Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 770 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Ian
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I liked this episode more than I expected. We've been learning more about Gordon Malloy in season two and he's much more rounded-out and likeable character. It was a real pleasure to see Tim Russ again. I wish there was more of him in this episode. The scenes with Bortus smoking were hilarious. I wish they simply had him continue smoking for the rest of the season.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Isaac becomes Data in "Identity, Part II". He's now an artificial life form which cut off from others of his kind. He will now need to find his own path among biological life forms. I wonder if Isaac will make changes to his appearance and behavior as a logical means to coping with his situation.

As for the Krill...I wish this was a three-part episode because I thought they were awfully quick to decide to help Earth. How did they even know that ship or probe that attacked them was even Kaylon? And after the battle when the Kaylon retreated the Krill were in an awfully good position to attack the remaining Union forces and destroy them. They seriously weren't tempted to do that?
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I just started watching season 2 and ""Identity, Part I" is probably the best episode of the series so far. At the same it illustrates the challenge of the "The Orville". It wants to be both a drama and a comedy (or maybe just amusing. Thank goodness there's no laugh track here). But "Identity, Part I" is probably at least 90% drama and it does it very well. I was thinking of the Best of Both Worlds and I'm really curious to see if the The Orville is going to make the big improvement in story-telling and character the way STTNG did in seasons 3 and 4.

Couple of things: I also expected Mercer was going to get his ship and crew out of there after discovery of the skeletons. As for the head cannons, I'm thinking maybe that was done because having weapons come from Kaylon hands or arms would have seemed too much like the Cylon Centurions from Battlestar Galactica.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, May 11, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

oh my gaawwwddd. this is terrible schlock. I dont understand how this show went from Pale Moonlight to then two of the worst episodes in the franchise. I hope this is not a sign of the quality of season 7. zero stars ugh.
Set Bookmark
BRIAN
Sat, May 11, 2019, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

This one was kind of silly and shows how important the ghost of Gene Roddenberry was. People now like to criticize Roddenberrys no conflict edict, but it at least made Star Trek unique and interesting. This sort of tired rom com sitcom episode wouldnt have been the center of an episode in his heydey. Not much science fiction to be found here and not a lot thats interesting to me tbh.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

^^^
well put but it still sounds like apologizing for a very poorly conceived scene.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh I've read the stars explanation page long ago. But then, if they don't mean anything, why do you have a star rating system? Are we meant to skip 1 or 2 star episodes? Because that doesn't seem right. I always recommend people watch all of a good series, even the bad episodes.

The star system seems especially irrelevant with the new serialized format of Discovery, and that's probably all I was picking up on.

Like, are there people out there choosing which discovery episodes to watch based on how many stars Jammer doles out? :)
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammer, you're awesome and I really appreciate your balanced take on things. But I feel like you rate Discovery according to a completely different set of criteria. You were extremely tough on Enterprise. And Voyager. You do call out Discovery's mistakes but I don't see that ever translating into your ratings. A show that consistently displays deep logical flaws and over reliance on spectacle regularly pulls 3 star ratings and up?

If these episodes had come from any prior Star Trek series, I feel like you'd be giving them 1.5-2.5 stars max. Yet somehow, Discovery gets a huge pass and I believe the justification is that you review each show on its own merits, and there is a "4 stars for TNG" and a "4 stars for Discovery" and those may be completely different criteria. That's fine, I get that. I just feel like you were much tougher on previous Trek series than this one. You seem to call out all the mistakes, bad writing, and poor execution in your reviews, but it never seems to affect the star rating.

For example, you say this:
"Looking back at the season arc from beginning to end, you see the shortcuts the writers often took and the plot holes apparent in doing so, and few of those are mitigated with what happens in the finale. Discovery's plotting has never been iron-clad, and there's always been a tendency for the series' writers to leave big narrative gaps and expect us to fill in the ellipses with our imaginations. This creates a sense of sloppiness more than anything else, as if the writers couldn't be bothered to put in the time to create narrative clarity and credibility."

.....and.....3 stars.

So, sloppy writing, writers couldn't be bothered, plot holes left gaping open, over-reliance on spectacle, gets 3 stars.

What the hell would they have to do to get down to a 1? or a zero? Intentionally insult the audience perhaps?

:)
Set Bookmark
Brian S
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

@Richard: "I find it hard to believe that people would voluntary walk into a disintegration chamber.... I would imagine that self-preservation is a pretty strong instinct throughout the galaxy."

++++

The episode addresses this point.

Mea--the hostess--says she has no greater wish to die than Kirk or anybody else, but that to her it's preferable to the alternative.

In war, there isn't just death.....there is pain, and suffering, and mutilation, and torture.

