Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16,141 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 646
Set Bookmark
Chris Nash
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Like the previous episode, "Vanishing Point", this one feels as if it's trying to crib from previous Trek episodes. A Kriosian woman in a stasis pod? Well that's obviously meant to evoke the (far better) TNG episode "The Perfect Mate", where Famke Janssen played a Kriosian empathic metamorph who became 'bonded' with Captain Picard.

But here, it's like the writers belatedly realised that if they continued any further they'd be making a shot-for-shot remake of that episode, and decided instead to swerve into a dismal escape-from-captivity plot, starring the most inept criminals this side of those Ferengi from last season. It's perfectly serviceable if you like this kind of thing, but it's just fluff. It's meaningless, and by the time Archer and T'Pol arrived to oh-so-conveniently rescue Tucker from one of the aliens (who seems to be immune to face-punching for some reason!), I found myself wondering "is that it? Is the episode over? What was the point?"
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Points well taken. Especially that the bridge crew gave no pushback to crazy orders.

This is my first viewing of the series. So what I detect is that the writers over time have gone over a precipice in what they deem to be "OK" for the good guys to do.

I do not know what caused these writers to deviate from humane positions (Geneva) other than their need to devise stories which they think will entertain. At times this results in some unacceptable decisions by the characters.

It is a sad fact that there is a ready supply of humans who were, are, and will be war criminals. *No shock*.

As for Epaminondas, the connection I saw was that he became an implacable enemy to Sparta, and like Sisko in "For the Uniform", he developed an indirect approach (rather than a blundering direct one) to destroy its hegemony. E. succeeded in his strategic goal, died in battle but was loved in Thebes, and forever hated in Sparta.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@Tomalak "It was a great fun show and what Sisko did, while probably wrong, was built up to in a realistic and believable way. He's human *shock*."

My gut agrees completely. Sisko is rational, but he has been pushed too far, so the action level created was welcome. The styling was effective. The writers created in Sisko a rage which was really compelling, and explored the relationship between 'getting the job done' decisiveness and 'take off the gloves' villainy rather successfully. The Sisko created by the writers makes me think of the historical example of the Theban general Epaminondas (4th c. BC)... paraphrasing his attitude as 'enough already, let's take it to the Spartans and never stop'.

TOS writers tried to explore these issues with "The Enemy Within", but made the reasonable man stronger than the unruly one.

Over time the writers of DS9 have pushed Sisko to the limit emotionally. They clearly enjoy putting Sisko into complex situations and Brooks handles the material well. I just didn't want to see the writers bend the character so far that Sisko would break, and my respect for him and for that matter Dax, be diminished. I want the good guys to win, but I want them to remain good guys. The tone at the end was a might too glib. IMO some repentence on their part or hot water consequence thrown at them was warranted by the situation. The writers kept it uncomplicated for them, however, making the episode "a one off" much like the alternative universe scenarios the writers, as talented as they are, seem somewhat addicted to.

Best line ever: "He's human *shock*.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Sorry - that should have been a 'Yeehah!' Apologies.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Hoorah! Space Cowboys! Why has no one thought of that before! Oh yeah...rats!
Can't wait for the Space Nazis, Space Knights, Space Detectives, Space Alice in Wonderland.....wonder what they'd come up with if they'd had a holodeck ?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Old timey time parasitedox episode - 'it was all a dream....'
Still - at least it was almost watchable.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I can really see why you say that. Pretty serious manipulation of the characters has gone on here. It's as if doing too many tongue-in-cheek episodes in alternate universes has actually addled the writers' brains.
Set Bookmark
Chris Nash
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 8:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I don't think I can say any more than what's already been said regarding how this episode riffs of of half a dozen previous Trek outings. I found annoyingly derivative in many ways, but with flashes of brilliance. Jammer's right to call out its psychological character study aspects; Enterprise is at its best when it's developing its characters (which is why I very much enjoyed the previous episode, "Singularity", as it was mainly about interactions between the main cast).

I realised early on that the whole scenario could be a dream: the scene on the bridge, where Hoshi fails to translate the alien language and the other crew implore her to "just talk to them", is practically a repeat of the scene in "Fight or Flight" where she had to do the same thing with the aliens there. Only this time, it doesn't all work out happily, and she's shown-up in her area of expertise by a no-name crewman. I thought this fit very well with the dream-like nature of her experience - dreams, or nightmares, often feature rehashes of things that happened in real life, and especially memorable moments that we naturally dwell upon.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Worf log entries from that day:

Morning log;
“I got to insult Q and then throw him in the brig.
BEST. DAY. EVER.”

Evening log:
“Q is back and omnipotent again, and brought a Mariachi band onto the bridge.
WORST. DAY. EVER.”
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@Booming: Good one. Agree that it's Indefensible to gas planets and that it tarnishes the Federation. As presented, it was the Maquis leading the way on methods used. Didn't enjoy seeing Sisko go that route since he allowed himself to get dragged down by the terrorist-bully .

