Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 624 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Sep 28, 2018, 9:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

It irritates me that Spock comes out with such garbage. Less than a minute in and he defines a desert as a "waterless, barren wasteland." That is not at all the definition of a desert, which depends solely on the amount of precipitation--it can be teeming with life, such as in the Australian outback, or somewhat sparse, as in Antarctica. But sheesh! You'd think Spock wouldn't yammer unless he were sure of his facts!

Aside from that, this was a fun romp. I too thought Trelane must be a Baby Q, and William Campbell played him to perfection!
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Sep 28, 2018, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I find it absurd that the entire crew except Spock wants to stop their URGENT repair work for a funeral. I understand the point they were trying to make, but that was a bit ham-handed.

I also did not find it logical to leave a man alone as a guard--especially not in some poor-visibility canyon

And Spock talking about how long the creatures will take to attack, and assuming phaser fire would scare them is based not on logic, but intuition. There's no evidence to support his claims--and he's almost immediately proven wrong when a creature kills Katano anyway.

And then he completely abandons logic when he goes along with the crew's request to bury Katano. In a life-threatening situation, it's logical to bury a dead guy? Not so much.

I see what they were going for, but Spock's choice to burn the fuel to create a flare effect seemed completely logical to me. They were going to die in 45 minutes anyway--why not try to attract attention with the fuel burn, even though it shortened their survival time a bit? They were going to be dead either way--at least burning the fuel gave them a chance of being noticed.

It seems to me the writers didn't have much logic for this one. And the fuzzy cavemen were pretty lame adversaries.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

What bothered me about the whole thing is that all the actors had clearly read the script. I can understand they are all rather amused by the idea of a rabbit, but they maintain that amusement while Kirk gets attacked by Finnegan, Yeoman Barrows is assaulted by Don Juan, and Sulu is menaced by a samurai warrior. They seem to finally get a bit worried when they are being strafed by fighter jets and Dr. McCoy DIES, but sheesh. The very lighthearted tone was inappropriate to what was actually happening.

One other thing--when they first chose this planet for shore leave because it was so pristine and lovely, where were they planning to sleep? I didn't see any camping gear . . .
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I gave up on DS9. I gave it a fair shake--through most of Season 3-- but I just could not get to identify with any of the characters like I do in other series. So I am resuming my re-watch of the entire original series that I halted two years ago to try DS9. Such a relief to start the video and see people I love!

This one starts out so cute with Kirk saying the same basic lines Picard did before Miles and Keiko's wedding! Well, obviously, Kirk said it first, but still cool continuity! But the bride putting a white bit of fluff on her head while in uniform is not a good fashion choice! It was pretty cruel to kill her groom, though I think they were going for the "senseless death" kind of angle.

Overall I think this episode was excellent, although I was a little confused when Spock's Dad turned out to be on the warbird! But a quick google cleared that up. After that, I liked it just fine. They did a good job creating tension, and I really like the lighting. The Romulan Captain's final speech was very moving.


Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

After reading the review and the comments all I have to say is, "Seriously? We have to go to the mirror universe AGAIN after this?"

I am tempted to give up on the whole thing.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 4:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

I thought the intro was very promising and seemed to have a good deal of heart in Julian and Garak's conversation about aging, but then I literally rolled my eyes when the alien seeking bio-mimetic gel was found rummaging through the pharmacy. Was the door seriously left unlocked? If they don't address that in the episode, that loses a whole star from me.

Well look at that--what a surprise! They did address it at the end! The beginning of the show and the ending were very nice--I enjoyed G & J's banter.

As for the rest, blech. I don't know why, but I despise episodes like this where a character "comes to know themselves" by traveling through a hallucination. I had the same problem with "Barge of the Dead." I guess I just don't enjoy self-exploration unless it takes place in the real world.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 8:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Loved this one! With time travel, one must just refuse to question while it's happening, and I have no problem doing that when the story is engaging. I love Miles, and I thought he was hilarious in this--especially when he was working with himself. I loved how future Miles was never surprised to see present Miles--he'd already been through it! I thought this was a stellar time-travel episode, and everything that happened seemed to work logically.

