Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 39 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

"Especially the lies"

I used to love that line, but now I think it might be a bit of a cop-out in that it doesn't really say anything. It's just double-speak. Maybe that's the point?
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

One of Trek's finest moments. Though I think it would have been better to have Marritza live and then recur in the series and check in on his struggle to cope. Don't let good characters (and good actors) get away so easily. That said, I get why they did what they did in killing him to drive home the point about hatred dying hard. Episodes like this are why Trek endures.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH8xbDGv7oY

I'm still making my way through season one, but it's all been spoiled for me so I'm not afraid of reading these reviews. The show seems like it has a lot of potential, but never quite gets all the way there. That's been a problem with most of the Trek series though. Maddeningly inconsistent. I wonder if shorter seasons ala Game of Thrones would make the show tighter and stronger?
Set Bookmark
jrpl
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This episode worked much better for me than the pilot did. Lots of intrigue. Though I'm not buying that they'd let the prisoners eat with the crew without restraints, much less pair them up with the crew as roommates or give them jobs on the ship. But that's a minor nitpick. The look of this episode was great from a production standpoint.

Lorca is the most interesting Trek captain in quite some time.
Set Bookmark
jrpl
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Anyone calling Rey a Mary Sue is forgetting that Luke Skywalker was the Mary Sue'ist of Mary Sue characters. As was Anakin.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sun, May 13, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

As with much of Voyager, not everything here works, but I had a lot of fun rewatching this last night. Also, there's a great bit of business with Tuvok and Janeway during the pulsar sequence:

"I hope you were exaggerating!" - Janeway
"I was NOT!" - Tuvok

Well delivered. Fun ep.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Ed: That's good :)

Best sci fi score in recent memory for me was the sparse soundtrack to Duncan Jones' Moon. Real moody and put you in that space (no pun intended) with Sam Rockwell's character(s).
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

One thing that I appreciate watching old eps of TNG is how it's not covered in wall to wall music. You get to hear a lot of ambient sounds and the constant hum of the ship. I love a good orchestral score, but the times when the score would drop out made the Enterprise feel more real to me. Gave the show a neat atmosphere that I appreciate more with age.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Given how first seasons are generally shakedowns, it's best to leave them out of discussions about lack of 4 star episodes. Usually any that do appear are flukes or one offs like Duet or Dear Doctor that rise above the rest of their first season cousins due to having something singular about them that rises them above the rest.

I'd suggest a better conversation would be to look at seasons that have more than one 4 star episode and investigate what makes those seasons tick.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1.

What grand and esoteric piece of wisdom can be gleaned from this?"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That Jammer is part of the big anti Voyager season 1 lobby? Or is it the Enterprise season 4 lobby? Actually, it's because when those seasons were airing, Venus was aligned with the Moon.

Anyways, to actually answer that question, I've always found ENT S4 to be highly overrated by the fanbase. The notion that Manny Coto came and saved the show ignores just how boring and predictable the episodes that season really were. TO me it was the least interesting season of the show.

VOY S1 was a shakedown cruise. Some good stuff, but they were still figuring it out. I do really love the Beowulf episode though.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

If I have one small nitpick about nuTrek it's how the ships fire dozens of shots at a time. It makes them feel like fighter jets. I realize the Defiant started us down this road, but it was the one thing during the 09 Trek movie where I was like, "hmmm". I realize it's done to keep up with modern sensibilities, but it was kind of awful looking. On the other end of the spectrum, I really liked the physicality of the new hand phasers.

But that's all window dressing at the end of the day. As for the rest, as long as it's consistent with its own internal logic, I'm willing to follow down whatever path it leads. As long as magic blood isn't involved ;)

I'm not keen on the redisgn of the klingon look. Though I'm fine with them tweaking the personality of them. Klingons in Berman Trek became more and more cartoonish and buffonish outside of Worf and B'Elanna as the seasons and shows and movies wore on. I'm happy to see anything that makes them feel like a real threat again. As I stated earlier, I haven't seen any eps of Discovery yet, so I've no idea if the new show accomplishes this. Yet...
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Paulus Marius: I didn't know that. Thanks for the heads up. I just assumed that service would require a traditional cable subscription in addition to signing up for Crave. It appears that isn't the case. I'll check it out.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Mertov: It could be a long wait. I'm holding out hope it'll show up on itunes or netflix here at some point. I'd even consider picking up the blu ray if they go that route.

