Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 85,781 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,432
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

You can tell this was meant for Robin Williams by how Rasmussen's lines are so repetitive and lightly written. Basically "crewman X! Some cutesy remark about X! Ooh, wait, ominousness..."

Over and over.

It was written like that because of Williams' great strength in crazy improvisation. He would, in effect, have rewritten all the lines.

Frewer couldn't do that (like the vast majority of actors) so the character gets tiring very quickly.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 4:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

that is how a text looks that was written with german autocorrect on a tablet
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 4:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Omicron
Well, from your perspective my views might seem extreme but your views would certainly seem extreme for many Europeans and the stuff of others you defend even more so. Rahul is for example a right wing extremist but he knows that many are not so he has to frame his views in certain way to make them easier to stomach.

He called mentally deranged a dozen times and worse. He wrote in many posts that leftists are either evil or naive. You defending him tells me all I need to know.

I told you several times already after you called me a communist that I am a liberal socialist, meaning limiting economic freedom while having extensive personal freedooms. My views are actually not far from the center in germany. And I am agnostic, not Atheist.
I'm on vacation at wonderful place with lots of sun and the soothing sound of the waves. Bye.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 2:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I mostly agree with Jammer's 2.5 stars. Of the new trilogy, I think it was the weakest film. And though I haven't watched Lost, I've read about it, and Rise of Skywalker shows that Abrams has a pattern of tough times with endings.

To me, Rise of Skywalker was a lot of Abrams just flinging stuff against the wall, stuff that resembled better moments we previously saw, and hoping it stuck. My big example with that would be Luke's Force ghost lifting his old X Wing out of the water, complete with the same John Williams score, that literally copied note-for-note the scene in Empire when Yoda lifts Luke's X Wing out of the Dagobah swamp.

C3PO's line about this being the last time he would see his friends, to me, didn't carry the weight that it should have, because I didn't care as much about the people in the room with him in that scene as I did about characters in previous films. I'm sure the line was meant to be an aside for the audience, but to me, it just didn't click.

I liked The Force Awakens. I think Abrams did well with that. I also really enjoyed The Last Jedi. I know it gets a lot of grief, but I liked the portrayal of Luke as someone who withdrew from the galaxy. Sometimes, you can only fight so much before you feel like giving up and wondering what it's all about, even if you're a Jedi.

I was also ok with Rey being a "nobody" as hinted at in The Last Jedi. So what if she didn't have some huge family lineage? There were plenty of Jedis who weren't Skywalkers in the prequels, and some of them turned out to be pretty compelling characters.

I also liked Leia's ability to use the Force in The Last Jedi. She showed Force sensitivity before, and between the original trilogy and The Last Jedi, maybe Luke showed her a thing or two.

So, yeah, missed opportunity to do a good story ending.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 2:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

@Proud Capitalist Pig

Thanks for that. As for myself I first saw the episode when it initially aired just over 55 years ago this month. As a 7 year old kid I didn't see past the space ship and the alien planet. It was only later I got the relationship angle.

Yeah, some of it can be a bit clunky when looking back on it from afar. But at the time, seeing it with the eyes of a 7 year old, it was magic. And I don't find Carmel's performance obnoxious but it certainly is over the top.

Star Trek has been with me for so long that I admit I probably can't be entirely objective about it. All of T.O.S. seem like old friends that I need to revisit from time to time. I realize the sets are cardboard and the original effects very crude by today's standard. And yes, some of the dialog is clunky. But T.O.S. was my first love as far as tv shows go. And Caramel is my favorite guest star.

One thing that amazes me is that I now have it all in H.D. on my computer so I can revisit it any time I want. And if that wasn't enough I have put it on my phone so I can carry it around with me. Hardly something I could have ever imagined as a child so long ago, waiting for my favorite show to air and hoping my parents wouldn't decide to change the channel.

