Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
JB
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 2:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Wow. I've been reading these comments for the last year or so while rewatching the syndicated series. I have to say that it seems a lot of people don't understand that Q is always testing humanity, even when he, it, or they, act like they aren't. If you saw the last episode of TNG you should realize this. If you saw the end of this episode where Janeway says " I appreciate this but It will only save a couple years..." And Q earlier saying "don't mess with the Borg," you may realize he basically tested Janeway and gave her all she needed to get home a few episodes later. Yes, it was a test. Am I the only one who sees that? It had nothing to do with Q Jr. That was just a ruse. It was still decent though.
Set Bookmark
JB
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

He's probably writing the reviews simultaneously and The Orville just happened to get finished first.
Set Bookmark
Jb
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 2:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

New to the series. Can someone explain how the UT works? I assumed it was built into their comm badge but at the start of the show when Riker wakes up in the hospital he says he is missing his “metal pin” (aka comm badge) - so how were they able to communicate?
Set Bookmark
CJB
Sat, Apr 7, 2018, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Hey, an alien race that can only communicate by punching Chuckles in the face?

I'm all for it. :-)
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 4:28am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Something that HASN'T changed, sadly; the outrage at the perception that an attractive white woman can get whatever she wants, at the expense of a man's self-worth and reputation.

I remember being super angry at that kind of idea in the 90's; but I was also a hormonally-charged, socially-inept and sexually frustrated teenage virgin at the time.
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 4:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Just a thought: If Kovin lives in a society where even an accusation of misconduct will destroy his business, why is he so poorly equipped to defend himself?

It feels like Russian dash cam scenario, where you want incontrovertible proof of all interactions.

Like others here, I think VOY tried to do a "your memories of trauma can deceive you" story, but fumbled it (as usual). And in the process, they accidentally wrote a prescient allegory about the current climate of "believe victims" and "false accusations."

We should all try to remember that twenty years ago, victim-blaming and false rape were not the headline grabbing hotpoints they are now.
Set Bookmark
TjB
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I hate every second of this episode. Simply one of the worst in Star Trek history, if not THE worst. Majel's scenery-chewing is even more rampant than usual, although in fairness no actor could have made the holodeck scene bearable.
Set Bookmark
TJB
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This episode is stunningly bad. Voyager as a whole has not aged well at all.
Set Bookmark
jb1234
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 5:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I found this first episode kinda boring, to be honest. Not a lot really happened and the characters are very thinly sketched. Only Michael and Saru leave any impression, out of an entire bridge crew. And god, the Klingon scenes. What were they thinking? Dull, dull, dull.

On the plus side, there's a lot of money on screen, for sure. The people who love eye candy will be pleased. It'll be interesting to see how long they're able to maintain this budget as the series progresses. Is it just reserved for the pilot?

(It amuses me that Jeff Russo more or less has maintained the McCarthy/Chattaway era of musical wallpaper, albeit in a more contemporary, Zimmerified idiom. When you can hear it at all, of course. The mix is quite low. If it's one thing that The Orville slaughters this show's production design in, it's the music.)
Set Bookmark
JB
Thu, Aug 22, 2013, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Travis, I can't tell if we agree or disagree haha. I'm saying I want more depth to the Klingons. I think to the episodes like where Riker served on the Klingon ship, they had their talk of honor and all that but they could actually carry on conversations without every line being a pigeon-holed cliche. In the episode where Worf accepted discommendation there was flowing dialogue and substance. It wasn't just one liners before hey lets fight! The civil war episodes were similar, with reason to behavior not "The Cardassians aren't founders? Who cares grrrr lets fight!"

You're right though, I forgot to write the part where I meant from this episode on (till season seven where Worf seemed to be somewhat reasonable again, he could actually almost carry on a conversation without spouting something annoying). Your example of the Quark and Grilka episode- I totally agree (and like that episode a lot). Gowron actually responded in character and realistically to the situation instead of just making some stupid out of character comment and killing something. Even the early episode where Dax helps the old Klingons take revenge, they had more realistic character. To me it seems they Klingons became the "alien of the week" for a while on DS9, with no personality other than cliches. Martok's wife for example I was like "really?"

As far as the depth and backstories of race on DS9 I agree. For example, the stories about Bajor's past I found very interesting. Like the episode where Cisko finds B'hala (sp?) I really wished I could have found out even more. Insight into the Cardassians, Jem H'dar, the Vorta and so on I appreciated. I think that's just the nature of the setting, DS9 is stationary whereas the Enterprise didn't stay in one place (though they did many episodes about Klingons and gave us more depth).

