Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,186 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 88
Set Bookmark
benoksis
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Alex, good points.
Jamahl Epsicokhan, that's not an "In brief".
Generally, I found the problem with the prisoner to be that he was too helpful (even before the airlock). He was a device to set up future Expanse-verse plots, and it was all laid out in his thinly veiled exposition. As a plot device, he would have given the info for a good meal. So the airlock was just to let us know Archer means business. To bad he couldn't have demonstrated his determination in a more sophisticated manner (like ben sisko getting back into the heat box).
Set Bookmark
The answer is PICARD
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: Jammer Goes to L.A.: Day 2

In 2000, Star Trek: Voyager reviewer Jamahl Epsicokhan was invited to pitch stories for the series. On 10 March, he traveled to Los Angeles and pitched four stories to Bryan Fuller, all of which were rejected. The pitches were titled "Momentum", "Human Option", "The Warning", and "Do Not Harm".

"Momentum" involved a planet travelling at warp, threatening to destroy an alien medical research facility. "Human Option" was about Seven of Nine suffering an accident, which caused her Borg implants to shut down. "The Warning" would have been about a time-traveling alien, who tried to stop the Voyager from causing a subspace disaster. Fuller rejected this pitch, among other reasons, for being too similar to "Future's End". "Do Not Harm" would have seen The Doctor killing somebody on an away mission, causing an ethical conflict for him. Again, this pitch was rejected for being too similar to an existing episode, this time "Latent Image".
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Great Luxwana episode or greatest Luxwana episode?
Set Bookmark
A Historian
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 8:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Well, idk. Disco and the Red Angel go 930 years into the future. There, Burnham is allegedly being told that "they have been waiting for her, that she is our last hope".
Just imagine, someone from the 1090s A.D. came to us. We couldn't even communicate properly, they don't know many contemporary words, no technology, earth is flat and did the (first) crusade ever succeed? It's pretty silly when you think about it.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Dec 13, 2019, 12:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Remember in TNG when Deanna Troy fails the Star Fleet simulation because she couldn't order someone to their death to save the lives of the rest of the crew on the ship? But she does it in the end, passes the exam and everyone is happy about the valuable lesson she learned about tough choices?
Member?
So why is Sisko so self righteous about offing an entire planet of intelligent lifeforms (Ignoring the Prime Directive) just because he won't ask Kira to sacrifice herself ?
Anyone?
Still a good episode though.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Thu, Nov 28, 2019, 5:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I’m watching this episode for the first time in a long time since I’ve seen this show. I can tell you right now; this episode which involves Kes is much better than some of the previous spotlight episodes of her from season 2 like Cold Fire and especially the horrible Elogium episode. I pretty much agree with Jammer on his review of this episode so I will not repeat it here.
Set Bookmark
Oddish
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I agree in retrospect that this episode wasn't that great. If nothing else, it reduced Archer to a bratty 9-year-old. But I will say that I was laughing my butt off through most of it!
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sat, Nov 16, 2019, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

About Tuvoc's PM to Kim:

He cautions Kim not to say things that make "junior officers" nervous. Just what officer is more "junior" than Kim? Apparently, Starfleet's usage of that term is not the same as that of the twenty-first century Navy. Just who, in Starfleet parlance, would count as a junior officer, if Kim himself does not? He's an ensign, the lowest of the officer ranks. It can't be in reference to experience, because Kim is on his first mission. Yeah, his station is on the bridge, but that doesn't make him a senior officer, just a bridge officer. Anyway, the only people who would have heard him would be other bridge officers, so "junior" can't be used to mean "non-bridge."

Why do these things drive me nuts?
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Man, I turn my back for a minute, and my metaphorical interpretation of a line in a script blows up into an enraged argument about social justice and definitions of words.

It reminds me of a recent conversation with a friend of mine who has recently been diagnosed as being on autism spectrum. After she read a list of common symptoms, she asked me flat out if she was "literal." I told her yes, she always had been. She asked for examples, so I gave her one. Turned out she wasn't looking for information. She was willing to accept her diagnosis, as long as it was just a label, but on hearing that she actually did have its symptoms, she became defensive as if she were under attack. There was no way to really explain to her what she was "missing," because, well, she was missing the ability to understand what it was.