Greg
Set Bookmark
Greg
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 1:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

@ Booming
"Of course, if you want to continue to insist that the women are prostitutes the only logical avenue for that line of reasoning is to admit that marriage is itself a form of prostitution."
Nowadays because of the fact that men still dominate society economically, marriage for a shrinking subset of society retains an economical component. But for more and more people marriage is about tax benefits and other financial incentives and certain rights like parental rights or access in case of medical emergency.

Well, you are partially correct there. But in 2021 most of the financial incentives that accrue from marriage are for the women. The goal of many women isn't marriage per se, it's divorce. That is where the big payday is for them. But in most cases the marriage must come before the divorce. And the proof, of course, is the fact that about 80% of divorces are initiated by women.

"And as for the commenter that said if the story had continued they could see Ben and Eve marry and gradually learn to love each other. That is precisely what I myself would imagine."
Why? Their relationship started on lies/fraud and is now based on the women being live-in housekeepers. The miners are obviously superficial men and the mining colony seems like the most boring place in the galaxy. It seems far more likely that these people will start to resent each other pretty quickly. Or are we really to believe that a short speech from Kirk changed these people to their cores? That's not how reality works.

Well, my first answer to that would be that this isn't reality, it's fiction. If you think that is too flip then I have another answer for you. If you are looking for clues as to why they might stay together it's all there in the dialog. Kirk indicates it's time for himself, Mudd and Eve to beam up to the ship and then Ben says Eve will stay for now. We want to talk. This is obvious evidence that Ben has seen past the makeup and decides that Eve might be a good catch even without her enhanced looks and wants to discuss it over with her. Eve then responds to Kirk by telling him that he has someone named Enterprise up there he has to tend to. This indicates that Eve realizes a handsome man like Kirk is out of her reach and Ben might not be so bad a guy after all. Like I said it's all there in the dialog. Don't see how anyone could possibly miss it. Unless they wanted to miss it for some reason.

As for your objection that the miners are superficial men that seems rather subjective and based on scant evidence. Two of the miners aren't fleshed out at all. The only one that gets enough screen time to be anything more than a cardboard cutout is Ben. I mean there is just so much character development that can be done in 50 minutes. So if your contention is there is evidence that the men are superficial I think it's only because you want them to be.

I will agree with you that Rigel sure looks like a dull place but as Ben said they now have the good life in their hands, which I took to indicate that had already mined enough crystals to be rich. So I kind of doubt they were going to stay there very much longer.

And if your other objection is that the relationship started with lies, it has been my observation that most relationships between men and women start with falsehoods. I mean that is what makeup if for if you are a woman and what a sports car is for if you are a man. Some couples never seem to move beyond deception and some do. And let's face it. When ever one enters into a romantic relationship the first person one lies to is themselves.

Greg
Set Bookmark
Big Poppa the XVII-th
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 1:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Eh. Seen worse, seen (lot) better. 0 stars is overreacting. I'll give it 1,5 stars. 0,5 for T'Pol playing "tough", and 1 for the nice workout my right hand got, watching red-hot bombshell Lakshmi prance around on screen in a ripped-up dress. ;) And imagining being cooped-up in an escape pod with her for 2 days. Yummy.

Yea she's a terrible actress. Who cares with THAT body? Not me, I'm not watching her for her acting. Though I do wish she put that mouth of hers to better use ;) her voice is annoying.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 1:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Booming
"I'm neither a communist nor an atheist"

I'll rephrase:

Given your previous comments (which span years), it is clear that you're close enough to both views for my previous comment to be just as relevant.

"if you believe that Rahul and 2PacTruth are just well-meaning people asking questions then you are an idiot."

Sorry, but I think that in this particular discussion, Rahul and 2PacTruth showed more good faith than you did.

@Randall
"Atheists aren't the ones with the problem when it comes to respecting people with different beliefs. We don't ram legislation through states that strip people not like us of rights and dignity."

