Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 146 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Ivan
Sun, May 26, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Excuse me, I do not know this show well. I'm a physics student and an American friend showed it to me thinking that I would like it, but I found this one episode so infuriating that I had to find somewhere to speak about it. At the beginning, the alien man spoke about something "so large" that it generated it's own gravity, with the implication that only something very large exerts gravitational force, but any massive thing has gravity, from an atom to an elephant to a planet! Gravity can be calculated between two objects with Newton's law of universal gravitation in most circumstances inside of a solar system, F = G m1m2/r^2, with G being Newton's constant, m being the masses of either object and r being the distance between them. Try it for yourself and the Earth, the moon or even Mars and you will find that you exert gravity on these objects even though you are small.

Newton's law is not strictly correct, it is an approximation for when space time is only lightly curved, that is situations when objects are extremely massive (or energetic, they are equivalent) or things are moving at relativistic speed. For this you can use the Einstein Field Equation.


What a silly program, children should not watch it, I will never do so either!
Set Bookmark
Ivan
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Worst episode of this season so far. Boring as hell. "Character development"... meh!
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Paul C: Temperature in space doesn't work that way. Space itself is nothing (well, almost nothing) so in ordinary terms it has no temperature, neither hot nor cold. Given that the probe has both a life support system and a warp engine, getting _rid of_ heat, ie keeping the waste heat from the systems from cooking K'Ehleyr, would be a major design problem.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I hate the way they wrote Guinan. "What can you tell us?" "Only that if I were you I'd start back now." Actually there's a whole lot else she could tell them, and maybe if the writers had let them, they would have started back now.

btw, what is Riker doing in that scene? He's leaning so steeply over the bar and looking unwaveringly into her eyes. Is he trying to seduce her? LOL!
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Riker should have cheated back by sucker-punching his father while they were standing together. Then offered his hand to help his father up - and dropped him on his ass. And that's the gentle version.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Feb 10, 2018, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Yet another Klingon episode - meaning it's full of asspulls about Klingons that make no goddam sense whatsoever. Their only purpose is to make the Klingon culture seem "alien".

I'd almost rather watch a Ferengi episode.

Almost.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Fun episode. But if I could wave a magic wand and remove the Ferengi completely from Trek, losing this episode would be an acceptable cost.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Ferengi. Worse, Ferengi with Zek featured. As soon as I realized I'd be listening to Zek, I skipped it. Zero stars.

The Ferengi should be removed from canon.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

The Ferengi "culture" is an absurd mish-mosh of obvious plot generators. All Ferengi stories are completely crippled thereby. Zero stars. There wasn't enough of the B plot to rescue the hour.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

It's not only Mike Ehrmantraut from Breaking Bad, it's also Frank McPike from Wiseguy!
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I'm not paying for there stupid streaming service, so this will probably be the only episode I see, until they cave and let U.S Netflix stream this.

It was alright. I don't understand why they redesigned the Klingons, they could have just made a completely new species.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Holy shit, this one felt like it could have been an actual Trek episode. 4/4 stars. Bravo Orville. You handled this subject matter much better than "the outcast"
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Two episodes in, and I already like this show better than Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

Worf would have been a better to choice to watch over the kid than Picard.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sun, May 21, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Scotty got caught in an explosion on the Enterprise. And because it was caused by a female he now resents half the Human race. McCoy and Kirk decide the only logical thing to do is get him laid and call it therapy. This is a rather weird episode.

I must say that the Internet must have spoiled me, because I found the dancer in the beginning to be rather dull instead of provocative and the close ups on her lower front awkward. especially the creepy smile that Scotty sports the whole time.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Oh dear a writers strike. Thats how you end up with TNG's "Shades of Grey"
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I'm actually curious did O'Brien and Bashir recommend Rom read Karl Marx or did he just stumble across it while looking up stuff about Unions?
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I don't know, perhaps the name is unisex in the 23rd century.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Jason Isaacs is going to play the Captain named Lorca.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 11:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I remember not liking this episode when I first watched it. I guess I've just grown bored of Klingons beating their chests and droning on about honor.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I do like Rainn Wilson. I'll definitely watch the episode with him, even if I don't end up liking the pilot.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

@Caedus Your that same guy who got triggered watching Profit and Lace. You certainly seem like a stable individual.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Tue, Apr 4, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

If you want a so bad its funny episode of the original series, I'd suggest this one.
2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I'll once again mention that 7 is claiming Kovin created a Borg drone. If they need evidence track down the drone! scanning for Borg nano whatevers should be easy for them by now.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.