The episode is like TOS "Errand of Mercy" but with Sisko not feeling the shame that Kirk felt in the epilogue. Just implacable, as powerfully shown.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Great episode. Not able to put Eddington in the hall of heroes. Just a terrorist who likes French novels. He poisoned 2 planets and damaged an unarmed freighter so that it would burn up in the atmosphere, unless saved by Sisko. Having done al that he cries foul at the poisoning of one of his planets.

Clearly it was all supposed to be a fun game of "let's shoot the Cardassian" for this guy, and if he can insult nice Mr. Sisko along the way, so much the better.

Unfortunately for him, he turned the usually compassionate Sisko into an implacable enemy. Sisko dispensed with "nice" and served Eddington some if his own medicine.

Bravo Captain! Great performance! Bravo Brooks.
Set Bookmark
Stephen
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The one where Odo and Nerys conspire to let a murderer escape for their own self interest. None of the carefully crafted and evolved characters he we have come to know so well would ever act in such a manner. Nothing annoys me more in any series when character's personalities are rewritten at a stroke to suit a plot.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Does that mean we're out of the superhero movie era, Booming? What era are we in now?
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

One of my favorite Enterprise episodes. One thing that's ironic is how it's the Vulcan initiate, firing wildly in the reliquary, who causes part of the cloth covering to fall, reveal the metal portal, and ultimately undo the Vulcans' deception.

Some of the posters ask why Archer would ignore the alliance with the Vulcans to let the Andorians have the info about the listening post. Can you imagine the actions the Andorians may've taken against the Enterprise landing party then and there, and in talks later, if he'd tried to prevent them from seeing through the portal and getting info on it. Archer's whole motive was to end the hostage situation and get his crew back safely, and the Vulcan monks didn't help much. Plus, the metal portal was very out of place in a reliquary.

And I think Archer directing some of his disgust or head-shaking toward T'Pol at the end wasn't really personal toward her, but his very human response to the Vulcans having held Earth back from space travel and how their scientists slowed his father's development of the first warp five engine and the Enterprise. So, understandable, I think.
Set Bookmark
Jean Michel
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Another BIG THREAT to the galaxy? And this time it's a... it's a... A GRAVITATIONAL ANOMALY! Oh the sheer creativity of this writing team! A TNG/VOY episode stretched across an entire season, that'll work!

Spoiler alert: Michael Burnham saves the galaxy. Or the universe. Or the mirror universe. Or the Q-continuum. Everybody cries.

FFS. Why is that that the only people capable of taking care of a THREAT TO THE GALAXY is this one pathetic starship? There's literally an entire galaxy of civilizations, and there's nobody there that can take care of those threats except Michael Burnham? For crying out loud, why is this universe so small?

Coming season 5 to Star Trek: Discovery: the crew faces a threat to the entire galaxy! And this time it's a... a LAMP MONSTER!
Set Bookmark
SouthernHope
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I've taken the last year of the pandemic and watched TNG from start to finish and came across this review site.

I just wanted to say that I appreciate these reviews greatly....though it makes me a bit sad to see more thoughtful replies 10 or 12 years ago and then a bit more impatient and mocking in tone nowdays (with some exceptions).

anyway, a thank you to you, Mr Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Wesley's jumper - it's not a jumper. Goodbye fakey three stripe thing, hello sort of shades of grey uniform cum jumpsuit with ribbing collar and epaulets. 'Ensign'.
And hello Riker's creepy sex pest facial hair and leering.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Another episode where Worf's character is made completely unattractive.

Poor Michael Dorn the actor, back in '96 he must've said (sotto voce) something like:

"So now I get to be a stick-in-the-mud for 30 minutes, then for the next 8 minutes I wantonly destroy the delicate weather grid of a paradise planet to aid some guys without a sense of humor,... and then for an encore I divulge that I committed manslaughter when I was in middle school and feel bad about it because I lacked self-control and that I'm afraid of what I might do.......2 minutes later I throw the main guy without a sense of humor (who I had just been helping no less) across a room."

"This is great for my career...How about I quit?"
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I have always thought that this episode could very easily, with no distortion to either the script or the performance, be interpreted to carry a "message" that I am guessing is not at ALL what the writers were trying to say. (And of course, Trek writers are trying to say something about our here-and-now world with pretty much every episode. Nothing wrong with that as a part of the general format of the series and of the entire Trek franchise; it is what it is.)

The inadvertent possible "message"?

"If there were a way for people with non-majority sexual orientations, gender identities, etc. to be made truly like everyone else, they would be happier."

As I said, I know that's not what they are trying to say. But Soren sure seems a lot happier with that whole conflict out of her system.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@Dave in MN

It sounds as if you conflating different legal concepts.

