Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 981 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 40
Set Bookmark
Brian Baier
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 2:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

The first real clue I had that the episode wasn't showing "real" events (aside from this mutiny making little sense given the apparent strength of crew relationships over since the show's start) was Kes. And her short hair.

For a few episodes, she'd been long-haired, which suggests this took place somehow in the past. I figured it was either "some kind of" temporal offshoot or figment of someone's imagination.

I was happy to actually feel some tension and uncertainty in the execution of the story overall. Too bad it evaporated as quickly as its shallowly expedited end scene.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Wed, Sep 8, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Don’t you mean pon farr for the course?

I actually like the Paris/Torres relationship. To me it’s one of the few that seemed natural in Star Trek. The O'Briens was another. Worf and almost anyone else (other than the mother of his kid) always seemed so forced. Chekote and 7 ounces as cringe. Nelix and Kes seemed off. Nelix and the miner woman however seems genuine. Sisko and Cassidy was believable.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 12:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Wait, Archer says I bet we can get 10 light years out of this one. Isn’t that like 1 trip in the Star Trek universe?
Set Bookmark
Brian Smth
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 11:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

2021...and i've seen this episode for the first time. It is VERY good. Full stop.

Oh, and those who for some reason think 'Enterprise killed the franchise'....probably just hated the opening theme music. It some ways, it is the best and best written.

The new CBS production...only seen 3 episodes thus far. It is promissing.

1. Star Trek (perhaps it's the sentimentalist in me...)
2. The Next Generation
3. Enterprise
4. Deep Space Nine
5. Voyager
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jul 9, 2021, 6:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

I might well be opening a can of worms here, but over the past year I have drawn a huge number of parallels to this DS9 episode and some of the 'public health advice' based on mathematical models by real life megalomaniacs.
Set Bookmark
brian
Mon, May 10, 2021, 11:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

^^^
yea pretty much. Is it well done? Sure. Does it tick a lot of boxes that original trilogy did? Sure. Does it feel more like a live action comic book series? Yes. Does it have anywhere near the gravitas of the OT? No. There isn't enough tension, main characters are invincible. Dialogue is cringe-worthy. Plots are thin. It's really not very good. My 5 year old loves it though.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 11:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: One

Why does 7 faint almost immediately after life support is turned off? A ship that size would take quite awhile for oxygen to be depleted/temperature to drop etc.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 5:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

ugghhhhhh this show

Picardo is wasted on this show. Wish he had been able to be on some TNG. At least he got a DS9 cameo.

Once again its a mess of a show with too many random ideas that only gives surface level attention to all of them
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 8:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Wow... after a decent episode in the previous one this episode has me reconsidering whether I want to finish watching this series... it at least proved to me Discovery is far from the first bad Star Trek series.

This episode suffers from what a lot of this series seems to suffer from. Which is- they start with a totally fine premise, and then they veer off into wacky territory. It feels like the writers are either totally bored with Star Trek and need to create overly complex plots to keep themselves from totally checking out, or (most likely) they are just cashing a paycheck at this point and trying to fill runtime.

Its true at this point Star Trek tropes are well established, after TOS and TNG. DS9 managed to be a subversion of DS9. VOY, in my opinion, seems to work best when its an unironic return to TOS tropes, fun, episodic, with straightforward plots. But coming off of the heels of TNG the writers seem to want to do something more without any clue of what that should have been. It doesnt subvert the Star Trek tropes. It doesnt bring in new ideas from other sci fi. Instead, it just mashes a bunch of Star Trek tropes into one plot in a way that can only be interesting to die-hard fans....

The original time-loop premise is a totally fine if overdone Star Trek plot. But doubling down on the sexual tension between Chaktoay and Janeway, or (probably better) exploring the idea of if Chakotay would let Janeway die so he could become captain and have Marquis control of the ship would be a totally good idea for an episode. But then halfway through we veer off into an exploration of just.. Janeways confrontation with death? Which.. yes thats also a totally good idea for an episode. But the budget just isnt there, so much of the action is just Janeway spouting exposition.. and they didnt devote enough time to it!! The funeral felt like a bad imitation of Star Trek IIs funeral. What a mess.

