Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 161 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
JD
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

Wow. The interpretation that Hedford was sacrificed does not in any way match the show I just watched.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

@Springy It's not really that the Hirogen are there, it's that they are there with the holodeck technology Janeway gave them. That really is pretty unjustifiable (remember, their network got destroyed in their first appearance).
Set Bookmark
JD
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

@mike: definitely

@William B: That was a fantastic review. Bravo.

@Jammer: I mildly request that you rethink this one as being far deeper than a fun, silly romp. It's the meat and potatoes of of the show, not the dessert, to me.

@Saglam: My thinking was that Spock was put in a prolonged state of physiological stress from being unable to find a resolution to his instincts, as Bones had put it, like a human being full of enormous amounts of adrenaline to the point it could kill them or something of that sort, and by the time he was meant to fight to the death, Bones didn't even have any real faith Spock could win a fight with another Vulcan male, he'd been so weakened after this delayed action on his bodily crisis. Yet, even weakened that much, he's still more than dangerous enough to kill Jim (and snap that wutchamawatzit weapon, for that matter). So, I don't think it was a plot hole.

I also have no problem with how Spock's situation was resolved in the sense that there's human fight or flight, and, well, in Vulcans at this time, it's fight or...another f-word. As soon as you hit a certain point of intensity, it makes sense that the body calms down, I guess. It reminds me of anxiety attacks and the idea that your fight or flight mechanism gets a bit stuck because once you get anxious, as though you need to fight or escape, there's neither end and you have no resolution to make the switch flip back off.

Bones: In a pig's eye.

Love it.
Set Bookmark
JD
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

I'm not sure McCoy and Spock have ever been more delightful. They were both like one big mint julep.
Set Bookmark
JD
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

I came on thinking this would be one of the episodes that I really liked but would be lampooned by a bunch of disgruntled reviews. I thought the Jammer review would dislike too. But...pretty nice. Nice to see most of the reviews are pretty positive. Funny thing is I'm not the biggest Kirk-style captaining fan, but as many agree, it really works here, in all its glory. This could be meme'd with the ain't-nobody-got-time-for that meme, on his behalf.
Set Bookmark
JD
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

@JYoder:

"As for McGivers fascination with Khan, sure, it can be seen as misogynistic. (I talked to my teen daughter after watching this episode with her about avoid such guys at all costs!) But there are women AND men, drawn to that type of person. Doesn't make it right, but I didn't find McGivers stereotypical, but fleshed out with a particular weakness. Do I cringe in those scenes? Oh, yeah. But not because of blanket stereotypes, but because I hurt for her, and I want to tell her, "Wise up and run away!""

Oh, thank you. I thought I might be the only one after skimming and commenting.
Set Bookmark
JD
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

There's a lot of talk about portrayal by gender and how terrible it is. But, and this may not be popular: There *are* pathetic, silly, stupid, insecure, kowtowing *men* who are led around by their Johnsons, and, as such, there are *also* pathetic, silly, stupid, insecure, kowtowing women who are led around by their hoohahs. There, I said it.

Yeah, the woman is ridiculous. There are also ridiculous men on the show, as in real life. That's not to say the idea wasn't a byproduct of sexist attitudes or bad female stereotypes or doesn't come off very dated. But still. It shouldn't be that hard to accept as a storyline. I've met some utterly absurd, submissive puppy-dog-eyed humans in my life, who would turn on their parents if a lover manipulated them to, and did. Haven't you met people like this, folks? They're out there! Effing things up all over the world! Many are women! Sorry!
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

@ Prince of Space Oh bug off. I wasn't ordering anybody to do anything and If people here can baselessly accuse Jammer of being biased, I can complain about them.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

@DLPD I can't believe you are always so fucking self-righteous, even after repeatedly being shown you have no idea what the hell you are talking about.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

I really dislike the "it's in their nature" conclusion. For one, the story contradicts that by Smike (even without superpowers, he is said to be basically like them) and Seniel. It basically absorbs Arik of any responsibility for how they turned out, we have seen him telling them about how they are the master race since childhood after all. And I think it in a way undermines Khan as a character, to say he's just been engineered to be what he is. Like, I saw the "superior ability breeds superior ambition" from the original episode as just statement about human nature in general. Also, yet more "your can't escape your nature" from Star Trek. Fuck off.

