Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 245 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

"What CBS News calls a fake news site is irrelevant. It's up to the news consumer to judge. Personally, this article is the first time I've even heard of the news site in question -- I came across the article through social media where somebody I trust shared it."

Except it kind of is. CBS news has a high factual reporting. What a reputable news source said about a fake one is absolutely relevant. And perhaps you shouldn't trust them if they use psuedoscience and conspiracy theory-spreading websites such as Yournewswire.

"I think what CBS News is doing is identifying sites which have maybe once or twice got something wrong - and calling it "fake news". I couldn't give a rat's ass what CBS's motivations are. In this case, what is more important is if the news on the site YourNewsWire.com is decent journalism or not. In this case, regarding nixing the theory of evolution, I think it is -- that is if you even bothered to check out the story and the links/sources."

A "news source" that blatantly lies is not trustworthy. If they could lie once, they could lie again. And, in fact, they have.

I read it. I don't see five hundred trustworthy scientists. I see a few. Like Elliott said, that's not real journalism. Yournewswire.com is known for spreading pseudoscience and conspiracy theories.

Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Rahul-

https://www.cbsnews.com/pictures/dont-get-fooled-by-these-fake-news-sites/5/
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Rahul-

You realize that's a fake news website right?
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

@Elliott-I agree 100%.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

"Back to the cave set, and we see Odo being observed from the shadows. The contact (a masterful Joseph Ruskin), who has “changed his appearance,” keeps Odo at a distance for their little chat. While the contact has no useful information about Garak per sae, he does tell the constable that the crime he's investigating pertains to a much larger mystery. Cloaked Romulan ships, communications and troops have been noticed near the Cardassian border. An invasion? Maybe. But unlikely. We also learn that five additional former OO agents died while Garak and Bashir discussed the Rubicon. The contact considers his debt to Odo repaid by this information."

That scene may be my favorite in the episode. Aside from that terrible cave set that goes back to "The Enemy" (or further, I can't remember), it's a gripping scene that expands the scope of the show. It also makes total sense for Odo's character-of course he would have contacts on Cardassia.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

"We're all nerds here :)"

We are spending a portion of our limited lifespan an online Star Trek review site.....
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

@Peter G-

Even if a stereotype about a group is largely true, that doesn't make prejudice justified. Especially, because, as you say, DS9 made the Ferengi much more interesting than TNG, which reveled in the two-dimensional portrayal of alien races.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

@Elliott-

I agree that Sisko was being un-necessarily harsh on Nog. But ultimately, he was testing Nog's resolve to join Starfleet, making sure it wasn't just a con. Contrary to what Sisko protests, he is shown to be a bit prejudiced against Ferengi. He didn't want Jake associating with him at first.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

"The B plot is abhorrent. I hate the acting. I hate the premise. I hate the conclusion. It is sitcom drivel at best and offensive “bros before hoes” schlock at worst. Chuck it in the dumpster."

Bingo. Would you say that this is the worst b-plot in the show so far? I might actually say that it is. I can't think of a single thing that works about it, not a single redeeming moment.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

@Elliott-

Ah, I see. Thanks for clearing it up. The reason I don't see that as a problem is that the economy of the Star Trek franchise doesn't really make coherent sense, nor has the franchise ever truly explored how humanity got from World War 3 to the future depicted in "Enterprise" and "The Original Series". I don't think it would have worked to tie the drama into that when it's so vague. "The Next Generation" established that humanity doesn't need money, but how then do they pay for drinks in Quark's bar? On paper, it appears to be communist, since there's no money, but it's post-scarcity, so it's something completely different. My interpretation was always that the thing standing between us and "Star Trek"'s future is human nature, not varying economic systems.

But I do see your point about them not really coming up with a solution to the problem. I just think it stems from them not really being sure how Trek's economy works or how humanity solved the problems in this episode-in reality, there is no easy fix (imho).
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

@Elliott,

Just out of curiosity, may I ask you what your personal ideology is? Are you against a market economy in all forms (/in favor of a planned economy)? Or are you more of a social democrat? I'm not trying to be confrontational, I'm just curious what position you're critiquing this episode from.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Oct 2, 2018, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

"We don't think it is. It's a fact it is. It's a classic deus ex machina. Very lazy writing. Accept it."

But it isn't lazy writing. They could easily have had Rom and Kira succeed in disabling the station's weapon systems. They chose to have the prophets intervene.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Doctor953,

They had to stay to repair the Defiant, which was damaged by the anomaly. When you say "in orbit", I assume you mean "on the planet"?
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sun, Sep 30, 2018, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

I also don't want to cause any more trouble-just wanted to counter wolfstar: Elliott's not a troll in my opinion. Even though I completely and utterly disagree with him about DS9, he gives reasons for his opinions, and responds to all comments regarding his thoughts. Though he does seem to take joy in bashing DS9 which is quite popular on this site, that just makes him a good ol contrarian, not a troll. I can empathize with him-how he feels on here is basically how I feel every time shows like "Game of Thrones" and "The Leftovers" come up.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

Upon re-examination, I will say 3 stars for the two-parter as a whole. I remember them being great, but like a lot of Season 5, it was just 'pretty good' on re-watch. On first watch this two-parter is riveting, and this episode resolves the previous episode's threads well, but in retrospect, you get the sense that this is all table-setting for superior future episodes.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Season Recap

@Elliott-We rated Season 2 about the same-a decent start, a horrible middle, and a solid ending. The season developed its characters pretty well, but man, the weak 'hard' sci-fi really killed the middle of the season.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

I don't think he is, Robert.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

"A Simple Investigation" isn't a bad romance episode-not at all actually. There is some chemistry between the two actors that makes it watchable. But that's hardly a ringing endorsement either-though the episode doesn't make any major mistakes, it never comes close to greatness either.


