Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 7,902 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 317
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

@Tyson I like the episode, but do you really think this is in any way helpful? I get the feeling people here are just cynical nitpickers who refuse to give a show a fair shot, but this demand for blind loyalty and potraying any critical thinking as party pooping is absurd.

I don't know how many people here played their part in getting a show cancelled and an awful movie bomb almost 20 years ago, but why is it their fault not writer's fault for not making better products? And even it was all fine, you know what? They are not obligated to like it. I think a lot of people didn't give Star Trek Beyond a fair shot, but that doesn't mean they should like just because it's a movie that exists.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

@Springy But doesn't Harry say to Tom he still considered asking her out and stopped once they got on Voyager? Because that makes no sense to me. He considered getting with her but then changed his mind after he was seperated from his fiance and unlikely to see her again? And even ignoring Libby, why would being on Voyager make him not pursue her, when he repeatedly does with other women?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I think we are just repeating "I don't like it" "But I do like it" at each other. I don't really get why it being ensemble should mean it shouldn't focus on any part of the ensemble though. I'm not saying it has to, just not sure why would that mean what you said. And sure, maybe. Or it would make the story more engaging.

Look, I understand you just want a friendly discussion but I don't really dislike the episode enough or have specific problems to argue with you or to let you change my mind. I have no problem with you or anybody liking it more than I do. Sorry, I know I might look like an idiot, but there just isn't much for me to say. Try me over on Enterprise reviews, I'm much more invested in my belief Night in Sickbay is a crime against humanity :-)

Where would I be going with it? I said what I meant. Trek repeatedly has an episode with a character accepting their nature in some way, about how even if they don't like their people's culture, it's part of who you are and they are your people and I feel that gets uncomfortable after certain point, even if few other stories go against it.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I really hated the first half of this one... the inciting incident was Kira stepping on a crystal...really?! I couldn't help laughing at her entire performance this episode, and the ridiculous crystal design.

I was kind of won over though by the great performances from Odo and Nog. Also, Kira being a shapeshifter explains how bizarrely stupid her performance and the entire plot was. Still overall, felt this was a pretty weak episode though from the comments here, sounds like it's the beginning of a new arc for Nog, which I look forward to. Generally like all the Ferengi stuff, even though they aren't always served well by the scripts.
Set Bookmark
Jason
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Synthehol does have similar intoxicating effects to alcohol, but they can be easily dismissed. So you do get drunk, but you can sober up in an instant if need be. Data mentions this in "Relics".
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

@Beeba How would race not being mentioned somehow mean it's not racist? What? Anyway, women own land, but Lutan is still the one in charge and considers women "pleasant but unimportant" and wanted to make Yar his first wife just as she made him her second husband. Rhe ep's potrayal of women, where they would fall for their kidnappers and fight for them is an issue, but I would say firmly secondary to the potrayal of all black planet Tribal Africa style.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

@Rahul You are completely and objectively wrong - it's not hard at all to believe Berman and Braga wrote this. These are the guys who came up with Night in Sickbay and decon gel scenes in the first place. Seriously though, I suppose you could at least argue until this point they were just generally horny, as opposed to sexist-which to be clear, is about their writing, not them as people (though Berman from what I understand does indeed suck as a person).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

" You can still object to it in isolation-a character being coerced into sex with it being treated as wacky hijinks-as many people do."

Agreed. But I still wouldn't use the "R" word to describe this situation. You stated I applied a "double standard" which implies an *unfair* application of a principle. I already stated straight up that I see this sort of thing through a gendered lense - but I don't think it's unfair to Riker. I just think that whether it's 1990 or 2019 this situation is apples and oranges with the reverse gender, especially with Riker being this big shot officer with a whole starship backing him up. If he was some kind of anonymous slave I might see it a bit differently, although even then not quite the same.

Although it's funny someone mentioned Vash because kind of the same thing happened to her in Q Pid with Sir Guy or I guess would eventually have happened if Vash hadn't gone soft and tried to rescue Picard.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

@Rob I would agree it's creepy, but comparing to actual sexual assault isn't fair. Chakotay isn't being violated, it's not real. This is more like if somebody had fantasies about you and drew pictures of you that they jacked off to. Again, creepy, but not really comparable.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Peter G: I disagree Picard would never have done that. Maybe I don't remember all the details, but that doesn't seem to me much different than him going to destroy the Romulan base in The Defector
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I don't know if that's the case, at least not all of it. I find Amanda Rogers inoffensive. But still, in case of Hollow Pursuits, the crew dealing with Barclay has more weight on the story and their interaction with him influence his behavior, same in Defector. Also, there is a bit of perspective flip as to how they look to regular officer. Here, in the end, they seem completely inefffectual to anything. It's closer to Q-Less in that matter IMO. Again, these are not HUGE issues, I don't think it's a bad episode. It just feels like there is one thing that needed to be there.

