Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 592 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 24
Set Bookmark
Icelandic Alliance
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

How could the pheromones have affected Barb if she and Boimler had never met in person before?
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

On rewatch, hard to stay too engaged while watching. Nothing really negative to say other than that it is basically scaffolding for some good though unnecessary bits. I'm watching the credits now, and I actually really like this reworked version of the theme song. This is oddly my favorite part of the Plan now.

2.5 seems right, though on the lower end.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Some comments on the series as a whole on rewatch:

-Tricia Helfer really is a good actress, and it only took the writers until seeing her work in Pegasus to open up the opportunities she got in seasons 3 and 4

-BSG has always been my favorite show, but it was even better than I remembered. Watching it as it aired I think let me develop a lot of expectations and fears around being let down and such. Issues like the reduction of cylon/hybrid babies, for example, were a bigger issue for me at the time. And really, those bumps really aren't big deals if you take the pressure I placed as a rabid viewer off

-I've regarded season 4 as the best, but in my mind it was like 4.0 was perfect and 4.5 had a lot of amazing but also issues and grinding gears. On rewatch, perhaps 4.0 is better simply because its floor episode-quality was higher, but 4.5 probably has even more high points, a lot of beauty and poignancy in its few episodes, and (as mentioned) issues like the children or not enough aftermath from the mutiny really didn't bother me the way I feared they might.

-I'd rank seasons: 4,1,2,3 I suppose. Season three is hard to rank because the opening and closing arcs are possibly the high points of the show, and new caprica reverberates throughout in ways that elevate lesser episodes. But the middle goes so long without a standout, has a few clunkers, and even the good episodes have some issue or other.

My thoughts on the best episodes:

1. Tie: Crossroads and Sometimes a Great Notion
3. Maelstrom
4. Occupation/Precipice
5. Kobol's Last Gleaming
6. Revelations
7. Pegasus
8. Exodus part 2
9. 33
10. The Oath? Downloaded? Daybreak? Coming to Dinner? Home?
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Nice to have a rewatch buddy!

Just finished Daybreak all in one go. It's really quite beautiful and I think its best moments are the ones it takes for characters and imagery over plot. Watched as a whole, part 1 is a seamlessly satisfying part of the whole.

I do have to admit racetrack's hand of god nuking was a bit much, and unnecessary. Similarly, Gaius sayinf at least twice that clearly there is a "god" whatever that is--- I believe that is true for this universe, and I believe Baltar has come to believe, yet somehow it came across a bit like Moore trying to speak to the audience. Not needed.

Finally, as much as I have tried to get on board with it in the past, I cannot buy the decision (especially so swift and easy) to settle earth in the way they do. It's to the episode's credit that this last issue doesn't actually hurt it as much as it could. The series as plot is over once they jump to earth, and for me the rest is just providing a setting for goodbyes and nice character moments. A setting where the images of hope and life matter more than the logic. And the quick decision is itself a thorn in my side watching, that speed lets us have 2 full acts to make various goodbyes with the time they deserve. By the end of the episode, I no longer care about that thorny issue, and I'm just really satisfied with the character endings it provided.

I also like the flashbacks more each time I watch.

And that flash forward to present and All Along the Watchtower robotics montage is the perfect way to end the show.

3.5 for the whole, but a rating for a single 3 hour episode that serves as the finale is hard to do. In a lot of ways this is 4 stars and among the very best of battlestar. It's just difficult to maintain that for 3 continuous hours, and when *everything* must be addressed and you can't funnel off the clunkier bits to lesser episodes (see Deadlock).

I love the way the finale leaves me feeling, and leaves me feeling about characters and the show in particular.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Like Matthew Martin, I've been rewatching during the pandemic (I've stretched it over 4 weeks though!) and I would echo his entire post

For me this is a really strong 3 star episode, and I'd give the other half star to the Oath.

Boomer is an endlessly fascinating character each time we catch up with her. She is torn apart by feelings of betrayal by the Cylons (for discovering she IS a cylon) and by the humans (for killing her etc). She copes by trying to cling being human (Downloaded) or by going hard on loyalty with the old
line Cavil group after none of that works (like with New Caprica). Here at the end, she's still convulsing across all these loyalties and betrayals outside and within herself. She's really quite broken, and I have appreciated the mess in contrast to Athena or the Final Five in reconcling (with effort and struggle) who they are. Not everyone in every situation can.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

On rewatch, I like this episode a lot more than I remembered. I had built it up in my head as the one (though huge) flaw in the fourth season. In retrospect, the biggest issue was my expectations.

I actually really like the characterization of Ellen in this episode now. I see more nuance as she struggles (failingly) to be the Revered Final Fiver of No Exit despite circumstances triggering all the Ellen defects of character. To me, it's a great expression of how human and fallible these revered ones are. And I like the circumstances of Ellen's life can produce versions of her from early on in the show as well as the new Ellen with all her experience and memories-- and yet all parts are in her, waiting to be triggered under the issues of love and Saul that really get her. She can handle all the loss and Cavil's actions in about the best way possible, but when it comes to this one ever-trouble area, it all flares up (even as she tries to maintain the exterior). I also like that when Ellen votes to go with the Cylons and that pure cylon is the way to go, she is doing it for the "petty and vile" "human" defects---Saul is right that human or cylon alone is no good, and together is better and they can temper each other.

