Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 59 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 8:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I was really looking forward to the show and it was great.

The showrunners found a way to naturally connect to past characters without making it appear to be blind fan service.

Some general thoughts:

- I agree with Jammer’s review of the final episode and that the show is ultimately about Picard saying goodbye to Data, and I think it’s also about Data’s humanity being told through Soji and the themes of artificial intelligence and consciousness.

- How come there wasn’t a single mention of the Dominion War? The consequences of the war would’ve been felt for decades and it’s strange there wasn’t even a passing reference.

- We also needed more insight into current state of the Alpha Quadrant and how the other powers are faring (a few minutes of exposition wouldn't have hurt).

- The Narek/Narissa scenes simply did not work.

Going forwards, the show should continue to be about these new characters & continue to introduce new personalities and stories, and where the narrative fits bring back old faces. Can you imagine how awesome it would be to have a DS9 character return (assuming it makes narrative sense)?
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

This episode sucked, plain and simple.

Reflecting back on the season, I'm disappointed Lorca turned out to be an MU version of the character, undoing a lot of rich character work built earlier on. It would’ve been fascinating exploring this man in greater detail, uncovering a dark, militaristic Starfleet officer operating in a moral grey area. How did the war change him? Why did he make some of the decisions he did (e.g. leaving Harry Mudd behind on the Klingon prison ship)? Instead they abruptly turned him into a generic evil bad guy we have seen on TV so many times. What a shocking reversal.

Anyway Discovery is still great. Burnham in particular is such a rich character & the actress pulls off the emotional conflict very well.
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 10:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I am really, really like ST Discovery so far. It's no TNG or DS9 (yet) and there are plot holes but it's a refreshingly different take on Star Trek, all while trying to maintain established lore/continuity. And it works!

The gritty, dark and more grounded tone gives the writers much more freedom to go places they couldn't in past shows. The character interaction, violence and militaristic tone is a huge breath of fresh air, especially coming off of Voyager & Enterprise that are like stale bread in comparison.

The awesome visual effects are a bonus. I'm only five episodes in and hope it continues in this direction.
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I can't stop thinking how emotionally powerful the scene with Trip & T'pol was. And it was great how they used the dead crewman under Trip's command as a vehicle for all that pent up anguish over his sister's death.

One of the most powerful scenes in ALL of Trek.

Great three episodes, shows just how good Enterprise can be when the writers decide to leave the Trek comfort zone.
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 9:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Enterprise so far has been below par. Although it is great to see that the Universal Translator is a work-in-progress & can't always be relied upon during this time period.

Circling back to this episode, I thought Dead Stop was pretty good. Not just imaginative & creative, but also eerie. The setup and reveal of this mysterious repair station was executed very well and I like that they maintained the sense of mystery all the way.

Easily one of the best episodes so far, and I agree with earlier comments about it being perfect as a Voyager episode.
Set Bookmark
HK Star Trek
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Endgame was not the ending we deserved, of all the possible scenarios taking Voyager back home, this is what they could come up with? Don’t get me wrong, there were some powerful scenes (e.g. future Janeway & mentally ill Tuvok) but after years’ worth of build-up we don’t actually get to see the payoff of them being home and reconnecting with their family.

Voyager such a frustrating series overall. I know it was a product of its time but my main issues with the show:

- Predictable storylines.

- No real stakes, day-to-day it felt like a ship in the Alpha Quadrant (think Enterprise D on TNG) and in constant touch with Starfleet/Federation.

- No stakes or risk taken with the characters given the fact they were tens of thousands of years away from home in an unexplored quadrant of the galaxy. The closest we got to exploring the dangers & trauma of this was the Year of Hell two parter but like with many episodes, everything was reset at the end.

There were some highlights:
- A few of the guest characters like Suder were good.

- Dr was great and convincing, be it in comedic or serious scenes. Robert Picardo is a great actor.

- Seven of Nine was a great addition to the story, although the constant focus on her was at the expense of the rest of the characters towards later seasons.

- It took time but Kate Mulgrew eventually grew into her role and became a convincing enough Captain.

To me, Voyager's lasting legacy is a show that never tapped its full potential.
Set Bookmark
orshko
Thu, Aug 27, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

The doctor's pimping of another hologram felt off. It's a dark way to treat your own, even if they are lesser forms of algorithms.
Set Bookmark
Orshko
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 5:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

The Tak Tak were magnificent.

Yes, they are completely absurd, but by the sheer amount of alien cultures a Federation starship gets to see on a regular basis, absurd encounters like this should have been far far more commonplace. And it's a refreshing change from yet another achingly boring human-like race for the hundredth time.

