Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 6,732 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 270
Set Bookmark
James
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

This is definitely one of the episodes that is better high. I love it when Trek makes weird, almost psychedelic scenes as in Masks and that one where they're watching the operating table materialise.

I also like that this is, in a sense, the Enterprise's very own Family Tree episode.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Many of the comments here are criticizing 'Jadzia' for jeopardizing 'Dax's' future, as though the two are functioning separately and Jadzia is making decisions over Dax's head (figuratively speaking).

But that's not how joined Trill operate. It's Jadzia Dax, a combined being, who decided to accept the consequences of reassociation. Dax the symbiont was as much the maker of that decision as Jadzia the host.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 9:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Tim, in defence of the episode, we can presume that the computer processes information at such a high rate of speed that even at 1/1000 its normal speed (or whatever the rate of time in that area) its response time would still be essentially instantaneous from the point of view of anyone using it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

On the subject of the Cardassians, there are some interesting traits that may help explain Garak's behaviour. As Peter mentioned, Garak may have done what he did for the sake of love and devotion to his father, Tain, but not out of loyalty to the state.

Filial devotion is one of the defining traits of Cardassians, as we saw through the Dukat character, not just through exposition but actions.

He sacrificed his career for the sake of his daughter (even if he needed a push from Kira) and even before he made that decision, he justified his attempt to murder her as being for the sake of his legitimate family. He's kind of the exception that proves the rule - even this supremely self-centred unprincipaled individual was bound to respect the power of family, even if that impulse was usually perverted to serve his own goals sooner or later.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Given how meticulously JMS planned Babylon 5, it wouldn't surprise me if the White Star was part of the material he shared with Paramount.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I remembered this episode fondly, but after recently rewatchung it on NetFlix I was surprised to find myself displeased with the portrayal of Twain, since in my memory that was something I liked about the episode.

When researching it years later, the portrayal of Mark Twain struck me as shallow and cartoonish.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Re-watching TOS, and I got to this episode and it stood head and shoulders above all previous episodes. Probably the best serious episode of TOS ("City on the Edge of Forever" is lighthearted affair). The pacing is so perfect compare to other TOS, and this feels like the only TOS episode where someone's death really matters and makes you sad, unlike the typical TOS episode "Oh some red-shirt guy died, what's his name? Oh well, let's carry on, no big deal."

Yes, the Romulan bridge looked like it was made from styrofoam and I noticed, but this episode transcended low-budget effects and the typical science that doesn't make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

"A few hundred or thousand people (however many are on the starship) are certainly not big enough to be considered an entire civilization. They shouldn't be scared of the Borg at all."

In the very first episode the Borg appeared, they attacked the Enterprise, which was one ship.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

"Another thing cosmopolitan about TOS that the subsequent series lost was the allure of the exotic; strange new worlds were portrayed as exactly that: strange and new. There was never a sense of comparing or asking who's more enlightened or better between them and the Enterprise. More of the allure is to see the new culture and go "wow, look at that", and leave judgement aside. The only times the crew took issue was when the new cultures would take decidedly aggressive action against the Enterprise, in which case Kirk would have to set them straight (such as in A Taste of Armageddon). "

Could you pleaae give some examples of this? I can't recall a single TOS episode that left "judgment aside" or just looked at a strange culture without judgment. By my recollection, 90% of the episodes were Kirk judging an inferior alien culture with 10% being a superior culture (or super being) passing judgment on the crew (with Spock occasionally doing so).
Set Bookmark
James
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

@Peter G

"TNG allowed for no such imperfection in the Federation ethos, as even the TNG Klingons, while cool and all, are never taken seriously as having a legitimate point of view that can stand on its own two feet."

That is what disappointed me most about Discovery, since in the pilot you got a sense that the Klingons might actually have a point. They were shown as an alien culture with alien values but you could see where they were coming from in their thinking. It was a promising set-up which incomprehensibly devolved into Klingons=bad, Federation=good. If they had focused on the diplomatic side of things, trying to reconcile Federation and Klingon values and how to maintain peace between two very different cultures, then things might have turned out differently. But that was obviously far beyond the writers' capabilities and would have required serious consideration of a "globalism versus cultural freedom" debate, while the show's producers were clearly more interested in mindless entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

It drives me crazy when some crappy little ship from some crappy little planet fires on Voyager, with full shields, and conveniently disables the transporters in the first shot.

They then do this AGAIN with the Delta Flyer.