Also, AGAIN, complex sympathetic villain seeing the light and being replaced by the second bugfuck evil villain by the end. Is anybody else bothered by this? Am I the only one who even noticed this happening over and over again in Trek?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

For me, this episode solidified the main issue with Archer’s arc and the use of Vulcans on Enterprise in general: You can’t do a story about a a person overcoming their bigotry and still have all of their prejudiced assumptions proven correct anyway.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Consider: Purpose of TV teasers is to excite you for the episode and to give you some idea what it's going to be about this week, often with a dramatic cliffhanger. All that happens in this teaser, is that we see Mayweather sit on his favorite place and Archer calling him to meet him. Meaning that just doing a Mayweather story at all was a shocking twist. That's both hilarious and sad.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Okay, a lot of discussion about the episode revolves around to how sympathetic or unsympathetic Archer is. Let's just ignore that for a moment and look at the it on its own: Does it work aside from that?

Well, it's a comedy and not particularly highbrow one. But I don't think comedy really needs to be. Sometimes, even dumb humor can be funny. I do get a giggle at some of the stuff from Kung-Pow. But that's kinda because of just how dumb it is. I just don't think this one reaches that-partly because it doesn't really have much energy to it. I thought the fart gag at the beginning was little funny, and the scene where he tries to one up T'Pol gets a giggle. Otherwise, I thought it was mostly just embarrassing. Honestly, it's when the episode isn't trying to be funny, I had the most laugh, like Archer's Star Trek Captain speech about Kreetasans hurting his dog or him angrily watching water polo.

Writing wise, it's not too great. For one, what was the point the timer? What did that tell us? Archer bringing Porthos with him in the first place is very contrived. The sexual tension bit comes straight out of nowhere, not just series wide, but in the episode itself.

@skindles

1) I dunno about T'Pol, but Trip peeing on something sacred and getting sick from it does sound like on of his plots.

2) I'm not sure I buy Archer would care half as much.

"Never once complained to Kreetasans themselves". Later in the episode, he complains to Phlox about how they don't care about Porthos being sick. How would they know if Archer hadn't actually called them to tell them what assholes they are?

"didn't do anything drastic about it"

The first scene after the intro is him telling Trip they should just risk the ship and not bother anymore. And that's before he knows Porthos is sick.

As for "permission", he sent them his genetic profile. Even if they got from it that it's animal level intelligence, they likely figured out it was trained enough not to pee on random things because otherwise, why would anybody be so stupid as to bring it with them?

Also, asking somebody if they apologized like he told them to do and then literally thirty seconds later getting pissed off at them for apologizing goes beyond just being whiny, that's straight up crazy.

And the thing is, this all might be fine, if it was say, early or middle season 1. But this is Season 2. And this isn't a new situation, we have seen Archer being a stubborn ass unwilling to compromise. It's one thing for him to make mistakes and learn from it but you can't have him do the same mistakes over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

The year is 2001 and after 35 years over numerous movies and TV shows, with their archetype being explored and played with not just in Star Trek but many other works of sci-fi, here is Star Trek's take on Klingons for the modern era: Dumb one-dimensional thugs who want to die in battle and say honor a lot.

Couple of cute character interactions, but otherwise, I found this one just kinda boring.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Sorry, one more thing: I know there is a lot of discussion over whether Vulcans on Enterprise were written well or not. An argument has been made that they acted like assholes a lot in previous shows and fans were just romanticizing them. Speaking as somebody who is fine with asshole Vulcans on DS9 and thinks the original concept for the Insane Admiral from Insurrection to be a Vulcan taking "needs of the many outweights the needs of the few" to its extreme, was a interesting and fresh idea wasted for the sake of mediocrity, I was mostly agreeing-until now.

