Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,148 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 86
Set Bookmark
turquoises
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

@Eat at Quark's--- EXACTLY!! I just watched this for the first time in 10 years and that was my conclusion. The lightbulb went off as soon as I opened the review and saw Jammer talking about how implausible it all is. I suspect that's the point. Especially because the episode starts off with one of Quark's fish stories being interrupted by the returning war heroes. I think he went full Spaceman Spiff to make up for it.
Set Bookmark
frisby
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Loved this one, reminded me a bit of The Prisoner, very much a throwback.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Whaaattt? Kirk hit on every woman he met! " as if human beings were above the very notion of having a sex drive [on Trek]." Please!
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

Imperial Dunes, California was also used in a few Star Wars films, too. We really do have a lot of interesting places here. ;)
Set Bookmark
Kelvis
Tue, Aug 13, 2019, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

If you're going to have a year-long arc, there really ought to be a good payoff at the end. But there was no reason whatsoever to think that L'Rell would call off the war if they gave her the bomb and every reason to think that they would not.
Set Bookmark
Kelvis
Tue, Aug 13, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

One thing that grated me in this episode is when Stamets says Tilly has a eukaryotic organism, and they instantly jump to fungi. While fungi are eukaryotic, so are plants and animals.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

The alien reveal, for all of the minute it's on screen, takes too much guff. Especially in a series full of goofiness like this.

This felt a little tighter in the writing department. Intrigue and twists that don't insult your intelligence.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

The first half is classic Frasier; dancing around the details to cause more confusion. I checked out for the technobabble second half. Gotta love how the Enterprise is mostly functional with only one or two people on board.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Arena: Kirk is forced by an alien to fight the Gorn while the crew can only watch from the ship.

The Gamesters of Triskelion: Kirk is forced by aliens to fight the thralls while the crew can only watch from the ship.

The Savage Curtain: Kirk (this time along with Spock) is forced by an alien to fight simulations of historical bad guys alongside historical good guys while the crew can only …

Once might have been creative. But every single season?!

I'm a fan of Trek, but I can't deny its flaws.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Ah, the irony no Next Generation fan could miss:

"I realize you can do almost anything a sighted person can do, but you cannot fly a starship …"

… Geordi.
Set Bookmark
Wisq
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

This doesn't deserve even two stars. What a mess.

The focus should be on the aging problem, but instead we have a random love interest, a courtroom drama, an incompetent commodore, and a gratuitous and easily avoided encounter with Romulans.

How on earth do they have a flag officer, a commodore — who outranks captains — yet has never commanded a ship? If he outranks Kirk, why do they need a competency hearing for him to get command? And surely _someone_ would tell him "hey maybe flying into Romulan territory isn't the greatest idea you've ever had"?

Meanwhile, the solution to the aging problem ends up being _stupidly_ simple — which is good, because they have all of about five minutes to solve it amidst all that mess.

This a complete mishmash of concepts thrown together with awful pacing and no concern for common sense. Just give command to Sulu and get back to work, you nitwits.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

"I am not amused." - Captain Picard

Of course he chooses Gangster World as a place to relax. This show is a real test of patience.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Jun 28, 2019, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

Is everybody else okay with those weak women being the ones who immediately started fainting left and right?

Of course, it did give us an opportunity to see more female crew members than in probably any other half dozen episodes combined.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Working through these episodes, I constantly find myself thinking "This was bad, but it didn't have to be!" It's amazing that small, intelligent changes and a greater attention to detail would have elevated almost all of this stuff. Instead, the crew of the Enterprise is repeatedly caught with their pants down, and in this case the villain doesn't even bother to hide his new status.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

It's hard to take any episode seriously as an anti-slavery tract or as anything else when they couldn't even be bothered to have Shatner look like he was TRYING not to "step on the opposing color" in the climactic contest.

This episode wasn't a serious anything.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Ari Paul "I'm rooting for Armus."

Perfect.
Set Bookmark
GharisonFord
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I'm a relatively new Trek fan and have seen all of TOS and TNG (started DS9 relatively recently). I enjoyed this movie, honestly. Not great, but there's good stuff in it and it's well made. Where is stalls for me is the Kirk/Picard interactions. I wish that the film had gotten back to Kirk faster to give more time between him and Picard. There could have been some truly great dialogue between the two to really showcase the difference in their personalities and ideologies. I wouldn't say that was wasted, but it was incredibly rushed. What could have been a very memorable meeting of two of the most iconic characters in history came down to just a two minute mild disagreement. Generations gets 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Didn't much like the episode, but I really appreciated the higher level of production. Very nice direction and music.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

I think many people are thinking of the anti-aging drug as a tangential subplot, but it's the whole point: Much as a person might want to "go back" to fix and/or atone for the mistakes of youth, the attempt to do so is fatal to the person they have become.

Despite bad make-up and worse acting, this episode starts looking a lot better when you reach the time of life when you have to start facing that reality.
Set Bookmark
Joyfatis
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Little did we know back then but Worf's decision to spare Toral's life would come back to bite him BIG TIME.
Set Bookmark
Joyfatis
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

How was Sela Tasha Yar's daughter? Yesterday's Enterprise and Redemption, part II explains that.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Watching in canon order, going from the last episode of TOS where we learn women can't be starship captains (and TOS' horny gender politics in general) to this, episode 3 of TNG, where Starfleet's bad attitude toward females has been passed off to Planet Africa, is a jarring and hilarious experience.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sun, May 26, 2019, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

@Gary is right. We learn a lot about Malcolm in this episode and what we learn is really quite distressing. His father is vile (his mother not much better) and poor Malcolm has clearly had a cold, critical, repressive upbringing at the hands of this narcissistic, bullying couple who didn't even let him have a favourite food. He has spent his life as a 'disappointment' to his hideous father. Now he only communicates the bare minimum to them and who can blame him, but it's still sad. This has spilt over into all of his relationships, he keeps himself to himself and prefers to focus on work. His horror and embarrassment when he thinks Hoshi is making 'overtures' to him tells us a lot about him too. I like his childlike delight (and he is delighted, this is how some English people express delight, in a relatively low key way) at the end that his Enterprise colleagues have bothered to find out what his favourite food is. They are his new family. I've always enjoyed the focus on character development in Enterprise, unlike other commentators who just express impatience with it (for reasons best known to themselves).
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Fri, May 24, 2019, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Trent
Yes I just saw that via Google too. It does sound very like SMG though (unless my ears are playing up), can it be altogether accidental? The voice over irritated me, reminded me of all those annoying Burnham voiceovers. And I can't think that bodes well for the Picard scripts.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Fri, May 24, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Re: Picard trailer. Was that SMG doing the voice over?! There is no escape from Michael flaming Burnham...
Next ►Page 1 of 86
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.