Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 21 (Showing 1-21)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Tue, Jul 13, 2021, 9:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 7: The Reckoning

Thanks for reviewing this show, Jammer. I'm just catching up with it now. I love how it has the authentic look and feel of Star Wars, but in a different part of that universe, and that it's showing the aftermath of the fallen Empire. This episode was a good set up the the finale. I liked how it pulled in characters from earlier episodes, giving the series an overall connectedness without being a slave to current serial storytelling style, and how it's building the relationships between these people (and droids). The end did indeed have an ominous overtone, through an event I didn't expect. Good stuff.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Jammer wrote, "And everyone is very sad, and it's all laid on very thick with everyone crying, and my thought was: "Really? This is how they kill off a legendary character?""

And at that moment, Jammer, you knew how I felt when I saw Kirk's pathetic send off in Generations.

James T deserved so much better.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 12:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Ok, my bad. I watched the scene again and he says Raffi, not Beverly. Oops.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 3:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Just saw this episode. It was good. Like how they're setting up the players in the story and Picard's status (in the world and with his health). I've got a question, and forgive me if I missed comment on it in the thread above....

Am I the only one who heard Picard say, after he put on his communicator, "Beverly, this is Jean Luc, please don't disconnect. I need your help. I need a ship."

Later he tells someone (don't remember who) that he's already made the call about a ship.

Yes????
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 7:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Jammer, just want to say thank you for the comprehensive, insightful, well-written reviews. They've become part of the whole Star Trek experience to me. Each episode I watch I go right to your site and read your review. Excellent work. I hope you are able to keep it going.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Wed, Dec 18, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Just getting to watching season 2, and with this episode I find myself in the rare occasion that I disagree with Jammer. I liked this episode better than the last one about the human settlement on the outlying planet. In that one the story seemed rushed through, and I didn't care for the ridiculous melding of all religions the humans concocted because they didn't know who saved them. Please. And the little asteroid that saved the day I didn't buy. Point of Light was interesting. I liked seeing the Klingons with hair again, and an end to the tedious subtitles. It's the first time I cared for an Ash storyline. It seemed this episode was needed to tie up the Klingon storyline and set up Georgio and Ash for the possible Section 31 series. It made more sense than most of season 1.
The Tilly story was good and I liked Burnham's logical breakdown of the May ghost. I like Staments in Small doses as shown here. This story arc seemed to be leading toward some spore network confrontation in the near future, which intrigued me.
The least effective/interesting storyline was the Burnham/Amanda scenes regarding Spock. Did Spock kill 3 doctors at the institution? Of course not. His Starfleet career would be over, and we know that wasn't the case. That's the trouble with prequels. If you know how it turns out than characters in storylines that put them in jeapordy cannot be taken in a serious, dramatic way.
All that being said, I'm not in love with season 2 so far. I find myself longing for episodic storylines, where a story would have a beginning, middle, and end in one hour. Oh well, that's not TV today, is it?
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 10:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

With 288 comments already I suppose everything has been said about this episode, so I'll be brief and try to stick to the positive points.

- Staments and Staments scenes were good, and I like how they seemed to have switched ships when they came out of the mycel-whatever network

- like Saru handling L'rell with the Tyler situation.

- Burnham and Georgiou relationship stuff was ok, interesting how it was more of an overt Mother - Daughter thing than in Prime Univ

- Kelpien cuisine ,. Unexpected and so effective for me.

- Lorca reveal, less effective because I knew it was coming.

One negative point worth mentioning. Georgiou killing her staff or whatever when Burnham revealed herself seemed gratuitous if not stupid. Supposed to show her ruthless mirror nature I guess. It didn't make sense.

Looking forward to how they end the mirror arc.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 12:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Show continues to develop. Actually this ep has a couple memorable scenes. The Tyler, Michael confrontation was tense and engaging. Michael personally beaming Tyler to his "death" as a means to get the data thingy to Discovery was good. The reveal that the Emperor was Georgiou (??) Fell flat because I knew it was coming. Overall Discovery is coming together, which is in line with the maturation process other Trek shows went through in their first year. I'm looking forward to season 2 as the reviews and general consensus on this site indicate it really begins to find its footing.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 3:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Very good episode. Unique tech solution requiring 133 spore drive jumps to collect enough sensor data to defeat the Klingon cloak. Decent action and character moments. Nice ending on a foreboding note. Discovery finally pulled it all together and gave us an engaging story.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 8:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