ARGHHH

Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 5:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Completely ridiculous the probe had ended up there and that it was on their own home. It's as if the writers have NO idea of how big space is.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My quick take, and an overdue excuse to change the home page photo.

https://www.jammersblog.com/2018/08/10/pondering-patrick-stewarts-return
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

@rudy actually the original Harry Kim was found by jetlya or whatever her name from ashes to ashes and turned him kobali in star trek online and I still consider sto to be canon
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

Skeptical said re:the Malon:

"What a narrow view of their society; why did we never see anyone else? Talk about a wasted opportunity."

Well...note dialogue from Redemption, written by Ron Moore, where he writes this dialogue:

"You're a fellow officer and I respect that... but no one would suggest that a Klingon would make a good ship's counselor or that a Berellian could be an engineer. They're just not suited for those positions."

Ron Moore is the godfather of the "planet of hats" on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

The "calm" refers to the tone of the scenes, and is not saying the director himself was necessarily calm. That said, I don't single out writers or directors nearly as much anymore with TV episodes (this review was written 22 years ago). The process of making a TV series is so collaborative and so much a product of a whole lot of people operating in almost an assembly-line fashion that attributing individual qualities to individual people (aside from actors) is likely to be guesswork at best, and frequently wrong.
Set Bookmark
James
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@Yanks

"What I always hated was just how easy (in the 24th century) it would be to make everyone happy."

I think that's somewhat of an internal inconsistency within Trek, in that characters talk about how post-scarcity and how great it is, and how evolved they are from the bad old days of yesteryear, and yet nothing has really changed from today. People still get unhappy, sad, and depressed no matter how high their "quality of life" is, and the human condition is the same.

In a way, it's one of Trek's stronger points (if I believed it was intentional) since it's exactly what we're doing today, and will be doing as long as believe "progress" is the answer to all our problems. If it were possible to create perfect happiness by arranging the world to our liking, by the 24th century they would surely have done it already.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 8:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I have to disagree here. I like the Mayweather character ut the problem is they chose to focus the story on trip, tpol, and Archer. That's what I'm leaving it with. And Paul pissed me off. Kinda like my own big brother pissed me off but it's the opposite. My brother left for college and never looked back till 6 months later our dad died. So I understood where Paul was coming from but if I was Travis I woulda told Paul to go f himself lol
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Just in case no one is into the games this ties into a few of the Temporal operative stories in Star Trek Online. And yes Daniels and Kal Dano (the mixed species human) is part of it. Also the entire Temporal Cold War is relived through that game
Set Bookmark
Jeffro
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

"Plow the crops and harvest the fields"?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

Elliott, the colonists' reasons for refusing resettling on a different world were discussed in Journey's End. I think that aspect of the story was explained pretty well, and was at least understandable in the context of Native American history and spiritual beliefs.

But the problem with the Maquis is that none of these reasons should apply to the non NA human colonists, who have no historical or spritual context justifying their decision to stay put. Indeed, why don't they just leave?

This is where that fuzziness in the setup for The Maquis becomes maddening. Is this a continuation of the Journey's End story or some kind of retconn? The story plays fast and loose so that the answer isn't totally clear - perhaps intentionally to cover up its narrative flaws.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

"3. The way Tuvok and Janeway interacted with each other, I thought he would have been the first officer."

I doubt the guy that had been spying on the Maquis for months would have gone over well...
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

More feminist rubbish. Looks like this will be another episode I leave playing in the background for noise while I do something better like play games on my phone.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

It's hard to imagine how the Star Trek universe as presente dwould be on the conservative agenda.

Conservatives tend to hate the United Nations or surrendering any American sovereignty, so why would their agenda ever lead to the formation of the Federation?

Wealth and capitalism has been abolished in the afforementioned Federation. Hard to see conservatives agitating for that either.

The Iraq War and the Mexican War would both be gross Prime Directive violations.

And of course, the universal health care.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Startrekwatcher said:

"TNG WAS REALLY good at coming up with these bad nightmare situations for crew but ultimately with a good explanation that made the situation they had endured or thought was reality wasn't real in some way"

This pretty much nails it. You cited a few good examples. The episode with "Ardra" is another.

In TNG, various things happened that seemed like they might be magical or mystical, but by episode's end, it was shown to just be technological.

Then DS9 came along, and actually introduced what is essentially magic into the Trekverse, and although I liked DS9, it was mostly for the worse.

The closest TNG actually came to having "magic" was the horrible Sub Rosa, which came along after DS9 was up and running.
Next ►Page 1 of 270
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.