Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 6:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I liked this one quite a bit to be honest, overlong pool scene and all. Definitely in the same wheelhouse as '11:59', but far more engaging for my money.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Plenty entertaining, but disappointing if you were hoping to gain any insight whatsoever on the Temporal Cold War plot. A couple of rushed story beats here and there too, like Archer's return, the faked warp core breach, and the very sudden retaking of the bridge. Not a bad follow up per see, but I was hoping for more.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

All that being said though, everything we see here is done far better on DS9 anyway.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

I feel very much the same as this review on most of the episode, though I'd disagree on the need to "both sides" the conflict here. Archer's final line is fitting (though might have benefitted from less time spent on the pointless survival plot) for how it illustrates that while individual captains may feel a certain way, they still can't go interfering with outside conflicts. I did appreciate how this followed on from 'Detained', which itself had built off previous encounters with the Suliban. It's not exactly groundbreaking, but after just coming off Voyager, any kind of continuity between episodes feels miraculous.
Set Bookmark
HC
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Caught this on tv last night and it's every bit as good as I remembered. Especially liked how Locarno was true to his word and really was willing to throw himself under the bus for the good of the team. A lesser episode would have cast him as a more clear cut asshole, but this one has a nuanced and complicated view of all its characters. And god, the scene where Joshua's father apologises to Wes is just devastating, with some of Wheaton's finest acting on the show. It's a shame to go from this fallible, human version of Wes to the "he's actually a special boy after all!" nonsense in 'Journey's End' but at least we got this terrific episode.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

I felt they could have done more with the "our minds are linked" thing, but the character interactions are very enjoyable here. Especially those with the engineers, who manage to rise above the usual disposable red shirt level (and even live to the end!). The last act, with the communication and the trip to the alien's home planet, was also very good. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
HC
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Pleasantly surprised by this one after a spotty run of episodes, even if it's mostly just alright. I think this first season has been somewhat unremarkable—many episodes either fail to live up to potential or just about scrape by (I think Dear Doctor is the only one to inspire anything close to a strong opinion), but this at least falls into the latter category. Nice to see Auberjonois in Trek again, especially since he's sadly no longer with us.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Weird that neither Voyager nor Enterprise was able to build on what DS9 had done with the Ferengi, instead bringing them back to the caricatures they were on TNG. The blueprint is right there, people! Anyway, this sucks.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Spends far too much time getting to the big reveal (especially considering how blindingly obvious it is), seemingly to make up for the half hearted presentation of the issue at hand. The concept of the rogue planet is at least quite neat, and I did enjoy the initial intrigue, though it's a shame it's wasted on such a pedestrian outing.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 6:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This mostly feels like any other episode in the show's run that just happens to end with the crew returning home. In the end, nothing really mattered. Not the Borg civil war, not Pathfinder, and not the numerous time their journey was shortened—they just stumble upon a way home here and are successful. Everything else in the episode, like the Borg and Admiral Janeway, is basically just there to fill the time. And don't get me started on the detour with the Klingons, which is padding on top of padding.

The crew getting home was inevitable, but 'Endgame' has no imagination when it comes to what happens next. It features a couple of nice character beats, but ultimately has nothing to actually say about these people, and worst of all, it's just not very exciting. Voyager fighting the Borg (again), Harry's big speech (ugh), it's all well-worn territory made to hide the fact that the finale has no tricks up its sleeve that haven't been done numerous times. And there's nothing rousing about any of it. It's a real shame, especially considering how much potential was here.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I found this way more entertaining than 'Body and Soul' and a very fitting penultimate episode for Voyager. Seven's face when Doc professes his love for her is one of the funniest sights this show has given us in ages. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 8:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Not a great episode by any stretch, but a serviceable one nonetheless. I did get a little choked up when Neelix did his last walk down the corridor and Tuvok's dance was an especially nice touch. A very generous 3 stars seems about right.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

*primitive. Damn.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

As I've always said, every good episode of television should wait until the last 7 minutes to introduce the main conflict. This is about as pedestrian as they come, but I agree that the communication scenes were nicely handled, even if Chakotay seems a little too relaxed about the whole 'exposing ourselves to a promative society' situation.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

