Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 96 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 9:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Colin Lindsly

So Control again? Hopefully they'll go discover something. Probably not boldly since they'll end up crying.. and then Burnham will slaughter a bunch of aliens.


I haven't been able to get Burnham's smug look out of my head since watching that clip again. Shudder.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 6:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Yanks that video is superb.

Amusing and really shows the writing and/or producers aren't making anything resembling Star Trek. They've utterly missed Roddenberry's core concepts. While some may argue that DS9 did that already, as you can see from that clip, Sisko understood them perfectly well - it just wasn't always possible to follow them exactly on a remote space station in the middle of a war.

As one of the You Tube comments says "DSC is disgusting. It’s characters, message, tone and ethos is evil. For all the flair, money and special effects, it is ugly to its very core.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 7:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Roga Danar People actually say that? "That Discovery is the first "actually good" series"

You'd think that someone who visits an actual Star Trek forum (rather than just tweets about it etc) would have to be a pretty big Star Trek fan and I just don't see how you could think that DSC is remotely on the same level as TNG/DS9.

I was never a big VOY fan but I was happy enough to watch it. Same with ENT until it became too dull. Neither of them filled me with such loathing as DSC has ended up doing. I actively can't stand it now.

I hate the stupid crying, the ridiculous meandering plots, the total unprofessionalism of the "crew", the utter lack of any character development at all, the humour is so unfunny it's awkward, the acting is dire, the "look at us we were the first to have..." without bothering to make them characters...and even the action sequences which used to look great are now somehow looking like bad CGI. And the crying. I hate the crying. Michael sucks as a character for the many reasons listed above.

I was thinking DSC probably has broader appeal than say TNG did at the time (A lot of my friends thought it was boring and just some bald guy talking a lot). So many DSC is ticking more general appeal boxes than DS9 or TNG style Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 7:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MarkG yeah that was my point.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Lower Decks seems ok. I kinda like the TNG styling of it all but I just didn't find it funny. I got bored after a couple of episodes.

The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 6:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Must admit I've never seen any TAS or Lower Decks. I'm just not that into animated things for some reason. And I dare to call myself a Star Trek fan!?!?

@Nick wrote "The acting talent is better, the series has more of a "sci fi" feel to it"
"The nicest thing about STP is people aren't having unprofessional outbursts all the time or breaking down sobbing while screaming "YOU'RE MAKING THE RIGHT DECISION, WHAAAA".

This and 100% this. I could easily enjoy Picard if it kept at a similar level of quality (I mean ideally improve and get somewhere near The Expanse but I don't think the writing team have that in them realistically). I've actually rewatched the whole season of Picard already and enjoy it.

With DSC, I've only ever rewatched s2's "New Eden" and the s1 premier (to show a friend - they weren't impressed).
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 7:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@RedD It's all subjective of course but Jammer has given them all around a star more than I would for pretty much every episode and I think is far too lenient on this series in general.

I'd rather watch Threshold 13 times than this season again.
Set Bookmark
Grey
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 9:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer,

Several of the comments on this review use the wrong pronouns for Adira. Leaving this unchallenged sends a message that you're OK with this.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 5:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I certainly don't enjoy bad mouthing DSC. I find it utterly depressing that this is what Star Trek is now and I don't enjoy it at all.

Although I did mostly enjoy PIC and Strange New World's has Anson Mount so it can't be all bad.

IMDB is a weird one on DSC. All the most recent reviews absolutely hate it (S3). And it's not like people only leave reviews when they hate something (look at Mr Robot's reviews for example - pretty much all gave 10/10). Yet the rating remains 7.2. Which is pretty decent.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 4:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The Expanse isn't uplifting no, but it does at least fill me with a sense of wonder at the amazing things that could be in the vastness of space (like TOS and TNG did and VOY/ENT to a lesser extent)
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 9:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I see many review sites and forums seem to quite like DSC. Certainly not the general loathing (which I personally share) or dislike that you see here.

So perhaps they ARE doing what they set out to do: Make a whole audience for Star Trek which is nothing like that old one. Get away from the "geeky/nerdy" cerebral Star Trek of old and go for a kind of "whatever, it looks good who cares if it make sense?". More of an action Star Trek with not much characterization or plot that makes any sense.

