Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

This episode was 4 stars for me.

It had a solid concept. Good action. And presented a moral dilemma. Could the exception have been slightly better? Sure. But an overall great episode.

The General is going to have a tough time explaining all this to his superiors since Archer took back all the equipment and the X-rays etc. Imagine his superior turning up, seeing the base in disrepair and its personnel in disarray. And the explanation for all this is "aliens".

I did wonder about the explanations they gave since they've now created the impression "The Alliance" has all these sophisticated weaponry/technology.

Couldn't they have transported the device once they confirmed (whilst at the bar table and a scan proved it) that it was indeed in the building. I thought the reason they couldn't initially was because they couldn't narrow down its precise location down from an orbital scan.

Once discovered, I wonder if they could have moved to introduce themselves. Because initially it seemed like the General was open to the idea of aliens.

I enjoyed the episode.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

The "Tribunal" scene alone was superb. At least 1 star for that, come on!

I thought this was a decent episode. The language barrier thing was great. I thought the actress playing the princess was all right. I just found the security on the ship has been dreadful in various circumstances.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

PHENOMENAL episode. 4 stars, or at least 3.8 stars.

I just realised that it's B'elanna's voice playing the computer. It was very cool to see future technology of the Federation at work. Great space station.

I liked that it was able to repair the ship the way it did. I'd have rather not had the "stealing people" plot though. I found it was a bit confusing on first viewing, though now I understand it was trying to increase computing power using the power of the organic cortex. However, perhaps that would be better served by the Station requesting one person in return, or something to join it similar to the "Think Tank" in Voyager.

I thought that Trip and Reed should have been demoted after such stupidity. They were violating the agreement that they had entered into.

It was very cool to see this "AI" station and how it operated. Rather scary that it was repairing itself at the end. Frightful.

Perhaps a plot line could have been added that this was an ancient Iconian station, and various species were also trying to lay claim to it to possess its technology.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Great episode. 3.5 stars at least.

Reed seems to have a death wish though.

Great to see the Romulans. Perhaps I'd have added something about them being concerned about the Earth vessel being able to "detect" their mines also.

The transporter issue people are bringing up here should have been handled by an explanation added into the plot of some type of "magnetic interference" emanating from the mine rendering transporting difficult with the transport capability (limited) of the Enterprise (given it is a new technology for humanity and not that advanced as the TNG era).

I'd also have added Archer/Hoshi trying to talk down the Romulans by asking the Romulan captain what he would do if one of his people were down there, or something.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

@Focksbot - I think they mentioned that the space storm was travelling at Warp 6. I was just wondering why they couldn't have the Enterprise take a safer orbit - since they mentioned the ship could survive with certain measures and that Sickbay/the Catwalk were safe. The crew could go down to the planet which had been deemed safe. The storm would pass (at Warp 6). Then the crew could just go back to the ship surely.

But I enjoyed the episode. It made for an interesting scenario. To try to retake the ship where they'd only have a limited time protected by their suits. To destroy the ship. Etc.

Points for Porthos being "Number One" in the Catwalk command centre.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

Agreed with Quibbles.

Great episode.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Tue, May 26, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@Megan @Drake I agree

I agree. For a fantastic series, the ending was too abrupt.
Set Bookmark
James Band
Tue, May 26, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I really loved Voyager. The premise itself was extremely interesting and strong - a Starfleet vessel flung to the other side of the galaxy with a journey of 70 years back home to Earth. There were some wonderful episodes like "Blink of an Eye", to "Someone to watch over me" and the iconic quotes like "They've got lasers... A black man and some bald guy!"

There were also some interesting concept like the Macquis and moral Chakotay integrating with the Starfleet crew. I wish there had been an actual mutiny set of episodes though. The Equinox double bill was superb, though I would have liked to have seen a "Starfleet Pegasus" ship having joined them even if only briefly (perhaps sacrificing itself just like the Pegasus).

This finale though - I'm mixed. An entertaining episode yes. And as a finale it would be sad that it was ending. But it's bittersweet. I am at a loss to explain as to why they made it a bit 'anticlimactic' at the end. There should have been a GLORIOUS arrival on Earth (a little like the opening of the actual episode) and some celebration..or something.

There's also the time paradox, which definitely is not possible from what we know of temporal mechanics - like the TNG movie First Contact, or Voyage Home, events need to have already happened and thus time maintained rather than changing it. It was of course cool to see the Borg being destroyed like that, but surely maintain time somehow.

The series was great and each Star Trek series had its own greatness. Before the dark times. Before lense flare. Story and morality and exploration and wonderful ships made Star Trek. But I feel like several filler episodes like the weird boxing one, and ridiculous Chaotica episode could have been used to add on to the Finale episode to make Endgame have a grander more befitting ending for the Voyager crew. Showing them get home and giving them (and us) payoff to that significant achievement would have meant something and let you forgive the "changing of the timeline."

As far as the romantic pairings go, I thought personally the buildup of Janeway and Chakotay had been there from the start (especially after they got left on that planet). Whilst I understand it might have been difficult to "date" given the circumstances of command, I did feel it was hinted at the entire time. I mean they were having some pretty intimate dinners often. I don't think Picard dines with Riker every other evening. Hell I'm not even sure if Troi dined with anyone every other evening (though the holographic Deanna is another matter). I think it would have been befitting for Janeway and Chakotay to become one at the end.

As for Seven - I concur with above that it felt so out of place without any basis the pairing they showed us. I really liked Seven as a character - her humour and doing what was necessary a lot of the time. Personally, I did very much enjoy her and the Doctor singing. To me, it felt like forever Ensign Kim and Seven should have ended up together. There was chemistry there from the "Do you wish to copulate" scene and "I play the clarinet... You are not on the list Ensign". It would have also given both a happy ending. Of course, the Doctor needed a happy ending - should have met someone fascinated with his intellect when they arrive on Earth.

Should have really seen these characters we've watched for years get their happy ending. Seeing Tuvok meet his family, Tom reconnect with his father (same with B'Elanna"). Oh what could have been.

I loved Voyager, I just feel they could have done the ending better. Replace the 'filler episodes' by giving the finale more screen time and show the glorious ending on Earth. If necessary, skip forward several years to the SAME anniversary celebration this time with ALL characters present - except it's a reunion now they all made it back safely. That would have been poignant in my view.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.