data concludes with "I understand" is priceless. The death of the crew member is unusually dark for TNG, even though she looks more like a dummy than a corpse.

Odd that Data asks Geordi for advice about women. A bit like asking Heinrich Himmler for advice on race relations.

Not a bad one. Not a good one.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

An archetypical TNG episode this one, with lots of boxes ticked - a mystery with an involved technical explanation, Romulan espionage, Klingon treachery. I liked it a lot. I didn't actually think I'd seen it before until the last minute, when I remembered the request for asylum.

Curious that a different actor is used to play the Geordi impersonator on Risa; we see him leaving in a Starfleet uniform not long after Geordi is brought aboard. If the Romulans can have someone appear so like a human of African origin, why not have them create an exact duplicate? Would have been a nice, slightly disturbing touch. Anyway I'm sure the young cosmetically-modified Romulan had a fantastic time on Risa.

I was disappointed that Picard resorted to swearing in Klingon. Undignified.

Brent Spiner conveys a lovely sense of urgency in Data's detective work - stress even - when realises that Geordi is involved in the deception. As an Android Data should really just get on with it in an unemotional matter-of-fact manner, but it does really add to the tension and drama.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Yet another one I hadn't seen before - looks like most or all of the rest of the fourth series will be new to me.

I hope that whoever wrote this abomination was either provided with the appropriate psychiatric care that he or she evidently badly needed, or weaned off their drug habit.

I must admit though that I became morbidly fascinated as well as repelled, as the episode wore on.

A few thoughts. Isn't it extraordinarily unethical for Beverley to tonk Riker's body while he's unconscious in it? Isn't it even more unethical of the weird ambassador slug to use it for that? Reminds me of that episode of Red Dwarf where Rimmer borrows Lister's body and then proceeds to abuse it hedonistically.

And what happens to the minds of the hosts, when they submit to being taken over by parasites? How could a relationship like that between two species even have started?

I don't get why the Transporter wouldn't have worked, and this nonsensical plot element adds nothing to the story except an easy excuse to have the shuttlecraft attacked.

The conclusion is hilarious. Interesting though that they both let go of their relationship a lot more quickly and less emotionally than when the parasite slug creature was inhabiting Riker. Troi's persuasive words on Ten Forward don't count for much when Beverley is confronted by a lesbian lifestyle.

Anyway - really quite vile but it functions as a bad taste parody of the worst kind of pulp science fiction, albeit unintentionally.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I don't think that there's a suggestion that Brahms is of lesser authority than LaForge. I think it's the other way round. But he has her at a disadvantage in the sense that he knows her, more personally than is usual for someone whom she is entitled to regard as a stranger.
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I've been ploughing through TNG from the beginning for the last 18 months or so at a rate of about five episodes a month. A couple of weeks ago, while skimming through an episode guide, I noticed that 'Half a Life' was looming on the horizon, a few episodes in my future.

So I quickened my TNG viewing schedule a bit, to time it to land on my 60th birthday. Today.

I do remember watching this one before, some time in the mid '90s. Probably on one of the UK satellite channels.

I like this one quite a bit in many ways, actually. Nice to see the late David Ogden Stiers in something other than M*A*S*H, and he shows his versatility here in a nicely understated, hugely dignified performance, a far cry from Major Winchester. I've seen him in very few other TV shows or films, come to think of it. The only other thing I can think of is an episode of 'Rhoda'. I believe he was actually in his late 40s when this was filmed.

I'm not a fan of the Lwaxana episodes as a rule - I don't find the character at all believable or interesting and the joke wore thin in the first one she appears in - but here at least, we see a different side of her after the initial overbearing / annoying act gets rolled out again.

It's quite a nice idea. I did find it unsettling in the present circumstances, by which I mean being 60 years old as of today. It's a hard thing to get used to as it is. I can barely believe it, quite honestly. So the theme of this story, and especially its conclusion, made me feel disturbed; perhaps even a little angry.

I would have liked to have had some sort of acknowledgement that a year on another planet isn't necessarily the same duration as an Earth year, given that it's a unit of time that's central to the story. But that's a nit-pick.

Right, I'm off to take an overdose for the good of human society.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

The third episode in a row that I hadn't seen before. I must have a think about what I was distracted by in the early '90s when these were shown on the BBC. Anyway - brilliant. Impossible to believe that the wise, thoughtful and determined Picard in this story is the same Picard I saw 24 hours earlier, swinging through a castle window in a Robin Hood costume to rescue Maid Marian.

Really a splendid moral message about prejudice, suspicion, paranoia, justice and ethics. Patrick Stewart is really in his element here.

Surprised to see Jean Simmons in this; her performance reminds me a bit of Judi Dench. Not completely natural early on but by the time she's losing it at the climax she's acting out of her skin. Bravo.

