Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Intro2001
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The Bluray is literally now out

Here's the review

***1/2 

"When you look past all the comparisons to past Star Wars movies where characters are developed even more poorly and numerous loose ends never get tied up, this thing is a freaking masterpiece 

Why did it bomb so badly in China, despite the obvious insertion of token Chinese characters that could have been plugged strongly in Chinese trailers...Meh...aliens? I dunno.

You guys just make your own reviews on my site, complete with your own star ratings..so just keep doing that I guess. 

Live long & prosper

The real jammer"
Set Bookmark
Intro2001
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

OK here's what happened...
Charleize vanishes because without the wormhole Orville obliterated at the end of the episode, she never would have been able to travel back to their time.
The reason the Orville is unaffected is that they already cleared the dark bubble field (though only thanks to Charlieze , who now was never there in the first place.....ALTHOUGH, what's to say that her not being able to ever use the wormhole now hasn't had some effect that prevents the Orville from being destroyed)
Set Bookmark
Intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This IS Trek. And pretty good...I've watched every episode of every series and love some more than others but honestly, you're comparing apples to duck billed platypus(es).here.
As a pure (not semi as in DS9) season-spanning-stoey-arc series, this is a great new way to bring back Star Trek in a way that will not fizzle instantly.
I also appreciate the extensive review/comments.
I just can't commit that much time...
- The Dauphin: hated it
- Paralax: worth watching once to say you did
-Measure of a Man: Like a fine steak, I acknowledge it's excellent, I just didn't hit the spot as much as my Moms lasagna (The Defector, Doomsday Machine, Amok Time, Scorpion, The Visitor, Year Of Hell)
- Best of Both Worlds, City On The Edge of Forever, The Inner Light, Living Witness, Sacrifice of Angels, All Good Things, Balance Of Terror, Unimatrix Zero: Yesssss!!!
Just sayin' is all - There's WAY more good Trek than bad and I consider Discovery to be the former.
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 2:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

From what I've seen so far, Sonequa Martin-Green is the best-acted Star Trek lead since Patrick Stewart
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

You guys are high. Yes it's ultimately an elaborate "For The World Is Hollow..." (which BTW is a neat view of what that TOS ep could have been with more budget and 2017 effects) but the second act (after the opening credits) is a massive-freaking homage to the initial V'ger scenes in TMP. I'd give it ***1/2 just for that.
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Yeah, this show is getting OK now:
High-concept sci-fi, decent cast chemistry, humour that justifies the show having humour:
Seth: "You can hang out on our ship for a while....We have board games, we have Monopoly..."
Agents of Shield gal: "You can be the car"
I'm A Survivor lyrics recited:
Bortus: "Those are powerful words - who wrote them?"
Cap'n Seth: "Like 15 different people"
A nice mix of high adventure and light-hearted moments - Rock on
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I get the comments on the first show - it's SO much humour that some people are uncomfortable with (lots of drug & fart humour passed off as something witty) And honestly, even on that level, it's 'meh' at best - Ratings seemed to be sufficient it will have a season or so to get it right.
I can appreciate that Seth Mcfarlane LOVES Star Trek and this is a love-letter to TNG.
The trailers for Star Trek: Discovery made it look so bad that I really was looking forward to Star Trek as a comedy - It's just not that funny.
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

I LOVED this episode....WAY better than the premiere.
I get the comments on the first show - it's SO much humour that some people are uncomfortable with (lots of drug & fart humour passed off as something witty)
This episode was fun, ACTUALLY funny and exciting - a perfect example of what this show can be. Honestly, I don't have time to nit pick about every little detail that doesn't suit everyone - It's a cool show based on this episode and not the trainwreck the premiere made it out to be
Set Bookmark
Intro2001
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Er "Spiner"
Also, Jonathan Frakes should have fired his hairstylist for this episode
Set Bookmark
Intro2001
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

***1/2 ....as a TNG episode. Like seeing the return of The X-Files, or Will & Grace, seeing this episode was a massive fist pump in the air when watching it in its entirety today on Netflix. Even though it's just Frakes, Sirtus and Spine in a voice cameo, and even though it's really a **1/2 at-best honestly compared to, say All Good Things or even What You Leave Behind, it's just so awesome to see a (sort of) 177th TNG episode, in stunning HD.
As an Enterprise episode, I'd also give this at least **1/2. The only things I'd do are reset Trips death so it turns out he lives and after the "end program" fade back to the 22nd Century to the beginnings of Archer's speech, then fade to the "Space: The final frontier..." Montage. (And have Scott Bacula read it in a way that does him better justice)
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Tue, May 9, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Your minds are indeed too 3-dimentional...I'm guessing the Borg queen is an "idea" rather than a person...embodied by a version of herself on each Borg vessel
Set Bookmark
intro2001
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I'll say what so many here have almost-but-not-actually come out and said:

The Inner Light is the single greatest Star Trek episode of all time.

Not ballsy enough for you? Try this on for size: The Inner Light is better than City On The Edge Of Forever.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE L O V E City On The Edge Of Forever. It is a freaking masterpiece. But have you ever met or heard of someone who says "I wept like a baby when I watched City On The Edge Of Forever"?

City On The Edge Of Forever ends as a largely negative experience for the main characters ("Let's get the hell out of here") while The Inner Light leaves us with a sense of joy ("Now we live in you") albeit a bittersweet sense.

The Inner Light is an unbridled celebration of Star Trek that simultaneously transcends Star Trek.

(P.S. Thanks Jammer - I've enjoyed your reviews of these episodes immensely, Just found your site a few days ago)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.