I'm thinking there may be some folks in this discussion who are also on the spectrum. That's not an insult, or an accusation, or anything that has to be defended against. Just an observation.

I suggest dropping it, guys. There's no point in an argument about this. Some people here see the metaphor, some don't. Sometimes, you just have to take it on faith that others who seem to be saying something crazy are saying it because they see something to which you are blind.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

@Booming

As for comparing them to an object, the character speaking the line about the crystal (Spock) is not doing that; he is just talking about the crystal. The screenwriter, I believe, is drawing such a comparison, but not because one that says women are just rocks.

It is the nature of metaphors to compare things that are not alike, by highlighting some way(s) they ARE alike, so it is no insult for a human to be metaphorically represented by an object, especially an object that makes men rich, is a source of great power and is beautiful even when it seems burned out.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Sorry if I missed it, but when I scanned the comments made so far, I didn't see any that noted Spock's line about halfway through the episode as he holds the cracked dilithium crystal: beautiful, even when burned and broken. That line was written into the script for a reason, and Nimoy delivers it very well.

I can see how crystals would appeal to a Vulcan's sense of beauty, as an example of mathematically precise order. For a Vulcan, order has power; order IS power. To see such power pushed beyond its limits is heartbreaking, in as real a way as a Vulcan's heart can be broken.

Eve is a logical woman, making a pragmatic decision based on the precise equation of her life. She finds Mudd and his "cheater" drug distasteful, but the calculation is clear: If she stays on her home planet, there will be no family except her muddy-booted brothers. Mudd offers the only way she can seek a better life.

But pretending to be stupid pushes her past her limit. She is a crystal burned and broken, yet a wise man will see her beauty.

I'm a feminist, and there is much in this episode to make me uncomfortable. (I'd swear the original had a line from Mudd about the drug making men "more intelligent," because it gives you "more of what you have.") But the characters of Eve and Childers have always felt very real to me. I have long imagined a scene many years later, when they've been married quite a while, and Eve sends one of their kids to hang up the dinner pots to be sandblasted. I see them as a couple getting married because it seemed the logical thing to do, through the years learning to love each other.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

@Jim Seigler

I agree completely! Your comment is basically the one I came to make: Neither one of them should be considered an "impostor."
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

So what language is being spoken in this camp? Obviously not Klingonese, because the generation raised there need the lyrics of a Klingon song translated for them line by line. They're not using something like a universal translator, because it's not translating the Klingon.

I guess I can imagine the prisoners being fluent in Romulan by now, and it might be their children's first language, if that's what's spoken in the camp. But is Worf fluent in Romulan?

I know, we're not supposed to ask these things.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Nov 7, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Okay, just making sure I follow:

Sisko has embraced his identity as the Emissary.

He has come to accept the revelations of the Prophets.

He has accepted the revelation of the Prophets that he is "of Bajor."

The Prophets told him not to leave Bajor, but he yielded to Starfleet pressure to do so.

He believes his subordinate and friend is dead and the wormhole has been closed because he left Bajor.

He (understandably) needs to take some time to reflect and get his head together.

He decides to do this by going to …

… his father's restaurant on Earth to scrub potatoes?

Not, for example, on retreat at monastery on Bajor?

Not to some little cottage on a quiet hillside, on BAJOR?
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

"Atoz" is such a good name for a librarian. His name is on the spine of every single-volume reference book: A to Z.
Set Bookmark
Chris H.
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I loved the episode. Clever on bunch of levels.
The MPs really took it on the chin in this one! They are outsmarted, tricked, punched and knocked out without a smidge of resistance!
Next, the General and his 2 MP escort are all polished off by one guy in 10 seconds while all 3 are armed and 2 had batons! No one even gets off a shot and all of them are out cold within 10 seconds and their mission a failure. Does anyone ever get in trouble...?
When I was in ROTC I worked with the MPs. Whenever I see them in shows like this, one always asks....would that have happened to us? How would we feel if it did?

