Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 614 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Sep 9, 2018, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

There's that damn Cardassian coffee table again in the first scene! lol

Who thought that was a good idea? Look at the amount of space it takes up, then look at the amount of surface area it has for actually putting things on! Makes me laugh every time.

No live vole fights on the Promenade? Well darn, I was looking forward to that!

That one Cardassian woman looks like the female version of Garak!

And man, those two are really nice. I hope that doesn't mean (as so often it does) that they are hiding something diabolical.

I like this quote:

"I took your overt irritability toward me as a signal that you wished to pursue some sort of physical relationship!"

I think Miles was doing a little fantasizing about a Cardassian liaison!

But all that prophecy crap? I hate that shit. Vague words that can be interpreted in any number of ways and are only understood to have applied to the situation after the fact. Useless.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Unlike most of you, I haven't yet seen the rest of this series, so I had no idea while watching that Nog's Starfleet arc would become important until after I read this comment thread. And like most of you, I do not understand why Jammer dismissed this B-story. It was much better than the A story! The only thing that made it unbelievable was that we saw Nog acting like an absolute jerk in the previous episode--Sisko should have mentioned something about it, like, "In Starfleet, you must respect everyone, including women." Or at least said, "Starfleet officers do not try to bribe their superiors to get what they want."

It does seem a bit of a stretch that Nog would have a shot at even getting in--but does everyone have to go to the Academy? Did Miles? Or only officers? Could he be a crewman if not an officer?

The A story was fine--I was fooled throughout--and mad as hell at the writers when they had Kira say she loved Odo. I thought, "Good lord, are they not even going to acknowledge that the man she loved had JUST DIED? This makes no sense! Dammit!"

Then I laughed at the reveal.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I had no thought about this episode that hasn't already been explored admirably by others above me. I always found Bareil boring and not at all charismatic, so no great reaction to his death.

I'll just share an anecdote from when I was 15 and started to really think for myself. My parents and I were watching TV and something terrible was on--I don't even remember what it was--and I expressed disgust at it. My mother said, "Well, you have to respect others' beliefs," and I replied, "Not if those beliefs are STUPID!" And that's all I can say about Nog and his vile culture.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Jul 10, 2018, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I keep forgetting this episode as I rewatch the series--and yet it could have been SO good--IF they'd spent most of it with the characters struggling to come to terms with the idea that they could be so easily turned evil. Instead, that's the last three minutes and it's not even a question.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 5:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

I apparently found this much more frightening than anyone else--the idea of not being able to trust your own perceptions is terrifying. I live with someone who hallucinates often and watching it and being unable to break through to reality, especially with someone you love, is frightening and heartbreaking. When Naomi is hiding in the cargo bay, hugging her Flotter doll, that's all I could think of. How horrifying to realize that your Mom, the person you love most, is crazy? I loved that Seven realized she needed to be comforting to this scared little girl. When they find Neelix and at first she is blunt but then tells Naomi that they will return for him was a good moment.

I found it as frightening as "Frame of Mind," because when you are surrounded by people all buying in to the same illusion, you start to question your own sanity. That's why this episode worked for me--the team they assembled to fight the dreams was wonderful.

I think I wrote on a recent DS-9 review that the whole point of a disaster episode is to throw together unusual combinations of characters so we can see the odd pairings, and this episode failed on that level--we've seen Seven and Naomi and the Doctor work together before. (Boy, they really loved Jeri, didn't they?) Unfortunately, when you have characters who are not entirely flesh and blood, THEY are going to be the ones who are immune to whatever problem like this arises. On TNG it was Data, here it's Seven and the Doctor. But for this episode it worked. I didn't mind too much. And partly because Naomi was so awesome in this. I love the moment when she looks fearfully at crazy Chakotay and yet carries on with Seven's instructions. And then Seven leaves her there! Alone! Scary!

I agree with the rating though--the episode spent a bit too much time showing us everyone's fantasies and it was much better when the heroes were fighting back. But overall I really liked this one.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I just re-watched this, and literally spit my drink out in the first minute. Chaotica brags to Harry that he is using their rocket to "lead my Space Force into battle!"