Technobabble? I hear people complain about it often, but it never bothers me. I have no trouble following it, and in this case I thought the explanation was fine--the quantum singularity worked like a magnet. The only time-travel plot hole I perceived was that Now-Dead Miles, in order to travel in time, had to have the overdose of radiation so he could use the magnet to pull him through time. So I don't understand why giving the armband to Pajama Miles would have worked--he didn't have the magnets in him. But whatever--if I may paraphrase "The Big Chill,"--sometimes you just have to let art, I mean time travel, flow over you.

The one thing that made me angry is that they just let the Romulans--involved in a plot to destroy the station and wormhole--go free with no consequences. Very stupid.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Oh joy, another Ferengi episode.

Whoever came up with the idea that Ferengi ears are sexual organs should be punished severely.

I like the new Rules of Acquisition--if the Ferengi turn into socialists I might get to tolerate them. But does the Grand Nagus have spiderwebs in his ears?

Would someone please tell me that all the Ferengi die soon? Sigh. I know they don't, but I find them so tedious. If a person is unable to acquire profit, they are useless and reviled. So like out own system, where the only people celebrated are those who can generate revenue.

The Julian story was lightweight--not offensive but not much else--was there a point to it?

I'd give this one zero stars.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 6:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Peter, just to be clear I was talking mostly tongue-in-cheek, not angrily, but wow! You came up with an explanation for prophecy that actually makes some sense! I am very practical and hate mysticism of all sorts, so having some sort of practicality to a prophecy makes me pleased.

I am not sure if your reference to Oedipus was a reference to my presenting a prophecy--just fyi--I was referring to the prophecy given to Croesus before he attacked the Persians.

Appreciate your input!
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Sep 23, 2018, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny



Peter G., you said, "Except for the fact that Bajoran prophets get their messages from aliens who can literally see into their future. "

Yeah, I know--so don't give vague blah blah about a "sword of stars" and "vipers"! That's what I meant--the prophecies are so vague they can be interpreted any number of ways and it is only after the fact that it is clear they might have applied to this situation.

I am reminded of the annoying-as-hell Oracle of Delphi who acted the same way, once telling a king, "If your army invades the enemy, an empire will be destroyed." He thought that meant he would be victorious, but of course the Oracle meant HIS empire would be destroyed. Why didn't it just say, "Don't do it, dude. You'll be toast."? lol Fucking prophecies.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Sep 9, 2018, 8:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

There's that damn Cardassian coffee table again in the first scene! lol

Who thought that was a good idea? Look at the amount of space it takes up, then look at the amount of surface area it has for actually putting things on! Makes me laugh every time.

No live vole fights on the Promenade? Well darn, I was looking forward to that!

That one Cardassian woman looks like the female version of Garak!

And man, those two are really nice. I hope that doesn't mean (as so often it does) that they are hiding something diabolical.

I like this quote:

"I took your overt irritability toward me as a signal that you wished to pursue some sort of physical relationship!"

I think Miles was doing a little fantasizing about a Cardassian liaison!

But all that prophecy crap? I hate that shit. Vague words that can be interpreted in any number of ways and are only understood to have applied to the situation after the fact. Useless.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 6:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Unlike most of you, I haven't yet seen the rest of this series, so I had no idea while watching that Nog's Starfleet arc would become important until after I read this comment thread. And like most of you, I do not understand why Jammer dismissed this B-story. It was much better than the A story! The only thing that made it unbelievable was that we saw Nog acting like an absolute jerk in the previous episode--Sisko should have mentioned something about it, like, "In Starfleet, you must respect everyone, including women." Or at least said, "Starfleet officers do not try to bribe their superiors to get what they want."

It does seem a bit of a stretch that Nog would have a shot at even getting in--but does everyone have to go to the Academy? Did Miles? Or only officers? Could he be a crewman if not an officer?

The A story was fine--I was fooled throughout--and mad as hell at the writers when they had Kira say she loved Odo. I thought, "Good lord, are they not even going to acknowledge that the man she loved had JUST DIED? This makes no sense! Dammit!"

Then I laughed at the reveal.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I had no thought about this episode that hasn't already been explored admirably by others above me. I always found Bareil boring and not at all charismatic, so no great reaction to his death.