This isn't part of my problem with the ep, but I actually feel the whole "can't escape your nature" gets progressively more uncomfortable the more times Trek gives that lesson.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Lew Stone I am wondering, why do you think this is "not Star Trek"? Speaking as somebody who acknowledged Elliot got picked on for not liking a show other people did, even I didn't get that objection about this episode. If anything, I think the episode's biggest problem stems from its obligation to be more Star Trek-it can't just be a character piece with Sisko and Jake, it has to have them do some epic pioneer exploring shit. It doesn't bother me too much, since it's still jsut means to an end and the character stuff does work for me. As for Bashir being confident ladies man, he is certainly the latter, but watching early Bashir, the dude is a giant dork. Again, despite contrivances, to me it worked, especially Bashir/O'Brien friendship.

You're the first person I've seen complain about Brooks underacting-personally, I do think he overacts, but I think he's actually really good and quiet, subdued moments. I also like him when he's just being a cool dad pal, like here.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Jason R. I'm a man too. TBH, I not that bothered by the episode-I would if it was done now, but I can accept a 90's TV writers not knowing better. I was more bothered specifically by Peter G's arguments. But she does have power in his situation. She is offering a life-saving aid in exchange for sex and Riker at the moment has no access to any of his support. And he still almost dies.

Your last point is a non sequitur. So because there is a double standard as to how something is treated, that means is it's okay for that double standard to be there? And nobody here HAS TO say it-it's only said to point out there would be no discussion in that situation and that the thing plays into a sexist stereotype. You can still object to it in isolation-a character being coerced into sex with it being treated as wacky hijinks-as many people do.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

@Sillyk Has he? Given things like Ethics, Picard seems to believe strongly in individual rights. In real life, we don't even take organs from dead people without their permission.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

It's impossible for me to see what happens to Riker as a "rape " in context. This comes from my perspective as a man, which I think is reasonable in light of Riker being one too. There is just nothing in his performance either that could possibly indicate that he has somehow been violated by this.

If I have to pinpoint the reason for my feeling, apart from just having a gendered idea of what sexual violence is - it comes down to power, who has it and who doesn't. Riker may be on the ropes temporarily, but he's still the First Officer on a starship that could level this lady's planet. He's not being trafficked or sold into slavery. He might die I suppose but either way, he's got plenty of support. It's like Thor getting hit by Natalie Portman's car - we can laugh because whatever the present circumstances, he's still an Asgardian God so we aren't seeing it quite like we would if someone did the same the other way around.

If you have to say: "imagine if the genders were reversed!" you are kind of conceding that the gender isn't an incidental detail but actually matters quite a bit.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@William B The difference is those James Bond examples usually play it as Bond clearly not having a problem with it, with him "having to do this" being the irony of it. Here, Riker seems quite uncomfortable with it (and even if not, you could argue it's a sexist stereotype a man wouldn't be). It's also worth pointing out modern Bond movies don't do this.

@Peter G I'm sorry, but that's nonsense. If you consider it rape (and even if not, it's one of those "if you gotta argue it, you've already lost" situations), that's what it was 1000 years ago, it's what it's now and what it will be 1000 years from now on.

Also, how are Riker's values not contemporary, at least regarding things like this? Outside of season 1 speechifying, which I think is fair to say has been pretty much entirely abandoned at this point of the show, he is potrayed as pretty normal (handsome and sexually active) modern man, who just happens to work on a space ship. If he has particularly alien attitudes towards things like this, it needs to be established, otherwise the natural and logical assumption is that is what he is in this situation.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

@Cinnamon Go home, you're drunk.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@Elliot "Why would Earth be the only part of the Federation where there is no crime, poverty, etc? That's not how this works. The Federation is not an empire, it's a constitutional collective. Up unto the point that the colonists in the DMZ renounced their citizenships, they were living in “paradise” as well. Whatever beneficent circumstances allow people living on Earth to be “saints” applied equally to these people up until the point they were asked to leave their homes."

Why and how? For one, I don't think Sisko literally means ONLY Earth is paradise, it's more about the difference between central worlds of Federation, but why doesn't it make sense that people further away from it wouldn't enjoy all the resources, protection, needed attention and governance those worlds get?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi Regarding Enterprise, at least about the first two season everyone talks about... I really don't think it can. Even just judging the episodes on their own, accepting creators doing what they wanted to do, they were just bad at doing it.

