Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 208 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
sjdrake
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I agree this was great fun to watch with a high entertainment value.

There are however a number of discordant points.

The introduction of Sonia Gomez was amusing but played no subsequent part in the story. I really don't think her presence was allegorical; it's not the Trek way, their social messages are pretty 'in-yourface' rather than allusive allegories more appropriate to a Tudor period portrait. It might have carried more punch if she'd been one of the 18 lost in the incident, but actually I saw she was engaged for three stories and dropped after two.

Guinan's prior relationship with Q was hinted at but sadly, never picked up which makes you wonder why the scene was there at all. Her odd defensive stance makes it seem more like a Harry potter type battle. Even more strange, Guinan knew all about the Borg but despite her close relationship with Picard, never saw fit to mention them or give the Federation a heads-up on them!

If Q hadn't taken the trouble, The Fed would have had no warning of them at all. Two years journey sounds a lot, but to a collective bent upon adding new species to their flock, it's nothing. If we could send a ship to the next star on a four years round journey, there would have been no shortage of volunteers and it would have been long accomplished.

Q always seems to me overall a beneficial entity, but the attitude of the Enterprise (and later Voyager) is quite unbelievable. Despite his incredible powers, he is always treated with undisguised contempt. Is that wise? Quite apart from the benefits he could confer (and which are almost always pointlessly spurned by the needy beneficiaries), he is one of the few beings (like the Dawd) with the power to annihilate at will. Remember what Kevin did to the Husnock? Presumably Q could do the same, so why not take the trouble to show a little respect? (It's pretty worrying to discover that teenage Q are no better than human teenagers....bye bye, world?)

The trouble with beings with virtually infinite power is what to do with them. In trek, they never seem to have wisdom appropriate, despite the fact they presumably have a several billion years head start on us. There seem to be few other Organians...
Set Bookmark
rjdurb
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

On my 3rd trip through Voyager, I like to check these reviews every so often to see people’s thoughts on different episodes. This one clearly has brought a wide range of responses. I honestly couldn’t stand this episode, but struggled on through. Once it is revealed that they were copies, everything lost any significance. It also ruined part of what was so unique about the ending of “Demon” - that a whole new culture would develop.
1/2 star from me.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

One small thing that always annoyed me. I know it's hard to give a communications officer something to do in an action movie, but that scene with Uhura and Klingons was such a rare, tailor-made opportunity for her to use her unique skill to save the day and have natural impact on the plot. Instead, she fails and we get another action scene, 3 minutes after the last one. I've heard they had to cut it for time, but why not at least have her succeed and then have Khan show up anyway 2 minutes later (also, since the situation with Klingons is never resolved, why aren't they and Federation at war again). As it is, all she does is shoot Khan in the back at the climax, which could be done by literally anyone, even freaking Keenser. Maybe you could argue Spock wouldn't listen to anybody else, but that just leaves you with her whole role just being Spock's girlfriend. Which is worsened by the fact I genuinely don't get why are they even together. Okay, I kind of get Spock's side of it, but what does she get from the relationship exactly? Except the one scene in 2009 where she provides emotional support and here when she stops him from beating Khan to death, all they ever do is argue.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Regarding the purpose behind building a city on a cloud, aside from the obvious class divide and privilege metaphor, maybe in-universe reasoning is precisely because it would be artsy. They are supposed to be high on culture and art so perhaps "Hey, you know what would look cool" was all the reasoning needed. Plus, as little interactions with their supposed lessers as possible.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Fri, Aug 30, 2019, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@ Bobbington Mc Bob
„.. and, no one's gonna mention the new uniforms?“

I sure will (because I'm 12)! I've always liked having DS9 guys wear the same uniform TNG crew does in their high-budget blockbuster movies. I think it helps to give a sense of weight and stakes to what is happening, which would be important with the Dominon war. They aren't just little guys doing their thing, they are on the same level as the A-team.

I think people here are wrong to interpret the episode as unambiguously pro-religious or supportive or Sisko’s behavior. Prophets themselves never confirm if they talked with Sisko here. For all we know, even in context of the rest of the show, Sisko really just had a breakdown that made him see things that weren’t there, neglect his family and risk his own life and it just happened to work out in the long run. There is a reason this is all from the point of view of people around him and they have varied reactions to him.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome That is a good point. I suppose the writers felt the somewhat inherent goofiness of the concept warranted less serious approach, but it is a step down and in retrospect perhaps responsible for the diminishing quality of Mirror universe stories. Still, it arguably led to the In the Mirror, Darkly, which I enjoy greatly precisely for the goofy evil universe hijinks, so I don't think it's total loss.

