Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 21 (Showing 1-21)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Wed, May 6, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

@Nolan

Appreciate the feedback and context!

Have since also found a viewing-order guide that was helpful (never mind the silly name of the URL):
https://scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/1566/after-star-trek-the-next-generation-can-i-skip-to-voyager-without-watching-dee
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I am oh so late to this party but I'm well underway in my marathon of TNG (complete), DS9 (on S3), Voyager (S1) and the 1st two TNG movies having just completed First Contact.

I absolutely loved it, especially after being a little let down by Generations' treatment of Kirk's demise and the 'cameos' of the core support cast. The writers seemed to have taken note and given each of the latter mentioned a decent piece of the pie.

I am surprised no one commended the following visuals/ideas that were well done:

1) The new Federation uniforms were a great standout and the lack of such a new spin on Generations was disappointing but made up for here. They looked sharp!

2) The Enterprise E's sleek modifications definitely made the viewer believe that this ain't no TV series but the Big Leagues. Even the warp effect got an upgrade.

3) Geordie's upgraded, new eyes were a magnificent idea and made me wonder why this was not thought of sooner, but lends itself to the idea of the Federation's technology naturally evolving.

4) Liked the evolution of Worf commanding the Defiant, though he relinquishes his captaincy and falls back into his role a bit too easily after being beamed back on board the Enterprise. Would have been nice to get some more insight into how he was selected and by whom.

5) This was mentioned before but Data's more controlled use of his emotion chip was much welcomed.

6) Glad to see the Borg a formidable force again after the Lore storyline/ involvement in TNG derailed that potency somewhat, leaving their demise to interpretation.

This outing gets a 3.5 from me.
Set Bookmark
Virginia
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I don't think that T'Pol's reaction to Trip was so bland. It took a lot of effort for her to reach out and touch his shoulder in comfort. While she may not always cry tears-like she did when she went into the ready room after Archer leaves in the "Azati Prime" or when her Mum died in "Awakening"-you can tell she's overwhelmed when her voice breaks. It did here and when she told Archer she hadn't been able to meditate in "Damage". She couldn't tell him about her terellium addiction yet, but told Dr.Phlox.
Set Bookmark
infinite97
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Rewatching this series for the, what, 10th, time? This episode bothers me so much that I had to find somewhere to post :p

It is inconceivable that Starfleet, knowing full well about the Jem-Hadar anti-coagulant beam, would leave such medical counteragents out of the medkits. It just isn't possible. This oversight ruins the entire episode, and leaves a bad taste about the whole series.

Additionally and finally, I am so sick of the filler and meaningless crap that takes up entire episodes.

I haven't watched Discovery yet, but I hope it doesn't suffer from the familiar ST pitfalls.
Set Bookmark
Dominick
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Loved this episode, I can forgive the obvious plot hole (it being practically impossible to predict Voyager's current whereabouts) because the story was fun to watch and the emotional payoff in the end was great, had me in tears :')
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peter G., yes, you are right. That is a pretty glaring continuity gap. That said, I can't get too upset about it because Star Wars is a franchise that has always played loose with continuity. Remember, Obi-Wan said Luke's father died, yet we later learn what he said was from a "certain point of view." Heck, Obi-Wan ages 40 years in between ROTS and ANH. Star Wars fans have always had to retcon inconsistencies. I wish we didn't have to, but for me at least the ending of Rogue One doesn't ruin the movie.
Set Bookmark
Minion
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Why the hell every relationship in startrek had sad ending they last for two episodes then they are gone be it crusher,jordy,picard,will and many more.
This sucks are the writer wants to convey humans will turned into cold hearted creature in future.
Set Bookmark
Brainiac3397
Sat, Sep 24, 2016, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

The response of the colonists was unbelievable. There, in front of them, stood a megalomaniac fanatic who had even been contemplating justifying her ideas with religion for her extremist luddite beliefs, and stole 10 years of the lives of people who didnt agree to her insanity and didnt know of it. 10 years of lies, punishment, manipulation, and neglect that led to death of who knows how many people. Who conspired months before the expedition set out just to make herself leader of a community that fit her fantasy?

And they werent trying the lynch the egotistical maniac and her brainwashed son, who happened to be the only effectively armed(with a bow) colonist, when they found out?!

And Sisko just decided to punish her the soft way despite her petty attempt at breaking his will on top of everything she did?
Set Bookmark
Ini
Mon, May 30, 2016, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

Really Dr. Phlox, you showed a screenful of your patient's medical records to a person who had no business viewing them, while acknowledging it wasn't exactly the right thing to do? For.. pineapple cake?
Set Bookmark
Ini
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I really can't believe no-one said it yet: the best moment in the episode is the cut from Combs as Brunt directly to Combs as Weyoun. It's as close as the two characters ever got to meeting each other, sadly.
Set Bookmark
Ini
Wed, Mar 9, 2016, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Weyoun's death in Odo's arms is one of the saddest scenes in Star Trek ever ;_;
Set Bookmark
Ini
Sun, Mar 6, 2016, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Oh gotta love that Weyoun.. by this point, he is clearly my favorite character in this series, and getting near the top of my all time favorites in the franchise. Great character, great portrayal, making him both sympathetic and tragic. He steals every scene, only Dukat can match his presence, and these two together are just gold.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@John W, I agree. It's incredibly hypocritical that Pegg complains about sf/fantasy/superhero movies as being superficial, yet when he's given the reigns to help write the next Star Trek film he seems headed in the same direction. Shame he didn't take his own advice and try to present viewers with better material.