Loved it.
Set Bookmark
James G
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I was surprised to find a Q episode that I hadn't seen before, but it's an awful one. The Star Trek franchise is littered with these excuses to perform period dramas. I'm not really a fan of them. The whole appeal for me is to have an escapist glimpse into the future, albeit an imaginary one.

But the premise of this Robin Hood drama is witless in the extreme, the crowning stupidity being Picard's plan to rescue Vash just by breaking in on his own with a sword and getting her. I didn't find the jokes, like Troi shooting Data with an arrow and Worf breaking the lute, particularly funny. The whole thing is literally a farce.

I've been to Nottingham many times and the castle a few times; I lived about an hour from there. Would have been nice to hear the local accent, but the lady who is ordered by "Marian" to take a message to the forest sounds like she's from London.

But my pet hate with all Q episodes is the way he's treated by Picard. Granted he's irritating but he also has a wealth of knowledge and power that could benefit humankind and the Federation immeasurably. In this one he literally arrives offering a favour, but he's just asked to leave immediately.

Anyway. I've seen most of the TNG episodes but this one is a new low for me.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

I'd never seen this one before this evening. On the original broadcast run on the BBC in the early '90s, I may have got bored by this time. Terrific episode. The old super-computer-goes-megalomaniac story is a very well worn trope in science-fiction, and is used at least once in the original series - but here it's blended very cleverly with an existing character story. And there's a lovely twist, in that it turns out to be benevolent this time.

Really wonderful performance by Schultz here. He reminds me a little of Michael C Hall, with a similar intense other-worldly quality in his performance.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Jul 5, 2020, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

Watched this one a few hours ago and I don't believe I'd ever seen it before. The edgy, creepy feel works really well here and I liked the idea it's based on. The woman who plays Leijten really acts out of her skin. Superb performance. I like to nit-pick though so here goes.

There's a scene where Data is assembling some improbable device, and he does it much like a human would, announcing that it will take two minutes. But in at least one other episode (in the first series I think) he's able to perform manual tasks at extreme speed.

When Riker and the others arrive on the Holodeck (it's always Holodeck 3, why?) Riker orders a search. Why not just end the program to clear all the scenery out of the way?

Anyway - a good one.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I'm not a fan of this one. It's not creepy or clever enough to work very well in a Twilight Zone sort of way, but it doesn't have much else going for it. The solution to the puzzle seems poorly thought-out and implausible, in a genre where implausible is the norm.

Guinan seems unaffected by the inability to dream affecting the rest of the (organic) crew. Odd that she's allowed to keeps an energy weapon behind the bar and even discharges it on board the ship.

I found Picard's hallucination in the lift (that's possibly "elevator" for some readers) quite powerful. I sometimes have those out-of-control lift dreams myself. Sometimes they accelerate upwards out of control, sometimes they move sideways.

Here's a nit-pick - when Picard steps out of the lift onto the bridge, there is no gap at all in the carpet between the bridge and the lift. Yet later in the episode, you can see that there's a gap in the carpeting between the bridge and his ready room. Later still, as Data orders him to bed, there's a gap between the bridge carpet and the lift carpet! No, it's not an important point.

Sometimes the future technology imagined when TNG was made looks improbably old-fashioned, like those tablets they carry around that are two inches thick. But the device that Beverley has in her hand in the mortuary looks like an iPad or Android tablet. A device like that would have seemed ultra-cool and futuristic in the early '90s; now it looks mundane.

I don't really like the way that the Enterprise turns out to have a function to dispense hydrogen. Feels like rather convenient lazy writing, a bit like more or less every scene involving a sonic screwdriver in Doctor Who.

Anyway - this one just about scrapes an "OK" from me.
Set Bookmark
James G
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I quite like this one, but there's a rather high cringe factor. The notion of space creatures is quite interesting, though it's been done in a few TNG episodes. I quite liked the space creature plot.

But the Geordi / Leah story is risible. She describes Geordi's behaviour toward her as "peculiar", but actually it's downright creepy, especially as he has her at a disadvantage the whole time. She quite understandably goes off on one after finding her likeness on the Holodeck, and understandably feels violated - but that predictable happy ending where she decides she likes and respects him comes far too easy.

I love the way Data turns and says "I believe it is dead, sir" in that matter-of-fact way, when the creature is phasered to death.

The CGI renditions of the space creature seem impressive for the late '80s, though they look a bit rubbish on a decent monitor in the present day. Or have they been redone since then? Not sure.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

This one and 'Who Watches The Watchers', to which it is thematically similar, are my favourite episodes of the whole TV franchise. I especially love the moment when Troi and Picard make a softly-spoken First Contact, in Mirasta's laboratory. What a moment in the history of her civilisation. She is about to take her world out into the Universe, but the Universe comes to her first. it gives me goosebumps.

A nice allegory of bigotry and distrust between different cultures, especially vivid when an already seriously incapacitated Riker is physically attacked following his attempt to escape at the hospital.

