Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

I'm totally confused here. What is immoral about any kind of consensual sex?
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Wed, Oct 3, 2007, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I really like "Renaissance Man" and it easily gets a 3-star rating from me. The Hierarchy are an interesting species and I welcome their reappearance. Sure, we've seen plenty of kidnapping plots in the Star Trek franchise, but there's something refreshing about the execution here. The pacing is great, the visual effects are very cool and the ending is smile-inducing.

Noteworthy:

*I believe this is Vorik's only appearance in the seventh season.

*It seems Ayala has received a promotion; he's sporting a red uniform and is seen at the helm in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 9:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I have to respectfully disagree with you on this one. I've always liked "Scientific Method" and I'd give it solid 2.5-star rating.

I honestly don't mind the DNA Hijinks here. Now, if the *whole episode* focused on this aspect of the plot, with everyone getting a different makeup job, I wouldn't be defending it.

And I agree that the genetic experiments on the crew were way over the top...a little subtlety would've been an improvement.

But the visuals of these "cloaked" aliens studying the crew were fantastic. It's a really cool and original concept. And I have to say that I adore both Badass Janeway and Death-Cheatin' Janeway, and this episode features both of them. :-)
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

*Minor* complaint: Nog as a Captain? Doesn't...really...work for me.

Of course, that takes nothing away from this stellar episode. The writing, the performances, the directing...all excellent. And seriously, Tony Todd deserved an Emmy nomination for his performance here.

"The Visitor" is full of affecting scenes. One that stands out is where Kira and Jake are having a quiet conversation regarding his future, and the possibility of him leaving the station. I really *felt* this scene and it nearly brought me to tears.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

"Pen Pals"

One thing I really like about this episode, is that Sarjenka and her homeworld actually look pretty...alien. I tend to roll my eyes at the blues skies, white clouds and Earth-like plant life found on far too many Trekkian worlds. This is definitely one of the better season two episodes, and I agree with your rating.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Robert Picardo is such an amazing actor. Whenever I watch "Life Line", it's easy for me to forget that he really *is* playing both of these characters. And as you mentioned, the visual effects are excellent and have held up well over the years. Plus it's always great to have Troi and Barclay in the mix.

I would love to give this episode a perfect 4-star rating, but I can't say that I enjoy it *quite* as much as other Voyager masterpieces like "Caretaker", "Before and After", "Year of Hell", "Timeless", "Someone to Watch Over Me", "Muse" or "Body and Soul", so I agree with your 3.5-star rating.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 2:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

This review? Made me laugh *hysterically*. And it's certainly the seasoned MSTie in me speaking, but I...have got...to see this episode! :-p
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Since Seven had her hands full with the other children + her normal duties, maybe Joe Carey offered to care for the Borg Baby. Off-screen, of course. ;-)

I'd give "The Haunting of Deck Twelve" a two-star rating, according to your system. Definite filler. But I can't say that it bored me, either. Plus it was great to see Celes again, even if she didn't get to do anything. It was also nice of the writers to remind us that Deuterium supplies are still a concern, and that Vorik still exists.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I've always loved Kes. Which is precisely why "Fury" is *this* close to being unwatchable. Kes returning? Great idea. Coming dangerously close to character assassination? Not so much.

Seriously, how did this script even make it to production? Here we have the return of an original cast member who's character left to experience a higher form of existence, and never got a chance to say goodbye to many of her friends, but sorry...we simply won't have time to follow-up any of that, with the Vidiians and all. What a wasted opportunity.

"Fury" is unbelievable. And I mean that in the literal sense. I'd like to know how Kes managed to forget (in *both* timelines, no less) that she was the one who felt compelled to leave the ship...and that Janeway was the one who practically pleaded with her to stay.

Continuity quibbles: It mildly annoys me when they get most of the little details right in these time travel shows, but overlook others. In this case, they got Janeway & Torres' old hairdos right, but didn't give Chakotay an appropriate haircut. Also, the fluid in the warp core was colored differently during the first season.
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

This is one of my all-time favorite Voyager episodes. It gets a near-perfect 3.5 star rating in my book. I find it to be a very affecting episode and it's been known to bring tears to my eyes.

You know, I think there was enough material here for a two-part episode...albeit, a pretty quiet and unconventional one. I would've loved to have seen some of the Doctor's life in this alien culture. Although, they may not have had a big enough budget to pull this off...so our imaginations do just fine.

Plausibility quibble: Early in the episode, as one of the aliens is witting a letter to the Sky Ship, we have a good enough view of the letter to see that he's clearly writing it in English. Whatever. Who is in charge of these things?
Set Bookmark
Immanuel
Sat, Sep 15, 2007, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

The Hirogen were always portrayed as a nomadic species. So it isn't hard for me to believe that they spread themselves throughout the quadrant. And assuming different hunting parties sometimes communicate with each other, all they'd have to do is transmit the specs. of the holodeck technology...gradually "passing along" the information in this manner. Just a theory.

I agree with your 3.5 star rating here. This episode also features one of the favorite Voyager teasers. :-)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.