Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

"But to engage in a moment of levity for a moment, not only does Data use contractions in the episode (“I’m” and “you’ve”), but he does so immediately after reminding everyone that he can’t. It’s almost like they did it on purpose to be playful or something."

Joe Menta, I'm inclined to agree with you. I think they did it as a running gag or Easter egg. The same thing happened in the first-season episode "Datalore." In that show, one of the explicit ways to tell the difference between Data and Lore was that Lore used contractions. It was a plot point in the final act. But at the end of the episode, there's Data on the bridge after Lore had been beamed away, and yes, Data uses a contraction. Amusing!

Of course you could always argue that the final scene takes place after a shift to an alternate universe where Data is able to use contractions as liberally as humans do. Haha.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 8:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

DidWorf?:

"Did worf return to the correct Enterprise though? At the beginning of the episode it starts out with worf receiving a surprise party but at the end of the episode troi said she knows how he hates surprises and talked riker out of throwing one for worf.

If it was the same universe then shouldn't events unfolded the same?"


DidWorf?, I think it was established that Worf started enterting parallel universes before he even returned to the Enterprise, during his shuttle trip. Therefore, the first time we see him on the Enterprise, having his surprise party that Riker threw despite telling him, "I hate surprise parties!" as a prank, he is already on a "wrong" Enterprise in terms of this story. So at the end, the intimate party he was with Troi is the "correct" universe.

That being said, I'm a firm believer that every continuity error and "canon violation" in STAR TREK shows can be easily dismissed by assuming that the episode or film in question takes place in an alternate universe/timeline. This exact episode, "Parallels," defines this concept beautifully. It's an easy way to counter paltry arguments about STAR TREK continuity errors or altered character development (I.E., Captain Janeway's "bipolar" personality changes). And it's no more hard to believe than warp drive, transporters, or DNA "resequencing."
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Tue, Aug 13, 2019, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

I have no trouble believing that the Rutledge's crew could be in agreement with Maxwell's plan. This is a battle-hardened crew that probably had experiences during the Kardashian war that mirrored O'Brien's. O'Brien even starts to stick up for Maxwell early in the episode before Picard cuts him off. Loyalty like that is hard to come by, as Picard even says to Gul Macet at the end. On the Rutledge, it also appears that Maxwell was a lot more "chummy" with the lower ranks than Picard is. He's more of a friend to the crew than a distant leader.

The Enterprise-D apparently didn't see much action in the war, unless this episode takes place in an alternate timeline/universe, of course. It's a luxury liner, whereas the Rutledge is a sparse tactical vessel with a crew of maybe a hundred at most. Things would be a lot different on that ship, especially with a war-weary crew. I figure the crew was with Maxwell all along and would never have voiced an objection to the captain that had kept them alive all those years in the war.

However, it's also possible that the Rutledge crew was starting to mutiny behind the scenes as Maxwell became unhinged after meeting with Picard. The Rutledge was turned over to its first officer for the trip back, meaning that the Enterprise could probably trust that the crew would accompany them back to the starbase properly.

Either way, it doesn't strike me as a plot hole at all.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Thu, Aug 8, 2019, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Clearly this episode wasn't meant to be taken too seriously. It was fun to see The Doctor's smugroutines on overdrive and Robert Picardo really sold it--he was wonderful to watch.

The Doctor's farewell performance of "Rondine al Nido" in the Qomarian opera house was so moving it brought tears to my eyes, which is about the last thing I was expecting. And that look on his face when his replacement started singing Tincoo's obnoxious composition was hysterical and a little heartbreaking too.

To echo a few comments above... I think the awkward, overbearing line delivery by Kamala Lopez-Dawson (Tincoo) and the other actors playing Qomarians was probably intentional. It wasn't "bad acting" so much as trying to make these characters appropriately ridiculous (much like the Pakleds in the STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION episode "Samaritan Snare"). It fit the story.

Not bad at all.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Many STAR TREK: DISCOVERY viewers on this site seem to get their panties in a knot over "established canon" and timelines. What's the big problem? All incarnations of STAR TREK have contained violations of established canon--the issue is not unique to STAR TREK: DISCOVERY.

Is it the Prime Timeline??! The Kelvin Timeline?!! The CBS/Viacom-10%-Has-To-Be-Different-Or-It's-a-Copyright-Violation Timeline??! I couldn't care less.

The STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION episode "Parallels" provides some great fodder for this issue. All one has to do is assume that every episode with a "canon violation" takes place in a parallel universe, alternate reality, or altered timeline, and all canon arguments can be summarily dismissed. You're welcome.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

One of Nine, I always thought that Qatai went back in because he won't be satisfied until the creature is destroyed. Since it still exists at the end of "Bliss," he knows he has to go in for another try until he finally destroys it, or it destroys him.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Mon, Dec 17, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

My favorite scene in this episode was when Q appears in the observation lounge to join the discussion about Amanda...



Troi: Amanda's a Q?

Crusher: How is that possible? Her biological parents were human!

Q: Well, not exactly. They had assumed human form in order for visit Earth, I suppose for amusement... but in vulgar human fashion, they proceeded to conceive a child. (Winks at Crusher, who then rolls her eyes) ... And then like mawkish humans they became attached to it. What is it about these squirming little infants that you find so appealing?

Crusher: I'm sure that's beyond your comprehension, Q.

Q: I desperately hope so.

_________________

LaForge: Are you saying that you created a core breach just to test this girl?

Q: Uh-huh.

Troi: What would have happened if she couldn't stop it?

Q: Then I would have known she wasn't a Q.


Great stuff. I couldn't stop chuckling for minutes.
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@ George Monet

FINALLY! George Monet, you explained all my objections to this overrated episode better than I could. I have never understood why this episode is so highly regarded--perhaps it's worth 2 or 2 1/2 stars because of the cast's acting and interesting questions raised by it, but come on, the execution is so dumb and makes Starfleet come off as fascistic with threats of summary judgments ("I WILL END THIS RIGHT NOW!") and incompetent with the hair-brained idea of a starship captain, not a JAG lawyer or whatever the Starfleet equivalent is, representing Data's case and the first officer (?!) of the same ship prosecuting for Starfleet, even after said officer clearly says he doesn't believe in Starfleet's case. That B.S. about "I don't have a full staff" is ridiculous. Postpone the damn case until you can get one, like any reasonable state would. Ironically, this may have worked better in a situation such as the one on STAR TREK: VOYAGER where the crew was on the only starship in the quadrant as far as they knew.

Is Maddox worried that Data is a flight risk, and therefore the case should be heard NOW? Well if it's Starfleet's idiotic argument that Data is property until proven otherwise, why can't they just detain him/store him until the case can be prosecuted properly?

I know, I know, it's because the main cast members have to star in this hackneyed courtroom drama. Patrick Stewart can definitely play a good lawyer, and his speeches are dramatic, but the situation is so ludicrous that, like George, I can't watch this episode without cringing at the bizarre circumstances in which the characters find themselves.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.