Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,600 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,584
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I think the newer wiser Odo should have got in the Defiant with the original Odo and flown into the anomaly. They could keep doing this over and over again every 200 years, increasing the number of Odos exponentially until they have enough to create a Great Link that would rival the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

I really enjoyed this episode. I understand there were some plot holes along the way but honestly, it's a good Star Trek episode to escape into. If you have to, pretend it's a holonovel gone rogue. Turn the safety off. Occasionally we all have to escape.
Set Bookmark
Moegreen
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Apparently Odo sees no need in having the computer notify him when weapons go off in random quarters on the station. Ye olde 24th century 2nd amendment. 'Just another domestic'.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Who fucking CARES if they made a mild continuity error with Seven getting drunk? Does that REALLY spoil a great episode like this? You fucking nerds don't deserve nice things.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Strange how something can just strike a person so funny:

Kardashian War...

I had to take off my glasses, wipe my eyes, take a sip of coffee, all before I could continue.

I'm picturing nice-looking but largely expensive, useless ships; with huge engines.

Enjoy the day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Tomas
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

I hope the new Picard series revisits this episode. It would be interesting to see how this society has progressed since the 1980s.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Whoa more cringe, less laughter.

Reading the review after watching such an episode is a delight.

What now, 1 1/2 star enterprise episodes or 1 star voyager...
hmmm I dislike enterprise more and also haven't seen all of the episodes.
Enterprise it is.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Great stuff, great stuff.
laughed and cringed, cringed and laughed.

To the next Enterprise 1 star episode.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

"Trek repeatedly has an episode with a character accepting their nature in some way, about how even if they don't like their people's culture, it's part of who you are and they are your people and I feel that gets uncomfortable after certain point, even if few other stories go against it."

Ah, but I wonder if Amanda really didn't like being Q or if she was just put off by Q being his obnoxious self. It seems like that scenes where she could really use her powers to do things beyond human imagination where scenes Amanda really enjoyed herself. Being a human was stifling to her, even if that was understandably hard to accept given that her life up until a certain point was a human one.

"I don't really get why it being ensemble should mean it shouldn't focus on any part of the ensemble though."

I'm just curious because you keep on deferring to a Michael Piller mandate about main character development needing to occur in an episode for it to be good, but I'm at a bit of a loss as to how it would work in this episode. I brought up Crusher, Picard, and Q who have pretty sizeable roles as it is. I don't know what else this episode would need to do for those characters to make it work in the Michael Piller "let's tie everything to our leads" sense. I can imagine a few scenarios that might include the main cast better, but I'm not sold they would work in this particular episode. I don't mean to say Michael Piller is a hack or anything, but by the same token I don't want some interview of his to become the Sine qua non of TNG.

"Try me over on Enterprise reviews, I'm much more invested in my belief Night in Sickbay is a crime against humanity :-)"

I haven't seen it, or most of Enterprise really. I always hear bad things about the show even from *fans* of it. My limited exposure to the show makes me think it might be fun in a campy "let's see some silly sci-fi" type of way.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

@Springy But doesn't Harry say to Tom he still considered asking her out and stopped once they got on Voyager? Because that makes no sense to me. He considered getting with her but then changed his mind after he was seperated from his fiance and unlikely to see her again? And even ignoring Libby, why would being on Voyager make him not pursue her, when he repeatedly does with other women?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I think we are just repeating "I don't like it" "But I do like it" at each other. I don't really get why it being ensemble should mean it shouldn't focus on any part of the ensemble though. I'm not saying it has to, just not sure why would that mean what you said. And sure, maybe. Or it would make the story more engaging.

Look, I understand you just want a friendly discussion but I don't really dislike the episode enough or have specific problems to argue with you or to let you change my mind. I have no problem with you or anybody liking it more than I do. Sorry, I know I might look like an idiot, but there just isn't much for me to say. Try me over on Enterprise reviews, I'm much more invested in my belief Night in Sickbay is a crime against humanity :-)

Where would I be going with it? I said what I meant. Trek repeatedly has an episode with a character accepting their nature in some way, about how even if they don't like their people's culture, it's part of who you are and they are your people and I feel that gets uncomfortable after certain point, even if few other stories go against it.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I really hated the first half of this one... the inciting incident was Kira stepping on a crystal...really?! I couldn't help laughing at her entire performance this episode, and the ridiculous crystal design.

