Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 49 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Lots of missing potential in this one. So many routes they could have taken but it ended up feeling like a retread of "Timeless" without that episode's strong character focus and sense of urgency. Tons of plot holes too, which normally don't bother me but did here.

This was a stronger season than the first and I do hope the show gets renewed so they can continue improving.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

It was a pleasant watch and certainly well-acted but I feel like it could have gone further into Gordon's character. As it is, it felt kinda fluffy and inconsequential.

The B-story was almost entirely predictable but it made me laugh my ass off anyway.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Good review, Jammer. Also impressed by how you pumped out three reviews in just a few days. Badass!
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Yeah, I don't mind if they're mining from Star Trek as long as they put their own spin on it but more often than not, it's just a weaker version of those episodes and says nothing insightful or new about the characters. This is a very common issue with MacFarlane's scripts in particular.

(There was also some really bad dialog during the climax. What can really be done with lines like, "War is hell on both sides but this agreement can stop the killing!")
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Orville goes back to the Trek well, cribbing from both TNG's "The Wounded" and Voyager's "Fair Trade." It lacks the depth of either. The episode seems to want us to care about Gordon and Orin's friendship but there's just nothing there and the latter ends up being a one-note cliche character anyway. Unfortunately, without that core working, it's hard to care about basically anything happening in the episode.

I do appreciate that Gordon is treated seriously for once and a couple of the jokes made me laugh but this feels like a major wasted opportunity given the potential story lines in play leading up to the Union/Krill peace signing.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 5:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

McNeely's aping of Williams' current day action style was interesting to me if only because the composers on this show are usually aping Jerry Goldsmith instead.

(I enjoy it though. It's nice to hear music in films/television that doesn't sound like Hans Zimmer these days.)
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I was disappointed by it. I was hoping they wouldn't take any predictable paths but they did and it gutted whatever drama was left. As a result, the stakes deflated and the entire space battle was just nine minutes of admittedly attractive CGI and Joel McNeely going heavy on the John Williams licks.

The Kaylons have no emotions (as has been beaten into our heads over and over again) so why did Isaac turn? It makes no sense to me. Is he different? It was mentioned that he was a later model, I guess.

(It kept going through my mind that Patrick Stewart might have helped establish some gravitas here. Dramatic acting isn't MacFarlane's strength and he was way out of his depth here.)
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I thought this was spectacular, easily the best episode of the show so far. Great visuals and Debney's score a major asset.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I'm honestly in shock that they pulled this off. There were so many ways it could have gone wrong. TNG's "In Theory" covers some of the same beats but in much clunkier fashion. It was charming, funny and even made tear up a bit.

I'm pulling for those two. This is definitely the most ambitious material the show has tackled yet and I'm glad they're heading straight into it.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I agree with others that "The Expanse" would make for a great reviewing project but will admit that TAS is probably more thematically appropriate.

(And I've never seen it so I could watch along with the reviews, haha.)
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Great review, Jammer. I guess Discovery's first season joins the very limited list of Trek seasons without any 4-star episodes.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

As far as finales go, it was pretty disappointing. Just weird that the first half of the episode was largely wasted on superfluous scenes and then, the Klingon war got wrapped up on the word of a character (L'Rell) that absolutely no one in Starfleet should be trusting.

And the appearance of the Enterprise at the end struck me as desperate fan-service (especially the use of the TOS theme in the end credits). It made me laugh instead of the effect I'm sure was desired.

There were a couple of scenes I liked, most notably Ash Tyler and Michael's goodbye, which surprised me because their relationship always struck me as being more plot convenient than something that came naturally out of the characters. But it was really sweet, performed well by both actors. And Tilly got a couple of laughs from me, even if her character seems completely different now from the more socially awkward one that we were introduced to.

So yeah. Disappointing season, overall. A couple of my friends stopped watching it but I stuck to the bitter end. I definitely won't be continuing if they can't pull season 2 together, and fast.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

My primary frustration at this point is that they've killed off the most interesting character (after making him a two-dimensional baddie). No one else left is particularly compelling, especially Burnham (and the show desperately wants us to adore her).

