Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 933 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 38
Set Bookmark
brian
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

S03E01

Still more of the same. Most of the episode was a complete mess, full of pointless violence, overdone CGI creatures, and quippy "dialogue" between Burnham and Book. Oh, the future they landed in is a violent dystopia populated by selfish individuals who will do anything for a few credits? That's a big fucking surprise. The whole "guy sitting in office waiting for Burnham to show up" for 40 years felt fake. It had a few nice scenes, between Burnham and Book, that's it. Book is a great character but I wonder if we'll see him much.

The shaky cam is absolutely infuriating. It's like they're afraid if they hold the camera still for a moment, the audience will switch it off. They have no confidence in their product and it shows.

This is going to be like Picard all over again. The promise of "something different" which leads nowhere. It will be difficult watching all the desperate fans fawning over this until they can't lie to themselves anymore.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

the entire premise of the season doesn't make sense (surprise surprise).
As someone already put very succinctly, dilithium is simply a material (a crystal lattice) in the Trek universe that has physical properties that help anti-matter reactions proceed in an orderly fashion instead of blowing up everything.
Having it just "go boom" makes no sense unless they are invoking Q or something.
It just doesn't do that, and cannot do that within the lore.
It's the ultimate hand-waving solution allowing the show to hit the reset button, but they didn't think it through.
That tells you everything you need to know about these writers and showrunners.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Mon, Oct 12, 2020, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I enjoyed this episode. The only negative would have to be the treatment of Braxton. Re-integrating him with a mentally unstable version of himself seems like cruel and unusual punishment. Also he’s being tried for a crime he didn’t commit (a future version did it). That makes the future federation and seem a bit....fascist.
Set Bookmark
BRIAN
Sat, Oct 10, 2020, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I was very skeptical of this show. I didn't want to like it. The trailers looked terrible.

I ended up giving it a chance and it was pretty good! Not quite *good* but decent enough. I have to admit I enjoyed it.

It felt like Trek. It got better as it went along. The characters are pretty good.

The cahracter of Mariner could use some workshopping still. She started out terrible when she was just a Rick from Rick and Morty clone. I think they must have realized she was off putting trying to copy Rick because they started to fit her with character flaws but the end of the season.

Overall, miles away the best of Kurtzman Trek. Watchable. For me it was as good as Orville. I hope this is a sign of the things to come, although Im not exactly holding my breath.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Not exactly groundbreaking but EXTREMELY well directed. Almost cinema quality Wrath of Khan level of technical achievement. Very good!!!

I almost wish they didnt bother cutting back to Janeway/voyager, and kept the focus entirely on the prisoners. Would add to the claustrophobia and mini movie feel IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 8:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Journey’s end from TNG (and Far Beyond the Stars) from DS9) goes against the heart of the Star Trek premise. Which is basically that humanity had gone so past racism etc. that it would be bewildering to anyone from that time. The same way it would be to us if we traveled back in time to a superstitious village. But in both those episodes it gives the impression that racism was still alive. Also it kind of makes the Native Americans look petty, which was obviously not supposed to be the point. Holding a personal grudge against Picard for something that happened hundreds of years ago?
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I am torn on this episode. On the one hand it’s a good hour of television drama. On the other it’s a terrible “Star Trek” episode. Much like Journey’s end from TNG this episode goes against the heart of the Star Trek premise. Which is basically that humanity had gone so past racism etc. that it would be bewildering to anyone from that time. The same way it would be to us if we traveled back in time to a superstitious village. But in both these episodes it gives the impression that racism was still alive. Also in the TNG episode it kind of makes the Native Americans look petty, which was obviously not supposed to be the point.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Out of all the new trek still enjoying this one the most. Its basically The Orville animated series.

I agree w everyones criticisms of the show but I can still enjoy it for what it is. It doesnt offend me or disgust me like Picard or Disco often did.