I was kind of won over though by the great performances from Odo and Nog. Also, Kira being a shapeshifter explains how bizarrely stupid her performance and the entire plot was. Still overall, felt this was a pretty weak episode though from the comments here, sounds like it's the beginning of a new arc for Nog, which I look forward to. Generally like all the Ferengi stuff, even though they aren't always served well by the scripts.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

This one combines elements from two classic TNG episodes: "Schisms" and "Frame of Mind", and to that adds it's own spice in form of a Peak Performance Voyager crew. Needless to say it's a slam dunk.

There's not much to complain about really, the story is super solid and keeps on unfolding most elegantly 'til the very end. Mixing in comic relief and action perfectly in what otherwise is a dark and sinister plot. I for one don't think it's very important to have the aliens motive spelled out for the audience - in "Schisms" nobody cared, albeit it was a more mysterious tone to those aliens, but still.

David Bell's music does sound extremely alike his DS9 arrangements, but if it works, it works. I would also like to point out one of the main highlights of this episode, namely the absolutely BEAUTIFUL photography. There were so many gorgeous frames in "Waking Moments" that I lost count half-way in. Even if you don't like this episode it is certainly worth a re-watch just for the shots.

When I watch this I fall in love with Voyager. No way this gets less than 4 shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Jason
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Synthehol does have similar intoxicating effects to alcohol, but they can be easily dismissed. So you do get drunk, but you can sober up in an instant if need be. Data mentions this in "Relics".
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Perhaps I'm just too moved by DeLancie and d'Abo's performance, but I don't see the need for it to be about the main crew. On the contrary, TNG has an ensemble cast where there isn't a single protagonist, so there's no need for the story to be mainly about any of them for it to work. Also, take account that it's season six episode so the viewer is pretty familiar with the main cast. If this episode focused more on Beverly Crusher's workday, for example, it might be downright boring.

"This isn't part of my problem with the ep, but I actually feel the whole "can't escape your nature" gets progressively more uncomfortable the more times Trek gives that lesson."

I'm not sure where you're going with this.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

@Beeba How would race not being mentioned somehow mean it's not racist? What? Anyway, women own land, but Lutan is still the one in charge and considers women "pleasant but unimportant" and wanted to make Yar his first wife just as she made him her second husband. Rhe ep's potrayal of women, where they would fall for their kidnappers and fight for them is an issue, but I would say firmly secondary to the potrayal of all black planet Tribal Africa style.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

@Rahul You are completely and objectively wrong - it's not hard at all to believe Berman and Braga wrote this. These are the guys who came up with Night in Sickbay and decon gel scenes in the first place. Seriously though, I suppose you could at least argue until this point they were just generally horny, as opposed to sexist-which to be clear, is about their writing, not them as people (though Berman from what I understand does indeed suck as a person).
Set Bookmark
Ildaf
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Jason R
"Although it's funny someone mentioned Vash because kind of the same thing happened to her in Q Pid with Sir Guy or I guess would eventually have happened if Vash hadn't gone soft and tried to rescue Picard."

Yap, Exactly. Vash more or less face the same situation in Q-pid, forced by Guy to marry him. What Vash do? Taking advantadge of that situation and try to deceive Sir Guy. No way i see it as Vash got raped if the marriage come. Coerced, maybe, but not a rape. As she's depicted willing to manipulate the whole situation, took advantadge and even go along with it if necessary.

This also happen again when Vash dumped Picard in favor of Q. She's willing to dump Picard for Q because the latter offer more and it suit her need.
Vash is a maneater version of Riker. In no way i could she her got raped in both situation.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

" You can still object to it in isolation-a character being coerced into sex with it being treated as wacky hijinks-as many people do."