They were a nice touch. The writers could have easily stretched the concept over an entire episode, Darmok style, and thankfully they didn't (though I admit I would have loved seeing Tuvok in a Tak Tak court defending some wrongfully accused crew members while trying to master these peacock gestures).
Set Bookmark
Orshko
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

I liked how Harry wears his heart on his sleeve in this episode, and how everybody is so mundane about his holo-crush. I can imagine how in a future with this sort of entertainment system, it happens a LOT. And the way Kim shares this "embarrassing" emotions so openly with his crew mates, really goes a long way as a message advocating for positive masculinity.
Set Bookmark
Orshko
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

2 Missed opportunities in this episode:

1) A moral dilemma - If these are humans, then isn't the Federation responsible in some way to their future well being? They could have played the prime directive in reverse here by asking "Since they're humans, shouldn't we share all of Earth's history and tech development so they'll learn and survive, and be ready for the day the Federation will eventually spread to the Delta quadrant? but then will it count as interfering with primitive cultures even if their our own?" And what if the technology will fall to some alien invader and be used to shift the balance of power throughout the quadrant? Maybe leave some personnel behind to guide them and make the best of it, and so forth.

2) The old problem of non-serialized episodes - Bringing on board new people who want to go to earth (and the moral question of: do we have the right to deny humans this request) could've refreshed the crew dynamics with out of time humans, same as the integration of the Maquis and Neelix. Voyager should've had far more diverse passengers coming in and out of the secondary cast to spice things up.
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

I'm sad to see they are not part of the Amazon Prime experience, and I had to youtube them. Since English is not my first language, and my hearing is not as it used to be, I lost a lot of dialogue. With that in mind, the webpisodes are not par to what I've come to expect of BSG. The are a bit bland, aren't they?
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 12:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Well, judging by ST:E latests episodes, I'm clearly not in the supposed "demographics", and neither are most of the ppl commenting here
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 8:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

The most amusing part of this episode was trying to figure out what was Neelix doing disguising as a Ferengi. The least amusing part of this episode was seeing he wasn't
Set Bookmark
Duhknees
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Haven't read through everything everyone has said, because I know Voyager doesn't get much respect on this site, but I do want to add to jammer's commendation on Phillips' performance. I lost my brother to suicide many years ago, and when I talk about it to others now, they always ask the same question: Couldn't you see signs of it, before he did it? The answer is, of course, no, because suicides aren't like they are often pictured, emotional and desperate. They are, in fact, quite pleased with themselves for making a decision. The desperation occurs earlier; when it's gone, that's when they're dangerous. My brother seemed lighthearted, better than normal, because he thought he'd found a solution to his problems. Phillips shows that in this episode, that calm, frightening composure that often precedes a measured but deadly response. That did not come from the writing alone, I suspect. It made this episode much more poignant for me.
Set Bookmark
HKUrban
Fri, Jun 28, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

First time chronological watch-through of DS9 here.

I agree that cliched "it was all just a simulation" episodes are showstoppers, especially when its not telegraphed well. However in this case, I feel it was subtly telegraphed. The big moment where I first didn't trust reality was with Dax and O'Brien conveniently showing up on Sisko's shuttle. Last we left them, they were in a security lockdown on a planet. And for that matter weren't Sisko et al. in the middle of a hand to hand fight with the Jem'Hadar?

All these little details were kind of brushed past, and it almost felt like a dream sequence, where events happen and details are omitted and you don't really question it. Likewise everything on the AQ side of the wormhole was just happening too fast and without much introspection on the part of the Federation admiralty. It really seemed to me like the Dominion had their hand up the backside of a few of the major players. I did eventually buy into the situation around when Sisko and the crew staged their escape, only to have my initial suspicions confirmed in the final act. That definitely softened the blow of "all these important things didn't really happen" for me. Of course having the Sisko form a resistance against Vichy Starfleet, teaming up with unlikely allies and soforth would have been a fun storyline of its own, but not in dinky runabouts with the Defiant dead in space on the other side of the wormhole.
Set Bookmark
darthkeen
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Yoda: Control, control you MUST learn control!
Set Bookmark
HK
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 2:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Dom
"in Discovery MU Terran officers eat sentient aliens and come close to destroying all life in the universe"

Many might think this is not unlike Americans, who at a time enslaved sentient humans and are now recklessly contributing to global warming.

Many that's the allegory the writers were going for?
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Apr 3, 2013, 12:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Just re-rewatched this episode -- hadn't noticed before the number of scenes with Riker and Picard walking, moving in sync, shoulder to shoulder, mimicking the Bynars. Well done. Even sitting at the computer station, they turn toward the Bynars at the same time. Nice direction, and it adds to the theme. Humans, too, work better in teams.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Mar 12, 2013, 9:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Worst. Episode. Ever.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Feb 24, 2013, 3:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I disagree with the rating. I like the various plot lines that come together at the end. No big philosophical statements, but better than long, drawn out one strand plots. I was surprised at Nguyen's ability to pull off this part, one note that it is.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Oct 11, 2012, 1:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Agreed. Worth the clumsy fighting and lame romantic music for the poignant last words of Spock.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Oct 9, 2012, 8:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

The fight scene was well executed? Not even by 60's standards. Mrs. Prickley's doubles got full-on face shots--very amateurish.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Sep 4, 2012, 9:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I may have been the only person bored by this episode. The editing was slow and the acting tepid for a mirror universe. Bakula came close, but everyone else was too mild. And as I come close to the end of this series, and possibly the franchise, I am disappointed to have this interruption to the arc. I did like seeing the TOS set and uniforms.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.