I don't support such legislation, and you'll find that many of the religious folks here (though not all) would agree with me on this.

The way you put all religious people in the same bandwagon and treat them as if they all share the exact same extreme viewpoint, say more about you then it does about them.

"There are theistic jerks and there are atheistic jerks."

Correct.

"The difference is, atheistic jerks are rude, while theistic jerks are rude, *and* try to make people they don't like second-class citizens by force of law."

History tells us a very different story (see my answer to Jeffrey Jakucyk below)

@Jeffrey Jakucyk

"Being an atheist means simply not believing in a god/gods. There are no tenets, no scriptures, no clergy, no pronouncements. It is not a belief system, it is a rejection of a belief system."

True.

But even atheists believe in *something*. Every human being has beliefs, and a person's primitive human nature does not magically change just because he is an atheists.

So the question is: Are atheists any less adamant/extreme/oppressive/violent in defending their views? Enter Pol Pot, Stalin, Mao and Korean Kim to tell you: Nope. Human nature just sucks, and power-hungry people will find excuses for their rotten behavior, with or without religion.

In short:

Religion is not the problem here. Dogma, prejudice and hate towards people who think differently - is.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 12:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I love this film. It's a snapshot of what Star Trek might have been. A way that Star Trek might have gone, and then didn't. And none of the other TOS films ever had this much money to spend again. This film had budget (and went way over it), and you can really see all those dollars on the screen. Oh, I know it isn't a good movie, per se. The first time anyone watches it, I can't imagine this being the movie they'd hoped it would be. The movie they'd hoped to see. But the second time. Or the third time. When you already know what it's going to be, and what it's not going to be. What then?

I don't think it can be argued this is a *good* film. But it has merit. And I love it anyway. I do.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 10:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@Tidd
@Karen
@Top Hat

I have not seen this one in a few months at least, but my recollection is very like Top Hat's, that Rasmussen is just doing what conmen do best: giving people just enough vague input to encourage them to fill in the details. It's like fake psychics who do "cold reading."

("I'm seeing an old man, some connection with the Z … Oh, you say your Uncle Donald worked in a zipper factory? Yes, that's what the Z is about. And did Uncle Donald, at the end of his life, have trouble with his heart, something drawn out and painful? You say he got divorced shortly before he was hit by a bus while running a marathon? Yes, the heartbreak of his divorce is what the problem was …")

For example, I don't think there's any indication that he knew the size of Picard's office before seeing it, such as saying BEFORE entering it that he can't wait to see if it's really X feet wide or Y feet. When he walks into the room, he starts talking about a debate between historians of his time, but he's making that up on the fly.

The writers are conning first-time viewers as much as he's conning the Enterprise crew.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

There does seem to be some difficult in crafting a review that disentangles technical achievement of a plan from the plan itself. I fondly remember Ebert's review of Basic Instinct 2, where he talked about how there was no way he could recommend the movie, even though from a certain perspective its low and almost embarrassing goals seemed to be achieved with gusto. So he gave it something like 1 star, but hinting that it could have been 4 if he gave in to his baser impulses.

The Rise of Skywalker is a film that, conceptually, I would have to give around zero stars. Somewhat like its predecessors, there is scarcely a single major plot point that yields a response even from its proponents of "Alright! Finally, this is what we wanted!" Even the big fans of these films seem to have to moderate their praise with disclaimers like "well, it's true this part didn't exactly make sense, but.." Jammer, I think you are completely correct about this overbearing responsibility for the creators of these sequels to do...something. Certainly they can't do everything, as you suggest. But what should be an embarrassment of riches seems instead to have been treated by the creative team as a struggle to do come up with what to do. I just wonder how that's possible. I bet most posters on this site, even the Trek fans who aren't as hot on Star Wars, have a laundry list of things they'd find really cool to see features in a SW film. I have such a list myself. So to say that finding arc after arc as recycled material is more than just frustrating, it's almost unfathomable.