For context, Trump recently blustered about wanting to create a "Space Force" to protect Earth from . . . alien invaders? I dunno. Something.

I could not find the clip online, so I filmed it off my computer so I could share it with my friends on facebook. They are cracking up.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I just realized something! The inhabitants of the planet named themselves after earth cities, Evansville and Berlin! Right?

I wish we'd met a third inhabitant so I could test my theory, but that's my guess.

I like this one. I agree with Jammer that it was a mistake not to let us see these cities, but sometimes leaving things to the imagination is okay. I loved meeting Earhart, and Sharon Lawrence was wonderful in the role.

The only thing that annoyed me was, as others have noted, the truck in the beginning. No way anything organic would still be left after 400 years in space.

But I can just skip that part and enjoy the rest--especially the ending. I honestly thought that 1 or 2 would choose to stay on the planet.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

I enjoyed it, but it was chilling. We ARE locking up innocent people in concentration camps, and there are far too many people who will defend that action. I can't write any more or I will get angry.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Well, it was no Naked Now/Time, but I thought it was fun, mostly.

I enjoy episodes when we just get to see characters doing their thing without some great tragedy on the horizon, and I actually thought the way they explained the virus was pretty cool. I had assumed it was just going to be some random disease--that it was coming from Lawaxana was fun. But as others have noted--they sure did mishandle Majel. She's shown she can be insightful and restrained--I wish we'd seen her like that more.

I also enjoy seeing various festivals from different cultures, so seeing that was nice, too.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

I liked this very much, especially the politics. I really like Dukat's style, unlike some others, and think he adds to any episode he's in.

The one thing that kept bothering me--in "Second Chances," I could always tell Will from Thomas, but not in this one. He kept seeming like Will to me. I would have liked a bit more to establish that he actually was Thomas.

But overall a terrific outing!
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

I honestly hadn't thought this before, but the intro put the idea in my head--what WOULD it be like to make love to a shapeshifter? You're in position, things are progressing, and then he changes and . . . and . . . whoa!

Odo and Kira pretending to be lovers is the best part of this whole episode.

I'm getting shades of The Masterpiece Society--did no one else notice? A planet in peril with the love interest.

Brett Cullen, who played Deral, has been working steadily for 40 years. I often wonder about actors like that--who are considered absolutely dependable to fill a role but never achieve stardom. I hope he has a good life and is well compensated. He did a pretty good job in this episode, but playing against Dax it must have been hard. She just strikes me as so fake.

But their problem? Oh give me a break. Just beam them up if they don't want to shift again. There's only 30 of them.

Their romance is climbing a tree. Kill me now. But she slips, so no kiss? Who the hell ARE these writers?

Did they seriously throw down on the grass? Good lord.

Count each other's spots? I am seriously going to puke.

OMG--Deral and Dax's conflict is so manufactured. She just doesn't seem in love at all.

I don't believe at all that either is conflicted about staying for going. At least in "The Masterpiece Society," they made me believe there was some substance to their reasons.

Okay--saying "After 8 lifetimes as a humanoid, existing as pure consciousness might be interesting" is the first thing that rang true in this episode

But now she's leaving and Dax isn't going to say goodbye to Kira? Good lord.

Could this be more hokey? I'll guess she's over this "love" affair by the next episode.



And about the B-plot. Blech. Mr. Perv is yucky and now all I can think about is how you'd clean semen out of a holosuite.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I thought I was very clever in figuring out what was wrong (and right) with this episode, but reading the comments shows me that others know, too. Oh well--I'll tell it in my own way.

What the hell is wrong with the DS9 writers? If you are going to do a disaster story, follow the rules! Like TNG and Voyager did, you choose unlikely groupings to give previously lesser-acquainted characters a chance to get to know each other and figure out their strengths and weaknesses.