We learn that first contact with Klingons was made 'centuries ago'; I'm not sure how well that fits into the established timeline.

The hospital staff nerd with a thing for sex with aliens joke is done quite well, I found it quite entertaining. I've always thought that the regularity of sex with other species in Star Trek was a bit odd, given that it can attract a custodial sentence in the present day. I would think it was a bit awkward for Riker and his partner here, though. There must have been some anatomical diffculties to overcome.

The Malcorians are on the verge of Warp speed travel, but Mirasta and Durken seem awestruck by the view of their own planet from orbit - almost like the young woman from the primitive society in 'Watchers'. Would the chief scientist never have visited a space station? Even 20th Century Earth had them!

The benevolent hospital doctor reminded me a little of Phlox.

Sometimes I think that the Star Trek franchise should be a bit more imaginative. Almost always, male and female aliens have recognisably Earth male and female hairstyles, respectively.

There are CGI people wandering around on the surface of the planet from the aerial views we see of the Malcorian world. They look a bit like wispy stick drawings, but maybe they looked OK on a 1980s TV.

Anyway - a brilliant episode.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I like this one. It's a nice mystery and a clever, unusual idea. My only real complaint is that Picard comes up with a solution to the problem in about 30 seconds, on his feet. None of the usual careful deliberation, or discussions around a table with the senior personnel.

In one of the other fourth series (that's 'season' in LeftPond) episodes, it's claimed that Data is incapable of lying. Actually I've just checked, and it's literally the previous episode. That's not a proposition that holds up too well in this one.

I enjoyed the scene in Dixon Hill's office, but how is it that Guinan - an alien - can be so culturally American, not just human, in every mannerism? But the stockings are a lovely touch.

I could have done without the old 'taking over one of the crew's bodies' plot device. It's overdone in the whole franchise and I think unnecessary in this particular story.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I must have seen this one once before this evening, because I distinctly remember Work taking exception to the appearance of the Klingon devil monster that looks a bit like a Predator. But apart from that I hadn't remembered a thing.

It's not awful but it's weak. And it's certainly over-theatrical with the excessively vampy female protagonist gambling with Picard for his body and soul, and Data playing the courtroom judge.

I don't buy that Data isn't capable of a bit of judicious (and judicial) dishonesty. Surely a Starfleet commander has to use a bit of subterfuge occasionally. Reminiscent of the old canard that Spock can't lie, when in fact he deceives people every third episode.

I thought Marta Dubois did what she was asked to very nicely though, and I'm sad to see that she died two years ago.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Just watched this one. Although I saw most of them 30 years ago, I had no memory of this one at all. I think I may well have been watching it for the first time.

It's intriguing until the last ten minutes or so, then it sort of collapses on itself. It doesn't conclude satisfactorily.

It's very odd to me that Maxwell is received so politely and casually aboard the Enterprise, when he's gone rogue and killed hundreds of Cardassians. It's even odder that he's allowed to return to command his starship and its crew, even under escort - and his subsequent actions are extremely predictable.

Considering what Maxwell has done and the unauthorised carnage he's caused, Picard seems a bit too quick to defend him to Gul Macet at the episode's conclusion, and too dismissive of Macet's disdain. If anything, Macet is extremely restrained in the circumstances.

That peculiar moment between O'Brien and Troi, when the Cardassians come aboard. For a moment I wondered whether she'd detected him having lustful thoughts about her. The look she gives him fits perfectly.

The Enterprise's long range scanners are remarkable. They accurately detect and plot ship movements and photon torpedo discharges during the first exchanges between the Phoenix and the Cardassians at a location so remote that it's 16 hours, 44 minutes away at Warp 4.

I think it's an OK episode. It doesn't live up to the promise of the first 20 minutes.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

I like this one. Any episode that's prominently Data-themed is necessarily a good one. The Romulan espionage story is clever, though very understated here.

This one does highlight a flaw in the very idea of Data, though. He's very often shown to be curious about things, not understanding ideas that are simple and everyday to humans, and always having to ask. In this one, his people skills are so lamentably awful that he cheerfully tells O'Brien that his wife-to-be has called off their marriage, assuming he'll be happy about it because it's what she wants.

And yet we're supposed to accept that this synthetic person with limited empathy with and understanding of humans is a senior officer to hundreds of personnel aboard the Enterprise, and occasionally in charge of the whole ship.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Another thought - it's curious to me that in the 24th Century, things are still counted by the dozen. Geordi refers to "half a dozen photon torpedoes".
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 12:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Not a fan of this one. I find Troi a bit over-emotional and over-earnest, and I didn't like the way she snaps at other members of the crew, even her captain. She wouldn't just storm out of a meeting; it's not professional. Downright insubordinate really, especially in front of other officers.

And the basis of the episode, with the 2D creatures and the cosmic string, just didn't grab me at all.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.