Take, for example, the conflict in Syria. It isn't just the deaths from the bombs being dropped on people. Thousands more beyond just the dead are injured, crippled, left bleeding in the streets. Their wounds can become infected, limbs lost. Among the survivors, homes and schools are destroyed. Basic services disrupted, water systems damaged and non-functional. Supply lines are cut, there are food shortages and hunger. Disease runs rampant with no functional medical facilities to treat it. Soldiers/Rebels tend to be fairly barbaric in personal combat, often taking prisoners, torturing enemies, raping civilians.

War is not sanitary. War creates secondary and exponential unintended suffering far beyond deaths from the primary attack.

And even in killing, not all deaths are brought about the same. Most combat deaths are not instantaneous and painless like a disintegration chamber. People spend minutes or hours bleeding out from bullet wounds or shrapnel. Choking to death on nerve agents. Drowning in the ocean after a sub or battleship is sunk. Having their flesh burned off their bones by bombs. Spending several days agonizingly bleeding to death in your home next to your family under 500 pounds of rubble.

As Spock says, there is a certain logic to a war ravaged civilization wanting to do away with all of those secondary harms. None of the Eminians *want* to die, but given the choice between a horrifically painful death where your face and limbs are blown off and you bleed out in some muddy ditch or a clean instant painless death where you merely step into a "disintegration chamber"......one can see the appeal.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Issue: unsolvable plot problem

Answer: "let's build a time suit"

Cast members then proceed to hastily construct the single most advanced piece of technology ever developed in the history of humanity, in an hour.

Do the writers seriously believe they can get away with this? Apparently the answer is no, because POOF, it's all gone and classified. How convenient. Voyager crew managed to get transwarp working briefly, but only with some help from Borg technology, and it wasn't without problems and couldn't be relied upon. Star trek is FULL of crazy examples of humans using technology, but NEVER have I ever LAUGHED OUT LOUD at my television as i did the moment I saw the discovery crew racing to put together a....F***ing TIME SUIT! And of course it folds and unfolds like a transformer, because, ya know, it just has to, because the kids won't think its cool unless it has SUPER obviously fake animations. The show doesn't even seem REMOTELY real, AT ALL. There IS tech in Star Trek that is plausible enough to enjoy the show as if it was real, such as warp drive, holodecks, replicators, etc. But a time suit built in an hour? No.

Discovery writers:

"hmmmm, people love marvel movies....comic books...super heroes flying around in suits.....AND people seem to love star trek, time travel.....think...think....what should we do......aha.....F***ing TIME SUIT."

Genius!!
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I sure would love to see the defenders respond to Galadriels points line by line, since he so coherently put them together for us.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

‘"The Enterprise and Disco have been established as capable of taking a pounding."

Go and watch the season 1 pilot again, and look how fragile Fed ships are compared to this season 2 climax.’

Maybe the Enterprise or the Discovery are tougher? It’s post-Klingon War, so comparing this episode’s armaments to other random ships in the pilot seems illogical.
Set Bookmark
brian
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

well. that was bad. but not as bad as i feared. and not as bad as season 1.


heres hoping they do something interesting with the soft reboot!
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh, and is anybody else sick of the fact that only female characters can solve problems on Discovery?
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 12:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh, and I will also say that the entire idea underlying the Control/sphere data plot makes no sense. Sorry it just doesn't. The sphere is an ancient lifeform that observed and recorded data about the universe for many years. I don't feel that the show ever really convinced me that the data in that sphere could reasonably be expected to allow an advanced AI to obtain consciousness, or, why that consciousness would be evil and seek destruction, as opposed to simply being a reflection of what it observed of sentient life in the universe for its entire history--a complicated mixture of evil, good, and everything in between. I would expect the sphere data to result in a consciousness that was both REALLY evil and REALLY compassionate and good at the same time--just like any living being. Wouldn't have been amazing if that character was created from the sphere data, and, you know, actually made into a likable character? Maybe a sort of "Q" for star trek: discovery.

But no, nothing that cool could ever happen on discovery. The sphere data would be shoe-horned into the rest of the season and used to build a paper-thin, non-interesting villain who was necessary for the plot to advance from point A to B. What could have been an awesome exploration of humanity was squandered.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The finale does what its supposed to do, re-establishes the canon timeline, and it does so with typical fanfare, and typical Discovery junk-level writing--Cornwell closes the blast door from the inside and, instead of escaping under the closing door, "heroically" sacrifices herself off the show. It was a laugh out loud moment in my living room. We get extended filler sequences such as the video-retrospective of the entire season with Burnham in the superhero suit. Burnham's travel through time was, artistically interesting but it really dragged on. After a few seconds my only thought was "filler".