They certainly succeeded in that. It's not for me but perhaps it will be liked by a broader audience than Star Trek of old.

Maybe the next big screen Star Trek movie will have Captain Burnham at the helm. If there even are big screen movies anymore.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rahul If you recall in "For the Uniform" (The planet poisoning episode) Sisko didn't needlessly kill anyone. He made the planet uninhabitable for humans (who are seeing rushing to escape craft etc).

"In The Pale Moonlight" killing wasn't his original intention (he was manipulated by the superb Garak). I realise he doesn't regret it afterwards (since they were losing the war without the Romulans).

Compare this to Burnham. In one episode she flushes a bad guy out into space when a few minutes earlier she used the Vulcan Nerve Pinch.

Same season.. that dreadful prison planet Running Man Rip-off.. she blows up the whole ship for no good reason (since they've already escaped).

And this episode coldly beams everyone off presumably into space again.

There are loads of other examples in this season alone of her being a cold-blooded killer.

I'm not sure why we're supposed to root for her and not being a psychopath should surely be a requirement of a captain (although I rather enjoyed Lorca).


On the subject of Burnham being Kirk 2.0 (I see no relevance of sex or skin colour). She lacks any of the wisdom or charm of Kirk that Shatner brought to the role. He seemed like someone people would follow anywhere. Sure he disobeyed orders too on a few occasions but you felt he'd actually earn it with a glowing career of command leadership. Say what you will about Shatner's acting but personally I prefer it to SMG by quite a way.

Sure she's saved the universe/all life/multiverse/galaxy/the federation which is probably more than Archer, Kirk, Picard, Sisko and Janeway did combined but it just so ridiculously written it feels like random chance that she did. It just kinda happend cos she's awesome etc.

I can't think of a single time in 3 seasons of DSC that she's done anything that's made me think "Wow yeah that was awesome. Yeah she's cool". I can think of at least a few examples from any of the other series' lead characters.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 12:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

i don't think DSC really even needs a discussion on whether or not it's Star Trek.

It's not good Star Trek.
It's not good Sci-fi.
It's not even good TV.

On another note. Burnham. She seems to have needlessly murdered a lot of people. I'm not aware of any of the other "Captains" (yeah I realise she's only just a Captain) killing so many people.

Certainly not Picard.
Kirk? a few but only if it was life-or-death.
Sisko? hmm killed Dukat in a fight to the death. Of course got drawn into an assassination.
Janeway. Nah.
Archer. Only well really necessary to save lives.

Burnham just kills people for the hell of it it seems. Her death count this season alone is up there with an 80s Arnie movie.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

SMG (Buffy) acts circles around SMG (DSC).

When Sarah acts in heartbroken scenes you actually feel it.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

give me X-Men: Days of Futures Past over DSC any day.

I was mulling over Boomings list of forgotten/dropped plot threads.

Did they explain the music thing?
I maybe switched off or mercifully lost consciousness but what was the point of Grey again? That plot seemed to go nowhere.
Terralisium - was it ever mentioned again?
Earth - any reason the Starfleet didn't use Discovery to message them or float the soap bubble back there? I mean most of the staff looked human.

I also agree with what someone said about the visuals. The might have a massive budget but someone look cheap this season at times.

The Expanse s2 "Doors and Corners" has an incredible sequence of the 2 pods boarding a secret station while the Roci battles a stealth ship. To me this looks amazing and I don't this it was a big budget show back then.

I was watching Westworld S3 the other day. That's a mega budget show and it really does look stunning (and real).
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 5:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rahul I preferred S2 to this one too.

"New Eden" (my personal favourite) and "If Memory Serves" are probably the only 2 episodes I'd rewatch. Nothing from S3 was memorable enough for me. Way too much mindless action (and annoying Burnham).

Basically if Burnham annoys you then this show is going to be a tough watch.

Someone mentioned Buffy/Angel. DSC isn't fit to lick the boots of those 2 shows. Cheap and cheesy they may be but they're vastly superior in writing and acting to anything DSC has produced.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 6:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I guess the further up the ranks she goes the harder and harder it's going to be to disobey orders.

At least there won't be another mutiny.

