Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Sat, Sep 15, 2012, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I always liked that episode. It felt fresh, something new and had interesting dynamics. It also played well the "fish out of water" situation of many characters and had something interesting/important to do for every one of them. And yes, I always liked the Troi character! Definetely deserves more than a mere 2 stars!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Tue, Sep 6, 2011, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

I agree with the posts above in this: This story arc was necessary to UNDO the terrible thing that had been done to the Vulcans in ENT (had you not called it the "Evil-Vulcan-Syndrome".
Yesterday I rewatched TNGs "Sarek" - it is inconcievable how a man that was a producer at that time could demean the Vulcans years later!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Tue, Sep 6, 2011, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

As I am currently rewatching TNG on DVD, I made a curious discovery.
Usually I switched back and forth between all Star Trek Series, watching some TNG, then some DS9, then some ENT,... This time, I decided to stick to TNG for some time and started watching TNG from season 1 to 3 without switching to the other Trek incarnations (apart from the occasional TOS episode now and then...) and thus I am deprived of the eye candy of the latter - especially Voyager and ENT. And doing so I noticed again just how great, how well done TNG was - even and especially in those "middling episodes", as you call them.
Yes, some of them are not highlights of TV history, not even Trek history - but in TNG many of them still have likable aspects, quiet little scenes. I mean, I prefer most "middling episodes" of TNG over 84,5% of ENTs second season any day! And how often had we to endure VOY scenes like: Bad alien of the week is incredibly stubborn, followed by a series of: "Direct hit at..." "Shields down to ...%" And so on. TNG would often show some people in a little room, e.g. the captain's ready room or some crew quarter.

Even less than stellar episodes like "Menage รก Troi" had their moments. (Besides: I still think that the character of Lwaxana Troi was quite lovely in TNG but got seriously (and somewhat retroactively) damaged in DS9. But the TNG Lwaxana episodes were just fine: She was in the better parts of "Haven", had her moments in "Manhunt", delivers well in "Menage a Troi" and even brings some tender sentimentality in 4th seasons "Half a Life". Then Lwaxana episodes became downright depressing - but at least in TNG Majel Barret and Marina Sirtis had some believable chemistry!

And when you can find little gems in the most mediocre shows of TNG, how great were the highlights. I still get thrilled by "Yesterdays Enterprise". Or "Sarek" - what an episode! I still can't watch it with dry eyes! The concert scene! The confrontation of Sarek by Picard! Picards mind meld breakdown! Brilliant!
And of course "Best of both worlds". Each and every scene a highlight. What a show for Patrick Stewart AND easily the best Riker installment of the entire series. Talk about REAL character drama WITHOUT bringing in stupid, unknown relatives! ;o)

TNG might look aged compared to newer shows but its core is still landmark TV!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Thu, Aug 4, 2011, 4:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Well, having rewatched the episode today, I agree with Jammer on this one: "Honestly, the debriefing itself could've been an entire episode, possibly a fascinating one."
According to me it not only COULD have been an entire episode - it SHOULD have been! Why suspending the hearing when it got hairy (and interesting)? To go rock climbing?? They should have shown us more of the debriefing or even a court martial. I mean: torture, piracy, heavy losses - Archer has quite a track record, hasn't he? And let him ponder over this things in breaks during the debriefing with (the wonderful caracter) Cpt. Hernandez! That would/could have been really powerful! (And why did they have to kiss anyway!?)
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Tue, Jul 12, 2011, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Well, I'd always prefer an episode like this over previous "Ferengi Love Songs".

I agree with you all in that the episode has its flaws, but it is entertaining - and compare this episodes treatment of Worf and Dax to the really awful "Let he who is without sin" earlier this season!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Well, I mine was wether a fake nor an alternym review: I was REALLY quite thrilled by the Director's Cut! Yes, it's slow, yes, there are flaws, but it is a good movie!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, May 6, 2009, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I just rewatched this film (for the first time in the directors cut) and I was quite surprised, how beautiful it was. Until now, all that I had seen was the 1979 version on a bad videotape, so all the special effects were just endless series of blue stuff to me.

But now, in DVD quality, I really, really enjoyed the film. Those scenes where the Enterprise enters the Cloud: What a fantastic moment! The visuals, the grandious musical score!

It is true, that some of the later films were more directly thrilling and had more humour in them, but ST-TMP showed space as a really AWE-some place to be. And I found it quite good, seeing the Crew often just stare in wonder at the screen. One fault of the later films and series was that everything was commented and technobabbled on.

Great review!!!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, Feb 11, 2009, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

A very good and very necessary episode that was true to the characters and to realism in acknowledgement of the Nog's impossibility to simply "jump back in the action".

Let me add one more thing: While I absolutely concur with Chris Swanson in most he wrote, I am not ready to compare the well acted and well scripted TNG main characters to the hollow ones in Voyager and Enterprise (even they had good ones, though!).
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, Feb 11, 2009, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

This was the point when the Dukat arc really started to annoy me!
Also this "Pagh-Wraith-cult": When that Ex-Vedek asked Kira something like: "What have the Prophets ever done for us?", I really had liked it to hear Kira mention the salvation from a 2000 ship strong dominion fleet a bit over a year ago. That should have made SOME impression on the Bajorans, one would think...