This one was ok bordering on pretty good. My problem with it is that the premise is so derivative of TNGs Cause and Effect that it can't help but be in that episode's shadow. I'm biased because Cause and Effect is one of my all time favorite episodes and any similar story will be judged against it. That said, Discovery handled the loop premise well, albeit the plot holes Jammer mentioned in his review. Burnham grew as a character and we get some insight into the emotional struggle of a human raised on Vulcan. So far Discovery is performing well, better I think than TNG and DS9 in their freshman year.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 7:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This one didn't do much for me. Then again I was never much into Vulcan mysticism. And maybe I missed something but after Discovery spore-drived to the nebula where Sarak was trapped, how did the admiral woman just show up on their doorstep?
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 10:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

My goodness, people, this show is not as bad as so many seem to be saying. WTF Burnham is developing as a character. The show sets up an intriguing premise: a ship in a time of war treading close to established lines of moral behavior. Lorca is a guy you want in command of a starship in a time of true threat to the federation. I know what he is revealed as later, but now he is a captain trying to win a war that threatens to Federation's existence. So far I am enjoying the show...
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 8:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I agree with many by saying it was an ok film. But for a Star Wars Story that just sounds so damning. I'd like to paraphrase a line from the substandard Eragon movie a while back. The big bad guy meets the hero kid, who is supposed to be the Savior, or chosen one, or whatever (I forget ), and says something like, "I was expecting someone more ... Well ... More." Guess that's how I went into Solo. Expecting something ... More.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 8:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Three episodes in, and it's getting better. It obvious Discovery is not your standard run of the mill Federation ship, and that's all we need to know to not go over the deep end on how the show is behaving un-Trek like. DS9 frequently did it. Voyager did it in some episodes (see Equinox). Even Picard violated the Neutral Zone when extreme circumstances called for it. To me that is what Discovery is showing us.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Fri, Dec 28, 2018, 1:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Got the Blu Ray of season 1 for Christmas. Finally saw Battle at the Binary Stars after only seeing the broadcast first episode. Lots of dramatic things happened, but I found myself not caring about the characters. The battle wasn't staged with clear tactics or sense of who was gaining the upper hand. When the admiral self destructed his ship it should have been a moment like the hyperspeed ram in Last Jedi but instead it was a yawn. Perhaps the writers tried to stick too much in these first 2 episodes. I didn't feel this was an epic moment for the Federation, although it's supposed to be. Hope the narrative pacing and dramatic payoffs improve over the Season.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 11:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Re-watched this great ep recently. Did anyone else's ears perk up when before the final combat scene Riker mentions a previous battle that Starfleet won at a place called Archer-4 (not sure on the number)? I immediately wondered if this reference had any bearing on the creators of "Enterprise" naming their captain Archer. It's probably unlikely and I suppose we'll never know, but it did make me sit up a bit when I heard it this time around.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Thu, May 31, 2018, 9:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

Enjoyed the movie. Considering we all knew what was going to happen in it based on every film until now they did a pretty good job with the story and the bunch of "firsts" everyone expected. I liked how Han dealt with Beckett at the end. It moved the character toward who we know a bit more. And the Big cameo surprised me. Had to piece together a timeline in my head to see if it was possible. Guess I missed some stuff by not following the novels and cartoons . It was good. Could have been better. And to be honest I was hoping for a short Harrison Ford cameo somehow. Perhaps it's better that didn't happen.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Fri, May 25, 2018, 11:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I enjoyed this season ender. Better than several other finales from other series. But the writers missed an opportunity. Since they had already chosen slow motion Archer, slow motion explosions, and other action movie clich├ęs, and had seeded some wise ass Archer comments during his torture scene a few episodes ago, here's what I would have loved to see ...
...Archer and Dolum fighting.
...Getting his ass kicked, Archer sticks explosive charge on Dolum's back.
...Dolum realizes this a moment before Archer presses the detonate button
...Reptilian blood spatters
...Archer looks down, "Turtle soup."
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sat, Apr 21, 2018, 2:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Great ep. But when Kira made her comment to Damar at that moment I just felt it made her look like a cold hearted bitch no better than the Cardassians she hates. She could have made her point another time or way. That's honestly the first time I felt that toward a Star Trek main character.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Mon, Apr 16, 2018, 8:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

Just watched this one again. Love it. Kirk's recital of the declaration preamble is classic Shatner. The haters of this episode crack me up. The parallel earth scenario seems to put a bunch of people off. Please. In a TV show that regularly employs technologies that will never come to pass, like matter transporters that basically disintegrates human and reassembles him without I'll effect, or warp engines the enable travel at several magnitudes of light speed, you refuse to accept a parallel earth? LMAO. Classic ep. Good Kirk/Spock moments. Good McCoy lines. It beats the heck out of most of season 3.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan Fenzel
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 9:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Great to have you back in the review game, Jammer. I don't have CBS all access so I'm vicariously viewing Discovery via your reviews. Meanwhile, I'm working my way through DS9 season 5, and truly enjoy reading your take on each episode after viewing them. Very glad I discovered your site a few months ago. Keep it up!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.