O'Brien has already done this once when he got to work with Troi and Ro--this time he gets Jake and Sisko? We've seen his before! Put him with Quark, or Garak, or Dax!

And Odo and Quark? Yawn. Put Quark with Dax and Odo with 20 terrified school children because Keiko is trapped in the bathroom.

They really dropped the ball overall. However, I laughed out loud when Dukat got stuck on the station with them. THAT is what a disaster show is supposed to be about! And he turns out to be funny, and the rest of the Ops segments were fun.

Sisko really sucks. "Stay here, son." "No Dad, I don't want to." "Okay."

Are there no parents on the writing staff? If you have to do something to save everyone's lives, you either want your kid with you for as long as possible, or you want your kid to stay away so you can focus on the task that MUST be accomplished. Pick one. Don't keep changing your mind.

This episode makes me sad because it could have been so much better--and so easily.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I liked Odo's development here, especially his relationship with Kira, but what sunk this episode for me was two things. One part A is that the Jem'Hadar was so monotonously one-note that I felt Odo was being really really stupid. But that was reflective of his own character so it wasn't too bad. Part B of item one is that the actor playing the Jem'Hadar was not good. He looked like a little kid in makeup--and acted it.

And two, Sisko is just not getting better as an actor for me. His expressions are odd, his voice is bizarre, and despite what folks have told me about him getting better over time, I am just not seeing it. I can imagine Picard realistically accepting that his adolescent son was dating a grown woman--Sisko didn't convince me at all.

And seriously? That's a storyline? It seemed very forced and awkward and Jake had no chemistry with Marta. She did seem interesting though--I'd like to see her dating Bashir.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Kira Cardassian is gorgeous! Love the look for her. But here's the thing--she's wearing makeup! Unless the eye and lip color of Cardassian women is meant to be natural, I can't imagine that Kira would willingly make herself up since she didn't believe she was actually Iliana. It would have been nice for once to see a woman who didn't paint her eyes up while on duty.

Overall I really enjoyed it while watching, and didn't think of the plot holes until it was over, but I don't see it as a classic. A medium solid effort.
I agree with Elliott--this could have been so much more, but I did think Visitor was wonderful and believable as her resolve was shaken. Her "Dad" was great too, and I loved their bonding. When he called her "Nerys" at their farewell, I got a wee tear in my eye.

A few random thoughts--Ari the Cardassian was totally hot--too bad he only lived for three minutes, lol.

Odo as a satchel was hilarious--I had to back that up and watch a few times.

And finally--Cardassian coffee tables are really stupid--put one thing slightly off to the side and it would fall down.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

@Grumpy You asked "Someone remind me: did past Janeway survive after she thwarted the rescue attempt?"

My understanding, though it wasn't really explained, is that the timelines were integrated. We see past Janeway and Paris disappear in a sort of light show and the crew looking for them experienced the same--so I thought it was meant to indicate it had never happened at all, or been erased by Janeway's actions. None of them had any memory of the events we saw previously.

Like the damnable "Year of Hell," their experience had no impact on them.
Set Bookmark
Grumpy
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

When it first aired, this episode got a boost from the fact that some movie theaters were still playing The Nightmare Before Christmas, featuring Chris Sarandon as the speaking voice of Jack Skellington. At least, I thought that was cool at the time.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I liked this one right up to the ending, when Jadzia's problem was solved by getting shocked in the milky pool. Really? First, why did she have to hang out with unrelated symbionts to get to know her own? And second--that's all it took? I assumed there'd be a bit more exploration of coming to terms with an unsavory host from the past.

But still enjoyable--just wrapped up too neatly.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

This was lighthearted fun, but I dislike Quark so much it was hard to get through the whole thing. I'm glad I did so I could see the divorce, but it wasn't quite worth a whole episode of him. I will grant he was less annoying than usual, and his bravery was nice.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

Thanks Methane--very cool info! I think it is cool to see that obviously they were working with a well-developed idea there--setting it up in one series, then actually introducing them in another.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I think you are right, Paul M. I read up on Bajor a bit after this and learned that apparently the Cardassians scorched certain only regions of the planet--keeping a pristine capital would definitely go right along with Cardassian values. They remind me more and more of North Korea.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Unlike apparently everyone, I thought this was a better episode than Part One. From the moment Dax and O'Brien came back to the shuttlecraft, I KNEW something was very off. We had seen an unknown being observing them while they were trying to hack the Jem'Hadar computer, but then they suddenly appear on the shuttle just fine?

