Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 805 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Thu, Dec 5, 2019, 6:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Rewatching this in 2019 makes me hope the new show Picard will not fall victim to the same biggest two problems of ST:

1) Lack of plausible Federation security measures and combat skills (it would only be half as ridiculous if we were not constantly reminded of the quality of security teams and Academy combat training)

2) Using all their resources at hand to choose the most logical and easiest solution to a problem (instead of constantly forgetting they have better options in store).
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Wed, Dec 4, 2019, 5:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

The main plot lives off the idea that a 20th century guy/hippie can reconstruct 29th century technology superior to 24th century technology within the confines of the 20th SL century. Just by examining the ship, he (alone or with an invisible army of scientists), Over the course of 1-2 decades, can build transporter tech, force fields, scanning jammers, hack into Voyager from an Earth computer, etc. Why even the best of Starfleet's engineers in the 24th century need years of study to build on 24th century knowledge, this guy learns it all from a crashed 29th century 1-person ship.
Set Bookmark
Circusian
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

[yawns] Can someone call me when the trolling campaign stops?
Set Bookmark
zorblaxian
Wed, Nov 27, 2019, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

The Ansata are seriously underutilizing their tech. They can apparently defeat any physical security and reach any point on the planet, so why do they choose to attack only civilian or weak and marginal military targets until the Enterprise shows up? Why do they teleport humans and not just the bombs themselves? Why didn't they just teleport the bomb into the ship's antimatter storage (or just teleport a pile of bricks there and let physics do the rest?)
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Romantic comedy is so hard to do right, so everyone involved in this episode deserves extra plaudits for pulling it off so well. Most Trek stabs at romance fall flat, but DS9's "His Way" and this exploration of unrequited love by way of Pygmalion are quite special to this day.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Nah, the episode is fun. I do wish the crux of the story about Voyager being trapped and ultra-serious photonic aliens going to war wasn't so stilted and full of technobabble, but the rest of the proceedings are a blast. It's a joy to see the cast loosen up and get to play up the camp, and the love put into the production design is infectious. Give me Captain Proton cheese over season 3's Club Med or the offensive and cloying Fair Haven any day of the week.
Set Bookmark
Brian S
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 4:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

This episode makes me cringe so hard. From the hammed up awful acting of actors playing Watters, Shepard and especially Peldon, to the directorial choices of Vejar such as showing the console screens PROJECTING on to the cadet's faces (wtf) - I felt bad for all involved.
Every once in a while when I do a series rewatch, I approach this one thinking "ok it can't be THAT bad". Mistake.
Then I promise myself I'll never watch it again.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 8:13am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Accidentally or otherwise, this seems to be about the flamebaitiest episode of Star Trek. The Internet Tough Guys (tm) come out in force for this one! Which is fascinating in its own right, and not, I think, to the episode's credit.
Set Bookmark
Circusian
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Well, that sure contributed a lot! And responding to a ten month old post at that!
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Imagine there are two patients, both in need of a heart transplant to live. One of them has a lethal disease that will kill him in just a couple years. The other patient does not have the disease and will likely gain decades of quality life years with the new heart. There is only one heart available. Which patient should get it?

This episode initially asks us to judge the relative utility of saving a race that will eventually die out anyway, versus doing nothing. It then seamlessly transitions to asking us to consider the larger question of whether we should even be concerning ourselves with the first question in the first place. And I think that's where a lot of people fell off the train. The first question wasn't really answered. But the second question was. They decided not to answer the first question, because they couldn't. Not that time, not that place.

That non-answer is what really threw people off this episode. But I urge those of you in that category to reconsider. My enjoyment of this episode does not hinge on the decisions made. If it does for you, I suspect you are too close to the material, and not seeing the big picture. Take a few steps back and re-watch it. Try not caring whether they answer the question or not, and just enjoy watching them wrestle with it. It's the journey people, not the destination.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Disagree, I thought this was a good episode. Your vision for what "could have been" on Terra Nova, is definitely the more predictable scenario. I like how they didn't go that direction. They did something different, and, while it didn't succeed wildly, at least it made me sit up and think. The idea of an isolated colony of humans converted to subterranean life after a natural disaster is a good one. I would have liked to see a thriving and complex society down there too, it would be fun. But I think the more realistic scenario is the one we got. Humans completely isolated on a planet with few supplies and forced underground. Do you really think they would have come up with the type of underground society we saw in the caretaker, in just a couple generations? Those types of societies take thousands, maybe tens of thousands of years to evolve.

I do agree that the novans should have gotten better dialogue.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Really strange to focus on Ezri so much. I actually quite like her but shes being over used in this final season. Also Im sorry but I totally can't buy her acting turn as a "badass". We also simply haven't seen her on the show enough to care about an "alternate" version.

Really strange episode that dips into Discovery or Nemesis territory of badness.... simply on the basis of how lazy the writing became about hoping between the different universes. Its boring and lazy and starts to destroy the fabric of the setting and the show.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Wierd and boring episode. I actually quite like Ezri and I think its an interesting solution for Jadzia actress quitting. This backstory for her makes no sense though. Her whole character is that of someone overwhelmed with the depth of experience suddenly granted to her. To have her be the trust fund kid of a mining mega corporation makes no sense to me.