Hey maybe Burnham will run Star Fleet by the end of s6. I mean she only caused a war, got her captain and many others killed. Disobeyed almost every order. Got demoted. Then disobeyed some more orders. Then got promoted. So it makes sense if you (don't) think about it (at all).

Maybe s4 will be all about the characterless bridge officers constantly disobeying her every order. I'd watch that.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 4:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Good riddance DSC.

1 star for the Episode. 1.5 for the season. Not wasting my time on s4. So many better shows out there. This is barely even sci-fi anyway - just drivel.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 2:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@MarkG I have a horrible feeling that's where this is heading. It will probably involve some tears too.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 9:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Oh Stamets. I blanked him from my mind for some reason. His character - what little there is of it - is an utter disgrace to Star Fleet. Completely unprofessional at all times. Get some DNA from him and ditch him.

At least Burnham is useful in a super hero way. Stamets is just one of endless amazing engineers with some DNA.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Frakes is certainly a fine director. He made this mess almost enjoyable.

So many ridiculous scenes.

Earlier in the season was had a bad "The Running Man" rip off now we have a bad "Die Hard" rip off. I'm not sure what the aim is here by taking good/classic movies and making bad versions of them with Michael in the Arnie/Bruce roles.. anyway.. that was the least of the ridiculousness.

DSC is best if you try hard (REALLY hard) not to try and make sense of it because the whole negotiations made no sense. Glancing through a treaty. Expecting someone to stand for their crimes (when they obviously don't consider them crimes), the federation becoming capitalist. Some drivel about history (which smacked of trying to make this relevant to today's issues of statues being torn down and previously heroic figures now being branded racists etc).

Burnham's leg wound didn't seem to bleed nearly enough (Reminded me of Daryl in Walking Dead getting a very similar wound last season and he almost bled out in a couple of minutes and certainly could hobble about and crawl in tunnels). She IS a superhero though.

I seem to remember Book saying something like "Tilly, you're our best hope" which made me laugh at least.

I'm having trouble remembering most of it. A blur of action and ridiculous scenes.

It wasn't boring at least which add half a star or maybe a star for me.

The bad guys were completely incompetent but the Star Wars droids came to save the day.

I just don't care anymore. Please god let it just end. I think season 4 will be on my "watch list" on Netflix for quite a while along with stuff like Umbrella Acedemy which I just never get around to.

Why wasn't Blonde Girl in the bridge crew? I like Blonde Girl.

Burnham cried twice for those that like to count such things.

Still, it had entertaining moments. 1.5 stars from me (Predicted Jammer Rating: 3 stars).
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 4:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Christ on a bike how bad does DSC have to be to get less than 2 stars? Jammer praises a lot of things on their potential rather than what's in the actual show in my opinion.

Nevertheless a nicely written review anyway.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

and when Discovery is inevitably recovered the Admiral will ask Saru to step down.Burnham (having solved The Burn and saved Star Fleet) will be promoted. Saru will be happy back in the science officer role with Tilly as First Officer. Cue crying and hugging. Smiles from Detmer and Owo and reaction shots from Token Asian/Black bridge crew and beaming smile from the pretty blonde.

I hope I'm wrong.

I can't imagine what could save this season/series.

Book and Adira have proved largely pointless since, yet again, they haven't developed them at all. (Why do we need so many engineers again? Reno the one joke snark machine included).

As @Nick said above. VOY's characters seem much more like real (and professional) people by the end of season 1. I'm enjoying a bit of a VOY and ENT rewatch right now myself.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Frank A. Booze

Yes Indeed. I love normal universe Georgiou for the couple of episodes we get her for. I think she'd have made a great captain. Burnham's actions resulting ultimately in her death (and the war etc) made the character almost irredeemable. MU Georgiou is such a complete waste.

I know she's saved the universe (twice maybe, probably about to be a 3rd) but I just can't get past that. It's not like she served 10 years in prison. She was almost immediately released and put into a vital role. I guess she's supposed to be THAT brilliant but it just doesn't work for me.

I'd have happily watched a show with normal Georgiou as captain with a toned-down Burnham in the "Spock" role. Exploring strange new worlds or stuck on a station full of brilliantly written characters.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 5:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

We could discuss how the doctor was reborn via the mushroom world.

No. Let's not.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.