I also liked Baltar's story and the rest of the episode fine.

I don't know that the loss of the baby now reads as an appropriate development, but I don't have any objections to it now. A little distance from my expectations at the time, and kind of 180 on my reaction to Ellen this episode... and I do like this episode lot more.

Not to say the episode is entirely successful or without issues. 2.5 I think. Definitely better than Black Market, Passage, Day in the Life, and Hero (setting aside Tigh's scenes there).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

3.5 from me. Yeah, it doesn't have the space to address all the fallout and remaining mess. Yes, that is a bit of a mark against the season. But the episode itself is really strong. I can buy that this all exploded suddenly and, to an extend, ends as quickly as it came (all in a matter of hours) and that a lot of traitors were swept up before realizing the real consequences and mess of it all (like Kelly).

I am behind Zarek shooting the Quorom. It's in him and he's been constantly frustrated with Gaeta not just killing Adama immediately (even in part 1) and the dangers in letting those of the former authority remain. Also, I think there is a distinction between the Quorom and the People-- I don't see an issue with Tom killing them and still fighting to persuade the people. Indeed, they are part of the old regime and seem to remain loyal there. Let the people have new representatives who stand for them rather than Roslin. Not a smart move, but one that I think makes sense for Zarek as he digs himself deeper to dig himself out.

And Roslin yelling. Amazing.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

On rewatch, I'd give this 4 stars. Watching seasons 3 and 4 knowing where Gaeta winds up here has made it seem
incredibly inevitable-- some serious steady character work and fulfillment here. I also loved the touch of Gaeta sitting down and frakkin with starbuck in the mess hall like she did in Collaborators. Both stained and untrusted outsiders at the time.

I always smile and chuckle when Roslin says "Frakking Zarek- he always had dangerous ideas!" I mean, yes...
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

I don't know if this is 2.5 or 3 stars for me, but I know I always like it and appreciate the breathing room to linger on some of the things Jammer notes as issues. In my mind it's a bit like Final Cut-- I always enjoy it, there are some really good moments, nothing really bad. But don't have to go to the mat for it either.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

On rewatch, the Romo confrontation still makes me groan but the rest is good. I really like that when Adama handed things over to Tigh, he told Tigh to let Athena have her daughter back. He's done with the bullshit separating people from their sine qua nons.
Set Bookmark
Cicero
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

I agree that the action sequences on ENT are overdone and often pointless (as it is in this episode), but I think the 9 days / 10 days silliness is not that far from actual silly reasons for religious schisms.

The Shia-Sunni schism started when the followers of Muhammad disagreed on who should succeed him: his cousin Ali or his best friend Abu Bahkr. They diverged in other ways since, but that's the root of it all.

The Catholic-Orthodox schism started in a silly fashion as well. And what of the Protestant or Anglican ones? Just because Henry VIII wanted a divorce, a bloody conflict was initiated.

I think it's important to show the danger of fundamentalism, and I really enjoyed the scenes were T'Pol and Archer verbally clashed with D'Jamat.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

On rewatch, very enjoyable and solid. I didn't find the redundant nature to be a negative, because to me that was just scaffolding for seeing characters to make choices that are fleshed out here. I watched the extended version, which has longer segments flashing back to the first war-- this created some difficulty in keeping the emphasis on Cain and Pegasus (by the end, it felt like it wasn't really the main story at all-- which is ok, because all the other material
was good) and the time switching could be a little disruptive. Actually, taking the pressure off of this as The Pegasus/Cain Story and giving more material to the interesting present day (and first cylon war bit with Adama) was kind of a good thing-- I didn't feel like I needed more from Pegasus/Cain. Also, removing pressure of being the only content btwn seasons 3 and 4 and rewatching this as just a kind of Bonus... well, it helped too.

Strong 3.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Lol evidently I made almost the exact same comment 12 years ago...
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

The whole episode is amazing, but the final act is start to finish the most exciting chunk of television I have ever seen.

Saul Tigh becomes my favorite character from now til the end of the show (and he was so good all season).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Also, I saw the quick changes of mind by Roslin and Adama as essentially they agreed with Tyrol’s points, but they could not give credence to strike as legitimate. So once they got him to back down first, get that token win, they proceeded to address the issues like the rational people they are.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

On rewatch I *really* liked this episode and the ending with seelix really moved it. I remembered thinking it was good but that Adama acted in a way at the end that I didn’t totally buy. But this time, I had no issue. It struck me very clearly that Adama was making an aggressive bluff and Tyrol had no desire to call it (in part because it was so unexpected and convincing). I liked that Roslin could be very firm and rigid in some places (as with Adama, she knows this is a can of worms that cannot be even slightly legitimized) but where there was room and it was a conversation without extortion/strike (the conversations about inheriting jobs, and again at the end) she met Tyrol’s POV genuinely. A lesser episode would have kept her hardline throughout.