The show is very pretty, very flashy but it has no soul.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

It's fascinating to me how this episode dramatically improved once Tilly embraced her evil side. The first half was an utter, joyless slog.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I think as long as MacFarlane is head writer, the show is always going to have problems. He wrote eight of the twelve episodes this season (and no doubt rewrote the rest). The rest of the show's execution is fine. Special effects decent, music great, most of the cast are game. It's just the sloppy, uninspired writing that brings it down.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

This was basically two (better) Star Trek episodes merged together, especially Voyager's excellent "Blink of an Eye." I really wish the show could come up with its own ideas, especially since it regularly botches the ones that it steals. It doesn't help that the plot is basically driven by contrivances and especially sloppy behavior by the crew. They basically go out of their way to be noticed by the planet's inhabitants and then, when they should have left well enough alone, they go back down to the surface anyway to try and make Grayson feel better. If I were the admiral, I would have put Mercer in jail. I did appreciate some of the later plot beats (aside from Isaac staying on the planet, again ripped straight out of Voyager when the Doctor did it) but the sledgehammer "we got out of the dark ages by renouncing organized religion" ending was overly simplistic. It's also a little disappointing that for a season finale, this felt just like a regular episode.

(That said, I give credit to the episode for giving me one huge laugh, when Mercer made fun of the admiral without realizing she was still on the line.)
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

That was deeply dull. I'm glad to see LeMarr getting more development but I don't find the actor engaging and it felt like the 2D storyline was really only there to service his character when it could have been a fascinating sci-fi concept on its own. A shame they barely did anything with it (pretty visuals aside). And from the very beginning, every scene with Mercer and Grayson bickering has been an utter black hole of interest. Occasionally with weaker episodes of this show, the jokes have made up for dramatic weaknesses but after three episodes of writers other than MacFarlane, he's back to his old tricks of making every gag seem out of place and forced.

Here's hoping the finale delivers.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Darren

Wikipedia indicates that episode 112 is the one being moved to next season (which makes sense if 113 is more serialized and/or has a cliffhanger).
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I'm glad that they went in a different direction than I was expecting. It was feeling like a mash-up of several different TNG episodes for a while there and the show has certainly been guilty of that in the past. Halston Sage felt rusty in her first starring episode but she's really improved. She was compelling throughout here. Also loved seeing two Star Trek veterans as her parents (Robert Picardo as Voyager's Doctor, of course but also Molly Hagen, who played DS9's first Vorta). Finally, John Debney's horror score was perfection. Star Trek: Discovery could take lessons from how The Orville is being scored.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Yeah, The Expanse is excellent.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

That was a lot of fun. I didn't think it would be because Trek has a long history of these types of episodes being stinkers but they managed to pull off the comedic elements here. The only thing I *really* didn't like was the very end, implying that Grayson had no choice over her decision to cheat on Mercer. That's a cop-out. On the other hand, maybe we can FINALLY move on from this baggage now.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

One point I do agree with is that shuttle crash should have killed them all. When it hit the planet with that much force, it reminded me vividly of Voyager's impact in "Timeless."
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This episode almost put me to sleep, between the snooze-inducing Vulcan plot and the endless expository dialogue. I don't know. I'm just not very invested in this show because I don't care about anyone in it.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Brian

If the show was centered around Stamets and Culber's relationship, missing out on their courtship might be a problem, depending on how its handled. But it's not. It's about Michael's journey and everyone else is along for the ride. I just see their relationship as providing some humanity and color on a ship that so far, has felt pretty sterile and dark.

(In fact, I very much want the show to start focusing on character relationships outside of the sphere of Michael. How do Lorca and Saru get along, for instance? Or Tilly and virtually anyone else?)
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@John Harmon

Honestly, as a gay man, Brian mostly just made me giggle. OH NOES, THE GAYS ARE RUINING MY STAR TREK. Give me a break, haha. I hope Stamets and the doc get some hot make out scenes just to piss off the homophobes.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.