I am currently doing a rewatch of Voyager and oh boy do parts of that show not hold up at all. Though I still love the look of it. It's still my favorite looking ship interior.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I haven't seen a single episode of Discovery yet. In Canada it's showing on the Space network and not available on Netflix or any other streaming platform, and CBS's platform is not available here. I haven't had cable since 2003, and never will again. So with no way to watch the show, I've been happy to spoil it by reading reviews and fan chatter.

I want to be open -minded. I loved the first JJ film. The other two not so much. Discovery seems interesting, but from what I can tell from what you guys have said, it sounds just as inconsistent as Voyager and Enterprise were.

On a side note, the whole idea of a spore drive really turns me off. It just sounds really, really silly. I also saw a clip of the show on youtube in which the Enterprise goes to warp and seems to be moving downwards instead of straight ahead as though it were being propelled by thrusters on the top of the ship. Makes me feel like the JJ movies did in that there's a blatant disregard for basic physics. I realize warp drive is simply a made up concept, but at least keep the same internal consistency.

At least Discovery doesn't have Khan's magic blood. So it at least has that going for it...

Speaking of, what the hell were the writers of Into Darkness thinking? If you introduce a magical way to bring your characters back to life you destroy all sense of drama and tension going forward. It's rule one of writing drama.

That said, they brought back Spock in TSFS so...
Set Bookmark
James Bond Jr.
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

I'm watching DS9 for the first time.

Dukat was one of the three characters along with Quark and Garak who kept the fire burning until season 4, where things for obvious reasons gets heaten up and burns on its own.

And perhaps it's because of my fondness for this character that I feel a bit disappointed now midway through this season. It just pains me to see this development where he all of a sudden is a freighter captain, with a terribly uninteresting bastard daughter on his side, acting (albeit still excellently delivered by Alaimo) nothing less than non-sensical with this not very thought through rebel call.

Usually I don't have much trouble looking past logical fallacies as long as it add some spice to the narrative, but in this case, because it concerns one of the main reasons to watch this Trek, I have to bow out to a notion of leeriness.

2/4
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peter G., yes, you are right. That is a pretty glaring continuity gap. That said, I can't get too upset about it because Star Wars is a franchise that has always played loose with continuity. Remember, Obi-Wan said Luke's father died, yet we later learn what he said was from a "certain point of view." Heck, Obi-Wan ages 40 years in between ROTS and ANH. Star Wars fans have always had to retcon inconsistencies. I wish we didn't have to, but for me at least the ending of Rogue One doesn't ruin the movie.
Set Bookmark
Mtmjr
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Jammer, I have enjoyed your reviews for years, and tend to re-read them if I happen to watch the episode at issue. I have not commented before, but weirdly, I feel the need to for this one even though, I agree, it is not exactly TNG's shining moment.

However, it does contain one of my favorite ever TNG lines/moments. Lwaxana is telling Deanna about her ill-thought-out plans to marry an internet date she has never met. Deanna is basically rolling her eyes. Then, Lwaxana mentions a wedding gown, and Deanna perks up and says, completely scandalized, "You're not going to be naked at your own wedding ??!!" Deanna's horror at that notion delights me, because it really embraces the world-building they've done to this point.

I mean, one of the first things we learn about Betazoids is that their wedding ceremony requires everyone to be naked -- it's apparently a very central cultural tenet. And of course, as some of the comments here make clear, it's something so counter to our own culture that some people have difficulty accepting it even in the concept of a fantasy show about a made-up culture.

As a continuation, I also kinda love the final scene, where Lwaxana cheerily appears at her wedding naked, as a true Betazoid bride, and Deanna looks pleased to bits. Notably, everyone else except the hapless groom and his henchman kind of rolls their eyes, like "Betazoids are so goofy."