The reason an employer can't fire someone because of their religion (other than a religious organization from a position in which religious behavior is intrinsic to the function) is not because of the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, but because of anti-discrimination laws, such as the Equal Employment Opportunity Act. That law spells out what "consequences" may not be meted out on the basis of religion.

"Freedom of speech," on the other hand, is not protected against the actions of private employers, non-governmental websites, your social contacts, etc. because there is no law that lays out any such protections. The Constitution protects freedom of speech, as well as the freedoms of religion, the press, assembly, and petition of the government, against the actions of the government. No one else, just the government. This does not make these freedoms non-existent, but it does narrow the parameters of what it means. Those narrow parameters are not "BS," just the legal reality.

So yes, there can be consequences for your speech. As long as it's not the government meting out those consequences, the legal phrase "freedom of speech" does not apply.

A pretty basic distinction, but one that many Americans get confused about, especially in the heat of passionate debate.

You are free to speak. Others are free to speak, too, including by expressing disapproval of your speech. They are also free to take whatever actions they wish in response to that speech as long as there is not some law that forbids the action they have chosen.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

@Silly

I agree, the death of Hutch seemed gratuitous, and the other characters really didn't react to it in any way that made sense to me. I remember when I first saw the episode, I felt an odd kind of guilt at having bought into the characters' sense of him as annoying and kind of pathetic, and laughing behind his back at Data's mimicry. For just one moment, I felt as if I had been mocking a dead man, as if such things could be retroactive.

It was almost like something I remember hearing two boys from my high school say to each other in the cafeteria the day we'd all been told of the death of a fellow student: "Remember him? We laughed about how pale he looked, and we didn't know it was because he was sick. Just think, we made fun of him, and now he's DEAD."

The Trek regulars, however, went on with their adventure of the week as if they had stopped noticing the corpse in the room, a corpse that had been the host of the party just a short time before. It seemed inhuman, somehow.

I liked the rest of the show, but that detail has always felt awkward to me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Apr 7, 2021, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

@ Dave in MN

In my experience people are caught up in their own little worlds and it is hard to think of suffering half way around the world. For example, the Chinese communist regime's persecution of Falun Gong has been compared to another holocaust. They literally harvest their organs for transplant tourism -- it's an evil the world has never seen -- and this horror funds even more persecution.

In any case, keep up the good work. You don't have to prove anything to people like Jason R. or anybody else but just be mindful that (especially on a forum such as this with limited communication) you're not going to get the depth of response you might be expecting.

I could go on and on about why there is a reticence to take China to task -- it has to do with money, business/political interests of course but in my experience, talking to people face to face about what the communist regime is doing usually proves fruitful. But on this forum, which is to discuss Trek, I wouldn't expect to see a whole lot of obvious support.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Apr 7, 2021, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

@Dave in MN

maybe you should read what I touched on a bit last night (as part of addressing something else) -- one of the causes of great significance to me is to alert people to the atrocities of the Chinese communist regime
Set Bookmark
microfish
Wed, Apr 7, 2021, 8:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

Best Line:

1-7-3-4-6-7-3-2-1-4-7-6-Charlie-3-2-7-8-9-7-7-7-6-4-3-Tango-7-3-2-Victor-7-3-1-1-7-8-8-8-7-3-2-4-7-6-7-8-9-7-6-4-3-7-6-LOCK
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Apr 7, 2021, 4:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Lots of interesting things written above. Zounds, the exchange in September 25-26, 2020 was positively epic! Honor is due!

Now, a couple of things about The Ship:

(1) more than vague resemblance to the film Sahara (Humphrey Bogart WWII flick) a stand-off in a desert with occasional negotiations with snarky Afrika Korps dude sometimes acting in bad faith...and of course the immortal "water for guns...." and early instance of dying soldier who cannot be saved. Has it all.

(2) Kilana was just fine as played; Vorta are meant to be annoying, I think. The "Nothing is smarter than a Vorta" idea comes through in every other word they speak. They have the Jem'hadar to back them up so they have the luxury of condescension. I can easily imagine a line like "Oh you Federation people are so cute" being spoken by Kilana, or even by Weyoun. So Kilana saying to Sisko "Would you like a bon-bon, sweetie?" actually kinda works. Although, with a founder at stake, it was probably not the most efficient approach for her to adopt. "These bon-bons sometimes get stuck in my upper right 2nd molar....pesky things". :-)

(3) Worf's complete lack of restraint in DS9 is hard to accept after 7 years on the Enterprise. He has morphed into a true knucklehead.

(4) If you're about to see a dying founder, I just wish the writers had had Dax or somebody say a bit earlier "you know (Benjamin) I think this ship was some sort of ambulance". Sisko could then say "where's its patient?" Then drip, drip, drip.

It was a pretty good episode...just shy of a 3.0
Next ►Page 1 of 646
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.