Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9,401 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 377
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

I found this one quite slow and dull, until the last 20 minutes or so, and then I was won over. The tension builds quite powerfully toward the conclusion, with the storm approaching over the planet's surface - and I was as affected by the tension over the potential consequences to Picard's relationship, as to the lives of the colonists and the perimeter teams.

And the ending is beautifully acted, and poignant. That it's the end of their relationship doesn't need to be spoken.

I enjoyed the reference to The Inner Light. I thought we were going to make do with just the flute and a brief mention of where it came from, so I was pleased that Picard explained it in detail.

Picard states that there are no regulations about relationships with other officers, but surely there would be a rule against having a relationship with someone in your line of command. Even in an investment firm, where no-one is likely to send anyone else into lethal danger, it's impossible to have a partner in the same reporting chain. It's impossible for anyone whose boss is further up the food chain to get a salary increase or promotion without it causing resentment among their colleagues.

I don't really get how someone as talented and committed a pianist as Daren obviously is would have time for Starfleet and stellar cartography.

The foldout piano is quite cute, but I don't think a proper pianist would put up with a touch keyboard for long. It's about a bit more than just hitting the right notes. I do believe you can actually buy those, now.

Good one.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

Might have been wise to postpone this episode a little later in the season.

Here the Enterprise is fresh out of an extended stay on Earth, but the crisis is already "cutting short a liberty".
Set Bookmark
janeway fan
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I wonder why they didn't include any trans or genderless crew members in that diversity. That was and is still a very much alive topic, in the US at least. All the other types of diversity Trent mentioned are nothing new for Trek.
Set Bookmark
James G
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Well - I guess it probably was inspired by Die Hard, but it reminded me more of Under Siege. However where Seagal was an electrifying, imposing presence in that sort of role, Patrick Stewart isn't. The fight scenes were just boring.

I liked the basic idea though. The deadly beam passing slowly through the ship. Nice idea. But having it stop at the very last moment was something of a hackneyed old cliche.

I enjoyed the Data small talk gag. Another one to showcase Spiner's comic talents. I didn't really buy Geordie's visor being turned into a magic unconsciousness bomb. Ridiculous.

A pretty forgettable one, I'm afraid.
Set Bookmark
James
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@Eric Jensen

Timeless was an amazing episode but I meant the opening of this episode Vs the crash in Timeless. I'm rewatching the season 2 finale and going to watch season 3 episodes 1&2 again.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

"It really reminded me of the Voyager episode 'Timeless' but done much more fantastically well."

Timeless was good! And saying that, slipstream was mentioned last week...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

A better episode than last week's, in terms of the Star Trek feel
1. All working together
2. Sticking to their principles - Saru was excellent here.
3. The skeptical native of the planet held up the end of his bargain... sadly his colleague died
4. What is up with Detmer?? During landing, she was thrown off, over the console...
5. Georgiou needs better lines or something... it was lucky she was out there scouting the planet and it was due to her that they managed to escape, apart from
6. Burnham at the end using the tractor beam... nice surprise
7. Reno was good
8. Georgiou is better suited for section 31 but it is not cohesive... not flowing...
9. Could Burnham and Book end up leaving Discovery?
10. Why is Georgiou wearing a star trek uniform in the trailer?

Better than last week...
Programmable matter in the future? Interesting...
Set Bookmark
James
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

So, I enjoyed this much more than the season 3 opener, so much in fact that I think they could have dropped the first episode and started with this one. From what we've heard, they're in the future for good which is exciting. It's basically a chance to redo voyager as it should have been 😁

I especially liked the opening sequence to this episode. It really reminded me of the Voyager episode 'Timeless' but done much more fantastically well. I'm not quite sure of this georgiou yet. I actually thought she'd started to become more Starfleet like towards the end of season 2 so I am kind of annoyed to see the way she's going on in this episode.

Over all it episode 2 does set a good president for the future if the series. Let's just hope it doesn't get too bogged down.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

"Damn, things are really heating up in the nerdiest, most inconsequential comment section on the entire internet."

This should be Jammer's tagline for the website.

This place is such a delightful throwback. I hope it never changes.
Set Bookmark
Wesley's pyjamas
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Did anyone catch what the purpose of using the phaser during the crash was meant to be? I think Saru said something about cushioning the impact, but how would that work? It couldn't be by applying inverse force to the ship, because that would mean anytime a phaser is fired the person or ship would be propelled backward. The only other thing I can think of is melting the ice.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Fair enough, I liked Star Trek 2009 better than The Big Lebowski too.
Set Bookmark
James White
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

If you know the show will suck, yet for some insane reason you keep watching it, then you will get more of the same. Have fun.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Kurtzman only has writing credit for one episode of Discovery, so this argument is pretttttty dumb. But okay, “Star Trek” (2009) was written by Kurtzman and was critically acclaimed with an aggregate 94% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Take a look at the critical ratings of other Trek movies:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 41% approval.
Star Trek: Generations - 50% approval.