I agree, though, that the rest of the episode is feeble. But I'd give it an extra half-star just for Deanna's line.
Set Bookmark
JR
Sat, Dec 24, 2016, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

I agree with much of the above. TPTB just plain screwed up with Ensign Wildman. It would have been much simpler and more believable to write it as a dalliance with one of her crewmates that was recently killed offscreen, rather than the 6 mo w/o knowing BS. The Ocampa single pregnancy period is simply shameful to have gotten past so many sets of eyes and ears -story by, produced by, written by, teleplay by, acted by - every single one of them should have caught that very serious illogic, and should share the embarrassment.

One point I do disagree with is the idea of Kes being some kind of immature preteen just because she is less than 2 earth years of age. I think a lot of people seem to forget that the Ocampa are telepathic. They don't need to learn to read or speak to acquire information, particularly when around other Ocampa. I always imagined all the Ocampa pretty much learned everything they needed to learn very quickly from their parents and the other Ocampa just by being with them and sharing their thoughts. Maybe call it "mental osmosis".

I liked Kes and really wish the producers had given the boot to Kim, Neelix, or Chakotay instead. There was definitely room for both Kes and Seven.
Set Bookmark
jrich
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

I think both portions of the show give an interesting outllokon life and we go through it.

1) Some people have faith, religious or in humanity in general, or in individuals while some do not.

2) Some people are trecherous to benefit themselves, others, their society, or their group.

3) The great river is a link to all people. People navigate it using faith or treachery and often times their viewpoint and actions change as their course in the river changes. In my estimation the river is not just goods/resources but this interaction of people.

Each person/group being one little part in the river. The river of life.
Set Bookmark
JR
Sun, Oct 9, 2016, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

I reference to NCC-1701-Z's comments about not using phasers on the most powerful setting the answer is easy. They were stuck on that rock and using the most powerful settings takes more energy. If you have a limited number of bulles, and don't know when more will be arriving, do you use full auto? The didn't mention it but they did have a scene where the ketrisil white guy was handing out extra charge packs for the phasers.
Set Bookmark
Spock Jr
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

what a poorly written episode. so many layers, it apparently got too complex for them to resolve logically so they instead tried to conceal the mess with action scenes. in the end, a disgraceful final product.

my primary issues:

- how did Tuvok foresee the future events that eventually led to their overcoming Kes' traitorous action?

- why is this the first we hear about a biological weapon against the videans?

- what happens to the crew that continues in the timeline when Torres is murdered?

- why didn't Kes just kill Janeway?

- why didn't Kes just go back in time to before leaving Ocampa?

- why didn't Kes blame Neelix for taking her from her home?

this episode could have been a great way to use the very real drama concerning loss of brain function relating to aging. but short of the grey hair and wrinkles, there's really no direct mention of it. this leaves the opening sequence as nothing more than a fit of rage from a menopausal Kes. so lame.

they should have left out the videans, and focused on rebuilding the bond between Kes and Janeway as well as Neelix. There's plenty of real drama available from the tragedy of dementia. And they could have found a way to restore our faith in the character, as well as the integrity of the primary timeline. And explained that extra weight on Kes that only Neelix noticed as she beamed out to who knows where.

lots of potential, can't believe they let this get on the air. i definitely would have done better myself.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@John W, I agree. It's incredibly hypocritical that Pegg complains about sf/fantasy/superhero movies as being superficial, yet when he's given the reigns to help write the next Star Trek film he seems headed in the same direction. Shame he didn't take his own advice and try to present viewers with better material.

RIP Star Trek: 1966-2009
Set Bookmark
JR
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

Funny thing about turtles, they're so... 'turtle-y'. Strange that.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

What a shame, but I think you're right.

I checked STID on Amazon recently. There are almost 8,000 reviews and a very positive (4.5 stars) score. That makes it almost as popular as Avengers. What's going on? Does the general public really like this movie so much? Am I so far out of the mainstream?
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, May 27, 2014, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Cumberbatch was OK. I thought the problem was less him or his acting and more that he wasn't playing Khan. The way he played the character would have been perfect for the villain in Skyfall - angry secret agent who wants to get revenge on his former employer - with an added dose of concern for his "family." Khan in TWOK though was an overly dramatic, larger than life character. I don't think anybody could have achieved Montalban's presence on screen, but Cumberbatch wasn't the right pick imho.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.