RIP Star Trek: 1966-2009
Set Bookmark
Ini
Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Been re-watching all of Star Trek and reading these pages. Awesome show, awesome reviews and comments. Thank you.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

What a shame, but I think you're right.

I checked STID on Amazon recently. There are almost 8,000 reviews and a very positive (4.5 stars) score. That makes it almost as popular as Avengers. What's going on? Does the general public really like this movie so much? Am I so far out of the mainstream?
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, May 27, 2014, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Cumberbatch was OK. I thought the problem was less him or his acting and more that he wasn't playing Khan. The way he played the character would have been perfect for the villain in Skyfall - angry secret agent who wants to get revenge on his former employer - with an added dose of concern for his "family." Khan in TWOK though was an overly dramatic, larger than life character. I don't think anybody could have achieved Montalban's presence on screen, but Cumberbatch wasn't the right pick imho.
Set Bookmark
Dominick Destine
Tue, Aug 13, 2013, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Like most people, I had some serious problems with the large amount of plot holes in the episode. Here are a few that were not mentioned yet;

- Odo really doesn't keep his files secure? Odo, the security chief, the guy that is incredibly methodical does NOT keep his station code-locked? seriously?

- Odo does not keep a copy or a backup of sensitive information ? What?! this is completely inconsistent with Odo's character. His character is not capable of such incompetence.

- Wouldn't the station detect the bomb on the freighter that the two Shakaar members arrived on? I'm pretty sure if it were that easy to assassinate targets on DS9, Sisko and co. would have died long ago.

- What was the point of the "That's one, two three, etc" sub-plot? it wasn't a clue and it didn't really go anywhere...



With that said, I really liked the episode, the direction was superb, the pacing was excellent and the performances were spot-on. Though Kira was out of character in despising all Cardassians, since she had learned better in S1 Duet. Oh well, in any case, I also think 3 of 4 stars is adequate. Terrible plot executed fabulously.
Set Bookmark
Dominick Destine
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 2:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@Elliot and others insulting Sybok

Congratulations on completely proving Sybok's point. You call him an idiot and a "hate spewing ass bag" but from my vantage point, you and others like you are the only people spouting intense hatred. You are a hypocrite.

In any case, I happen to agree with Sybok's position but even if I didn't, I would almost be forced to agree with him because those who oppose him (people like you) can't go through a single response without degenerating into ad hominem and strawman arguments.

I have no problem with people that choose homosexuality. You can have sex with whoever you want, I support that freedom. What I don't support is the blatant double standard wherein you can express your approval of the homosexual agenda but others cannot express their disapproval. Being black isn't a choice. You don't choose what color your skin is before you go to sleep, you -do- choose who you will sleep with.
Understand?




"Far Beyond the Stars"
I hated it. It was terrible... and I believe it is tremendously overrated. The pacing was awkward and thus the episode tended to drag a lot (Not that I was surprised, the premise is wafer thin), the acting was extremely weak and amateur (Looking at you, Avery Brooks) and worse than everything else, it is not DS9, it's not even a Star Trek episode. Star Trek is meant to be science fiction, wherein the problems of today's society are highlighted within a different cultural context. "RACISM IS BAD" is something we already know and accept, a sledgehammer to the face with the words "racism sucks" is not a good way to promote acceptance.

I'd rank it very low, about 1.5 out of 4.
For the record, I am hispanic and come from a jewish family (Figure that one out), I know what it's like to be discriminated against, but making an episode about the Evil White People and the Poor Black Victim just reeks of lazy writing and lame storytelling.
That is my opinion on it.
Set Bookmark
Irini
Wed, Jul 25, 2012, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

If there is one character in Star Trek that doesn’t see the other characters as stereotypes of their races then that character is Jadzia. Seriously, Jadzia sees and accepts the individuals for what they are, not what race they are from.
She’s the character who can look beyond cultural differences and a person’s appearance and that’s why she’s friends with so many of the other characters. She sees Kira as Kira and not as another Bajoran, she sees Quark as Quark and not as another Feregi, she sees Julian as Julian and not as another human or later an enchased human.
Yes Jadzia understands the Klingon culture and maybe that is what in the beginning brings her close to Worf and they become friends but in my opinion she understands who Worf really is. It is Worf who understands and loves not another Klingon (and let’s not forget that Worf is not the typical Klingon)
And yes I believe the two actors act wonderfully around each other and they have a thick chemistry.
Set Bookmark
contraryopinion
Wed, Aug 24, 2011, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

This is clearly a rip-off of Firefly. In fact, I believe this is the second or third episode to read almost exactly like it. "Rajiin" is the spitting image of "Our Mrs. Reynolds" with a slight variation. Either way, it gives us an insatiable and irresistible femme fatale. The only difference: "Our Mrs. Reynolds" was more believable and realistic.
Set Bookmark
Ola Bini
Tue, Oct 23, 2007, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

I got the impression that the Sagittarons were people that originally belonged on one of the two ships lost in "The Passage". It's mildly plausible that they have been shuffled around in the fleet for a while after being on some other ship during "The Eye Of Jupiter" and "Rapture".
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.