Few Trek movies have aggregate approval close to Kurtzman’s - “The Wrath of Khan” with an 88% and “Star Trek: First Contact” with a 92%.

TLDR: Yeah, well, that’s just, like your opinion, man.
Set Bookmark
James Smith
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

This felt a bit like a season 2 show in all the worst ways. But ranking right up there was the bollocks with MirrorGeorgiou stomping Leland's corpse into organic mush.

Showing Leland's brain matter on her boots? Graphic, pretty unnecessary, but it didn't last long and hey - they 'needed' to show that she's evil, because TV audiences are apparently short-memoried and require this sort of thing reiterating. To then show Leland's remains getting scraped up? Wholly unnecessary, turning what was an attempt at drama into an attempt at shock value for no good reason.

MirrorGeorgiou is a complete waste of Michelle Yeoh. The sooner the character buggers off out of STD to a Section 31 series the better.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Not bad! I liked this episode, and I was one of those who didn't think much of last week's. I'm almost wishing the crashed ship scenario could remain for a few more episodes without reuniting the crew with Burnham just yet. I liked watching the teamwork, the crew dynamics and different personalities, and less action oriented plot which felt much more classic Trek. Hopefully most of that will stay and the first episode was an exception.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

" Women are the people who do most of the grunt work of subsistence farming, lugging the water and last year’s baby on their backs, scrubbing the wash and cooking the meals, and they keep it up until the baby comes"

My wife is incapacitated at 6 months. But now that I think of it she never did much manual labor when she wasn't pregnant haha.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

Be honest now, how many people would have noticed that Will wears a beard and Tom wears a goatee if he hadn’t peeled off the fake sideburns on-camera? Lol. I know it’s a concession to the viewer, but I was still amused at how they thought that people would immediately notice a facial hair change, even one as dramatic as beard vs goatee.

Agreed that the Miles situation was handled well.

Don’t agree that there’s a Kira/Riker romance in this episode, I’ll have to put that one down as wishful thinking. Men and women can have relationships other than romantic ones, and it felt like the kiss came as a surprise to everyone involved. I did like how they explored Kira’s terrorist past and what terrorism means in general.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I watched both halves of this sub-par two parter (two-sub-par-ter?) over the last couple of days, and comments here apply to both.

I was never a fan of Deep Sleep 9, and only ever saw a couple of them. I assume the Bashir content in this one is intended as a sort of trailer for the new series; it adds nothing. I sort of liked the Data 'dream' story, but not that much really.

The remarkably humane Romulan open prison on the remote planet is just bizarre. It's hard to know what to make of it. Is the ageing Romulan, married to a Klingon no less, some sort of saint, to have achieved such harmony between these two bitter enemy races? He is after all their jailer in a real sense, and in charge of Romulan soldiers who are ultimately shown to be prepared to use lethal force.

Why do the Romulans even bother with this? Just to indulge an old soldier? And why would the captive Klingons accept this fate so readily? I don't really buy the excuse that their honour had already been lost so anything goes. If the Klingon woman who married Tokath felt so strongly that her honour had been stolen, why would she do that? Let alone the consideration that Tokath was one of the attacking force who supposedly carried out a massacre against her people.

I'm always surprised at the ease with which, in the Star Trek universe, species from different planets can reproduce. It seems phenomenally unlikely to me that a Romulan could get a Klingon pregnant (or even want to in all honesty; those cranial ridges aren't the most feminine feature). Worf's remarks to the mixed-race girl about her parentage are actually quite hateful, although he apologises later. And falls in love with her, quite suddenly and with no real development in their relationship having been apparent. As if the writer couldn't help squeezing another cliche in.

So I'm afraid this one is quite poor. It's just too incoherent and nonsensical. It looks to me like the Data plot was considered inadequate to sustain a whole episode, so they stretched out a pretty risible story about a Romulan prison planet for Klingons to accommodate it.

One last thought - how does the alien that Worf pays to take him there even know about it? But maybe I wasn't paying attention properly. It seems to me though that information like that could be more valuable (and therefore lucrative) to the Klingon government than to Worf. Either way it's not a very secure secret. Perhaps he should have been killed off in an accident.