Also to make this a sequel to the really good Obriend film noir ep is just bizzare and the episode cant seem to figure out whether to focus on Ezri or OBriend. Also... it does a terrible job of being a sequel or making any sesne unless you remember the intricate details of the previous episode. The woman that was murdered in the episode doesnt even appear and its frankly strange OBrien cares to this degree about this woman when his own marriage is clearly on the rocks all the time.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 1:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

A standout episode for Aron Eisenberg who sadly has passed away. Rest in Peace.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

This two parter was garbage and this episode simply awful. I usually like Siskos Acting but he was dreadful in these two episodes.

DS9 also really strains credibility with their world building. So wait... Siskos dad just loves running a restaurant? I guess for no money. And he loves peeling potatoes? What? Im not following. I guess DS9 makes explicit that “real” food is better than Replicated food but..... I thought the whole point was that we don’t need to grow food in a post scarcity society. How many farmers are needed in this future? Are there factory farms? Or all small homegrown farms?


What was the point of the violent commercial cliffhanger of Sisko getting stabbed if they heal him in like two second after it happened?

I guess Sisko is both an awful son and father, dragging around his elderly dad in the desert?

Just wierd all around. Im glad the series has improved since this ep.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Watching the show for the first time in 2019, I was really starting to lose interest by the end of season 6 and the awful Star Wars wanna be two parter that started this season. Im glad theyve had a great run of episodes and diving back into the Dominion War in a less silly and more intelligent way.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 2:14am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Trip holding up the slice of white bread and asking "Have you tried this?" is one of my favourite moments in Star Trek.

Otherwise - yeah, fine but unremarkable. So, sure, two stars. Worth watching the white bread moment, though.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 2:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

>"Unfortunately, the allegory is too preachy and pretentious and fails to say anything except in the very broadest of terms."<

Sometimes, messages need to be preached, and sometimes the broadest of terms are required for it to be heard.

++++

>"Prejudice has many troubling shades of grey that this story fails to acknowledge."<

True point. But this was broadcast in an era where MLK had recently been assassinated and where only six weeks earlier Star Trek had aired the first interracial kiss on US television, to the dismay of some regional censors.

This episode was written for an audience that was still struggling with (and often against) the concept that "Segregation = Bad"

There are absolutely shades of gray to be explored....1969 was not the time or place for those. Hard to dive too deeply into nuance with an audience that barely understands or accepts the basics.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

Watching these episodes through streaming services in rapid succession is jarring....

KIRK: "Hey Bones, this indigenous woman and I just had some stones thrown at us. I'm a little banged up, but apparently none too worse for the wear. Stay with her. Do what you can."

*McCoy scans Miramanee, discovers she's carrying Kirk's child*

(30 Minutes later)

MCCOY: "She had bad internal injuries, Jim. "
KIRK: "Will she live? "
MCCOY: "No."
KIRK: "No? No?!? Wasn't it just 2 episodes ago where you successfully surgically reattached Spock's brain after it had been stolen from his skull?! And now you're telling me you can't heal a woman with a few internal injuries sustained from some rocks."
MCCOY: "Do you want to explain to Starfleet Command how a woman on an alien pre-warp pre-industrial civilization ended up birthing your child?"
KIRK: "I'll love you, Miramanee. Always."










MCCOY: I swear that's honeysuckle I smell.
KIRK: I swear that's a little orange blossom thrown in. It's unbelievable. Growth exactly like that of Earth on a planet half a galaxy away. What are the odds on such duplication?
SPOCK: Astronomical, Captain.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Okay - do you people not remember original series Vulcans? Who, for instance, use fights to the death to get out of arranged marriages? Paragons of logic and virtue they never were.

And, this was by far Travis' best episode. Perhaps the only time the actor correctly emoted the scene. Anyone wants to slag this episode over Travis' treatment, I got your Kal-if-fee right here.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Jeez, the number of people looking for any excuse to trash Enterprise episodes is staggering. Like, if you hate it that much, just don't watch.

The episode established very explicitly after sunrise the temperature was going to get to ~170 celsius. The Enterprise couldn't have beamed down water. It could've beamed down steam, but i ain't sure Trip would've liked it.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 8:36am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Opening the show with a harmonica solo when it already has the most hated theme song was a brave choice.

Otherwise ... very thing gruel, but better than I'd expected, given I'd seen Jammer gave it zero stars. It's only zero stars if your Star Trek scale goes from 4 stars (Tapestry, Far Beyond the Stars, Body & Soul, etc) to -4 stars (The Child, Code of Honor, Profit & Lace). Otherwise, it's worth a star.

And I thought Lakshmi's acting was on point for the role ... it's just the role being what it was.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Jeez, a lot of people criticising the writers for messing with Star Trek lore when they know little of Star Trek lore.

Vulcans aren't emotionless, they're probably the most intensely emotional humanoids around. They learn to suppress and control their emotions because they're essentially useless otherwise. Think, perhaps, of Picard's breakdown in Sarek - the vulcan emotions totally overwhelm a human who is usually in great control of himself. The kind of meditation, memory suppression, etc. seem exactly like vulcans as we've known then. Field of Fire also comes to mind on that front.
Set Bookmark
Briiian
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Not a bad ep but the execution was a littlw flat. My main issue is the woman who played Cusak I found impossibly needy and annoying. Especially when with bashir what I guess was supposed to be funny came off as Psycho.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

So, on the one hand, this episode ain't great. A few moments did work for me (I liked the chainsaw ritual, for instance, and did laugh at the makeout funeral), but overall there ain't much substance here.

On the other hand, the number of people who apparently watch every episode, reader Jammer's reviews of every episode, and need to comment about how every episode is the worst episode of Star Trek ever (math doesn't seem to check out there) is astonishing.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.