Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15,929 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 638
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Loved your review Mal for one of my favourite episodes. There really is so much here that TOS does wonderfully.

Spock's monologue is brilliant and as a Spock episode I like how you've turned the tables in asking how he can not understand what it means to be human. I never thought of that aspect, but if there is some continuity to how McCoy chides him in that prior episode (which I believe is "Requiem for Methuselah") then there is some growth for the character here -- or at least added depth. What's been interesting in S3 is how Spock evolves -- really opening up about the mating aspects here is so different from "Amok Time". Maybe it all had to do with McCoy rewiring his brain in "Spock's Brain"! But then he also hit his head in "That Which Survives" and started acting like a jerk...

It's also great that we get scenes where Plasus and Droxine discuss the situation without any of the main cast present, we really get to understand their motivations. I also liked Vanna a great deal -- man, was she hot in that cave scene...

And I don't know if you notice the very final shot in this episode is a glance at Droxine and a hint of the love she might have fulfilled with Spock that is likely gone forever. It always says a lot for me.

I think this episode is quintessential Trek and going back to the discussion on "The Enterprise Incident", while this episode doesn't rate as quite as highly for me as that one did (it's not far off 8/10 vs. 9/10), I think it is more "series defining" than "The Enterprise Incident", which I hadn't considered before.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“the Expanse doesn’t say anything about the human condition.”

@Dom are you sure you watched the same show?
Set Bookmark
Nothing but the Tears
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Having read the books and as others have mentioned, ending The Expanse after S6 makes sense. And I definitely see opportunities to revisit that universe. Personally, I’m just excited. Like the ones before, this season has been terrific. So I’m hoping S6 will be no different.

On a different note, sad news about Furlan indeed. That came completely out of the blue for me.

As for B5 itself, I struggled with it back in the day, purely because I used to think you needed to be in one camp vs the other (I was on team DS9). However, I’ve come to really appreciate it. For all its flaws and, again, as others have mentioned, I think it’s a fantastic show. Much like DS9 I’d love to see an HD remaster, as unlikely as that seems to be.

Some of the work in the realm of AI technology does give me hope, mind you. Even if you could, at some point, run a software that does most of the heavily lifting, then just go in and brush it up, thereby greatly reducing cost, that could go a long way.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I will happily watch These Are The Voyages or the one where Beverly gets jiggy with ghosts, on a loop for all eternity, before I watch one second of Discovery ever again.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

It's the one where Data loses his memory, rewritten by a moron when he was drunk. I found myself thinking about all the other things that could have been done with the money that was spent on this series, and what a monumental waste it is. Maybe the idea is to put us off going into space because of the the stupid asshattery that we will do - the anti-Trekverse!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

It just doesn't get any better does it ? The humans are stupid and full of themselves; the vulcans are arrogant and hostile. How the hell did they get from this to the relationship in the future ? They currently seem more likely to form a federation with the Klingons. Stupid and infuriating, just like the 'characters', plots, dialogue and any other aspect you can mention.
Every time I watch this I can see why DS9 is so revered!
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 8:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

very sad to hear we lost Mira Furlan -- just watched "Confessions and Lamentations" last night as well ...
She was so good as Delenn -- really brought the aspect of another culture into the character.
Yes, would be cool to have a B5 section on this site -- a wonderful series indeed.
Set Bookmark
HarryH
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 4:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is a mess. Trek, for me, was always about a sense of wonder and interesting social and ethical dilemma's, solved by an engaging cast of characters. Discovery is only obsessed with Burnham.

Discovery keeps pretending there is something special about Burnham and adjusts the plot to fit that pretense. But it's like TNG or TOS would try to tell every story from the perspective of Geordi or Sulu.

The main thing that seems to be wrong with it, is that the writers are trying to be too clever. First season disco wanted to 'play with our expectations' and delivered a depressing dystopian trek. Second season at the very least had Pike, but kept forcing Burnham to the foreground. And this third season? What was the point of it all? What was the actual drive? Why did they want to show us these events? Why do I care about all this?

