Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Mon, May 7, 2012, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Hmm
When I was watching “Valiant”, all I could think of was that the writers were creating a Star Trek parody and a dig at the ST fanfiction.
Think about it – a starship piloted by young adults (17-22). Star Trek has fans in all age groups, what is so special about these? Well, younger kids fantasize about serving on Enterprise, but they see themselves as adults there, having finished the Academy and with years of service behind them. Adults don’t really have such fantasies, and they are familiar with how a military is structured and operates, and have had experience making hard decisions. Now, the young adults, watching Star Trek, or playing ST videogames think: “If only I knew how to operate this technology, I could totally do this!” With an obedient crew, a good ship, some gamma torpedoes, and a clear shot, they would go against a Dominion flagship in a heartbeat.
Think of the pre-battle sequence, we have (as I remember) the only montage in DS9, all the cadets ready their weapons, pressing buttons, wearing game faces. Then, captain gives a speech that every film High School football captain gives to their team: “This is important. Nothing will ever be as important as this”. (The speech that is false).
Well, the writers tell us, fantasizers, what would happen – we’d all get killed. Horribly. Pointless.
You see, Starfleet personnel are adults. Not SciFi nerds. Sisco WORKS in Starfleet; he knows what he is doing – just like any other professional. So, please don’t think that you are so great, you can just take command and be the most awesome captain ever (“The greatest story of the Dominion War”).

Now, I didn’t draw parallels to the latest Star Trek film before I read the comments above. But, apparently, writers of that film had different ideas on how the cadets-running-the-spaceship situation will turn out. And I loved that film too! Watched in twice. You know why? Because I am a young adult as well.
Set Bookmark
Ilya Landa
Tue, Feb 7, 2012, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

@Trekkie98
Correct. No controllable time travel for another 1000 years. Unless you really need to; then just warp around a star and be where you need to be.
Ok. I know that "Star Trek: Save the Whales" is not considered a technical cannon, but it would be nice to have O'Brien discuss the possibility with Kira.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Fri, Feb 3, 2012, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Here's a question - why are these people willing to stay on the planet? They've spent who knows how many years as ghosts, for maybe a year in their bodies. They are all over food, and Deral, for one, looked ready to drag the first person he saw into bed; Jadzia just happened to be sitting next to him at the wrong moment.
So, why go back? They have Defiant in orbit. They can go where ever they want. They can see if their own civilization is still around, found a new colony, or just go their own ways. They are not stranded anymore.

And, oh, as the TNG episode where Riker and Crusher killed a room full of unborn clones pointed out: You Can't Maintain a Civilization With 50 People!




(unless they are aliens)
Set Bookmark
Ilya Landa
Sun, Dec 4, 2011, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: The Banks of the Lethe

First – to address your review, I did not find acting so wooden here as to detract from the episode. Now – what I want to talk about: the plot is a mess.

The episode opens and, whoa, did I somehow miss an episode? Andromeda spent the beginning of the season looking for supplies (which doesn’t seem to be an issue now that they fuel from start and nanobots seem to be able not only to repair, but to create new equipment – Andromeda’s full complement of sensor drones), and Dylan spent the time listening to Tyr telling him how everyone is going to laugh at his idea of restoring the Commonwealth. But the episode opens and Andromeda is accommodating a high-level group from a science-driven civilization, who, by the way, think that this Commonwealth thing sounds great and, sure, they’ll sign the charter.

Now, for the time-travel on the cheap: Dylan sends a message into the Black Hole. I expected Sara to receive the message after failing to rescue Andromeda. Instead, Sara receives the message right away. How? Is Dylan sending message to that exact point or is he transmitting throughout history? He didn’t know when Sara would be there, but if he is transmitting throughout history, how is Sara able to view the message continuously? And once Dylan realizes that Sara’s there, they just set up a stable channel.

Meanwhile, Chin-Faces with Harper’s help are able to finish development of a time-space teleporter, something Commonwealth wasn’t able to do throughout millennia of peace. And then Harper goes and sends a melon to himself in the past. What? After the future melon appears, Harper goes to place the present melon into the teleporter to send it into the past. What if he hadn’t put in the date correctly? What if he didn’t put in the melon at all? Was he even able to not put the melon there? Did the future melon appearing in the present lock the universe into Harper sending the melon into the past? If it didn’t, could’ve Harper sent some money to him into the past and then not send it, ending up with twice as much money? But even with what is shown, possibilities are huge. Can they send all Andromeda’s guns into the past after the battle and end up with twice the firepower for the said battle? Unfortunately, I won’t be surprised if none of this tech is ever used again since it requires a black hole to function.

Finally, Dylan goes to bring Sara from the past, but it doesn’t work. Why? I could accept an explanation that the timeline is prohibiting it. However, the explanation is that they don’t have enough bandwidth. So, in the episode where they play fast an loose with time and space, they are stopped by a mundane technical problem. Well, solve it! Send a bigger pattern enhancer into the past. Technobabble it away somehow! Also, Sara says that they can’t free Andromeda because they are all out of Gravity Drones. Well, why not send some from the future? No Gravity Drones on board of (future) Andromeda, just fly away, buy some, come back, and send them back into the same point in time.

Or, even better – send a slipstream fighter 302 years into the past with a warning about the Nitchean invasion and save the original Commonwealth. But that’s just it – the episode gives so much capability to the Andromeda crew, granting them almost god-like powers, but fails to use them to use them to any meaningful extent.

