Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 608 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

@Dave

I’m not saying they have to be flawless. And of course there would be problems. But we’ve just seen nothing *but* problems, and they’ve all been sex- and gender-related ones, so far. It’s being presented as an effed-up culture, and all those problems stem from being all-male. Again, some think gay culture is a effed-up culture.


Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 3:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

The worst part was Tilly and spore-Mae’s sudden BFF “don’t leave me” scene at the end.

At this point, I don’t really care about anything that happens to these characters because it could all change in (quite literally) six seconds.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I get what they’re trying to do (metaphors for homophobia and transphobia etc.) — but it bothers me that the same-sex culture is shown as unnatural, wrong and generally screwed-up (things that gay people have traditionally been accused of). And so far, it’s the same-sex characters (and no other regular characters) who’ve been shown as sex addicts, attempted murderers, bigots, mutilators of babies, generally miserable in marriage, and practitioners of bizzare, barbaric cultural rituals. So, what might a viewer imply that this is saying about gay people?

And the same thing bothered me about that TNG episode about the androgynous world that was supposed to be a metaphor for homophobia but (partially because of the casting) actually made it look like Riker’s love was a straight woman and a victim of unnatural lesbian orthodoxy that wouldn’t let her love a man.

It’s 2019. You can talk directly about bigotry, sexuality and gender — you don’t need clunky metaphors.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

"Jessica Rabbit—who is inexplicably not participating in stupid Bajoran ritual #54"

She has to pay the bills somehow...although asshole djarra guy is only a week away,...
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 2:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Agree with this notion of there still needing to be some equilibrium between serialised and episodic content in something like Star Trek, the premise of which is ideal for allowing those strange and unusual ideas that can't get screen time elsewhere to flourish. The limitless creative range of Trek to engage any genre from any angle is what makes it really special.

I should really preface by saying that I only starting watching any variation of Trek about 5 months ago (in my early 20's), and I've since watched half the films, the more famous TOS episodes and the entirety of TNG (skipping a few in line with Jammer's excellent recommendations). I'm now continuing my obsession by watching the sixth season of Deep Space 9 and I'm noting now how effortlessly it changes tone from say the intensive progression of the overarching narrative in Sacrifice of Angels - to the psychological aftermath those events wrought on the main villain and an examination of how great evils are equivocated by tyrants in Waltz - to a cerebral commentary reflecting not only upon racism but upon the core objectives of the show; its optimistic affirmation of humanity's potential - to a fun, slightly zany sci-fi piece about a Runabout shrinking to the size of a toy and saving the day, letting us relax and enjoy another side to characters we've come to care about. To me this is a perfect balance of boldly celebrating creativity without abandoning the most consequential narrative.

I think Discovery tries to be more than a 10 hour netflix space drama by producing a huge number of b-plots that it consistently fails to resolve satisfactorily, but it doesn't seem to have the courage to really take a step back and try something novel or strange. The result is mostly just a slightly bland mess of half-baked concepts that I find hard to justify giving time to, especially considering that the pervasive main plot isn't especially compelling to begin with, despite some good moments here and there.

New Eden seemed like they might be striking a balance again in multiple respects but then...this happened. Perhaps they should try to get more people from TNG and DS9 to direct and pace episodes, given that Frakes did an admirable job with the previous one.

Anyway, in case I don't comment again I just want to say a sincere thankyou to Jammer and other commenters for all these reviews. They've really enriched the experience of watching the show. All the best.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 5:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Heh...I wondered why having an uncle was a lie and then I remembered Elogium....Ocampa females only ever have one pregnancy.

Uncles have siblings, by definition. I suppose Ocampa may have twins on occasion.
Set Bookmark
Jack2211
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

This show needs to be funny/edgy again. When Ed's not around -- and, increasingly, even when he is -- the dialogue is bland and over-earnest.

And, yes, religion, taken literally, makes no sense -- apart from a way for people to impose order on the world and on each other.

Pointing that out is easy. But how about some nuance -- what if Rubenstein hadn't believed, but his political life depended on his acting like he believed? Or if Jelliac slave labour was necessary for their economy? People in power benefit from religion, misinformation and even prejudice. Sure, some are fervent believers, but I suspect many aren't.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Jan 28, 2019, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

This week, both Discovery and Orville had episodes that felt like bad episodes of Voyager. I don’t know if Frakes and MacNeill were part of the problem.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

So it took me a while to figure out why I hated this episode.

Part of it, what is that the planet-side stuff felt like an episode of a 90s syndicated Canadian-made scifi show (both in production values, acting and silliness).

And I don’t get what the point of it all was. What is the story telling us? What’s the message? No, not everything needs a message. But without a message there’s no point to any of this because there was no human steaks, no emotion, no nothing.

So a bunch of people gather in a church (apparently with all the texts from the world’s various religions) seeking shelter from nuclear bombs and the church was whisked across the galaxy, saving them. They have no technology and they manage to get along with each other (and somehow learn to make stained glass) and do just fine for the next 200 years. It’s presented as a utopia, in a sense.

But we learn nothing about them. Why did they thrive (because they thought they were the sole survivors; because they were saved; because they think they’re following God’s will?)

It’s all a mess that doesn’t really say anything and gets us more rah-rah-ing for humanity’s progress.

Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

“your dad just wants to bone me to prove how awesome he is to himself,” to a teenaged girl."

Considering what the Cardassian neck looks like, the male Cardassian "bone" might have bones of its own...
Set Bookmark
Jack
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Janeway's rapid change of heart could be because a chance encounter with the Orb Of Time told her what was coming and she finds Kim is a bit young for her to mate with.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 1:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

It was a little hard to buy the establishing premise of the drama in this episode.