3 stars feels right, but a strong 3. First episode in a while that really felt like it was firing on all cylinders in all aspects (even other midseason stronger episodes had some weaknesses).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Forgettable episode with some cringey moments and also some really good ones— which I had forgotten about and enjoyed anew! It’s not actually the “worst episode in the show” that I thought it was— it just shares that black market, and maybe the passage And deadlock. The episode annoys me more than black market, but it also has some wonderful moments that black market did not (adama roslin, helo moving away from hot dog and his rash)
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 29, 2020, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

Front of the line as far as 2.5 star filler/breather/bottle shows go. I enjoyed the rewatch better than when it aired, and I appreciate the simple and clear focus on the main storyline—- it isn’t overbaked, it doesn’t do anything particularly wrong, and it is kind of refreshing to focus on Helo. No retroactive backstory. But, some things could use a bit of nuance, and the heightened prejudice against sagitarrons seemed a little excessive based on what we have seen so far.

Like Jammer, I do really like how Helo’s predicament is very much the result of choices he has made. Ultimately, nothing really wrong here—- it’s just not quite what I watch battlestar for, and easily forgettable in a pleasant way. It’s the only episode on this current rewath where I went into it completely forgetting what happens, other than “helo gets on a mission with civilians on galactica.”— and I have seen the episode at least twice previously,
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, May 27, 2020, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

2 stars seems right.

One point that just made me roll my eyes was Starbuck suggesting Kat may have unwittingly helped cylons get to the colonies. After Hero, where I didn't care for the retroactive attempt to saddle Adama with guilt for a possible role in the cylon attack, I just want to shout at the writes "STOP TRYING TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN". Retroactive guilt ties to this big event that is a lot of plot behind us. Unnecessary, don't believe it, don't appreciate it.

I'd probably be more okay with it in this episode of Hero hadn't just made a big deal about it. It's left more in a gray area of "how can you be sure you didn't" and the stakes involved were less. But it still felt so manufactured (her whole backstory did).

Other quibble: these people sure are getting fucked up from radiation with no lasting consequences.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 26, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Doing my rewatch I opted for the extended version. I think it's just a good 3 star episode and I wound up having much less of positive/negative mixed response than I
expected. Just some good shit.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 26, 2020, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Mostly well executed but way too many things I just don't
buy. Don't need a valkyrie retcon, or anything to suggest Six's arrival on the armistice station wasn't the first word from the cylons, or the premise that the cylons would decide now of all time to release bulldog with confidence he would start some shit. Or adama resigning. But apart from those big issues, the individual scenes are well done and the Tigh and D'anna stuff I really like. Overall, I enjoyed it more on rewatch than I thought I would-- if I just accept it as not actually canon and lift it right out, it's fine. 2.5 stars sounds good to me-- credit to BSG for having quality elsewhere (subplots, actors, direction, etc) that makes the main story easier to watch.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, May 25, 2020, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

For me, this episode didn't need to have the level
of certainty around their plan as they did. That's why all the issues Jammer points out stick in the craw-- MAYBE the plan could work and cause genocide. But maybe not-- maybe just a lot of death, or some, or not work at all. I think the episode's moral arguments would work just as well in the realm of "this could possibly be a total genocide, and even if not could be a brutal tortuous death for many". It didn't need to be as total, and as problematic in the details, as it manifests in this episode.

I am ok with Adama giving Helo a pass-- he had misgivings and I buy that he is ready to accept this as maybe the right call. And he's come to rely on Helo more, and Sharon has become his confidant... I also like it because it does dramatize the different experiences and impacts that two people equally as committed to fighting and rescuing the New Capricans have that result from being on the ground vs on galactica. Adama can still cling to his "have to be worthy of survival", while Roslin is way past that.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I'd give this 4 stars and prt 1 3. From a spectacle/action point of view, this is probably the best BSG offering for both the stakes involved, real losses, and execution.

But it's also incredibly powerful on an emotional and visceral level. Rewatching this, I think BSG brought tears to my eyes for the first time I can think of-- Tigh poisoning Ellen and then returning to the Galactica "not all of them". The nature of these stakes and losses and torments is so personal and profound with this whole arc.

Also, rewatching I picked up on a likely connection between two moments I always already liked: the extra twist of the knife Starbuck gives Leoben, and the moment she finds out her daughter is not hers-- It's a delayed-action twist of the knife by Leoben and I love how it just destroys her as the final twist after all she had been through and thought she was free from.

Beautiful, moving episode.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

Some issues for sure, but 3.5 star ep for me. Although that's really sold for me in the jump forward scenes. It's a bold choice, well done, and I have the same feeling I had back when it aired: spine tingling excitement and trust. That trust was proven right in what follows, but I can understand not being so sure initially and I get Jammer's more hesitant 3 star rating.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Rewatched on my series-rewatch. I have always thought this was a great 4-star episode, but it's easy to forget just how good when it doesn't have the big events of Pegasus or Kobol. It's a bit like 33-- just so well done, and rewatching it is a fresh reminder of what makes BSG so good and special.
Next ►Page 1 of 24
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.