Biggest thing they need to change is Mariner. Be8ng Rick lite doesnt work on this show for many many many reasons. The Moist episode is her best characterization yet though. And showing her flaws vs the Riker standin was also a momwnt she actually worked as a character
Set Bookmark
Icelandic Alliance
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

How could the pheromones have affected Barb if she and Boimler had never met in person before?
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I would have done this as a 2-parter. In the first part, we establish Tuvix as a character, see him forming relationships and turning into a unique personality. He forms allies and friends, and enemies who want him restored. By the end the battle lines are drawn, Janeway who wants her two crew members back, and Tuvix's friends and allies. Cliffhanger in the transporter room, in a will-she won't she situation. 2nd episode, she goes through with it, but someone uploads a hologram of Tuvix. A large rebellion forms led by HoloTuvix, challenging her authority. Posters appear around the ship: Is janeway fit to run our ship? Coups are attempted, and one succeeds. Janeway dies, and HoloTuvix takes over command. End credits.
Set Bookmark
BRIAN
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Show is actually OK i think this is the first Kirtzman show I can actually enjoy and seems vaguely star trek. Making the man girl Mariner a Rick ripoff was a horrible idea though. Just doesnt work for multiple reasons. Its basically an Orville ripoff.which is rly odd to say. I kind of wish they would try less hard to be funny tbh.Less jokes and more low key humor might work better
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Aside from that I thought I’d add that this was a very good episode... perhaps if Enterprise had been more focused, not necessarily totally serialized but focused the way DS9 was, around Volcan politics in episodes like this, it could have turned out better. It just seems laughable to me today that the Suits at Paramount thought they could squeeze out another episodic Star Trek series at this point... Voyager was shaky enough but to start a whole new series while continuing to insist it maintain an episodic nature so that viewers could see episodes out of order? Paramount killed the golden era of Trek with that requirement... yes it worked incredibly well (I think TNG may hold a record for most money made from a TV Drama) while it lasted with TNG but that was where there were fresh pastures...
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

When watching this episode I was provided with a good way to articulate what I found wrong with T’Paul... and that is that she should have been played more like V’Lar. I always found T’Paul, unlike other main character Vulcans (Spock and Tuvock) to be played too robotically, more like an Android than a Vulcan. V’Lar does a good job of showing how Vulcans, despite being beings that dramatically emphasize logic, are still “people” (I would have said “still human” but of course that wouldn’t have worked).
Set Bookmark
Brian Graff
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

I just saw this - never having seen it before.

It has to be the worst episode ever of any of the series - horrible acting, nonsenesical story, just putrid.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

One thing that I think Star Trek writers overestimate is the need for something to be natural in order to be appreciated. I say this because often we hear “but it isn’t real” as a reason for rejecting something tempting (like Picard rejecting the Nexus in Generations). Similarly here we are supposed to believe that this girl would much rather have her powers go away and things go back to normal, vs becoming like a Q (and learning all of their knowledge of the universe). But no, we are supposed to think that she would rather be an ordinary human. Perhaps some people would, idk, but after they showed her coming to enjoy using her powers I didn’t buy it when she said she just wanted this to end. I know the human condition in Star Trek is much better than it is for us but still think about what she is turning away... she could never feel pain, make herself feel euphoric (manipulation of your own brain chemistry), be able to get anything you want and on top of that Learn cosmic truths about the nature of existence... but nope, for this episode to work the way it does she has to want to be a normal girl again. That is “jumping the shark” to me... way too much of a reach. It’s funny how TNG’s writers decided normal humans would react to a god like entity like Q... and the answer is treating the entity like it is a pest or something you just want to go away lol. Personally I’d treat Q with way more respect.

... but that’s not how Q is supposed to function in TNG. As far as the show is concerned it is best that Q functions as it does because it needs that given the way they want the characters to react to Q, it’s funny how the show insists humans would show no wonder or awe at a being with god like abilities and knowledge and comprehension of things far beyond what Our feeble mortals can understand. But to me TNG is almost like Sci Fi Fables or something, and I like and accept it for what it is. Still though it shows how Star Trek can be overly humanistic in having its characters treat what is basically a minor diety as though it is an annoying pest lol. Sorry I don’t but it, but when I maintain my disbelief it does work well within the context of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

3.5 stars. This is enjoyably dreamy and eerie, and accomplishes very well what it sets out to do. I realize it may not be everyone’s cup of tea but this is an example of just how tight of a production TNG was... if a similar episode was attempted on Voyager it would have probably been one stat lower but on TNG the characters and acting are all so excellent that it (the writing is of course good as well) that it frequently is enough to boost an episode by .5 to 1 Star compared to how it would have turned out on Voyager (and its hard to compare to DS9 since this just isn’t the sort of thing it did).
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I think it was a strong end. It improved upon the first season and followed through mostly. My only let downs were dukat and winn which was a solid waste of time the last half of the season. Both characters were kind of wasted, not because they are bad actors just I think they were contrived to produce the final half narrative as the protagonists, but it made no sense or was forced. That whole story was a bit awkward.