So during the entire episode, I had been primed to know something wasn't right, and everything else on the simulated DS 9 station supported my assumption that something was very off--I just wasn't sure what it was. At first I had thought Dax and O'Brien were actually Jem'Hadar in disguise, then Admiral Nechayev's reckless disregard of the Romulans made me think it might be a holographic simulation--so I wasn't at all surprised when it turned out to be a test by the founders. So does that mean I'm smarter than all y'all? lol

I am also very relieved that the Dominion turned out to be who they were. In the last episode, I was afraid they were just going to be some warlike conquerors and we were going to get a lot of stupid battles. The way it is presented, with the changelings becoming autocratic out of fear (and their associated desire for power) I think is very good and offers much more potentially-rewarding story lines than I had suspected might be coming.

I was very moved that Odo immediately turned his back on them even after having a union (is that their sex?) with the female changeling. Odo's world was really cool--I liked all the scenes there. His developing friendship with Kira is wonderful.

I'd give this one 3.5, part one a 3. I am not so scared of the Dominion now.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Things I liked:

The Jem'Hadar ships have purple lights

T'Rul -- so familiar, so familiar, I like this Romulan's no-nonsense style, so familiar--ach! Seska!

Quark was off the ship quickly

Sisko likes African art

The ending planet--aside from the "Welcome home," it also just looked cool


Things I didn't like:

Battle. Yawn. I don't object to the occasional fight, but I hate when it becomes the focus, and from talk I know the Dominion will become important, so I fear DS9 will start having lots of battles.

Dax's hair. Women who work in fast-paced serious jobs don't have elaborate hairstyles that take a long time to do. They wear no-fuss hair like Kira. Did the producers think Dax wasn't attractive enough? Blech. It's one of the reasons I never liked Beverly Crusher--hair that flopped all over, including into her patients' faces.

The random redshirt, who I hadn't even seen before he died during the battle. Where did he come from? This small ship had room for an extra?

Quark. Just really hate him.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I enjoyed that from beginning to end--aside from Quark's scenes. Man, I really can't get past my hatred of acquisitiveness.

I noted one thing that would support the idea that Eris had no actual powers and the force field (that supposedly would kill you) was really just a light show--THEY ALL SAT SO CLOSE TO IT! If I were being confined by a force field that would kill me, I'd sit in the middle. Wouldn't you?
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Aug 21, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

Amazing episode--really loved it. Best guest stars ever, and exciting story.

But I was saddened by so many analogies to modern earth courts in this. The entire setup was almost entirely like what one might see in North Korea at its most extreme, but there were many aspects that might be seen in more "democratic" courts.

I know of far too many poor people who were found guilty because they did not receive proper representation, and far too many innocent people whose investigators hid evidence that would have exonerated them because they needed a conviction for the "peace of mind" of their districts.

We pretend in the United States to have such an enlightened legal system, and yet rich people very rarely have to suffer a trial. And if they do, they tend to get off. And if they don't, they get to go to luxury prisons.

The Cardassian legal system with its show trials was a joke--well, so is ours.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Aug 21, 2017, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I loved this one--I thought the tone was perfect and of course Winn is delightfully wicked. I had two observations--one is that I would give it an even higher rating except for the stupid visions Bareil kept having. I found those totally boring and revealed nothing. I hate such hallucinations--can't think of one time Trek used that sort of thing without losing my interest.

The other is a question--the Cardassians have been off Bajor only about a year, right? Because wow did their city look incredibly pristine! I had assumed Bajor had been pretty well ravaged by the invaders--perhaps not.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.