Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jacob
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

"As so-called Star Wars "anthology movies" go (all two of them)"

Don't the two Ewok movies count?
Set Bookmark
Jacob
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Haha.. a bit harsh on BSG which I thought was mostly competent (though it managed to bore me to tears in the final season). But I certainly think that's what they were going for.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Fox
Fri, Feb 12, 2016, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I actually enjoy this episode but there is one MAJOR flaw in the plot that bugs me every time I watch it.

When the senior officers have first been briefed on the existence of the causality loop, they think of how to avoid it. Worf suggests that the Enterprise reverse course. Riker counters that reversing course may have caused the collision and Worf's idea is quashed.

Here is the problem with that, the change in course was prompted only by the knowledge of the existence of the causality loop. It could not have been suggested before the very first explosion and therefore it is impossible for the loop to be caused by reversing course. Therefore the simple and most rational course of action would be to reverse course, but no one other than Worf realizes this.
Set Bookmark
Jacob
Wed, Jul 25, 2012, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I went into this episode hating the first 20-25 minutes of it. I found the language unbelievable, the Enterprise scenes tedious, and the phrases repetitive and annoying. All of that changed at the end, when the writers managed to pull off a sudden understanding that made most of the language hang together, as well as the telling of the story of Gilgamesh, which had some seriously stunning emotion, and Picard's final delivery to the Temarians, more or less, made the beginning of the episode worth it.
Set Bookmark
Jacob
Wed, May 9, 2012, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

@ Tom
Having a follow up for this episode would be brilliant, unfortunatelly that didn't happened. (It seems that Vic Fontain and Ezri - whiney - Dax were writers' pets and more important to the storyline *sarcasm* ).
Set Bookmark
Jacob
Wed, May 9, 2012, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I would give that episode at least 2 stars, there are worst episodes than this in the series. It was a silly and not humorous (as intented) episode but it doen't hurt the series (unlike some failed humorous episodes in the final season).
Set Bookmark
Jacobian Tee Teetertotter the Third :)
Wed, Feb 1, 2012, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

I cannot believe worf would kill that old kingon, how fucking selfish is that? Man I lost alot of respect for him there because i would have let go assuming there was a ledge there. Man i hate Worf now.
Set Bookmark
Jacobian Tee Teetertotter the Third
Wed, Feb 1, 2012, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

Its great that Julian can actually be himself in the holodeck, being genetically enhanched and all it is possible that he could do those things which would be a fantasy for most people to be Bond, but not for the genetically enhanched Doctor Bashir. I got this idea from the SFDerbis fellow and thought it so clever I had to post it here, because it truely is the great irony of this episode. And as a Bond Fan its great fun! Here ye here ye Calling all Bond fans, now you can be Deep Space fans to if only for a day!3 popcorns. Also liked the bit about neural energy being able to be stored in a computer. I thought this to be intersting, because i would think when i die, that engery must go somewhere, where does it go? Hope i have a deep space nine nearby to escape death
Set Bookmark
Jacob T. Teetertotter Seven
Thu, Sep 15, 2011, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Well, I for one enjoyed this fun little ride on the haunted house of deck 12. The starship Voyager meets any angry engery alien and befriends Capt. Janeway. It wasn't scary, but it might be for kids. All in all a nice happy ending and feel good episode some children might enjoy. 2point 5 popcorns.
Set Bookmark
jacob teetertotter 7
Tue, Aug 9, 2011, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

So the problem is that Janeway fell in love with a fake person. I thoughtt the real problem was that she was wasting all that power on holo decks instead of saving the ship from the storm so big they couldnt go around it.

Maybe she should really be fired as captain for not being able to avoid a cloud when she is in a ship that is warp capable. I couldnt understand that.