@Jenkins L. Ironically, I wonder if the opposite isn't happening with Enterprise. I know it got lot of shit at the time because canon (personally, the suprisingly little continuity contractions there were, rarely bothered me, at least not for the contradiction itself), but these days I get impression it's often checked out by people who have mainly just seen Star Trek and not other contemporary sci-fi shows, so the way it seemed inept at the time next to say, Farscape, is lost.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Peter G "For what it's worth I tend to side with Gowron on this one. It's too pat that they have a Martok Changeling, and magically right after learning "we're everywhere" from The Adversary the Cardassian government falls? Yeah right. I doubt very much the Martok Changeling thought to himself "Well isn't that lucky, I can push for an invasion!" I give the Founders more credit than that, so yes, it's a bit of an assumption that they caused the coup. But then again they straight-up tell Garak later this season that his people are going to be decimated for what the Obsidian Order did, and I have full faith that this plan involved undermining the Cardassian government to make it weak, causing the Klingons to bring them to their knees, and while at their weakest the Dominion coming to the rescue with Dukat in tow. I've always seen the plan in this way, and the whole thing makes far less sense if we consider the coup to be coincidental. How did the Founders thing they'd (a) take power, and (b) punish the Cardassians otherwise? They pretty much knew they had no future allying with the Klingons (impossible to command) or Federation (impossible to corrupt), and the Romulans were too untrustworthy. The Cardassians were always their target, probably from as far back as The Search."

I don't see why "we're everywhere" would indicate that-for one, clearly they've been "everywhere" for a while and from Meta perspective, the Klingon threat wasn't part of their original plans for season 4. And why would Dominion need allies to take power or punish Cardassians? Just straight up invasion was always an option, even if not preferred one. I also don't think Cardassian were potrayed as any less untrustworthy than Romulans, although I can think of reasons why they would be the better option for Dominion.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

@Iceman "Necessary Evil" was actually the first episode to establish Rom's proficiency with technology. I don't think it's really contradictory, even if him being smart while sounding dumb wasn't the point-some people are very skilled at one thing and idiots at other things.

@Elliot When was Sisko potrayed as desiring attention? Sure, he does big speeches in front of people when needed, but so did Picard and he was even less of a people person.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 6:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I didn't think it was a hard mandate, but I was reminded of it, because to me this episode shows why it was made. The Defector is great, and even if Barclay never appeared again, Hollow Pursuit would still work, but here it feels to me something is missing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"Remember, we (Federation) had an incredibly powerful weapon against them. One in which they had no defense... seems like a plausible angle for them to take."

I beg to differ, extremely. Let's recap what we learned from Scorpion.

These were the guys who could one shot a Borg cube - that would be the same type of ship that could take on a Federation *armada* single handedly - with a ship the size of a runabout.

Oh yeah and they could string together 9 of their little runabout ships for a makeshift death star / planet killer. And they were shown to have hundreds if not thousands of these ships. Do the math. That's what? 100+ makeshift planet killers?

So yes, 8472 had no "defence" against the nanoprobe weapon except -uhhh using their hundreds of *death stars* to blow up the Federation in about 6 minutes?

What's offensive about this episode is that it completely negates what we saw in Scorpion. It is a massive retcon of a species that had only been shown once or twice before. In other words, classic Voyager writing. Because yes, species 8472 could turn Earth into chunky rocks and probably blow up the sun while they're at it just for kicks, but Janeway defeated the Borg with coffee. Never underestimate the power of coffee.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@Chess - I am sorry to hear about your brother. I hope you and he have some quality time together before his passing.

I agree with your assessment of this film. It's obviously not perfect, but for me it hits all the right notes. I was so excited when I first saw it on the big screen with my friends in my final year of high school, and it has lost none of its charm in the years since.
Set Bookmark
JM
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Wow, seriously the only thing I remembered about this episode, which I think I lastsaw in 1993, is "tennis elbow". But it all started coming back, reading this review and the comments.

I have nothing to really say in defense of this turkey, but two small things:

Why's everyone so hard on Beverly (not my favourite character either) for her actions in this episode, but they give Riker and even Picard a free pass for "The PEgassus". Seems like both of them should have been hauled over the coals for Starfleet for that. Picard mentions offhand at the end an "inquiry" into Riker's conduct, but, seems to me he could be considered just as guilty. I don't blame you all though; Riker and Picard make a great duo and I honestly always wanted to see them team up more, but the regs on ship kind of prevent tht most of the time as one of them always has to remain in charge of the ship.

The other thing, of course, is that I totally agree with the comments about the ridiculous portrayals of the Ferengi in this episode and others, and the weird attitude toward some of the alien races on this show. But I'd just like to put forward the idea that, just because this one family decided they wanted to honour an ancient Frengi death ritual custom, doesn't make it the norm among all Frengi, or imply that the whole race follows this one creed.

Now back to hating. Carry on.
Next ►Page 1 of 317
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.