It's. Just. Not. Star Trek.

You know, it's easy to dismiss this. I can already hear the argument "they are just trying something new, Trek can be something new"

But if you drift too far of what made Trek work, my question is: why bother. Why call it Star Trek when you obviously wanted to make something else?

Discovery is a mess. And if this was its final season, I can't say I will be sad about it.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

This is the worst episode in the history of Star Trek let alone Star Trek Voyager. And I loved every bit of it. It’s similar to watching some of Ed Woods movies. It’s so bad that it’s funny. Lol 😂
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Would have been good if it hadn't just 'all been a dream'.....
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Boy that Noddy Holder sure can be mean!
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Alex Kurtzman: "You know Michelle, I think I'd like to change the direction of Star Trek to be more like what made TNG-DS9 great... WHEN PIGS FLY!!"

AK+MP: (Laugh hysterically, see the Pig Flying)

Michelle Paradise: "Will you be ordering those scripts now sir?"

Alex Kurtzman: "No, I'd still prefer not."
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

In the entire history of Star Trek, from the 60s to the 20s, there is nothing I detest more than Mirror Universe Bullshit. And this was no different.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I recently went back and re-watched a lot of the DS9 Episodes that I missed back when Final Fantasy VII was out and captured my attention away.

I really was not expecting Sisko's Orb Visions to cast him as a sci-fi writer in the 40's, facing racist cops and racist editors.

It's what you would call "a bold move" for a television show to make... or "a big step," hehe. And the current crop of Star Trek shows seems afraid to put its feet in the water.

Grow a pair. You're Star Trek, you already have this baked into your lore. That's what bugs me the most about all these NuTrek writings... yes they feature progressive moves, but they don't devote the kind of incisive writing decisions to them that would really make them sizzle.

Contribute to the replicator rations, or get off the pot, as it were.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Slackerinc, it sounds like you saw the first episode. The Kirk and Spock actors got better with every episode, and they replaced the McCoy actor with someone who was much better. James Doohan's son Chris played Scotty and was terrific. The next three episodes after the first all impressed me very much. You might want to try those.

Also, in the 9th episode, JOHN DE LANCIE guest stars (not as Q, but still.)
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

@Jason R.

I believe Eskimo is referring to the line when Tracey tells Kirk that the "animals" happen to look like "us." Because of course, "we" are all white.

At least Sulu had been left aboard ship, so he wasn't saying right in front someone who looked more like "them."
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 2:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Good God! I think, as Jammer states, the only excuse for this existing is to suggest that Klingons introduce holodecks to undermine the Federation & Starfleet. Either that or the people behind Enterprise just hate the Star Trek franchise ?
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Hot Take - Jammer's time would've been better spent watching Lower Decks than S3 of Discovery. At least LD has heart :/
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Up until now, Arthur C. Clarke has been my hard sci-fi jam. I remember reading 2001 and Songs of Distant Earth. What struck me about them is that there were no moustache twirlers... No Khan, no Borg Queen, no Zareh, no Osyrra. The stories had danger, death, and tense situations, but they didn't have a scenery-chewing villain.

You can only do the same gimmick so many times, before it gets old. Leonard Nimoy knew that. Star Trek IV hasn't got a villain like this.

The thing about over the top villains is, they can't be built on shifting sands. Voq came out of nowhere, then evaporated into nothing. Harry Mudd went nowhere. Lorca, same difference (once it was revealed that he was a villain). Mirror Georgiou similarly went nowhere. Control went nowhere. Zareh and Osyrra went nowhere.

Khan worked as a villain, because Nick Meyer framed him properly, with historical context within the series, and there was some ceremony to his return, too (the "taking off the gloves and helmet" thing). In addition to that, Ricardo Montalban and Nick Meyer really sat down and did work on the way Khan was portrayed by Montalban.

You can't just churn out whatever drivel survived your little Survivor-esque vote in the writing room. The show loses its direction if you do that. If you can't write a decent villain, don't write a half assed one.