2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@Elliott

"Anyway, the episode closes out with a return to Keiko/Miles stuff from before—they're still going on holiday, but see, Keiko got what she wanted because Miles can't read his reports or take pictures. Lol, he got his tooth ripped out, beaten and psychologically tortured. Cue that studio audience and roll credits!"

Yeah, I came to despise Keiko-this might have been the beginning of it. I'm so glad that they got rid of her in "The House of Quark". Nothing about the relationship feels earned. It's too bad that the DS9 writers were stuck with her, and couldn't write Miles a new love interest.

I also agree with you on this episode-it's really effective at times, but you get the feeling that it could have been better had they stuck with a specific tone.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Season 6 continues its return to form, with a wonderfully written and mesmerizing episode. The way "Waltz" examines Gul Dukat's character makes a lot of sense to me-he's evil at his core, even while he may be charming at times. He was responsible for the deaths of millions. End of discussion. The writing and acting were also top notch in this episode. There's hardly a dull scene in it, and Alaimo and Brooks completely drew me into it. With a slightly re-written ending, this would've been the perfect ending for Gul Dukat-the fight at the end was superfluous. Overall though, I think "Waltz" has enough true brilliance in it to completely overwhelm the ending.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

"You know it's funny you mention it, because I have been rewatching B5 on DVD and I feel it has aged exceptionally well.

"JMS is not a great director and at times the writing could be clunky, but I love the characters today as much as I did back then. Londo and G'Kar are two of my favourite characters in all of scifi."

I don't really agree, but I guess it's a matter of taste. B5 had some characters I enjoyed, but none anywhere near the level of most of DS9's.

"You know what's really funny? Even the effects seems better today than they were back when I first watched the show. Back when it first aired I thought the CGI looked cheap - like something out of a PC game (Starcon II comes to mind). But now I have a greater appreciation for the effects and ship designs, from the humble Starfury to Vorlon and Shadow battleships and the lovely White Stars. I'd watch a B5 space battle any day over the equivalent in Voyager or even DS9."

Again, I can't really agree. It might not be fair to compare, because DS9's budget was much higher, but B5's battles felt like cartoons to me. They feel dated by 90s standards-almost like something out of 80s Doctor Who or 60s Star Trek.

"Which reminds me, you know what hasn't aged that well for me? DS9. I loved it when I first watched it, and I still love it today, but to me it's faded alot in retrospect. I will have to give somwme thought to why that is, but things I didn't mind back then (alot of tedious romantic subplots, the Ferenghi, Jadzia...) grate on me more."

It's funny you say that. For me, one of the reasons I love DS9 so much is because it almost feels like a show out of time. Nothing about it really screams '90s' to me. It addresses issues that became *much* more relevant in the years following the end of its broadcast in "The Way of the Warrior", "Homefront", "Paradise Lost", and "Inquisition". It also seemed to be fascinated with the Original Star Trek and 50s/60s culture in episodes like "Blood Oath", "Trials and Tribble-ations", "Our Man Bashir", and "Far Beyond the Stars. (Credit to Darren Mooney for this again-check out of article "DS9-the most timeless of the Star Treks". Highly recommended.) B5 feels incredibly dated to me-a 70s or 80s show that aired in the 90s.

Also, though DS9 was hit-or-miss with its humor, B5 was consistently awful. It wasn't funny-it was cringe-worthy. I wish I could excise "Soul Mates" from my mind.


Personally, I feel the fundamentals of tv shows are more important than a carefully planned story arc. And I feel the fundamentals of DS9 are much stronger. B5 has the better arc, no doubt about it, but without strong acting, writing (on an episode-by-episode basis), or directing to back it up, it fell flat a lot of the time for me.

But hey, to each his own.


Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

When DS9 does fluff episodes, for me, they have to be exceptionally written. "The Magnificent Ferengi" is one such episode. Even on repeat viewings, even if I don't laugh out loud anymore, I still find it to be exceptionally entertaining. The real star may be Jeffery Combs (no surprise). "A child, a moron, a failure, and a psychopath. Quite a little *team* you've put together here." But it's great to get an episode where the Ferengi are genuine heroes as well.

3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

After reading some of the other comments, I realize 2 stars might actually be a bit low. The main conflict in this episode worked better than I initially thought.

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sun, Aug 26, 2018, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

"Statistical Probabilities" is a good episode that stops just shy of greatness for me. It's incredibly compelling when it focuses on the right things-the Bashir/O'Brien feud over megalomania, Sisko's uncompromising attitude even in the face of seeming defeat, and the idea of war as a numbers game. I also thought Bashir's explanation at the ending was the perfect refutation to Jack's argument-if one person could undo his plan, how could they trust anything he said? Unfortunately, the other members of Jack's group are too broadly drawn and cliché to be really effective. Not to mention several times the episode felt rushed, with a couple contrivances.
1-The fact that Starfleet would just hand over classified information to unstable individuals doesn't ring true.
2-Bashir's talking down of Sarina happened far too quickly. Just a couple minutes worth of conversation, and the climax of the episode was over.

3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sun, Aug 26, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I don't really get the praise heaped on this episode by Jammer. It's a passable sci-fi mystery episode, but the fact that it's placed on the shoulders of the severely underwritten Beverly Crusher hurts it quite a bit. The 'O'Brien must suffer episodes' generally succeeded because of how well written, acted, and conceived the character of O'Brien was. Beverly Crusher is none of those things. "Frame of Mind" also worked much, much better. And of course, the resolution was nonsense.

2.5 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.