Agreed. But I still wouldn't use the "R" word to describe this situation. You stated I applied a "double standard" which implies an *unfair* application of a principle. I already stated straight up that I see this sort of thing through a gendered lense - but I don't think it's unfair to Riker. I just think that whether it's 1990 or 2019 this situation is apples and oranges with the reverse gender, especially with Riker being this big shot officer with a whole starship backing him up. If he was some kind of anonymous slave I might see it a bit differently, although even then not quite the same.

Although it's funny someone mentioned Vash because kind of the same thing happened to her in Q Pid with Sir Guy or I guess would eventually have happened if Vash hadn't gone soft and tried to rescue Picard.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

@Rob I would agree it's creepy, but comparing to actual sexual assault isn't fair. Chakotay isn't being violated, it's not real. This is more like if somebody had fantasies about you and drew pictures of you that they jacked off to. Again, creepy, but not really comparable.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Peter G: I disagree Picard would never have done that. Maybe I don't remember all the details, but that doesn't seem to me much different than him going to destroy the Romulan base in The Defector
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I don't know if that's the case, at least not all of it. I find Amanda Rogers inoffensive. But still, in case of Hollow Pursuits, the crew dealing with Barclay has more weight on the story and their interaction with him influence his behavior, same in Defector. Also, there is a bit of perspective flip as to how they look to regular officer. Here, in the end, they seem completely inefffectual to anything. It's closer to Q-Less in that matter IMO. Again, these are not HUGE issues, I don't think it's a bad episode. It just feels like there is one thing that needed to be there.

This isn't part of my problem with the ep, but I actually feel the whole "can't escape your nature" gets progressively more uncomfortable the more times Trek gives that lesson.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Lew Stone I am wondering, why do you think this is "not Star Trek"? Speaking as somebody who acknowledged Elliot got picked on for not liking a show other people did, even I didn't get that objection about this episode. If anything, I think the episode's biggest problem stems from its obligation to be more Star Trek-it can't just be a character piece with Sisko and Jake, it has to have them do some epic pioneer exploring shit. It doesn't bother me too much, since it's still jsut means to an end and the character stuff does work for me. As for Bashir being confident ladies man, he is certainly the latter, but watching early Bashir, the dude is a giant dork. Again, despite contrivances, to me it worked, especially Bashir/O'Brien friendship.

You're the first person I've seen complain about Brooks underacting-personally, I do think he overacts, but I think he's actually really good and quiet, subdued moments. I also like him when he's just being a cool dad pal, like here.
Set Bookmark
Ildaf
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I'm quite surprise by the strong feeling of 'Riker got raped'. I never saw it as Riker got raped and pretty much agree with @ William B and Peter G take on this.
Mainly because Riker character been potrayal as a ladies man, who's enjoyed this kind of thing as long as both party agreed and liked it.
At best, we could say that Riker being coerced into it, and he hesitant and reluctantly agreed to the term. But nothing even remotely suggest that Riker got raped. My take could be different if the character was someone else, such as Wesley or LaForge for instance.

If the reversal gender being applied, i still feel the same way..
It depends on who's on it. If it's Vash... I wouldn't see it as rape. Vash character been potrayed as a woman who wouldn't hesitate to do dubious thing if it's suit her need.
My take could be different if the character was someone else, such as Beverly or Pulaski for instance.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Jason R. I'm a man too. TBH, I not that bothered by the episode-I would if it was done now, but I can accept a 90's TV writers not knowing better. I was more bothered specifically by Peter G's arguments. But she does have power in his situation. She is offering a life-saving aid in exchange for sex and Riker at the moment has no access to any of his support. And he still almost dies.

Your last point is a non sequitur. So because there is a double standard as to how something is treated, that means is it's okay for that double standard to be there? And nobody here HAS TO say it-it's only said to point out there would be no discussion in that situation and that the thing plays into a sexist stereotype. You can still object to it in isolation-a character being coerced into sex with it being treated as wacky hijinks-as many people do.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,584
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.