That doesnt even touch on the fact the writer doesnt bother giving exposition about The Phage and other aliens that the audience should really have a reminder about at the top of the episode. Just a lazy, mess or writing all around. This series has me actually considering finishing Discovery instead... at least the effects are good to mask the horrible writing.
Set Bookmark
Damian
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Followup on previous comment, my maths were faulty, 70 years ago was 1951 not 1941, but the point still stands. LOL
Set Bookmark
Damian
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Just to note that someone said L'Rell being Chancellor goes against canon. Not in the 23rd century it doesn't; Azetbur became Chancellor in 2293 following Gorkon's death (STVI TUC). The rules seem to have changed by Gowron's time as he says that women can't serve on the High Council referring to Lursa and B'Etor, but this is in 2367 over 70 years later. (For reference, 70 years ago we were still in the middle of WWII and segregation was still legal in the US while abortion and same-sex partnerships were not.)
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 9:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

i actually liked this ep. Way more than the last one with Q. Good direction and new camera angles on the same old sets. Kate Mulgew did a great Sigourney Weaver impression. Writers are much better in this genre lane than they are tackling hard science fiction. I wish the show stayed more often in this adventure fantasy lane to be honest, it plays to their strengths more.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 9:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

judging by the comments, everyone seems to be on the same page on this one. Uncomfortable gender politics. empty sci fi ideas. What does it mean when Paris is pointing a gun at a Q inside of the continuum? Its just a mental metaphor. Is he pointing a supernova at the Q? Why would Paris even be able to lift the gun if thats the case? Its asinine.

That aside, the premise is icky, and even ickier... im sry but as a captain janeway should rly have taken one for the team to get her crew home..... which is why the whole premise of this ep should be avoided, Esp when you learn its just a finger tickle in a really lame joke,
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 5:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

This episode is outstanding in that it uses a single plot to enter into a reflection of many different subjects (albeit none more than a ST episode typically permits) such as humanity, prejudice, social assimilation, ODO as a (special) character, love.

Jammer's review misses to express two points I also find relevant:

1. (universal): once again Klingons are shown as the impulsive, simple bullies of Star Trek. They know about the Changeling, saw it transform from vapor into a humanoid form but try to hurt it with a knife???

DS9 spent more time on developing Klingon and Ferengi but still did not manage to overcome the former being marked as relatively mindless brutes and the latter as selfish and greedy (Quark, Rom, Nog and Worf may be somewhat atypical but rather than showing that their races aren't they are just shown as rare exceptions). It's so sad that a ST does not manage to overcome its own once set race stereotypes. Klingons are said to be great warriors and technologically advanced, but at every turn they are shown to be simplistic idiots that get beaten up by humans and fight with Bathlets as children would with sticks.
I don't understand why they have any fans, I find them so depressing.

2. The final scene between Kira and Odo where she says she wants to see and get to know him for what he really is and truly seems to be ready for him to open up fully: that is the most powerful state any of our relationships can have - to not be afraid to show EVERYTHING we are ... and then to still be loved. The latter is not a condition for the first to happen. Up to that point, I found their relationship forced and a bad move but with this single scene, they catapult it into something beyond what I would say most of us can only aspire to reach: to have the person lose all fears of sharing everything they are and think and not be worried to hurt the person with it but to trust it to be the right thing to do, also for the significant other. No tabus.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

this is the end of the road for me. season one was bad but whatever. season 2 was even worse but i figured they tot the message and were rebooting. I cant b bothered to watch this show anymore. self righteous meaningless garbage. good actors, great effects..... Horrible writing
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“Tilly as ensign???? Don’t even get me started!”