From the standpoint of looking at the plot and character outlines on paper, I really find The Rise of Skywalker especially to be almost without any merits at all. But because the team executing this plan has state of the art technology, design teams and editing that are unparalleled, and a legacy that can feed even an empty schematic, it can still play energetically and even get a rise out of you despite yourself. I actually felt something near the end, even though it was totally unearned. It's one of those times it makes you have more fun than you even want to have, because of how undisciplined the writing and concept are. It's sort of like a jerk who makes a joke in terrible taste, but you're ashamed to find a laugh sneak out of you from some primal sub-intelligent place in your psyche.

From a certain perspective, getting any result at all from a pathetic concept sort of deserves an award of its own. But do we really want to give out such an award? At least when Bach wrote fugues out of lame musical fragments, he did cool things with them. This is more like a pop song cutting and pasting from lame musical fragments, using the same tired hook you've heard 1,000 times, and yet it makes top 10 on the radio anyhow. And you know this because you've got the radio on yourself.
Set Bookmark
Noni
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I can't help but enjoy anything with Ray Wise in it.
Set Bookmark
philadlj
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 8:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Nice write-up, Jammer! Worth the wait. Rise was the last movie I saw in theaters until I saw Black Widow in July. When I saw it, I was angry about a lot of it, but even though I haven’t re-watched it since my opinion has softened. As you said, JJ had an impossible task in trying to wrap up a nine-film, 4-decade-long saga. And while it had its problems, I got my ticket price worth of mostly mindless entertainment. It was neither as clever or interesting or satisfying as Last Jedi (which I’ve seen many times), but it was never going to be. I watch plenty of dumb fun movies on their own terms, but ultimately it’s not fair to expect Scorceseian excellence from a now wholly Disney-owned pop space opera franchise. Like most Marvel movies, it’s more about enjoying the ride.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Gorn, have you seen "The Vast of Night", 2019?

Not but budget or A listers, but a slllooooowwwwwww pace.

The IMDb user reviews are about as polar as I've ever seen. But at a minimum, it does seem there are a lot of people who would like to see more old style pacing.

I personally didn't like it at all. Extremely long takes and scenes, sometimes in just a profile. Longer than you will believe. It would have been better as a radio story, so little actually happens.


It's based around a radio host when people start calling about UFOs. I thought I would really like this because I used to listen to Art Bell's Coast to Coast radio program where they would have callers on this type stuff.

I was sure it was 99% BS, but it could really get the imagination going sometimes, listening to these callers on my radio driving around at 1AM. It was like sharing secrets in a tiny club. The title of the movie absolutely conveys that feeling.

But the movie doesn't, at least not to me.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I guess I shouldn't be surprised by Jammer's exceedingly generous review.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 5:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Review finally, finally, finally posted.
Set Bookmark
Patrick Wise
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 4:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

After many years and views, I just noticed an inconsistency that I've not seen anyone mention: After the violin duet scene, Data goes to see Dr. Crusher and is still carrying his violin, leading one to believe that this takes place relatively soon after the duet. Then, when he's called to the transporter room "immediately", he not only had time to drop off the violin, but he and Dr. Tainer (sp?) arrive in the transporter room together and her hair is now not only pulled up, but fully braided in the back, despite it being mostly down in the duet scene. I then noticed as they beam down that she's wearing boots with a very high, thin heel, which would be a bad thing to wear in a cavern undergoing quakes. Added to this, when they materialize in the cavern, she is then wearing flat soled boots; apparently the transporter chief must have noticed and changed them for her mid-transport, right? I'm not usually a continuity buff, but this one cracked me up.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 2:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

2.5 stars? Man, Jammer is a tough crowd.

