Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 972 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 39
Set Bookmark
Damian
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Followup on previous comment, my maths were faulty, 70 years ago was 1951 not 1941, but the point still stands. LOL
Set Bookmark
Damian
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Just to note that someone said L'Rell being Chancellor goes against canon. Not in the 23rd century it doesn't; Azetbur became Chancellor in 2293 following Gorkon's death (STVI TUC). The rules seem to have changed by Gowron's time as he says that women can't serve on the High Council referring to Lursa and B'Etor, but this is in 2367 over 70 years later. (For reference, 70 years ago we were still in the middle of WWII and segregation was still legal in the US while abortion and same-sex partnerships were not.)
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

i actually liked this ep. Way more than the last one with Q. Good direction and new camera angles on the same old sets. Kate Mulgew did a great Sigourney Weaver impression. Writers are much better in this genre lane than they are tackling hard science fiction. I wish the show stayed more often in this adventure fantasy lane to be honest, it plays to their strengths more.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

judging by the comments, everyone seems to be on the same page on this one. Uncomfortable gender politics. empty sci fi ideas. What does it mean when Paris is pointing a gun at a Q inside of the continuum? Its just a mental metaphor. Is he pointing a supernova at the Q? Why would Paris even be able to lift the gun if thats the case? Its asinine.

That aside, the premise is icky, and even ickier... im sry but as a captain janeway should rly have taken one for the team to get her crew home..... which is why the whole premise of this ep should be avoided, Esp when you learn its just a finger tickle in a really lame joke,
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

This episode is outstanding in that it uses a single plot to enter into a reflection of many different subjects (albeit none more than a ST episode typically permits) such as humanity, prejudice, social assimilation, ODO as a (special) character, love.

Jammer's review misses to express two points I also find relevant:

1. (universal): once again Klingons are shown as the impulsive, simple bullies of Star Trek. They know about the Changeling, saw it transform from vapor into a humanoid form but try to hurt it with a knife???

DS9 spent more time on developing Klingon and Ferengi but still did not manage to overcome the former being marked as relatively mindless brutes and the latter as selfish and greedy (Quark, Rom, Nog and Worf may be somewhat atypical but rather than showing that their races aren't they are just shown as rare exceptions). It's so sad that a ST does not manage to overcome its own once set race stereotypes. Klingons are said to be great warriors and technologically advanced, but at every turn they are shown to be simplistic idiots that get beaten up by humans and fight with Bathlets as children would with sticks.
I don't understand why they have any fans, I find them so depressing.

2. The final scene between Kira and Odo where she says she wants to see and get to know him for what he really is and truly seems to be ready for him to open up fully: that is the most powerful state any of our relationships can have - to not be afraid to show EVERYTHING we are ... and then to still be loved. The latter is not a condition for the first to happen. Up to that point, I found their relationship forced and a bad move but with this single scene, they catapult it into something beyond what I would say most of us can only aspire to reach: to have the person lose all fears of sharing everything they are and think and not be worried to hurt the person with it but to trust it to be the right thing to do, also for the significant other. No tabus.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

this is the end of the road for me. season one was bad but whatever. season 2 was even worse but i figured they tot the message and were rebooting. I cant b bothered to watch this show anymore. self righteous meaningless garbage. good actors, great effects..... Horrible writing
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“Tilly as ensign???? Don’t even get me started!”

Hah!
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

A Man Alone is two different shows. The main plot: a murder mystery, involving DS9's resident shapeshifter, constable Odo, starts off well enough but its contrived middle section and technobabble heavy solution and abrupt and unsatisfactory ending hurt it quite a bit. The character moments though are what push this episode across the finish line. This is the show that establishes Odo and Quarks frenemy relationship and jake and Nog's friendship. In terms of continuity, Keiko O'Brien opens up a school for DS9's kids, which will have consequences latter on in the season. On the negative side, Bashir's skirt chasing is already getting a little tiresome and the Sisko and Dax scene falls flat. Speaking of Dax, Terry Farrell's aloof performance is by far the weak link in terms the main cast. I think she has no idea how to play such a complicated character. Overall, A Man Alone may have a little too much going on and is a bit unfocused and has pacing problems but all of the little character moments make it worthy of a recommendation.

**1/2 (6/10)
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Past Prologue

*** (8/10)
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Past Prologue is not a consequential episode, nor is it original or thoughtful. It's predictable and by the numbers but it's an entertaining hour of DS9. In my opinion, the second episode of the series is a little early to have a test your loyalties plot but that is a minor gripe in an otherwise fun little show. Kira shines in her first vehicle and Garak, the enigmatic Cardassian (tailor/spy) makes his debut, with some funny scenes opposite the wide-eyed, young doctor of DS9, Julian Bashir. Throw in the Duras sisters from TNG and some taut pacing and what we have here is a show that is batting 1000 so far.
Set Bookmark
Guderian
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Emissary is arguably the best pilot of all of the Star Trek shows. It has a flawed but interesting story and does a good job of introducing us to the main protagonists (mainly Sisko and Kira) and the world they will populate. But it is not without its setbacks. Dax's discovery of the wormhole does not pass the smell test and the wormhole alien scenes are overlong, repetitive and not all that coherent. The performances are a mixed bag. The main cast was ok. Avery Brooks' overacting, Cirroc Lofton's poor acting and Nana Visitor's forced dialogue and line delivery ware my main gripes. Odo looks like an interesting character but some of the exposition heavy dialogue did not serve him well. The supporting cast was led by another strong performance by Patrick Stewart, in a passing of the torch apperance. However, Joel Swetow's moustache-twirling Gul Jasad and Felecia Bell's cringeworthy performance as Jennifer, were the low points. Overall, Emissary is a flawed but strong way to start this third installment of Star Trek.