The question really becomes, at that point, why Star Trek seems addicted to beating this dead horse over and over. But like the detective in the police procedural who advises against probing too deeply into the mindset of the serial killer, it's probably best not to overanalyze what seems to merely be sloppy, ham-handed writing that got approved by a bunch of money grubbing ass kissers.
Set Bookmark
H
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Billingsley is good here, but Duet it is not.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“ TAS has been a back-burner would-be review project for nearly 15 years (ever since I got the DVD box set, still unwatched), but I was never able to motivate myself to start with everything else going on. Eventually.”

It would be great to get reviews on TAS. I genuinely love it. I mean there’s an episode of a kids cartoon from the 70’s where the heroes meet the actual Satan and it turns out he’s actually the good guy and the chilled dude around. I love it.

@Jammer, I’d love to hear your thoughts on Star Trek Continues as well. I know it’s a fan project, but it’s easily the best Star Trek fan product ever made. The TOS ship recreation is impeccable, its full of actual professional actors, there’s even Star Trek and other sci-fi tv cameos. In my head it is TOS season 4, it’s that well made.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I agree with The Queen that the original trilogy is a bit quaint, but most of it holds up really well (I reread it about two years ago and enjoyed it immensely). Asimov had a eidetic memory and his books are extremely consistent in both terms of science and storytelling. Anyway, @Midshipman Norris you should definitely read it before Apple releases the TV Series because the show looks, how do I put this diplomatically... underwhelming? Plus, the books are ~250 pages which makes them a very light read.

If you want like a small taste of his robot books I'd also recommend the short story "Bicentennial Man" as well.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Midshipman Norris -

I practically teethed on the Foundation trilogy and consider it a "must read" for real science fiction, but I'm not sure how much it would appeal to modern tastes. It may read as a bit dated, and of course Asimov went very deep into characterization (although personally I think he did better than some people claim). If you've read other Golden Age SF, then you should be okay with that aspect. But if writers like Le Guin and Bujold and Robinson are more your style, you may be disappointed. IMHO you can't be a serious SF devotee without knowing Asimov, but I just wanted to warn you.

Don't take this as meaning that the books are no good. They're classics for a reason. But if you like a lot of "personal drama" in your SF, Asimov isn't the best source. He's all about science, and mysteries that can be solved.

One thing that is great about Asimov is that he isn't heavy on technologic explanations. He knew how to give you the background without getting lost in it. Good storytelling.

By the way, look up "The Ugly Little Boy" by him.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 6:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trek Films S2: Star Trek: Generations

I'm not sure why people are asking for more technobabble concerning the Nexus. We have dozens of Trek episodes proving that never helps. What makes this the best TNG movie isn't the budget, the acting or the cast, it's the central question: "if you could take advantage of a phenomenon that inserted you into a heaven-of-sorts where all your deepest wishes became your experience, would you do so?". As a sci-fi premise, it's a great one, even though I find the final argument "no, because it's not real" lacking.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The people who liked these 3 seasons of Discovery, within 3 months of it being off the air, will have stopped talking about it altogether and moved on to the next 'trendy' thing.

However, none of the things they say about it have anything critical in them. Gush Bombing a show for funsies is as much a thing as Review Bombing it out of anger.

I myself, try to keep my criticisms objective and based on how much I enjoyed the story. I did not, btw. But that's beside the point.

These concrete details of how to make a story good, are still going to be true, after Star Trek Discovery has gone the way of the dodo bird. They really don't change much, even between wildly varying times and cultures. There's questions of what is and isn't interesting, and then there are basic underpinnings of a plot structure that can't be neglected, full stop. Discovery doesn't have that underpinning. I'm already tossing it on the pile that contains most of Star Trek: Voyager and all of Enterprise. Picard is getting the stinkeye too, if it doesn't shape up.

At this rate, I'm going to really have to pick up that there Foundation Trilogy my dad keeps going on about. Star Trek, as far as I'm concerned, is over.
Next ►Page 1 of 638
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.