I'll just share an anecdote from when I was 15 and started to really think for myself. My parents and I were watching TV and something terrible was on--I don't even remember what it was--and I expressed disgust at it. My mother said, "Well, you have to respect others' beliefs," and I replied, "Not if those beliefs are STUPID!" And that's all I can say about Nog and his vile culture.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Jul 10, 2018, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I keep forgetting this episode as I rewatch the series--and yet it could have been SO good--IF they'd spent most of it with the characters struggling to come to terms with the idea that they could be so easily turned evil. Instead, that's the last three minutes and it's not even a question.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 5:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

I apparently found this much more frightening than anyone else--the idea of not being able to trust your own perceptions is terrifying. I live with someone who hallucinates often and watching it and being unable to break through to reality, especially with someone you love, is frightening and heartbreaking. When Naomi is hiding in the cargo bay, hugging her Flotter doll, that's all I could think of. How horrifying to realize that your Mom, the person you love most, is crazy? I loved that Seven realized she needed to be comforting to this scared little girl. When they find Neelix and at first she is blunt but then tells Naomi that they will return for him was a good moment.

I found it as frightening as "Frame of Mind," because when you are surrounded by people all buying in to the same illusion, you start to question your own sanity. That's why this episode worked for me--the team they assembled to fight the dreams was wonderful.

I think I wrote on a recent DS-9 review that the whole point of a disaster episode is to throw together unusual combinations of characters so we can see the odd pairings, and this episode failed on that level--we've seen Seven and Naomi and the Doctor work together before. (Boy, they really loved Jeri, didn't they?) Unfortunately, when you have characters who are not entirely flesh and blood, THEY are going to be the ones who are immune to whatever problem like this arises. On TNG it was Data, here it's Seven and the Doctor. But for this episode it worked. I didn't mind too much. And partly because Naomi was so awesome in this. I love the moment when she looks fearfully at crazy Chakotay and yet carries on with Seven's instructions. And then Seven leaves her there! Alone! Scary!

I agree with the rating though--the episode spent a bit too much time showing us everyone's fantasies and it was much better when the heroes were fighting back. But overall I really liked this one.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I just re-watched this, and literally spit my drink out in the first minute. Chaotica brags to Harry that he is using their rocket to "lead my Space Force into battle!"

For context, Trump recently blustered about wanting to create a "Space Force" to protect Earth from . . . alien invaders? I dunno. Something.

I could not find the clip online, so I filmed it off my computer so I could share it with my friends on facebook. They are cracking up.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I just realized something! The inhabitants of the planet named themselves after earth cities, Evansville and Berlin! Right?

I wish we'd met a third inhabitant so I could test my theory, but that's my guess.

I like this one. I agree with Jammer that it was a mistake not to let us see these cities, but sometimes leaving things to the imagination is okay. I loved meeting Earhart, and Sharon Lawrence was wonderful in the role.

The only thing that annoyed me was, as others have noted, the truck in the beginning. No way anything organic would still be left after 400 years in space.

But I can just skip that part and enjoy the rest--especially the ending. I honestly thought that 1 or 2 would choose to stay on the planet.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

I enjoyed it, but it was chilling. We ARE locking up innocent people in concentration camps, and there are far too many people who will defend that action. I can't write any more or I will get angry.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Well, it was no Naked Now/Time, but I thought it was fun, mostly.

I enjoy episodes when we just get to see characters doing their thing without some great tragedy on the horizon, and I actually thought the way they explained the virus was pretty cool. I had assumed it was just going to be some random disease--that it was coming from Lawaxana was fun. But as others have noted--they sure did mishandle Majel. She's shown she can be insightful and restrained--I wish we'd seen her like that more.

I also enjoy seeing various festivals from different cultures, so seeing that was nice, too.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

I liked this very much, especially the politics. I really like Dukat's style, unlike some others, and think he adds to any episode he's in.

The one thing that kept bothering me--in "Second Chances," I could always tell Will from Thomas, but not in this one. He kept seeming like Will to me. I would have liked a bit more to establish that he actually was Thomas.

But overall a terrific outing!
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

I honestly hadn't thought this before, but the intro put the idea in my head--what WOULD it be like to make love to a shapeshifter? You're in position, things are progressing, and then he changes and . . . and . . . whoa!

Odo and Kira pretending to be lovers is the best part of this whole episode.

I'm getting shades of The Masterpiece Society--did no one else notice? A planet in peril with the love interest.

Brett Cullen, who played Deral, has been working steadily for 40 years. I often wonder about actors like that--who are considered absolutely dependable to fill a role but never achieve stardom. I hope he has a good life and is well compensated. He did a pretty good job in this episode, but playing against Dax it must have been hard. She just strikes me as so fake.