Chris
Set Bookmark
Chris H.
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 10:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

The security department really took it on the chin in this one! 1st the whole reason the Enterprise came was so trained guards with Phaser2s would be deployed against the "monster" Yet, first think that happens is one of the security guards is killed with his phaser2 and never even gets off a shot!
Next, the Chief of Security and his whole team, while armed with phasers again, are outsmarted and overpowered by a team of miners with clubs. No one even gets off a stun shot and all of them are out cold within 10 seconds and their mission a failure. Does anyone ever get in trouble...?

Chris
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

A grief worse than losing a career, a parent, a spouse, a child:

Realizing you never had them to lose.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

@Chrome

I even checked to see if the same composer was involved with both shows, but nope.

Subconscious plagiarism?
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

I think Springy has a good point about the title. Think of it as spoken by McCoy himself: "My world has been hollow, but I have touched the heights of happiness."

I think it was meant to be his Paradise Syndrome, but it didn't really convey the poignance of the road not taken. Perhaps if Natira, like Miramanee, had died … But that would have been just the same story, wouldn't it?
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Regardless of how people feel about this episode (it was just on TV today), I kind of wished the crew managed to get the time capsule off safely and that Voyager, upon arriving at the spot where they found only odd debris, did find that capsule. Seeing them find out that the duplicate ship and crew managed to leave their home world and experience adventures different from our crew and ship would have been interesting to me.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Amazing how much the music played close to the end of the episode while Kirk gives Miranda a rose sounds like the Brady Bunch theme.

"It's the story of a lovely lady, who is mind-linked with an uggo named Kollos …"
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 8:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I do think that it is a better episode thannJammer and those who commented before me give it credit for.

It's true that it is thin on motivation, apparently just evil for evil's own sake. I am willing to presume that the evil angel has more of a motivation than that, but I wish we were privy to it.

His way of accomplishing that evil is the one thing of interest, and it underlies everything that happens in the episode: Evil manipulates the specific "beast" in each person, some quality that usually serves them well but has been twisted into a dangerous weakness:

Sulu's enthusiasm for martial arts, a respect that needs but a nudge to plunge him into an abyss of terror.

Uhura's youthful vitality and beauty, betraying a paralyzing fear of the ugliness of death.

Chekov's reverence for Starfleet's hierarchy, which usually gives him unswerving loyalty to his captain but is rooted in a deep fear of disobedience, even when the situation calls for him to question authority.

Scotty's dedication to the physical operation of the ship, perverted into a protectiveness that loses all sense of that ship's purpose.

Kirk's own identity as a natural leader, turned against him as he fears losing control over his ship and crew.

And of course, it all started with the children's beast, their dependence upon loving parents, a dependence they transferred onto an evil being who used their fantasies of power for his own aims.

As for the evil angel himself, he insists, "I fear nothing," but he ultimately fears the most powerful beast of all, the one beast that could have conquered all the personal beasts he had exploited: the truth.

The episode's execution is not always perfect, but the story beneath the plot is a profound one about the universal human experience. This episode implicitly asks two questions of every viewer: "What is your beast?" and then "How can you keep evil from exploiting it?"

Entire spiritual retreats have been structured around such questions. I think they make this episode worth a great deal more than half a star.

I'm not afraid of being alone in that assessment.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

McCoy: "Well, I won't stop you from questioning the children, but it could harm them if you do."

So this DOCTOR believes that Kirk's intended course of action has a real possibility of harming children who have just been through a terrible trauma, but defers to the captain's decision? What happened to the Chief Medical Officer's authority in matters of health? Shouldn't he be ordering the captain to take the kids to the starbase for the treatment he believes, in his expert medical opinion, they require? Or at the very least ordering him not to play psychotherapist with them?

Apparently, that whole "the doctor can overrule even the captain in case of medical necessity" thing only applies when convenient to the story.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I actually am a little surprised to see so many people agreeing with my own opinion that this is one of my favorite episodes.

It's my personal favorite because I happen to have temporal lobe epilepsy, which gives me deja vu episodes.
Next ►Page 1 of 88
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.