With each passing moment we see more and more that the Michael Burnham show, excuse me, Discovery, is miles wide but only inches deep.

The "7 signals" plot was not the uber-interesting mystery it was made out to be. It was actually just all about Michael Burnham flying around in a trick super-hero time suit saving the galaxy. Yawn. I knew that would be the case since the first episode of the season. I believe many of us were hoping the red signals would lead to some kind of fascinating exploration of space, perhaps a new ultra-powerful race. Instead, the show remained locked in the tiniest of possible universes, basically the Discovery and Michael Burnham, and those that help her move the plot forward. The entire season was an incestuous circle that never really went anywhere.

Then the writers said screw it let's start over. Ironically, using the exact thing they were trying to avoid with the serialized arc format--the much reviled reset-button. And of course, given us all ample reason to tune in for season 3.

Now that they've gifted themselves a blank slate, we'll see if they just continue the Michael Burnham show in the future, or actually give us a Star Trek show worth re-watching.

I can say that for me, personally, I hated the Michael Burnham show so much, that when she slipped into the future with the Discovery, my first thought was that I hope we never see them again and I'd rather just keep watching Pike and Spock on the Enterprise. Then I caught myself and remembered, no, prequels are bad. Let's stay in the future. But...but...I just don't know how much more Michael Burnham I can take.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Yeah, you can't really pull "now that your existence has proven inconvenient to us, we have decided that your personhood was never even real!"
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I think people tend to forget the interesting moral issues raised towards the end of the episode and not the something like full act of technobabble at the beginning. This could have been a classic if there had been more space for the latter and less of the former.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Basically if you are holding out hope that the writers are holding a royal flush, you're about to be bitterly disappointed. They've got a pair of jacks, maybe. They've been bluffing you for a while now, and you missed it because you were too busy trying to wrap your head around the plot minutiae. If you'd stopped for a minute, taken a step back, you would've recognized the signs all along. The chances of this writing "team" (and I use that word loosely) suddenly turning out something great, are pathetically small. However the chances of them throwing out a gigantic TWIST that makes you WONDER what is going to HAPPEN next SEASON, are 100%.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

Many people seem to have trouble with the fact that Picard seems convinced that Ardra is a con artist from early on. I think that the episode justifies this reasonably well through this exchange:

RIKER: Could she be another refugee from the Q continuum?
CRUSHER: For that matter, could she be Q?
PICARD: Q would never bother with contracts.
TROI: Or economic forecasts.
PICARD: I noticed that too, Counsellor. I had the distinct impression of in the presence of a flim-flam artist.

So the episode acknowledges that there are powerful entities who could do what Ardra is doing, but that their motivation is likely to be different (earlier Ardra asks for "a full census of the population, with emphasis on productivity and economic forecasts"). So Picard intuits from the situation that this is probably a mortal alien using technologically in specific ways to pose as a godlike being, and runs with that intuition, which turns out to be correct.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

wow what a waste of an episode and my time. the jokes about how long the ending of return of the king is applies here much more. self important and dumb. trying to make us care about characters they never wrote properly in the first place.. serves me right for watching this stupid boring contrived show written by soap opera hacks who wouldnt know real science fiction even if harlan ellisone slapped them in the face.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Re-watched, and it seemed even more contrived than first viewing. I almost think Jammer was right about them extending to 14 episodes in order to force people to renew All-access. Can anyone else confirm, is it true that you have to renew all access just to watch the finale? That seems awfully shady...
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Solid Voyager issue episode, one of the times it tries to be TNG and more of less succeeds. I don't think I understand the title, though. None of the players in the episode's moral dynamic are human (save for half of Torres, I suppose), and if it's a commentary on the alienness of the alien attacker, it's a weak thing to focus on. Not a big deal, however.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I guess what I'm trying to say is...even if the writers follow through and bring Discovery into the future (permanently), I have absolutely zero confidence that they will do anything interesting with that, either.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Thanks Trent, for the perfect explanation of why season 2 just didn't add up to anything.

One thing I'll add, is that Discovery has created such distrust between itself and the audience, with all the constant plot twists, cliffhangers, and WTF moments, that now when the show wishes to "be serious" and "trust us, something big is going to happen" I just don't trust that they are going to tell me a story worth paying attention to.

It's like the boy who cried wolf. The stakes are always so high, and there are so many about-faces and big twists, that we just can't trust the writers to do their job anymore. Perfect example is this episode:

They REALLY need to jump discovery into the future and start from scratch with this show. And the fact that they MIGHT be doing that gives me a glimmer of hope for the future of this show.

But at the same time, that glimmer of hope is stained by a fear that the writers are going to chicken out at the last minute and write something incredibly stupid.

That's how poorly they've done their jobs so far.
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.