I guess I just don't like the abandonment of everything in TNG as far as how the Klingons act and speak, but thats just me. I think it gives them FAR LESS depth. If you like it then no worries, how boring would life be if we all thought the same!
Set Bookmark
JB
Wed, Aug 21, 2013, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

DS9 is probably my favorite incarnation of Star Trek however I hate what they did with Klingons. They are one dimensional cliches without personality. Blah blah honor, blah blah many songs will be sung, blah blah Batleth, etc... Especially Worf who seems to have lost all the character development from TNG. He had made progress accepting his human upbringing and his Klingon heritage and had an actual personality. Nope, that's gone now. GRRRRR I'm a WARRIOR, HONOR, TODAY IS A GOOD DAY TO DIE GRRRRR... I liked when O'Brien reminded him he used to play poker but it was just brushed aside. I can't stand many of the Klingon themed episodes that come later.

Anyway, I thought this episode was very good nonetheless. The Founders instigating fighting between the alpha quadrant races makes perfect sense and worked quite well. This does a good job setting up the next several seasons. The battle scenes were great though I don't understand why Federation seems to always take their sweet time firing. The hand to hand combat was okay and I think you're supposed to get the hint that the main characters can fight really well. I love the Quark/Garak scene and Garak/Dukat tension. Kira and Dax being friends was good to see and I liked Kira's reaction to the Holodeck (and her costume and O'Brien laughing at it).

One other thing though, don't they have universal translators? Why did Worf have to tell them what the Klingons said? For some reason that drove me nuts, they can understand races they've never met before in the Gamma Quadrant but not a few words from Klingons. I suppose that was just more of the WE'RE BARBARIANS GRRRRR theme...
Set Bookmark
JB
Wed, Aug 21, 2013, 6:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

I like this episode. The solar sail idea is more plausible than them (and the whole ship) not being crushed from the force of acceleration to warp and back to normal space (why the ships have inertial dampers). Oh well, all the character interactions are great. As far as the science problems, they're no where near as annoying as out of phase episodes where people can still breathe (the air should be out of phase) and don't fall through the floors (I love the part in another sci-fi series where they mock that).
Set Bookmark
JB
Wed, Dec 5, 2012, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

"Genesis" is a guilty pleasure of mine. I recognize that it's terrible on all sorts of levels but I watched it for the first time in years about a month ago and was wildly entertained. It's certainly far more watchable than "Threshold", which used a similar concept.
Set Bookmark
JB
Tue, Nov 20, 2012, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Dr. Crusher had plenty of good episodes earlier in the show's run (like "Remember Me" and "The Host"). I'll definitely agree that later on in the show, this was not the case, but it's not like the other characters were spared either. Troi got "Man of the People" and "Eye of the Beholder", for instance.
Set Bookmark
JB
Wed, Nov 14, 2012, 11:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I have a soft spot for this episode. Yes, it's terrible. Yes, it's overdone in all areas. But McFadden so rarely gets an episode to herself and she gives it her all. I also liked Chattaway's creepy, yet erotic score.
Set Bookmark
Jb
Fri, Jun 22, 2012, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I think this is one of the better Troi episodes and one of Sirtis' best performances. Carolyn Seymour was also splendid, as she always is.

I also liked Don Davis' score, which stood out more than most of the music around this time in TNG's production.
Set Bookmark
jbot
Thu, Apr 14, 2011, 12:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I couldn't agree more with this review. In addition to not caring about Timothy as the child-ex-machina of the week, I found myself hating him from the beginning. When he arrives on the Enterprise with a bunch of corny poor-me lines delivered with amateurish sighs and ho-hums, he comes off like the tattle-tale in elementary school who was best friends with the teacher but who the other kids hated. It doesn't help that the entire Enterprise crew is automatically subordinate to his impudence, feeding us more terrible cliches about Timothy's traumatic experience. There's just no substance to this episode to hold the attention. The so-called jeopardy problem of the week isn't even a space anomaly or opponent, but instead pure ignorance by the crew (another strike against the episode). But perhaps this is fitting somehow given the ignorance of the producers in letting this dud air. I was slightly amused by Brent Spiner's reaction at the end when the "cured" Timothy says their friendship is "acceptable" - Spiner looks genuinely shocked, as if to say, "Damn - this kid may be the one to finally activate the emotion of hatred in my positronic brain."
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.