Hah!
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

A Man Alone is two different shows. The main plot: a murder mystery, involving DS9's resident shapeshifter, constable Odo, starts off well enough but its contrived middle section and technobabble heavy solution and abrupt and unsatisfactory ending hurt it quite a bit. The character moments though are what push this episode across the finish line. This is the show that establishes Odo and Quarks frenemy relationship and jake and Nog's friendship. In terms of continuity, Keiko O'Brien opens up a school for DS9's kids, which will have consequences latter on in the season. On the negative side, Bashir's skirt chasing is already getting a little tiresome and the Sisko and Dax scene falls flat. Speaking of Dax, Terry Farrell's aloof performance is by far the weak link in terms the main cast. I think she has no idea how to play such a complicated character. Overall, A Man Alone may have a little too much going on and is a bit unfocused and has pacing problems but all of the little character moments make it worthy of a recommendation.

**1/2 (6/10)
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Past Prologue

*** (8/10)
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Past Prologue is not a consequential episode, nor is it original or thoughtful. It's predictable and by the numbers but it's an entertaining hour of DS9. In my opinion, the second episode of the series is a little early to have a test your loyalties plot but that is a minor gripe in an otherwise fun little show. Kira shines in her first vehicle and Garak, the enigmatic Cardassian (tailor/spy) makes his debut, with some funny scenes opposite the wide-eyed, young doctor of DS9, Julian Bashir. Throw in the Duras sisters from TNG and some taut pacing and what we have here is a show that is batting 1000 so far.
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Emissary is arguably the best pilot of all of the Star Trek shows. It has a flawed but interesting story and does a good job of introducing us to the main protagonists (mainly Sisko and Kira) and the world they will populate. But it is not without its setbacks. Dax's discovery of the wormhole does not pass the smell test and the wormhole alien scenes are overlong, repetitive and not all that coherent. The performances are a mixed bag. The main cast was ok. Avery Brooks' overacting, Cirroc Lofton's poor acting and Nana Visitor's forced dialogue and line delivery ware my main gripes. Odo looks like an interesting character but some of the exposition heavy dialogue did not serve him well. The supporting cast was led by another strong performance by Patrick Stewart, in a passing of the torch apperance. However, Joel Swetow's moustache-twirling Gul Jasad and Felecia Bell's cringeworthy performance as Jennifer, were the low points. Overall, Emissary is a flawed but strong way to start this third installment of Star Trek.

*** (8/10)
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 1:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

1. Osyraa agrees to let Vance negotiate terms on behalf of the Federation president.

2. It seemed that even then Vance wasn’t interested in Osyraa’s gestures and perhaps was buying time to de-escalate the situation.

3. Admirals in Star Trek have always had a large amount of lateral political power. In DS9’s “Paradise Lost”, for example, Admiral Leyton becomes a mini-emperor after it appears that the Federation president is inept at handling the Changling threat.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"On the whole woke/box checking subject: Many shows do the whole box checking/unrealistically diverse cast thing but still manage to maintain a decent quality of acting and story telling."

The Expanse does this well. The anti-hero protagonist is a really white skinny guy, but there are women all over the place, black, indian, asian, etc. And you don't notice. It just makes sense that in the future ethnicity just wouldn't be a big deal. It never feels like checking a box because every single character is written well.

The only reason it even comes up with Star Trek is because the characters aren't written well.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

".....The Burn just being an accident is actually fine by me. Disco season 3 has successfully been operating with lower stakes for its mystery arc than prior years, such that even if the Burn plotline ends unsatisfactorily, it's not going to retroactively make the whole season worse for me the way that it has in the past...."

but aren't you pissed off at all the time they wasted, especially early in the season, on it? All that time could've been spent world-building or character-building.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 11:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

What is up with the chief engineer in this episode who keeps identifying himself on the com as "Leland T. Lynch"?
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

booming....wtf? Expanse is one of the best shows of the last decade. Literally no one should "skip" the first four seasons. Honestly how could you even suggest that?
Next ►Page 1 of 40
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.