Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 33 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@gerontius unfortunately it has. People coming here to give opinions - fine, thats the point. But the condescending walls of text from people.. some of which don't even was the show is kinda killing vibe.

It's just a sci-fi show guys. Lets try and keep it civil - no opinion is more or less valid than another
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

The science has never made any sense in Star Trek. Time Warping round the sun... Heisenberg compensators (to make the impossible possible) for beaming... "Fun with DNA" (Voyager mostly) etc etc. One day these things might be possi le, after all aeroplanes were impossible not so very long ago and going too fast in a train was thought to kill to. So we should probably try to curb our arrogance on what maybe or not possible a few hundred years from now.

The science in The Expanse is fantastic but then it probably only seems that way because its only a 100 years or so in the future.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

4 stars all day long. (When the XBs were gunned down wondered how many boring "this is not Star Trek" posts there would be).

1000 word essays of nit-picking and acting like some writing god don't change that.

Great acting and story aside the cinematography is beautiful in pretty much every scene.

Sirtis and Frakes were great too.

Only 3 episodes to go.. wah.

I'm just so happy this has turned out x100 better than ST:DSC.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 4:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

This is not Star Trek.

Just wanted to be the first to say that even if it's drivel.

Looking forward to watching it in 12 hours or so when it's released here.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Henson yep my parents would definitely argue that TOS is the best of those 3. It's amazing that Star Trek in it's vastly different forms has endured. I'd rather it be on the air (even if it's DSC... sigh) than not at all.

Never enough sci-fi on TV.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi i know you weren't talking to me but reputation wise i think you're right DS9 (rather than TNG) would definitely have the worst reputation of the 3. Maybe that has changed a little over time. People appear to have warmed to it over the years.

Personally DS9 became my favourite instantly (even with the slightly wobbly first 2 seasons). I always found TNG too stiff on whole with the occasional exception episode. I actually couldn't stand Picard at all at first. I grew up with Kirk. I ended up liking him and TNG just find though.

I never did like Janeway and her dictatorship though. Seven came along excellently to actually make some good debate and tension (I never cared about the catsuits and I'm male too - I don't watch sci-fi for that). So glad to see her back, if only briefly. She is a damn fine actress.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@booming "Not that I looked that much." Why bother to even reply then?

The ratings on TNG's first 3 seasons (from roughly the same number of votes as each PIC episode) are generally under 7. Looking for a trend in 5 episodes is a little fatuous. There's no trend there at all. The only conclusion you could really draw is that TNG sucked at least half of it's entire run. I don't believe that at all. I largely enjoyed it. Why does it matter so much to you that other people hate it as much as you anyway?

I like it, plenty of people do. Plenty of people hate it. You seem to have a person crusade to somehow prove that everyone who likes it is wrong and needs to be converted using some kind of a scientific method. You'll never prove that because to quote my favourite film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWdd6_ZxX8c

Anyway I think I've made my point as much as I care to. If you have the spare time to @ everyone and nitpick everything they say to convert them to your thinking, go for it. It's your life.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi fair enough. you don't like this version of Star Trek. I didn't like (Star Trek) Enterprise even after they added the Star Trek to it's title.

@Booming i guess you're the resident comedian, minus the comedy. In terms of a study, there's a few - Google (or don't). Just make more "clever" remarks at people.

Also there's a few some interesting studies on the kind of people that even write reviews online (only 1.5% do). There's also a few studies saying the exact opposite.... so yeah. So it's either a fact or it isn't depending on what you choose to believe.

That probably explains why Picard has 8.4 on IMDB yet you have to have scroll through loads of pages of 1 out 10 rage monsters with varying versions of "this is not star trek. 16.1k ratings. Under 600 reviews.

I found this amusing "...people who write online reviews are more likely to buy things in unusual sizes, make returns, be married, have more children, be younger and less wealthy, and have graduate degrees than the average consumer" Well I only tick 2 of those boxes so I guess I should leave lol.

Personally i think it would be literally impossible to create a Star Trek today that wouldn't cause rage on message boards.. well it wasn't back in the days of dial-up and bulletin boards either come to think of it.