Otherwise everything else went pretty good. I felt there could have been a more climactic space battle, but I guess Trek doesn't excel in that. I liked Ezri but it was all forced just because Jadzia left. I wonder what really happened with her leaving.... i feel like there is some #metoo stuff that happened but maybe thats wishful thinking.

Worf was super annoying this entire season. He seemed really out of character and just a man-child behaviour. The only good outcome near the end was him fighting the Jem hadar (sp) on that asteroid in a previous episode. Otherwise his drama was insufferable with Ezri and constantly complaining, the complete opposite of what you'd think a Klingon would carry themselves- plus the constnat use of the word honour made it lose meaning.

Miles + Chief were amazing as always. Thank god there wasn't any obrien wife this season, from memory. She should have always just been a reference character.

Anyway, good episode, a decent ending. Left some open threads and storylines that could (or maybe could have 20 years ago) be explored more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Yikes, Elie you need to lay off the drugs.

This was a good episode, I enjoyed it for a filler- typical adventure heist with comedy, drama and suspense.

It's interesting seeing the comments from the last decade and a half on race. Just makes me realise more and more that DS9 (and Avery) were very well placed to address race issues amongst others. Although the Ableist episode was a big joke.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Great episode. Had flashbacks to the old "ITS A FAKE" meme that was around many years ago. Two things though, one has been mentioned- it's weird that given the technology that the Romulan ambassador wouldn't at least send a communiqué out either from DS9 or his ship after this with the details of what happened. Secondly, Sisko has done/engaged in exactly what section 31 do, yet wants to go against them in the previous episode and infiltrate them. I forget how this plays out in future episodes, but we'll see..
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"The number of comments from racism apologists with critiques that are little more than people clearly feeling discomfort because realistic depictions of the racism in their history is laughable.

This shit happened. This shit is real, whether you think, as dipshit Rogue09 does, that "dwelling on racism is as bad as supporting it". Holy shit you tone deaf imbecile. "

Yeah, this, times a million. How out of touch with reality do you have to be to think the explicit racism in this episode wasn't (and still is) prevalent. Trekkies need to check their privilege and take a walk outside their gated community lol.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Jeff that's one issue with DS9 I've found, they don't consider their longer term implications. They have a dilema on a personal level but it's obvious the impact of the decision would have led to the fall of the federation and is obvious at the time. In the end they either choose the "right" (or obvious) choice, or some deus ex machina comes up and corrects it back onto the main storyline.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Good episode. But seriously, I'm totally on the Marquis side on this. I don't even get the whole putting down Victor Hugo. This episode was really well done, but weirdly... pro-authoritarian. I guess in this current world climate it doesn't come off as well as at the time, but given they are referencing Les Mis it's hilariously bad writing that somehow Sisko comes off as "awesome" despite being referred to as Javert.. like wtf

This episode just made me like the Marquis more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I don't understand why the founder didn't attack them from the start? One founder is more than enough to take them out, as they've shown every time we see them infiltrate a federation location and pose as someone- and they didn't know the founder was there so he could have posed as any of them when they went off to search the ship. Weird episode, but good acting and character interactions. Worf also seemed a bit out of character.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Worf: "I have nothing to hide" lmao classical stupid mistake in court/authorities. How stupid do you have to be to not realise you never give up info or accept the prosecution to use anything against you. The biggest issue in Star Trek universe is everyone comes off as naive or ignorant as though they don't understand the ways of the world and behaviour despite years of service and being apparently some of the highest educated/experts and down to earth individuals. Of course, the prosecution will use any information against them.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Good episode. One thing of note is that for once Keiko comes off as nomal and her relationship with Obrien seemed more normal. I hope this continues, as before this episode she is literally the worst character and I never understood why Obrien is with her or why they don't divorce.
Next ►Page 1 of 38
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.