But no...
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, Feb 11, 2009, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Oh PLEASE! While I agree that the episode as a whole was a very good outing to show the bad side of war (-as if there was such a thing as the good side of it!), the guest "soldiers" really annoyed me.

I'm certainly not breaking this down to an argument about Roddenberry-ism, but NEEDED we to see this bunch of action figure caricatures to see, that war isn't good for mental health. Ok, war is dirty, war is terrible, but I mean, come on - the soldier sharpening his knife? The soldier almost shooting a Doctor for trying to change his bandage?

Don't get me wrong - there were a LOT of things in this episode that I liked (or rather: that moved me). I was particularly moved by the musical score - really terrific (although a tad on the melodramatic side, but I like that!)!
But it might be that my role is similar to that of Quarks - I'm simply not militaristic enough to emphasize with some of the attitudes shown. Bloody civilian, eh?
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Tue, Feb 10, 2009, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Why is it, that in DS9s first season featuring a counsellor among the regulars, I keep thinking: "Deanna Troi would be of help right now!" First Garak in "Afterimage" and now Sarina positively screamed for our lovely Counsellor Troi. Why wasn't Ezri trying to help Sarina? She only seemed to care about Julian - but, as Jammer said: So did the entire episode!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Feb 9, 2009, 8:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Well, I've just rewatched this episode and I still hate it. Really, I don't see how on earth you can give this absolute crap two stars! Compared to this, even "Let He Who Is Without Sin" is almost more watchable. I'd give the reckoning a half star at best!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Feb 9, 2009, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

This IS bad. Sincerely: Episodes like "Treshold" and "Let He Who Is Without Sin" are almost shining diamonds in comparison.

Profit and Lace is easily the worst of DS9!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Feb 9, 2009, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I'm not totally pleased with James Darren's performance. While his acting is okay, his singing gets - especially in the higher regions of his voice - quite forced.
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Sun, Feb 8, 2009, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Well I agree with Charlie on this one: What an episode, if Jadzia had died and Worf would have chosen Duty before his wife and she would have died because of it. It would have had tremendous storytelling opportunities.

I was quite moved by the episode. I for my part always liked Jadzia Dax as a character and was quite fond of her marriage to Worf.
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Sun, Feb 8, 2009, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

I really enjoyed this episode! It was pure fun and showed also very, very good visual effects!
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Wed, Feb 4, 2009, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Well - as Jammer rightly stated: practically every "comical" wedding movie has basically the same plot twists as this episode. But I enjoyed the episode anyway - also because it was a welcome diversion from the war. Siskos log entry at the beginning of the episode was appealing for the same reason!

The ceremony itself was really well done and mythical with those drumbeats and the story of the Klingon Hearts.

And...yes, call me "juvenile" but I liked Jadzias Dress! ;o)
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Thu, Jan 15, 2009, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I agree (mostly) with the review of this very good episode, although I can see the points of the statements above as I hardly recognized TNGs Worf and Gowron the way they were shown in this story.
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Jan 12, 2009, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Well...I have said it before. At least episodes like "Fascination" trigger a response from the viewer, resulting in outbursts of humor, anger or the desire to post a comment on www.jammersreviews.com, while episodes like "Equilibrium" or many, many Star Trek Enterprise-episodes couldn't interest/anger/entertain people enough to do so.

It's one kind of success...
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Sun, Jan 11, 2009, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Although I can agree to most of your complaints about this episode, I've always really enjoyed it so personally, I would give it 2 1/2 to 3 stars.

But it's your website.. ;o)
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Sun, Jan 11, 2009, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Really, really fantastic episode with outstanding acting. Especially the Cardies were great (I'll include Kira in this group for this episode). Nearly everything fits - although I'm still asking myself: Who was the dead girl Entek produced as evidence of the "real Kiras" death?
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Dec 15, 2008, 3:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

Well - this episode is Enterprise as it should have been. A prequel series should do exactly this kind of things.

So it is an appropriate - although not great - ending to an fairly entertaining - although not great - series (for my part I do not consider These are the voyages... an ENT-episode).
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Fri, Nov 14, 2008, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

I liked this trilogy - it wasn't great but quite good. It's always great to see Brent Spiner and I particularly liked the character of Persis - not (only) for obvious reasons. Yet I wondered why she showed almost everything when she was in her "Augment-Overall" but dressed quite "chastely" when in bed with Malik. Kinda strange, isn't it?
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Fri, Nov 14, 2008, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Well, you put it right: "Good but not wonderful". It was at least as important as TNGs "Family", but not quite as strong.
Set Bookmark
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Nov 10, 2008, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

The thing that disturbed me most is, that Archer wasn't completely irrational. In my opinion this episodes premise could have been presented as real drama, not as the "mind-control"-Plot. I mean, when Archer compared the eggs with humanoid babies, he was right! When he commented that helping them could improve relations with the Xindi, he got a point! When he was angry about the missed opportunity concerning the destroyed Xindi-Ship....
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.