I found this episode delightful. The Pakleds' idiocy never fails to make me laugh, which I think is where the breakdown happens between people who like this stuff and people who don't: if you find this stuff funny, you don't care if it's obvious or not.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Ok , finished the 2 seasons and read the comments so I'll review. those.
1. "Turning your brain off to like The Orville "
Hardly, in fact by my review of the first episode it's clear that the show actually turned my brain back on. Seth's reasons for loving Star Trek clearly mirror my own.
2. Comparisons to Farscape
There are similarities. Farscape was centered on the relationship between the two leads; same with The Orville.
The difference is Farscape was about rebellion against the empire, the Orville is about building the empire. Farscape established a franchise, The Orville pays homage to one. The Orville is to StarTrek whar Firefly is to Farscape.
3. Judging Discovery before it even aired
From the leaks and previews it was evidentDiscovery was obviously more about a woke agenda than it was about pleasing the fans. Still I gave the first episode a try. Wish I could wash my brain out with soap. Boring, dismal, franchise wrecking garbage.
That's what people were reacting to before it actually aired. The writers were going out of their way not to make Star Trek .
Look at the rotten tomatoes ratings: Critics 88% Audience 41 %
Contrast that with The Orville: Critics 65% Audience 91%
Of course the fans are using The Orville to give CBS the finger. CBS gave the fans the finger first.
Set Bookmark
Noni
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 10:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Oh, this is hardly a one-star episode. It's not great, but it's an entirely average two-star outing. There are MUCH worse episodes, even in this season.
Set Bookmark
Geoff Hudson
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 9:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

I was glad to find this site. And impressed to see comments spanning so long a time. I watched BSG back when it was first coming out. Having been a fan of the original as a kid, I was just blown away by the direction they took with this new incarnation.
I’m now having a rewatch of the series after all these years and having a good time with it. It’s been interesting to see how it feels now compared to back then. I do remember there being a point in the original viewing where it felt like something started feeling “off” and never came back. For me it seemed like the more we were taken behind the curtain with the Cylons, the more revealed about their “plan,” things became more confusing yet less interesting.
One thing I really used to enjoy was visiting the reviews on The Onion’s TV club and reading the thoughts in the comments from other viewers. That no longer seems to be online so like I said I was happy to find this place and see all the comments people are leaving here for the episodes, as I work my way through the show again. So thanks for the good episode reviews and thanks everybody leaving comments!
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Due to Kelly's selfish decision we get a What if story. The great thing about alternate timelines and parallel universes is getting to see how the characters react under different circumstances. A couple of takes.
1. I liked Alara Kitan. As expressed here, her look belies her capabilities. I don't like her replacement.
2. There's always a paradox lol. If the alternate timeline didn't happen then the doctor never went back in time to wipe Kelly's memory. Maybe the alternate timeline exists as a continuous loop.
Anyway, this looks like the end of the season. I got my Star Trek fix. On to season 3 when it comes.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 7:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Is there a concrete example of him stating an actual fact that he can't possibly have been exposed to? Remember what con man stands for -- "confidence." He acts like he knows things, so people assume that he does.
Set Bookmark
Karen
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@Tidd

“IF HE IS FROM THE PAST, NOT THE FUTURE, HOW DOES HE KNOW ALL ABOUT THE ENTERPRISE?”

If I remember correctly, the time ship’s computer had information on the Enterprise. It sounded like he read something equivalent to a Wikipedia article before beaming aboard to try and impress the crew with his knowledge. But what he knew was spotty at best.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 2:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

It might have been a moderately entertaining episode but for two things:

1. The professor was written as such an irritating character that I flinched every time he began to move his exaggerated jawbone as a prelude to speech…

2. An absolutely GARGANTUAN plot hole (which I’m sure others here have already commented on, when I come to read them?):
IF HE IS FROM THE PAST, NOT THE FUTURE, HOW DOES HE KNOW ALL ABOUT THE ENTERPRISE? Even down to the dimensions of the Captain’s ready room? Bwahahahaha. Were the writers asleep?

So, I’ll give it 2 stars but only for the story it could have been.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,432
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.