Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
HC
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Just caught this one again on TV, it's fine. Stewart's direction does a lot to elevate a fairly mundane script, though I did enjoy Data's new developments, even if the resolution sees him doing a plot thing rather than evolving as a character. Points for outright weirdness, even if the Braga-isms get a bit much (Freud, interdimensional bugs), and I do like this looser later-season Picard. Shame the movies didn't lean into that side of him more.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Neat episode. As well as the Inception parallels, I kinda saw this as a precursor to the ideas of free will and control explored in The Matrix too. There's not a whole lot of depth to this and it's mostly used for cheap thrills, but as it stands, not a bad outing.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 5:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

The Enterprise crew (especially Archer and Trip) being belligerent idiots is getting very tiring indeed, and we're barely halfway into season one. What's worse is this could have been the episode to actually challenge their gung-ho attitudes, but no, just a shootout and an easy fix. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Terrific little episode, let down only slightly by the all too tidy resolution. I don't mean to relitigate any old arguments here, but it's a shame we never got to see Fuller's vision for Discovery realised after episodes like these.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

While on paper it's pretty interesting (I certainly got more out of reading this than I did the actual episode), I just found the execution too silly. Like surely there's a way to convey the same ideas without literal back alley dealers who trade in dark thoughts, for example. The last scene is terrific though, up there with Kirk's "risk is our business" speech.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, May 3, 2019, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I should also mention that the Tom/B'Elanna romance is really working for me. McNeill and Dawson have great chemistry, and the writers have actually put the work in to get us here, instead of just deciding on the fly that they'd get together and compressing it to a single episode.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, May 3, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

On paper the A plot actually kinda reminded me of DS9's excellent Chimera, although it's handled with none of the grace of that episode. Dejaren is just never sympathetic in the way the story needs him to be, and the Doctor never has to make any kind of difficult decision with regards to him, since it's B'Elanna who turns him off both times.

Harry's flirtations in the B plot are fine at first, but he starts coming off as a bit of a creep in a way that I don't think was intended. I did like Seven's very straightforward response though, she's just adding a whole new dimension to the show that I'm very much enjoying.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Solid episode. The fast pacing didn't take away from the drama, as it has done in some episodes, and the performances (particularly from Sonja Sohn, who I was delighted to see again) were very good all around. A minor gripe, but that upside down shot of Stamets that spun around was one of the weirdest camera choices I've seen on this show—unmotivated by anything going on the scene and just felt like the camera operator messing around between takes.
Set Bookmark
HC
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

There's just so little to even engage with here, the Nyrians have no philosophy or even a clear goal and it all ends in the most predictable way. What's weird about the "we have about 30 seconds to wrap this up" Captain's log is that everyone apparently forgot that the Nyrians not only snatched all those people up but also replaced them, which would surely take a lot more than just letting the prisoners go to resolve. But oh well, I guess it is more important to make room for more boring action scenes.
Set Bookmark
HC
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Excellent review of an excellent episode. As always, it's refreshing to see someone who's been writing about Star Trek for so long be able to approach this new series on its own terms and give thoughtful critique on that basis.

Although the reasoning for Burnham reliving her childhood memory at the end was a little contrived, the execution was just wonderful. Spot on direction and editing, combined with terrific performances from all four actors involved. Made for a very moving scene that lives up to the promise of what they've been teasing since the beginning of the show.
Set Bookmark
HC
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

The main plot of this episode is really fantastic, but it does seem to say something about Voyager's preference for playing it safe that they felt the need to toss some random anomaly B-plot in there. I just can't help but feel that if this were on, say, TNG or DS9, we could have just seen the main plot play out on its own without some random 'ship in danger' nonsense thrown in for excitement. This could have been up there with episodes like The Inner Light and The Visitor had they devoted the whole run time to the Doctor's story.

Complaints aside though, this is very moving and insightful stuff. An important lesson wrapped up in sci-fi devices, the kind of which Star Trek has always excelled at. Paris' scene with Doc towards the end was particularly engaging—just honest, well-written dialogue elevated by two fantastic performances.
Set Bookmark
Ashcan
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 12:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Boooo Hisssss!

The sex scene with Dr. Claire Finn and Yaphit was disturbing, it suggested a certain type of beastiality, hopefully that will never be explored further on the show.
Set Bookmark
Deathcrow
Tue, Jun 10, 2008, 4:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I have to agree with Jammer on this one.

Especially the part about "good characterization that technically isn't real". This is something that really makes me mad. WHY can't we have scenes with impact on the real voyager crew, why do we always have the mighty reset button. The actors surely could deliver great and engaging episodes, but the material is just not there. So their talent is wasted on episodes like "Course Oblivion".

I can understand why someone might like this episode. But for me, the plotholes and point of this episode (NONE!) is just too much to take.
Set Bookmark
Deathcrow
Sat, Jun 7, 2008, 7:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

They can make a 100% accurate hologram version of the Alien by a simple command from the doctor, but then they have to CUT the hologram open to find out how it looks inside (and make wild speculations while doing so). The hologram even suffers from pain, so the computer even understood the nervous system!!!

At first Doc couldnt make ANY clue out of the creature, when scanning it with his instruments, this makes him look like a total idiot.

Doesnt that sound stupid to anyone else here?

Adding all the other inconsistencies mentioned by others here this episode is definetly way below 'mediocre'...
Set Bookmark
Deathcrow
Sat, May 31, 2008, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

I agree with Dirk.

If you rate this episode as a typical Star Trek episode it may be horrible. But if you see this as a venture into another genre, while staying true to the Star Trek universe/formula it does quite a good job.

Its not brilliant (as dirk mentioned, there are some lengths, etc), but not as bad as you claim.
Set Bookmark
Deathcrow
Thu, Dec 6, 2007, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

"From what we learned in "Equilibrium," this guy was just temperamental and a little imbalanced, not a serial strangler. Here, Joran comes across completely over-the-edge by trying to choke Jadzia to death."

Everytime i watch this episode this scene annoys me a lot. WHY?! This could have been interesting. But they turn the interesting persona of Joran into a sterotypical maniac. This does not fit how his brother described him and it doesn't make a lot of sense.

"How could Jadzia not know that Curzon was in love with her?"
There may be a possible explanation for that: It seems that joined Trills can subconsciously supress memories of their previous hosts (we've seen that with the memories of Joran). And of course the Curzon part of Dax would try to hide these feelings from Jadzia.
But i agree that the writers should have given some kind of explanation and not let us guess.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.