Anyway assuming there was no way around the storm cloud, I dont understand why anyone cares who she humps on the holodeck. Shes got to be an adult and realize that hes not real. The whole episode is childish and the point lesson of the episode is what....you can't change people. Ok learned that one a long time ago. All in all a little below average, but fun to see Janeway smile. Since she finally got laid. :)
Set Bookmark
Jacob Sisko
Wed, Feb 9, 2011, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This may be my favorite episode of DS9 ("The Visitor" being the other main contender). I love the depth of exploration given to even the most minor characters in DS9, and that the writers have the spirit to poke fun at themselves once in a while.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Sisko
Wed, Feb 9, 2011, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I personally thought this episode was worse than "Let he who is without sin", although that one was quite bad. But at least that episode had some attractive women in swimsuits. This episode's premise is completely ridiculous. In addition to what Jammer has mentioned, I just couldn't get past one particular conversation between Pechetti and Stolzoff. How can a Starfleet officer with several years of training point her rifle at an ally casually, then respond to his "Do you mind not aiming that at me" with a "Don't worry, safety's on". An engineer no less, who should know that all machines can and will fail at some point. Lazy writing in a lazily done episode with no real consequences. I'll pass.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Sisko
Tue, Feb 1, 2011, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Thank you, Jammer for your detailed analysis of each episode. Usually I'm in agreement with your assessments, but I just couldn't get over one plot hole in this episode.

The gist of the moral predicament the crew finds themselves in is that by choosing to circumvent the time anomaly to live a future on DS9, they are essentially "killing" or "eradicating" 8k of their descendants. However, starfleet officers should know that circumventing the anomaly creates an alternative timeline in which our crew moves forward to DS9. The 8k is not wiped out but merely exists in a different timeline when the original crew of the Defiant remains unaware of the anomaly (ie Yedrin Dax did not tell the crew about their ancestry). The moment Yedrin Dax made the crew aware of the anomaly, he created a divergence in time; two split realities. The biggest beef I have with the episode is the moral high ground Major Kiera takes even though they haven't actually done anything wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Sisko
Mon, Jan 24, 2011, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I HATED this episode and the previous Eddington/Maquis episode as well. We're supposed to believe that some third tier character whose technical competency has never really been shown before these two episodes can fool, out cool, out class, and have complete dominance over the supposedly coolheaded Captain Sisko? Even the situation under which Eddington was captured was dictated by none other than Eddington himself, when he gave Sisko the book. I just can't believe that Sisko, who is always supposed to believe in duty and diplomacy would be bested in every way by some minor character. A final blow, Sisko acts against orders and defiles an entire planet to capture one man, and he isn't even so much as reprimanded for it. In any other military he would have been demoted and possible discharged.
Set Bookmark
JAcob Teetertotter
Mon, Dec 27, 2010, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

i didnt understand the ending. In AMok time it was a fight to the death right? Here a punch and a throw and 1,2,3. its over and we have a new WWF Intercontental Champion
Set Bookmark
JAcob Teetertotter
Fri, Dec 17, 2010, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

I love the many layers on ENTERPRISE INCIDENT! Like Mr. Jim Kirks eyes shifting wen he says to the Romulan guard there an itruder abouart we must protect the cloaking device/ showing that he has NO idea what it looks like!

all the Spock Romulan Commader stuff is great, the Kirk acting crazy act. EVerything about the is SUPEr fun!

I like the cloaking SEvice it looks like a foam ball from FRANKS crafts! LOL Laughin on Line YO!
Set Bookmark
Jacob Sisko
Tue, Dec 7, 2010, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

This episode seemed so contrived. It seemed like the writers were just looking for an excuse to be daring and controversial. Why should the symbiant's former hosts have such dominance over the current host? Shouldn't Jadzia have the freedom to pursue her own love interests? I was a big Jadzia fan in the early seasons, but lately it seems her individuality and personality have been completely buried by the symbiant. Which brings up another thought; the more hosts a symbiant has in its lifetime, the less impact each host brings relative to the total number of hosts.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Teetertotter
Thu, Sep 23, 2010, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Yes it does not address the concearns of part 1. It is a cheap o ending
Set Bookmark
Mister Jacobain Tee Talyor-Teetertotter
Mon, Aug 23, 2010, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Yes, after the previous two installments of this arc being good, the payoff is downright disapointing. Never answers the whys sufficently, and the ending creates alot of more whys. Two popcorns.
Set Bookmark
Jacob Tee Taylor Seven
Tue, Aug 3, 2010, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Nice change of pace from the Xindi arc which drug out over a year and prolly lost more viewers than gained any.

