Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Sherman Jones
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

3.5 stars.

The things I might add is that this should have been a 2 episode story. The Tholians seemed to want the vessel gone since they left at the end. Not enough exploration of the extra space inside the vessel. No consequences of the Sulliban ships being destroyed. The Vulcan ship was unnecessarily added unless 2 part series. 40 minutes to cram this in.

Good story though with action.
Set Bookmark
P.Sherman
Sun, Oct 18, 2015, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Everything about this episode was horribad!

It was known that Season 7 was going to be the last. Why the hell would they spend so much of it introducing a quasi-new character?!? That's why nobody like Ezri: she took so much time away from the established, beloved characters.

So now we get a whodunnit and it's not Odo who's investigating, it's Ezri. For no apparent reason. She herself tells Sisko that she's no expert in criminal psychology. She's barely a capable counselor...

The moment the new character was the center of attention at Quark's bar, I turned to my girlfriend and said, "Dead by the end of the episode!"
Was there any point in wasting three minutes on him?

The gun is ridiculous. So now we're beaming bullets. Why does it take seconds to beam anything else?

The conclusion with the Vulcan is beyond ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sat, Nov 23, 2013, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

On a more shallow note, this episode suggests Picard has his share of "If you need me, I'll be in holodeck 4" moments:

Daren: "You're not used to playing with anyone, are you?"
Picard: "Just the computer."
Daren: "Hm, well, I may not be as precise as a computer, but I think you'll enjoy it more..."
Picard: *stares*

Haha!
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sat, Mar 2, 2013, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

At the end of season 6 and the start of season 7 I was tragically losing interest in DS9, but this episode rekindled some of my interest.

Worf snapping Weyoun X's neck was a high point for me and I hope it heralds a nice and gritty end to the series. Has to be one of Star Trek's most cold-blooded killings. Suddenly I understood why the Klingon temper is so infamous, something which earlier growling and brawling didn't manage to convey.

Kai Winn's soul-searching and turning away from her gods hit home as I'm an ex-believer who felt a bit let down by religion/God as well. To me her story shows that any worldview or faith should be complemented by strong, independent moral convictions. Faith without morality is limp, or even evil.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Tue, Feb 26, 2013, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

So-so episode, both script and direction lacked something, in my opinion.

But Ezri... UNnngh, baby!
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sun, Feb 24, 2013, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Loved to see one of my favorite western movies, Shane, featured in this episode!

Vic is a pretty endearing character that I like a lot, and as a nerd I like stories about AI's being self-aware and having free will, but his program seems a needlessly risky and morally dubious experiment to me.

I agree with Elliott above that it's disturbing that 400 years into an extremely multiracial future, in which even different species mix, Jake and Sisko only seem to date black women (human or Bajoran).
Set Bookmark
Herman
Wed, Feb 13, 2013, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

The writers tried to tell too much in one episode, that's why things like the Romulan treachery felt a bit rushed.

The new Dax has the looks alright, now let's hope she acts better than Terry Farrell (her acting style got on my nerves).
Set Bookmark
Herman
Wed, Feb 13, 2013, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

I liked this one in a guilty pleasure kind of way. Sometimes it's okay when things get all sappy and melodramatic. Some viewers really like that sort of thing (like Destructor's bawling girlfriend above, lol). But by now I'm in for a solid main story arc episode, dammit!
Set Bookmark
Herman
Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I noticed that all the human male Reds had pointy-shaped sideburns. I think this is typical Starfleet fashion in all the ST series, but it's still a telling detail that shows how heterogenous the organisation is. A bit like the closely trimmed soldiers and Marines of our time.

By the way, Cirroc Lofton (Jake) must be the worst actor of the show. He can't act his way out of a wet paper bag! Only Molly manages to make me cringe more, but at least she's a child.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Wed, Feb 6, 2013, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

O'Brien sure can act and keep his cool well for an engineer... All in all this episode seemed a little pointless to me, unless the writers followed up on the Dominion/Syndicate thing (I hope so).
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sun, Feb 3, 2013, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

I find Weyoun's character is juast as enjoyable as Garak or Dukat. His role was small this time, but I like how a line like "Besides, I think it's exciting" is said with that grin/smirk. Excellent actor.

A negative note: I think the last couple of episodes show DS9's sexist side a bit, seeing that they featured naive sex bomb Leeta, the sex-crazed 'evil Kira' and this time the mutant nymphomaniac. But I guess DS9 redeems itself somewhat with tough and no-nonsense female characters like Kira and Dax.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sun, Feb 3, 2013, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I don't like the Mirror apisodes at all. The idea that those mirror persons can just hop to our universe and screw things up whenever they feel like it seems like a huge securty risk to me. Sisko or the Federation would've taken steps to (genetically) identify them or prevent them from transporting to DS9 by now.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Thu, Jan 31, 2013, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

I had to LOL quite a few times during this episode, doesn't happen often with Star Trek. It was just full of silly fun. Bashir and O'Brien are a great comedic couple, especially O'Brien cracks me up every time with his dry remarks, even though his 'simple engineer' role is a bit stereotypical. Colm Meaney is quite the actor if that wasn't clear by now.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sun, Jan 13, 2013, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I liked how this episode was used to bolster Sisko's aggressive masculinity, which I found was a bit lacking until now. The villain stuff discussed above fits right in, not to mention the scene in which he goes at a punching bag all growling and sweating.

Enough about masculinity. I also liked Jadzia's new, tight uniform.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Mon, Jan 7, 2013, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Pretty solid episode, the main story was way better than the secondary, if only because the former's characters are much more interesting (BTW, I think Shimerman is one of the best actors of the show - although he wasn't brilliant in this ep).

I found Nog's pronounced bulge in his new uniform quite disturbing, though.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

The special effects are on the level of Forrest Gump, which was released only 2 years earlier. Must've been quite expensive. Great writing too. I agree it deserves all 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Herman
Sat, Jan 5, 2013, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

What undid this episode was the direction, I think. It was in the little details. Jake bumping into this IV-thing with his crotch, him tripping and falling on a Klingon corpse... By the way, what doesn't help is that Cirroc seems to have grown like 2 feet in a few months and doesn't know what to do with his long limbs. I mean, what the heck?

There were good parts too, sometimes it really felt like a war zone, with all its raw emotions. But Cirroc doesn't seem to be able yet to carry an episode when the direction leaves much to be desired.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.