B'Ehlanna is fully half-Klingon and her forehead ridges are some 90% reduced compared to the average Klingon.

It's hard to buy that her one-quarter Klingon child would have basically the same forehead ridges that she has, as was presented here. DOc says taht the ridges are dominant through several generations, but even a cursory look at B'Ehlanna shows that isn't the case.

Also, post-natal surgery on the child's forehead would seem far more practical and moral then randomly altering DNA, if B'Ehlanna was really that worked up about it but it isn't even brought up.

It made the entire conflict seem more than a bit too contrived.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 15, 2018, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

"Yeah. I think this whole women-chewing-their-men's-food bit is supposed to be heartwarming, but it isn't."

It also is the reason I can't bring myself to recommend non-Star Trek fans to watch "The Visitor", an otherwise excellent episode but for that scene in the middle where Nog mentions this disgusting act and it still lifts even me right out of the narrative, and I've watched the episode probably 40 times.

Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 15, 2018, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

"but the implication that this is the only reason Odo didn't stay with his people undermines what happened in “The Search”--Odo didn't want to be part of the Dominion because it's fucking evil and he recognised that."

I hated the ret-conning they did with this too.

We (spoiler?) learned later - or at least the writers try to gaslight us later - that everything the Founders have done was motivated by "getting Odo back home", but we get that smokeblow only AFTER the Founders made him a solid, and since they weren't the reason that Odo eventually got his goo-ve back, it's rather absurd to try and make us believe that the Founders were playing three dimensional chess like that. There is a ridiculous nonsnese throwaway line from the Founder that "we've forgiven you", but are we supposed to assume that the Founders orchestrated the events of "The Begotten"? to restore Odo?
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Sep 1, 2018, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Man, if you don't give this four stars, you don't give nothin' four stars.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

Skeptical said re:the Malon:

"What a narrow view of their society; why did we never see anyone else? Talk about a wasted opportunity."

Well...note dialogue from Redemption, written by Ron Moore, where he writes this dialogue:

"You're a fellow officer and I respect that... but no one would suggest that a Klingon would make a good ship's counselor or that a Berellian could be an engineer. They're just not suited for those positions."

Ron Moore is the godfather of the "planet of hats" on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

"3. The way Tuvok and Janeway interacted with each other, I thought he would have been the first officer."

I doubt the guy that had been spying on the Maquis for months would have gone over well...
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 12:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

It's hard to imagine how the Star Trek universe as presente dwould be on the conservative agenda.

Conservatives tend to hate the United Nations or surrendering any American sovereignty, so why would their agenda ever lead to the formation of the Federation?

Wealth and capitalism has been abolished in the afforementioned Federation. Hard to see conservatives agitating for that either.

The Iraq War and the Mexican War would both be gross Prime Directive violations.

And of course, the universal health care.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 11:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Startrekwatcher said:

"TNG WAS REALLY good at coming up with these bad nightmare situations for crew but ultimately with a good explanation that made the situation they had endured or thought was reality wasn't real in some way"

This pretty much nails it. You cited a few good examples. The episode with "Ardra" is another.

In TNG, various things happened that seemed like they might be magical or mystical, but by episode's end, it was shown to just be technological.

Then DS9 came along, and actually introduced what is essentially magic into the Trekverse, and although I liked DS9, it was mostly for the worse.

The closest TNG actually came to having "magic" was the horrible Sub Rosa, which came along after DS9 was up and running.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 10:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Worf's "reverse course" suggestion was the best one.

Its dismissal as "what if that's what causes this whole thing?" was as absurd as any of the "logic" we'd see later from Bashir on DS9 episodes as reason why ideas couldn't be tried, like the one when Molly was lost.
Set Bookmark
Amy Jackson
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

^.^

I loved the ending to this episode, as the good guys don't win, which is a dose of realism that is generally missing in most US-based television or movie media. This is also why I loved The Empire Strikes Back, because the bad guys got a chance to be
victorious.

I spent most of my younger life watching stuff where at the end of the program, the good guys have won, and the problem has been resolved to satisfaction. Very quickly, I discovered that this was not how reality works, and so I REALLY started disliking children's cartoons, like GI Joe and so on.

This extends into more adult media, so I appreciate episodes of The Orville like this one, because in a series perhaps like Star Trek, the good guys might have won, whereas in The Orville, they really caused me to sit back and go "Huh, they didn't win." And that is okay folks.

Amy
Set Bookmark
random jackass
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Aargh! Can’t stop thinking about sex!! Stop inserting these sexual references. I am too insecure to deal with it! Waaah! And they made me feel dumb, sob!

Oh, and I will help you feel even dumber:
That b-story was about Trip and by extension being narrow minded in their own way moron!
Set Bookmark
Jack2211
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Yeah, I don't really understand what happened there. The war's over because L'Rell is holding them all hostage, essentially? Does the bomb go off if they assassinate her? And the Federation is still susceptible to a fatal Klingon attack at pretty much any time?

Cool to see the Enterprise, I guess -- but none of the "Starfleet values, Hooray!" stuff felt earned.


Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

PS: I realize it’s just called Fox.

And, re: the PB&J thing, it seemed to fit the characters and the situation (he knows hos ex-wife likes PB&J), well, at least on paper.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

RE: Fox viewers. I’d be surprised if Fox News viewers watch much Fox TV, — although, I really don’t know much about Fox TV’s demographics.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.