I disagree with Elliot on many things, but I do have respect for him and generally see where he's coming from. Years ago when I first discovered this site, I remember thinking he was just dismissive and biased, but I see now he has put a lot of thought into Star Trek and how it works (probably much more than I have) because of how much he loves it and cares.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Peter G. I would say they've changed Paris quite bit form his original conception. At first, they were clearly writing as a bad boy maverick ladies man, until giving up on that and writing him as a cool nerd type. And I think part of the reason was precisely to play into McNeill's strenghts-watching early Voyager, you can see how he is not playing Paris with the sleaze he is intented to have.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome
The way he talks about he genuinely seems morally offended though, as if this was obviously morally repugnant, not just that Sisko is a hypocrite for not following Starfleet priciples but straight up bad person period and I just do not see it. Admittedly, I haven't seen the ep in years, but from what I recall, besides the thing with Dax, all Sisko did was shoot bunch of mooks working for a fascist empire.

The way he just decides to help them because Jennifer does bother me, but regarding the argument he doesn't care at all about the moral justifications of him doing this, consider: Would the writers treat saving Jennifer as reason enough if this was a complicated political situation that wasn't caused by Starfleet officers in the first place like in High Ground? Or even if it was the The Alliance asking him to kill the terran rebels for them to save Jennifer? I get complaint that after previous Mirror Universe focused on the horror of it this treats it as a big dumb action adventure, but the moral offense of this level seems unreasonable to me.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

@Yanks I don't like how people compare every fictional supervillain to Trump, but there is something about a racist business man with daddy issues with working class supporters that seems familiar.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

@Jason R. I agree this ep is pretty awful, but I would recommend sticking with it at least a while longer. There are still few stinkers, including the next one (which you can straight up skip), but after one more the plot finally picks up andmany consider upcoming three-parter near the end of the season Enterprise's high point.

@Peter G. Demons/Terra Prime two-parter might be my personal favorite Enterprise episode. Not the best mind you, I recognise there are genuine problems, but the good is to me is so good and in a way extremely fitting as a Enterprise finale. Big reason could be that it might be the only bit of Enterprise that I think actually makes Star Trek canon better for existing as part of in-universe history. And admittedly that it's in a way subtextually apologizing for its first two seasons helps.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I like Tuvok, but the twist at the end is just way too artificial to me and really hurts the episode. I get that it's a metaphor but aging backwards is still just too nonsensical for a literal narrative and sci-fi setting like Star Trek (and please don't smugly tell me how it's hypocritical to be okay with transporters or warp travel but not this, it's not), especially for a twist. There is absolutely no reason for the alien lady to not just tell them what is going on.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

@Peter G. I've recently disagreed with you strongly elsewhere, so I feel like I should say that your comment on Star Trek and diversity of values is spot on and well put together.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

“Sisko, feckless blob of pseudo-Starfleet garbage that he is, insists that he can't let her die “again,” and so agrees to help Smiley. I won't go on another enormous Sisko rant here. I don't need to. But THIS is the moment; from THIS point forward, Sisko has absolutely no moral authority to fall back on, not when he berates Eddington, not when he chastises Dukat, not when he makes his deleted confession—at this point, Benjamin Sisko has proven himself to be a man who will do whatever he wants whenever he the fuck he feels like it, regulations, ethics, and basic human decency be damned. It's over. He's not a hero; he's a Starfleet officer in title only. I'm done.”

I think is a very extreme take, given that you don't at all explain how Sisko's deciding to help them are at all unethical or against "basic human decency". Yes, it arguably violates Prime Directive, but so? Violating Prime Directive obviously isn't inherently wrong and even in universe it isn't aways treated as such, Picard for instance has repeatedly chose to ignore it. What later happens with Dax does bother me, but that's because the episode doesn't actually realize what it is, so I basicalyl look at it the way I do as that moment in First Contact where Riker has to screw that lady to escape.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Fourth Season Recap

@Startrekwatcher Not that you have to like them, but I don't really see how Worf's sub-plots are pointless-they are about him adjusting to the life on the station. And Kassidy moving in is about development of her relationship with Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

@Tyson I like the episode, but do you really think this is in any way helpful? I get the feeling people here are just cynical nitpickers who refuse to give a show a fair shot, but this demand for blind loyalty and potraying any critical thinking as party pooping is absurd.