However, on a more personal note, I wish Dylan would’ve stayed in the past with Sara. It has been shown many times that she means the world to him. But I guess he now has to go back to the love-struck ship (when he asked Andromeda if she felt him touching her, I got a strong impression that she wanted to say that she did), and Miss Valentine (unless she is into cooking).
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Wed, Jul 13, 2011, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

Let me guess, Gaeta will get off scot free.
To say that this show doesn't punish villains would be an understatement. No individual antagonist has been punished on-screen unless he had repented just before.
The disgusting scum that was Admiral Cain (even with her own movie I will not see her as anything else) was killed only after she refused to kill Adama. Leoben got his faith crushing revelation only after he became buddy-buddy with Starbuck.
Caprica 6 is considered a protagonist now, and is expecting a Cylon Savior.
Even with the Resurrection Hub destroyed, we don't see a reaction from the non-rebel Cylons.
So, no. Whatever Adama says about "reckoning", Gaeta will not be killed as a villain, regardless of how many people dies in his coup. I'm thinking, he'll trade the ship for his life.
P.S.
And no one is touching Zarek.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Sat, Jul 9, 2011, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

Great review as always.

Still, the Elosha, be she a ghost or just Roslin's subconscious, feel contrived to me. True, Roslin had been needing a kick in her Royal behind for a long time, but having it delivered by a sudden mythical epiphany feel like a cop-out. Jammer, I am surprised you approve of it while you criticized D'Anna learning about Hera from a prophet, and Baltar learning about the Algae planet from a Hybrid.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Fri, Jul 1, 2011, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

I never liked Cally, her mousy face, her impulsiveness. And I really hated her for killing Boomer (which let to the end Cylons' Plan #1 and launched Plans #2 and #3).
Still, over the last 2 seasons, writers made us like Cally somewhat more. And, she really didn't deserve to die this episode. But, I guess, with the entire human race wiped out "deserve" doesn't mean much.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Sun, Jun 26, 2011, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Nope. Cain is still 100% villain; even with all her excuses and reasons.

She is also nuts. "Survive!", "Avenge!"; yeah, good job loosing 1/3 of your crew and murdering your XO over surviving a skirmish with an opponent that was immortal, had almost unlimited resources, and no considerable opposition.

Still,
- Frack you!
- You are not my type.
Awesome. I wonder if the writers knew back then?
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Sat, Jun 25, 2011, 2:09am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Now here’s an idea:
What if Hallucination is the final Cylon?
Baltar is hallucinating Caprica, Caprica is hallucinating Baltar. The effect is the same, but Baltar is, probably, not a Cylon. The Hallucination is caused by an external force affecting both of them.
The hallucinations have the same personality – insightful, enigmatic, seductive, arrogant. H. Caprica is not really pro-Cylon, as H. Baltar is not pro-human. Instead, they kept both sides on the road to Earth. Baltar’s little nuclear beacon on New Caprica, for example, took a season and a half to set up; and, on a smaller scale, a successful attack on a Cylon refinery prevented humans from getting a “game over” early on.
What is both Hallucinations is the same person/force? And what does H. Caprica has to hay for her-self? That she is an Angel, and agent of God.
The last Cylon has been right in front of us from the very beginning, screaming his nature at the viewers! And we just ignored her. Not a single comment on this page mentioned her.

Well, we’ll just have to see. I was wrong before – I was sure Cane was a Cylon, and she turned out to be just a lucky crazy bitch.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Wed, Jun 22, 2011, 11:00am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

I am completely appalled by Adama's reaction. Does he think he is leading an army? A real fleet? Fleet is made up of soldiers who volunteered to be there. Who signed up for this.
What Adama and Roslin are actually leading is the entire human society.
True, he flipped out when Tyrol put the deck crew on strike, but it was about the refinery strike as well.
And if he starts calling any dissent "mutiny", he'll truly become a tyrant he is nominally trying not to be.
"Will anyone lead this fleet whose last name is not Adama?" indeed.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Sun, Jun 19, 2011, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

This episode wouldv'e had a bigger impact had Sagutarians been established as outcasts throughout the series. Instead, we have each character deliver a line how he's ALWAYS hated Sagutarians.
The conflict is intentionaly set up to pit the audience against Sagutarians. In a show where technology is the only thing standing between humanity and destruction (corded phones technology, not AI technoology, of cause) you don't just refuse medication because your rreligion tells you to.
Sharon Athena scene is very interesting. I didn't expect Sharon to openly admit that she enjoys having a group of people almost as hated as Cylons. But, I guess it's just human nature.
It was nice to see Baltar Halucinaiton again. I was worried that he won't be showing up again. Too bad we don't hate Caprica 6 anymore, so we won't enjoy her being tormented again. Also, why IS she on Galactica? Did she believe in human mercy over Cylon's? Oh well, knowing this show, she'll just end up living with Baltar on a farm somewhere happily ever after.
Set Bookmark
Ilya
Thu, Jun 2, 2011, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Wow. What an awesome episode. Not only BSG is back to its story-driven show, but events of this episode throw a lot of things viewers thought about the plot into question.

So, Baltar is a Cylon! ... No, he is not, he is a Hallucination, akin to Galactica Six. Why is he a Hallucination? Are Balter and Caprica Six just imagining seeing each other? Well, Galactica Six seemed to have insights into incidents with Olympic Carrier and Baltar's security photo, that Baltar could not have known. Were those coincidences? Inconsistent writing? I hope not. On the other hand, Galactica Six did not know that "her" baby was still alive, which is a pretty big omniscience fail on her part.

On a personal level, it was so rewarding seeing Caprica Six tormented by Baltar. With "her" being a major villain for the entire show so far, it was REALLY nice to see her reduced to a shaking, neurotic mess, like what she did to Galactica Baltar.

Seeing "real" Sharon again was nice. She also gets the most emotionally poignant line in the episode "I shot a man I love, and fracked up life of another one".

Well, let's see how Six's and Sharon's "We are alive" revolution plays out. Too bad, next 2 episodes are rated as only 3 stars.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.