Yes, some Vulcans have been shown to be xenophobic, arrogant dicks. But they have repeatedly been shown to be pacifists. Now obviously, pacifism is not a racial trait and no matter how big a part of their culture and philosophy it is, individuals will have different ideas over how far they should go. I recall that one of the reasons Sarek resented Spock for joining Starfleet, was that it means he was sometimes forced to kill as a part of his duty, for instance. But here, direct assault is shown to be their standard procedure, while our human heroes are the ones offended they would not negotiate (right after they discussed negotiations won't work but whatever).
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Well, I sure am glad they abandoned that stupid “both sides have a point” crap and just go straightforward Humans=good Vulcans=Bad now. And hey, the guys who beat the shit out of an unarmed prisoners, one which threatened to rape one are treated as a preferable choice.

Also, even if Tucker is right and the Vulcan guy doesn’t give a crap if T’Pol and Archer get killed (I do wonder how come he’s a dick for trying an assault, when it’s later said Tucker’s plan would achieve nothing anyway and only got lucky Shran was there), what exactly is refusing to give them information supposed to achieve, except to make it even more likely Archer and T’Pol will die? It’s not like they wouldn’t go through their assault without it. Trip is just being a spiteful moron.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Look, I'm no fan of Ryan-either as a person, or a character. I think Eddington was a pretentious, self-righteous dickweeb, but Jesus, at least he had emotions beyond "GRRRR". But it would be nice if there was some indication Starfleet is actually doing something about the pirates because as the way it's handled here, it makes it look like Archer's position is basically that freighter workers should just suck it up and do jack shit, while they do jack shit to help them.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Well, here I am, after idiotically delaying it, hoping binge this whole dumb show before Discovery airs.

You know, given how desperately they tried to make this show accessible to wider audience, the pilot isn't all that friendly to newbies. It's not really hard to figure out what's going on, but I can see this being alienating to somebody new. It's only 17 minutes in they explain what is going and who are the pointy eared guys and it feels rather obligatory.

This has a bit of an opposite problem with Emissary. While the introductions to characters there could get unnatural and overwritten, here they instead struggle to make much of an impression. They do define their characters more over the ep-well, except Reed, who here just has a funny accent and likes boobs.

The tension between vulcans and humans is a good idea and probably response to dissatisfaction over how wasted the Maquis/Starfleet plot thread on Voyager was. Still, I found it really melodramatic here. I know, I know, this kind of thing is largely matter of personal opinion, somewhere else I would probably be telling somebody complaining about what an asshole my fave character was with "it's there for him to learn better, it's called character development", but there has to be something between being BFFs and barely restrained racial hatred.

Everybody either complains about show's aesthetics either not being enough like TOS or DARING to even slightly emulate them instead of trying to look more "futuristic" (read: exactly as dated in few years), but I like the way stuff looks. I think they found good balance between staying true to Star Trek style, while still looking modern. Honestly, this actually makes the show look a lot less dated than if they made everything look like a freaking iPod.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

It's a shame they never had the Equinox crew reappear. They even could have used them for another shot at the Starfleet-Maquis story. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Okay, what kind of bullshit is this?
"I'm not taking any sides. Anyway, let's strip this one side of sapience or way to defend themselves."

I can understand not wanting to give them the technology, but if Janeway was truly not taking any sides, she would just leave. Not helping one or the other is not taking sides, not only sorta helping one side over the other-especially when the latter's position is "just let us go and leave us alone".