I don't know how many people here played their part in getting a show cancelled and an awful movie bomb almost 20 years ago, but why is it their fault not writer's fault for not making better products? And even it was all fine, you know what? They are not obligated to like it. I think a lot of people didn't give Star Trek Beyond a fair shot, but that doesn't mean they should like just because it's a movie that exists.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

@Springy But doesn't Harry say to Tom he still considered asking her out and stopped once they got on Voyager? Because that makes no sense to me. He considered getting with her but then changed his mind after he was seperated from his fiance and unlikely to see her again? And even ignoring Libby, why would being on Voyager make him not pursue her, when he repeatedly does with other women?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I think we are just repeating "I don't like it" "But I do like it" at each other. I don't really get why it being ensemble should mean it shouldn't focus on any part of the ensemble though. I'm not saying it has to, just not sure why would that mean what you said. And sure, maybe. Or it would make the story more engaging.

Look, I understand you just want a friendly discussion but I don't really dislike the episode enough or have specific problems to argue with you or to let you change my mind. I have no problem with you or anybody liking it more than I do. Sorry, I know I might look like an idiot, but there just isn't much for me to say. Try me over on Enterprise reviews, I'm much more invested in my belief Night in Sickbay is a crime against humanity :-)

Where would I be going with it? I said what I meant. Trek repeatedly has an episode with a character accepting their nature in some way, about how even if they don't like their people's culture, it's part of who you are and they are your people and I feel that gets uncomfortable after certain point, even if few other stories go against it.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

@Beeba How would race not being mentioned somehow mean it's not racist? What? Anyway, women own land, but Lutan is still the one in charge and considers women "pleasant but unimportant" and wanted to make Yar his first wife just as she made him her second husband. Rhe ep's potrayal of women, where they would fall for their kidnappers and fight for them is an issue, but I would say firmly secondary to the potrayal of all black planet Tribal Africa style.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

@Rahul You are completely and objectively wrong - it's not hard at all to believe Berman and Braga wrote this. These are the guys who came up with Night in Sickbay and decon gel scenes in the first place. Seriously though, I suppose you could at least argue until this point they were just generally horny, as opposed to sexist-which to be clear, is about their writing, not them as people (though Berman from what I understand does indeed suck as a person).
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

@Rob I would agree it's creepy, but comparing to actual sexual assault isn't fair. Chakotay isn't being violated, it's not real. This is more like if somebody had fantasies about you and drew pictures of you that they jacked off to. Again, creepy, but not really comparable.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Peter G: I disagree Picard would never have done that. Maybe I don't remember all the details, but that doesn't seem to me much different than him going to destroy the Romulan base in The Defector
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I don't know if that's the case, at least not all of it. I find Amanda Rogers inoffensive. But still, in case of Hollow Pursuits, the crew dealing with Barclay has more weight on the story and their interaction with him influence his behavior, same in Defector. Also, there is a bit of perspective flip as to how they look to regular officer. Here, in the end, they seem completely inefffectual to anything. It's closer to Q-Less in that matter IMO. Again, these are not HUGE issues, I don't think it's a bad episode. It just feels like there is one thing that needed to be there.

This isn't part of my problem with the ep, but I actually feel the whole "can't escape your nature" gets progressively more uncomfortable the more times Trek gives that lesson.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Lew Stone I am wondering, why do you think this is "not Star Trek"? Speaking as somebody who acknowledged Elliot got picked on for not liking a show other people did, even I didn't get that objection about this episode. If anything, I think the episode's biggest problem stems from its obligation to be more Star Trek-it can't just be a character piece with Sisko and Jake, it has to have them do some epic pioneer exploring shit. It doesn't bother me too much, since it's still jsut means to an end and the character stuff does work for me. As for Bashir being confident ladies man, he is certainly the latter, but watching early Bashir, the dude is a giant dork. Again, despite contrivances, to me it worked, especially Bashir/O'Brien friendship.

You're the first person I've seen complain about Brooks underacting-personally, I do think he overacts, but I think he's actually really good and quiet, subdued moments. I also like him when he's just being a cool dad pal, like here.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Jason R. I'm a man too. TBH, I not that bothered by the episode-I would if it was done now, but I can accept a 90's TV writers not knowing better. I was more bothered specifically by Peter G's arguments. But she does have power in his situation. She is offering a life-saving aid in exchange for sex and Riker at the moment has no access to any of his support. And he still almost dies.

Your last point is a non sequitur. So because there is a double standard as to how something is treated, that means is it's okay for that double standard to be there? And nobody here HAS TO say it-it's only said to point out there would be no discussion in that situation and that the thing plays into a sexist stereotype. You can still object to it in isolation-a character being coerced into sex with it being treated as wacky hijinks-as many people do.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

@Sillyk Has he? Given things like Ethics, Picard seems to believe strongly in individual rights. In real life, we don't even take organs from dead people without their permission.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.