The nonsensical nature of Verin's cause is exactly why this rang true for me, if I'm honest. These people have lived with the effects of the probe for generations and the emergence of vengeful types felt entirely plausible, given the situation. It's not like all of them felt the same way either, especially after interacting with the Voyager crew. Can't say I disagree on the issue of the final line of the episode, but I otherwise quite enjoyed this one.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 5:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

This one plays to practically all of Voyager's strengths—its sense of humour, the family theme, Seven recapturing her individuality, and, of course, Doc's quest for humanity—and rolls it all into one episode. Undoubtedly one of the show's best.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

That trailer was honestly the nail in the coffin of my interest in any new Trek product. I'm sure plenty of people will enjoy this, and all power to them, but between Discovery, Picard, the announcement of Section 31, etc., I've come to realise that none of this is in any way for me. There's obviously an audience for this stuff, but lord knows whether that's enough to keep all this going, especially considering how expensive the live-action shows appear to be. Star Trek just doesn't have the popularity of, say, the Marvel movies (a model Kurtzman seems keen to emulate) and I can't help but feel like none of this is really sustainable in the long term.

Maybe I was a little too optimistic, thinking they could make Trek's version of The Clone Wars/Rebels, but oh well. Plenty of Trek left to watch, and even more to revisit after.
Set Bookmark
HC
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 7:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

It's interesting how the two parters in later-season TNG started to feel drawn out and simply done for the sake of it, while episodes like this and 'Flesh and Blood' revel in their exra time, using it to explore the complexities of their situations. I would have perhaps liked a stronger conclusion to the Doctor's subplot, but otherwise very solid. I especially enjoyed B'Elanna's scenes and found the one in her quarters particularly moving.
Set Bookmark
HC
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I also found myself wondering whether this was based on scrapped plans for the show as a whole and retooled as a standalone story. Good episode anyway. I like the optimism on display, but Janeway's characterisation strikes me as a bit... off. For the purpose of the story, she's right back to season one Janeway, who does things by the book and remains true to her principles at all costs. That's not an inherently bad thing, but it could have come with some acknowledgment of her actions in episodes like Equinox (especially the titular ship's crew are still, as far as we know, still on Voyager). An episode that actually saw Janeway reckon with her mistakes to retain that first season optimism would have perhaps been a more complex and interesting one, but I'm happy with what we have here regardless. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
HC
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 8:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

An unfocused mess that ultimately feels like a total waste of time. Everything about this episode comes off as tired, whether its the reheated Klingon business or the incredibly laboured comedy. I can only assume the writer's room had "Klingons in the Delta Quadrant?" written on a whiteboard for years and just thought "eh why not" when they ran out of ideas.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

A deeply frustrating episode that sets out some difficult questions and features some well-played scenes between Seven and Iko, but ultimately trips itself up when it's time to actually say something about the issues at hand. Iko's plight is an interesting one, but his very literal developing of a conscience feels like a very easy way to sidestep the more difficult question of whether a person can change, and what good killing them for their crimes actually accomplishes. And then there's the B-plot, which speaks very plainly to the issue of mass incarceration. It starts off well enough but completely undermines everything that came before when the episode opts for a cynical, and frankly quite racist, "he actually did deserve it" ending. Sure, it made me think, but the more I actually thought about this episode, the more frustrating I wound up finding it.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

The idea that you can't do a simple character drama on a starship is a very silly argument that disregards numerous Trek shows and movies that came before this. Now '11:59' on the other hand...

Anyway, this was a lovely episode. No need for an anomaly or some alien of the week, just a well executed story that understands and thoughtfully considers the perspectives of its characters. I always liked this relationship in its early stages and felt it was a shame to see it fall by the wayside in recent years, so I've been pleasantly surprised to see episodes like this and 'Drive' which put them back in the spotlight before the show ends.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 1:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Borrows a fair bit from 'All Good Things...' but hey, you might as well steal from the best! Found this one to be fun and quite heartwarming, especially since I'm guessing this will be the last significant Chakotay/Janeway episode.
Set Bookmark
HC
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Both storylines needed a stronger conclusion (like say, a promotion), but i found this to be a decent attempt to reckon with the problem of Voyager's oft-forgotten Ensign. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

A waste of time in the worst way possible, one that convinces you of it's importance then pulls the rug out from under you, revealing itself as inconsequential nonsense.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.