I do like they didn't do that lame shit where a semi-sympathetic main villain sees the light and gets replaced by flatly evil secondary villain, as Star Trek did before and will do again. Still, the whole "I AM THE GOD OF THE NEW WORLD" just doesn't work for me. I'm not saying they shouldn't have ultimately treat him as a bad person, but this comes off as trying way too hard to not make Janeway look bad for siding with Hirogen.

@skibble These "murderers" were killing actual murderers (as in, people who run around and literally murder people for sport) in self-defense and Janeway should have immediately brainwash them all? Even with what happens later (which they had no way of knowing and as far as we know, wouldn't happen if it wasn't for them), they are at worst just as bad as the Hirogen.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Okay seriously now, can anybody explain to me how does this make sense? "You are already involved, therefore you have to help them!" Why? As far as Harry knew, he was helping doctors delivering vaccines, not means to fight their enemies. They lied to them and as Harry points out, they have no way of knowing they are telling the truth now. Why does the show so often treats interference as all or nothing sort of thing?

Regarding comparisons with Nog... Honestly? To me, Nog is three-dimensionally flawed and entertaining character, to others he's an annoying jackass. But even if you hate him, there is at least something there to even hate. Unlike Harry, who's entire character revolves around being miserable buttmuch.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

While you could dismiss the episode as a simple ratings gimmick, I think it actually has a very valid purpose. At this point, DS9 was cancelled and Voyager was going to be the only airing Trek show till the end of its run. And unlike DS9, Voyager is rather disconnected with the rest of the Trek universe, taking place far away with only Tuvok representing something familiar. This episode not only continues to give the show a sense of progression but it also helps to give it more of a place in the fictional world it is set in. i also think telling the story almost entirely from Barclay's perspective was a necessity, you really need to have it take place on Earth for it to work and to have the final act have all the more impact. The holo Voyager was a good enough compromise for me.

A bit derivative of Barclay's previous stories, but they are all basically variations of the same story-people have doubts about Barclay's abilities, Barclay turns out to be right. A good episode.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

I noticed how Seven is written and acted as bit more sociable and easy going. You really get the sense she has grown over the years.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Okay, I think I am kinder to Voyager than a lot of people. So far, I liked most episodes this season. But to me, this one is a failiure.

Kim Rhodes does a give a good performance, but even ignoring the continuity errors or the questionable backstory, the story is just incredibly forced and predictable. Ballard never being mentioned before wouldn't that much of a problem-although I still don't get why they couldn't just make her the woman from Latent Image (who would have an actual reason to not be mentioned) or set it up with making her a goldshirt in some episode-if it wasn't for the forced Romance of the Week with Harry. As I said, since we know it's not gonna workout at the end, you need to either tell it in an interesting way or make it about more than just that. This doesn't do it. It doesn't say anything about Harry, nor does it change him in some way. And taken on its own, while the idea of getting a second chance is at least something and their interactions aren't really bad, it really does feel forced to say she has all that history with Harry. It's especially weird how the episode doesn't at all mention his fiance and it makes Harry look like bit of a douchebag. Okay, I guess maybe he fell for her before he got together with Libby, but he says to Tom he still considered pursuing her and stopped once they got on Voyager. Uhm, why? He would consider getting together while his FIANCE was around, but when he's unlikely to ever see her again, or at least in years, then he musts stay faithful? But he still went after Seven?

You know, people talk about "O'Brien must suffer" episodes, but those are at least about something happening outside the norm and getting back to his loving family, while Harry's episodes are about something good happening him, only to go LOL NOPE at the end.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Servicable, but not too inspired. Really, you could this "children brainwashed to be fanatics" plot with just about anybody. Perhaps if they brought up the fear of loneliness (as seen in I Borg or The One), that would make this more specifically a Borg story and would add more dimension to rather one-note First.

And good thing they gave a reason the Borg Cube didn't just destroy The Delta Flyer and Voyager in seconds, I was worried there for a sec. Sure hope the show will keep the dstreak going won't do somethign really stupid, right? Right?
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.