But their problem? Oh give me a break. Just beam them up if they don't want to shift again. There's only 30 of them.

Their romance is climbing a tree. Kill me now. But she slips, so no kiss? Who the hell ARE these writers?

Did they seriously throw down on the grass? Good lord.

Count each other's spots? I am seriously going to puke.

OMG--Deral and Dax's conflict is so manufactured. She just doesn't seem in love at all.

I don't believe at all that either is conflicted about staying for going. At least in "The Masterpiece Society," they made me believe there was some substance to their reasons.

Okay--saying "After 8 lifetimes as a humanoid, existing as pure consciousness might be interesting" is the first thing that rang true in this episode

But now she's leaving and Dax isn't going to say goodbye to Kira? Good lord.

Could this be more hokey? I'll guess she's over this "love" affair by the next episode.



And about the B-plot. Blech. Mr. Perv is yucky and now all I can think about is how you'd clean semen out of a holosuite.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 8:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I thought I was very clever in figuring out what was wrong (and right) with this episode, but reading the comments shows me that others know, too. Oh well--I'll tell it in my own way.

What the hell is wrong with the DS9 writers? If you are going to do a disaster story, follow the rules! Like TNG and Voyager did, you choose unlikely groupings to give previously lesser-acquainted characters a chance to get to know each other and figure out their strengths and weaknesses.

O'Brien has already done this once when he got to work with Troi and Ro--this time he gets Jake and Sisko? We've seen his before! Put him with Quark, or Garak, or Dax!

And Odo and Quark? Yawn. Put Quark with Dax and Odo with 20 terrified school children because Keiko is trapped in the bathroom.

They really dropped the ball overall. However, I laughed out loud when Dukat got stuck on the station with them. THAT is what a disaster show is supposed to be about! And he turns out to be funny, and the rest of the Ops segments were fun.

Sisko really sucks. "Stay here, son." "No Dad, I don't want to." "Okay."

Are there no parents on the writing staff? If you have to do something to save everyone's lives, you either want your kid with you for as long as possible, or you want your kid to stay away so you can focus on the task that MUST be accomplished. Pick one. Don't keep changing your mind.

This episode makes me sad because it could have been so much better--and so easily.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I liked Odo's development here, especially his relationship with Kira, but what sunk this episode for me was two things. One part A is that the Jem'Hadar was so monotonously one-note that I felt Odo was being really really stupid. But that was reflective of his own character so it wasn't too bad. Part B of item one is that the actor playing the Jem'Hadar was not good. He looked like a little kid in makeup--and acted it.

And two, Sisko is just not getting better as an actor for me. His expressions are odd, his voice is bizarre, and despite what folks have told me about him getting better over time, I am just not seeing it. I can imagine Picard realistically accepting that his adolescent son was dating a grown woman--Sisko didn't convince me at all.

And seriously? That's a storyline? It seemed very forced and awkward and Jake had no chemistry with Marta. She did seem interesting though--I'd like to see her dating Bashir.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Kira Cardassian is gorgeous! Love the look for her. But here's the thing--she's wearing makeup! Unless the eye and lip color of Cardassian women is meant to be natural, I can't imagine that Kira would willingly make herself up since she didn't believe she was actually Iliana. It would have been nice for once to see a woman who didn't paint her eyes up while on duty.

Overall I really enjoyed it while watching, and didn't think of the plot holes until it was over, but I don't see it as a classic. A medium solid effort.
I agree with Elliott--this could have been so much more, but I did think Visitor was wonderful and believable as her resolve was shaken. Her "Dad" was great too, and I loved their bonding. When he called her "Nerys" at their farewell, I got a wee tear in my eye.

A few random thoughts--Ari the Cardassian was totally hot--too bad he only lived for three minutes, lol.

Odo as a satchel was hilarious--I had to back that up and watch a few times.

And finally--Cardassian coffee tables are really stupid--put one thing slightly off to the side and it would fall down.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

@Grumpy You asked "Someone remind me: did past Janeway survive after she thwarted the rescue attempt?"

My understanding, though it wasn't really explained, is that the timelines were integrated. We see past Janeway and Paris disappear in a sort of light show and the crew looking for them experienced the same--so I thought it was meant to indicate it had never happened at all, or been erased by Janeway's actions. None of them had any memory of the events we saw previously.

Like the damnable "Year of Hell," their experience had no impact on them.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.