*** (8/10)
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

1. Osyraa agrees to let Vance negotiate terms on behalf of the Federation president.

2. It seemed that even then Vance wasn’t interested in Osyraa’s gestures and perhaps was buying time to de-escalate the situation.

3. Admirals in Star Trek have always had a large amount of lateral political power. In DS9’s “Paradise Lost”, for example, Admiral Leyton becomes a mini-emperor after it appears that the Federation president is inept at handling the Changling threat.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"On the whole woke/box checking subject: Many shows do the whole box checking/unrealistically diverse cast thing but still manage to maintain a decent quality of acting and story telling."

The Expanse does this well. The anti-hero protagonist is a really white skinny guy, but there are women all over the place, black, indian, asian, etc. And you don't notice. It just makes sense that in the future ethnicity just wouldn't be a big deal. It never feels like checking a box because every single character is written well.

The only reason it even comes up with Star Trek is because the characters aren't written well.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

".....The Burn just being an accident is actually fine by me. Disco season 3 has successfully been operating with lower stakes for its mystery arc than prior years, such that even if the Burn plotline ends unsatisfactorily, it's not going to retroactively make the whole season worse for me the way that it has in the past...."

but aren't you pissed off at all the time they wasted, especially early in the season, on it? All that time could've been spent world-building or character-building.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

What is up with the chief engineer in this episode who keeps identifying himself on the com as "Leland T. Lynch"?
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

booming....wtf? Expanse is one of the best shows of the last decade. Literally no one should "skip" the first four seasons. Honestly how could you even suggest that?
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 2:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

How this is a good episode is beyond me. Average at best because its plot and point is truly easily concocted up.

Chakotay is way out of character (disobeying the captain, risking lives of his fellow crewman for a not so relevant artifact, they'd never missed had they never looked), the rest of the crew also ignores a direct order from the captain because 2nd in command says so.
The entire crew basis their decision "let's go in" on Steven's mere remark that the Borg invented a special shielding. Oh well, if the puny Borg could do it with their mini cube, sure we can retrofit the Deltaflyer within the hour. This reminded me of when they encountered that space beast pretending to be a wormhole to earth,making everyone franatic and thoughtless a few episodes earlier.

Archologists do not typically go on life threatening missions that include the risk over never being able to report their findings.

Everything about that command module can be found in Earth's history records minus its reading of the anormality which Voyager's probe already looked at much more than any 21st century would have.

we care not about sub space travel analysis or what to learn from metal organisms, we want a spaceship as interesting to us as the first macintosh to 20th century earthlings.

On a mission to Mars, we want to learn new things about space (travel) and Mars. No one would go there just to look at a rock for the rock's sake or to retrieve a probe from an earlier launch for purely sentimental value about the probe.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 8:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Austin " ...why does he bother trimming a mustache? It’s more work." I was wondering about that too but I'm sure it's really a Pedro Pascal thing not a Mando one.

Given how little direct sunlight Mando comes in contact with he should look really pale and have a severe case of helmet hair but this is probably nit-picking.
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

A smart, kinda sentient warp capable bomb of that size and the marvel of it skips everyone's attention on Voyager. The doctor is relying on 29th century tech to carry his smarts around in an arm patch rather than having to rely on the huge spaceship computer.
Sounds akin to a warp capable Data (even if it wasn't as intelligent as Data).

And the way it disposes of the trader ship so easily should cause a "why have we never thought of that"-moment for voyager. Use a transporter beam to send a bit of antimatter over to the other ship and boom.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Another good episode. Amazing job by Bill Burr who plays Mayfield. Now he's a likeable character. I wish he left the planet with them.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Seems very odd to me that Picard and the rest of the senior staff thought it was perfectly fine to leave who they thought was Lore laying there on the floor like he was just a broken toy.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

Why didn't Geordi aim his phaser at the sky and fire from the bottom of the pit? It could have worked as a signal flare of sorts that Riker or Worf could have seen.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

The only interesting aspect of this episode is Geordi without his visor and the “Why aren’t his hands burning?” question at the very beginning. After that, there’s nothing engaging about Interface. Even the title is boring. The writer put way too much importance on “But it’s his mom,” and “How would you feel if it was your mom who was missing/possibly dead?” But too much of the episode is handled by telling and not showing, and in the end we’re left with having to take Geordi’s word for it about aliens from a planet that we barely get a glimpse of. The worst part about it is the almost complete lack of emotion from virtually every member of the cast. Bottom line: Too much talk & not enough emoting or actively showing what was going on. **/*****
Set Bookmark
brian
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 12:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

just wanted to say, these comment sections are getting ridiculous. this isn't reddit, people. Post your review and move on. if you want multiple side threads, go to reddit! Its much easier to navigate than this site. Im tired of sifting through hundreds of posts just to find reviews.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

this is the first bad episode of the show for me. Schlocky action silly looking robots. Boba Fett member berries. Silly empire scenes with gus and baby yoda. First episode to not really stand on its own. too connected to the serialized plot.

There just wasnt a lot "there" there. nice action scenes but not in service of much. Felt like a typical filler episode of a padded Netflix show. Not impressed with the writing, which was a strong point of ep 1 of this season.
Next ►Page 1 of 39
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.