Dire episode.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Jammer

Excellent review. Helps that I agree with pretty much all of it :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
JOhn
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Booming "I don't see Star Trek as a brand"

Me neither in certain ways, but it doesn't matter how we see it. If Discovery was called "The Adventures of Michael Burnham in the 32nd century" and had no association to the Star Trek label, how many people do you think would watch it?

@Ubik

I don't think it's quite fair to say that TNG and DS9 both did their own thing off-brand, while VOY and ENT were a product. Voyager was set totally outside the Federation while Enterprise was set before it. Those aren't really "let's just do the same thing and give the fans what they want". I can see how they were formulaic in other ways, but not in the concept ideas.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"This is purely anecdotal, but the Trek show--indeed the TV show, in general--that I've had the worst time talking people into watching was Deep Space Nine. All the people I've tried to talk into watching the show are deeply intelligent people with otherwise good taste, but there's never been a person who seemed enthusiastic about watching it and some have voiced disdain. In some ways it's the most critically acclaimed Trek show, but it is also a HARD sell."

I love DS9 but I never watched it on its first run and didn't discover it until it was off the air. This is odd because I grew up with TNG as a child of the 80s and DS9 came right off TNGs success at the height of the Berman era. I also did watch Voyager when it first aired for several seasons even though I disliked it almost immediately yet continued to watch.

So why is DS9 such a hard sell even to fans of Trek?

Some will say the first season was weak but that is a cop out - Voyager's was even worse. I remember hating Voyager's first season especially the dreary Kazon who I never wanted to see again after Caretaker but kept coming back. But I just kept watching anyway, week after week!

Trying to put myself back in my younger self age 13 when Ds9 came on the air? The word "dark" comes to mind, but not tonally - I mean aesthetically.

I think DS9's hard sell is due to a couple of very superficial factors: the title of the show and the art design. The title has a certain hard scifi edge to it that I think puts people off. It reminds me of Moon44. It is gritty. It is utilitarian. It sounds like an Interstellar bus terminal.

The art design is very "dark" with an ugly utilitarian Cardassian designed Station. The opening sequence is just this ugly station round and round - it is dark and monotone.

Note I am not taking issue with the opening or the space station design insofar as I don't hate them on an artistic level - quite the contrary - but the off the cuff feeling you get could be slightly offputting and alien / uncomfortable. It is anything but warm and fuzzy.

Compare this to Voyager which was a simple uncomplicated title and a sleek pretty space ship design that evokes optimism and wonder. The Voyager opening showing a pretty iconic Trekkian style starship sailing through pretty alien vistas with its booming orchestral notes evokes wonder and optimism and "light" - the total antithesis of DS9's opening.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

"Aside from the soap, unfortunately, this is a prime embarrassing example of the worst science in Star Trek being computer science. You put salt and pepper on an egg in ST and you’ve created an intelligent new life form that must be protected."

Lol 1000% agreed.

It's not the fact that 24th century science can conjure up advanced AI from nothing (Moriarty, nanites, exocomps, Emergence....) that is ridiculous but that everyone always keeps acting so surprised when it happens. It's like they don't know how their own technology works. Are they idiots or something?

Do they let children play with antimatter too? Oh wait - in Peak Performance Wesley's school project literally contains antimatter - stupid question I guess haha
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

"So, my point is this: for me, "good Star Trek" has always just been about "good writing." I have no preconceived notions about whether the story should be Big or Small, or Optimistic or Dark, or Family-Friendly or Violent, or anything like that. I just want it to be well-written, creative, compelling, intelligent, all those sorts of things, regardless of what theme, tone, or approach the writers choose to take."

I agree but only to a point. People watch Star Trek not merely because it is well written but because it is *Star Trek*.

This isn't some meaningless abstraction. Corporations pay billions of dollars for "brands" which includes the rights to call their product a certain name and tap into that good will.

Saying that you don't care what it is as long as it is "good" implies that such brands don't matter at all which is nonsense. Slap a Star Trek label on anything and some people will watch regardless of quality; that is the point of a brand!
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I would have expected the opposite, and it surprises me that anyone becomes a new fan of some of the older Trek shows anymore. I don't know anyone who hasn't already seen the whole of, say, Voyager or Enterprise, would have the patience to sit through them today. At the time when they were released you had to wait for the weekly episode, there were slim pickings when it came to sci-fi TV. The weekly anticipation was a big part of why you watched them - you set aside an hour of your schedule at a certain timeslot each week and generally stuck to it. If I was streaming Voyager today for the first time, by season 3 at the latest I'd be such saying "screw this, there are better things to do/watch". It's highly likely I wouldn't have got past S1 of TNG either.
Next ►Page 1 of 377
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.