Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 43 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

And here it is, Jammer's first four-star review for a Star Trek episode since ENT's "Damage", fifteen years ago next month.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

A few interesting Jammer Review stats:

The last chronological season finale that Jammer recommended was "The Expanse" from ENT season two.

Enterprise's "Damage" from 2004 is the most recent entry in the Star Trek canon to earn four stars.

Only season of Trek to have only one stand-out (3.5 stars or higher) entry. The two reviewed Andromeda seasons share that record.

This season of Discovery is tied with the first season of DS9 to have the lowest amount of losers in a single season: 2 two-star episodes and none below two-stars.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I love how a brief chaste exposition-free scene between two men is considered "ham-handed"
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I find myself pretty depressed by some recent comments.

As a gay man, yes, it *does* matter to me that I see LGBT representation and diversity in Star Trek. I'm not going to pretend otherwise or say I'm satisfied that in the fifty-year history of the franchise how not one character reflected my own sexuality until now.

Skupper, being gay matters to me, and it matters that I see a gay couple on Star Trek Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Jammer, I believe you have the episode credits for this week's "The Orville" listed at the top of your review. This episode was written by Kirsten Beyer and directed by John S. Scott.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 9:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Troy, to try to shed some light into your questions as to at which point the series deviated from Fuller's plans. Here are a few things to consider:

Akiva Goldsman was hired as a producer after Fuller's departure. The writing credits for "The Vulcan Hello" indicate that he re-wrote Fuller's teleplay.

Bryan Fuller mentioned in an interview that the then unnamed second episode was written by Fuller and Nicholas Meyer. This didn't turn out to be the case.

Given all this, as with Fuller's previous contributions to Voyager, it's extremely difficult to ascertain how much credit Fuller deserves and what is being carried through.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, Aug 2, 2013, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

MidshimanNorris, does this mean that Nimoy's involvement in the Transformers franchise suggest that *those* films are also beyond reproach?
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 10:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

Huh, clever indeed. I always though this was a one-and-a-half-or-lower episode, but your review put in a surprising amount of thought into it!
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I must note that you gave this episode an approx. 2.5 star rating on SOS (somewhere between 5.5 - 6.5), I would have loved to have read that review, but certainly the one-star rating shows that you have come to your senses.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, Nov 15, 2012, 1:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Also, how amazing to see a stretch of four episodes where none get in the two-three star range!
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, Nov 15, 2012, 1:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

There's still "Masks" to suffer through too, Jammer. Not only is the SOS score for that one low, but you've brought it up in Voyager reviews.

I'd also argue that this episode is at least objectively better (direction, pace) than "Eye of the Beholder" in which has all the problems of "Sub Rosa" and the only thing going for it is a brief Worf/Riker exchange which makes no sense after the reveal.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, Jun 10, 2012, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I think Tim Lynch put it well in his review: *everyone* in this episode seemed they were under alien influence!
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, May 27, 2012, 3:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

The scene in the transporter room with Picard getting stabbed has to be one of the most unintentionally hilarious scenes ever done in TNG-era Trek.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, May 13, 2011, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

@bigpale, your list of body possession episodes isn't exactly respected company.

Though "Warlord" can be a hoot provided you're in the right mood.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Modern Trek has did well with acknowledging homosexuality in "Rejoined", but they've never done an story that examined sexual orientation as we've seen it in modern society. On one hand, this is valid because humankind hold different value systems than us in the present. However, it becomes a bit of a cop-out (as in this episode) when they cannot even discusss from a historical perspective their own past, particularily to an alien who is surrounded with sexual stigma.

I always felt that the easiest allegory for Trek to have done would've been an extradition/Prime Directive epsiode surrounding an alien race's stigmatization and percecution of homosexual behaviour. Hell, if they didn't want to offend anyone they could even make the circumstances of the story even worse than 1992 America.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

Kudos to Tim Lynch for discovering two of the most redundant lines of dialogue in Trek history:

Picard: "This certainly appears to be a unique phenomenon...one that's never been seen before."

I did love Data's "bunny rabbit" line. That is a true gem.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Most of the phase issues can be explained away by the simple fact that it is a cloaking device intended for individual espionage. However, this explanation reduces their ability to walk through bulkheads to be an arbitrary gimmick to facilitate the "afterlife" red herring.

I still think a clever explanation or two can be reached, though it's tricky.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 8:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Fields contract wasn't renewed for season three of DS9. There is a quote going around - it might be from Fields himself or from Michael Piller - that "the writing wasn't to par".

Now, at the time, this was deemed nonsensical. How could one of Trek's best writers be deemed below par by the staff? However, it is entirely possible that many of Fields best episodes were re-written by either Piller & Jeri Taylor on TNG or Piller & Behr & Robert Wolfe on DS9. None of this can be readily proven...all we know for sure is that Piller wrote the final draft for "Crossover" and Wolfe provided story beats for the mirror universe.

If I would have to guess, I'd say that the final drafts of "Inner Light", "Duet" and "Evil" are largely his final drafts. Maybe some work by Piller or Ron Moore on "Light", and maybe some help from Wolfe on the DS9 ones. Just a guess.

Also, I am curious who the hell we should blame for "Cost of Living"....
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 1:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Bigpale, I'd argue that he still had "Frame of Mind", "Parallels" and "Projections" in him (at least for his solo credits), but yeah even saying that every other one of his scripts will be crap from "Imaginary Friend" to "These Are The Voyages".
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, May 12, 2011, 1:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I've also had few problems with Picard's recovery. Think about it: For the premise to reach its desired emotional impact, the probe cannot be a mental rapist or leave its recipient incapacitated. For the emotions to be percieved in the proper context, both the artifical memories and the face memories must co-exist safely.

Besides, I think Picard's revelation when the probe lauches was meant to be his rehabilitaion.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, Apr 22, 2011, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

MadBaggins, not only are Jammer's scores relative between series, season and year of review, but he was also quite clear that he didn't think VOY or ENT were successful series as a whole.

So, those four-star reviews you deride are only in the relative scale of being above average for some very flawed series'.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I have a three-fold response to that, Stef:

1. The composer's job is to punctuate ideas or feelings that *are not* obvious on the screen. If the scene in question is dramatically perfect before a composer comes in, then that scene probably shouldn't have music at all.

2. Homogenous music - especially if its music that has little artistic or emotional merit - can often be more discracting in terms of quality than "overblown" music.

3. Most TV shows and movies are indifferently spotted nowadays; and composers, directors and music editors are too focused on temp-tracks to make the key decisions on when and where music should start and stop.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Thu, Apr 14, 2011, 9:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Grumpy, you can also count "Power Play" for this season.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Mon, Apr 11, 2011, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

The composers also had the tendency to reuse the same chord progressions over and over. It becomes almost parody in "Future's End: Part II" when the car chase sequence has the same old "dun-dun-dunn, dun-dun-dunn" chords.

Though the most hilarious bit of scoring has to be in "The Way of the Warrior" when there's a cut to the long shot of the dead Klingons in Ops, and the music lets out a completely overwrought sustained chord.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Nolan, had the episode faithfully followed the Irwin Allen disaster formula...well, then the most annoying characters would be dead!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.