I dont know why the CBS.com skipped the Space Nazi eps. They also skipped the e2 eps.


The Giant aka Big Show aka Paul Wight as an "Orion" space alien is super funny the way he picks up 'Topol' like a doll. The look on her face is priceless. Over all enjoyable story, but weird that these green Orion fellows just take people for the hell of it. Get on to Cold Station nunmber 12!
Set Bookmark
Jacobian "Teetertotter" Taylor
Mon, Jul 26, 2010, 2:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

My only questions were after the obvious did they just make this character and her backstory up? yes. I didn't quite understand why Janeway invited Lindsay to dinner. I thought it was cause she thought she was bsing her. I thought that was dropped kinda quickly, i kept screaming man if she was left behind 3 yrs ago of course shes phony! but no VGR makes no sense so...whatever 2 popcorns
Set Bookmark
Jacob T. Taylor
Tue, Jul 20, 2010, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

So far the best episode of STAR TREK: ENTERPRISE ever! I could easily relate to T'Pols addiction to the Trelloum and loved her awakening from a bad dream sequence while having a restless bad dream. It was very familar to me and chilling. It has been on my mind for years that not since early TNG,then Jem Hadars white dependance, has drug addiction been mentioned. I applaud the writer for not making moral judgments in this episode. No one ever plans on becoming an addict. It was a nice touch of reality in TREK. Archers decision is something that is less likely to be seen on other TREK series. By Picards time he was an evolved human, who wouldnt compromise his morals for anyone. Here we have Johnathan Archer doing just that. I also felt it was interesting that this episode was coupled with TPols addiction in doing what she had to do- just as Archer was. As is the case in many drug addictions moral right and wrong no longer apply to an extent and getting well or better to end the hell is the only thing that matters. Just as Archer is trying to fix Enterprise and make it better. Four popcorns! :)
Set Bookmark
Jacob Tee Taylor
Tue, Jul 20, 2010, 3:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

A quality 44 mins of ENTERPRISE. I feel that Mister Daniels has lost all credability but what else choice does Archer once he caught? Even the Xindi see this. Which is a problem with this show, but it was enjoyable nontheless. :)
Set Bookmark
Jacob Teetermon Taylor #7
Sat, Jul 17, 2010, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Wow 2 episodes of STAR TREK: ENTERPRISE in a row that I thought we actually enjoyable and good, if you ignore the major flaws in the arc. (Why the Xindi must kill Earth and how they got thier info etc...) No comments because I think everything was covered perfectly but it was a swell episode indeed. Jake Taylor out.
Set Bookmark
Jacob T Taylor 7
Sun, Jul 4, 2010, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

So Archer couldnt see he was walking into a trap. Man this guys dim as a flashlight thats been left on for 2 days with cheap RITEAID batteries. Come on hes been in these situations before! The MACOS add a nice element. The Trip/T'pol scence I thought was really gonna be a sex scene w Pholx giving Trip some kinda stimulant (or so i thought) but it endend up being just a bunch of balognia sausage and some hand on boobs. Why cant ppl just have sex in star trek? I thought that was the doctor and sciece officer tPOL were planning for Mr. Charles Tucker anyway. Prolly would helped his drepression and let him sleep better than that stupid press my back crumb buminess. ARcher takes the starship Enterprise to the destroyed planet Xindi and pick to go thataway into the expanse and continue looking for??? who knos. Man it seems like these writers really do just wing it.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.