A non-trek fan told me this morning he binged the first 5 episodes over the weekend and really enjoyed them. He said "tbh I think Stewart could advertise Cat Litter and I'd enjoy it".

The real world is still 10 times bleaker than the world of PIC.

Looking forward to episode 6.

The real question is who will be first in with the "this is not Star Trek" when Jammer opens the comments.
Set Bookmark
Grey Cat
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@lynos "And it seem to me like two camps have been established when it comes to the latest Trek: the first camp, mostly consisting of longtime Trek fans, dislikes the new shows. The other camp, consisting of both Trek fans and the non-initiated, reacts to them positively and accepts them on their own terms, i.e, they are not judged in the context of the whole of Trek."

Interesting point. Although it could more like the reviews are like the ones for drugs (legal). People mostly leave a review if they hate the effect or have some horrible reaction. There could be a huge amount of peoplie silently enjoying PIC.

Ive seen all Trek since the first pilot with Pike till now and i'm thoroughly enjoying this continuation. This is Not Trek is dull as Jammer says (although rather ruins his review by making a rant about that very topic). TNG wasn't trek when it came out, neither as DS9. Voyager was more warmly welcomed (at first) since it was female kirk being badass with an ironing board shaped ship on strange new worlds.

With all due respect. Please stop the "this is not trek" rubbish. It's been argued to death for around 30 years.

Many of my non trek fan friends watch enjoyed DSC. It was just ok to me. Mostly due to SMGs acting and the lack of any deceng characters besides Pike. It had its moments.

Thoroughly enjoying PIC. 7 or 8 out of 10 episode. Enjoyed last weeks a bit more but great to see Seven
Set Bookmark
Earl Grey. Cold.
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 6:12am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I would like to see some science fiction again. Space action/drama, which Trek has been for longer than a decade, just doesn't do it for me.
Set Bookmark
Grey
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

This episode seemed to tone down the action hijinks a lot more which I really appreciated, and it gave a lot more time towards some very thoughtful discussion which made this episode feel very "trek" like, I enjoyed this one plenty enough! Though they have brought back the spore drive which opened up a few old questions about why we don't see it later and there is the whole matter of Tilly's friend which adds on yet another layer of mystery that I am totally interested to see how they unravel...
Set Bookmark
Grey
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Anson Mount's Pike was fantastic and the visuals for this were stunning. I am very much excited for the rest of this season if this is the kind of quality we're gonna get! Also am very glad that blue tint is gone, things seemed so much more... alive? I suppose!
Set Bookmark
Duke of Earl Grey
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

For everyone complaining that this episode ripped off "Nosedive" from Black Mirror, you could just as easily claim Black Mirror ripped off "App Development and Condiments" from Community (the MeowMeowBeenz episode), which aired two years previously. Or maybe this aspect of modern culture is just ripe for satire, and everyone's taking a similar tack without necessarily copying each other.
Set Bookmark
Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Fifth Season Recap

I have nothing but praise for DS9's production values. But for a series so focused on plot continuity, I always find DS9 sorely lacking in twists and turns.

In rewatching the first 5 seasons I cannot think of one standout "shock" moment save perhaps for the revelation that Bashir had been a shapeshifter for months. But that was a plot development that had no consequence whatsoever.

I still fail to understand DS9's appeal as the "best Trek", let alone the best sci-fi series ever. This is meant to be sci-fi but it's so monotone that the feel is like watching wallpaper. It's not boring, it's just "there". It's well produced science fiction, but that's all.

Perhaps there is comfort in predictability, in knowing your favorite characters will be on the screen next week in the same form. No one dies or leaves (this is rectified in S6, sort of), nothing much changes except a promotion or a relationship. Like a warm blanket that is there for you night after night.

I've come to the realization that it's an extraordinarily safe show, but perhaps my expectations were raised after nothing but hearing constant praise 15 years after I last saw it.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Mon, Nov 30, 2015, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I just watched this episode recently and had the recurring thought - Guest Starring: Ray Price as Boothby as Burgess Meredith as Mickey.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Mon, Nov 30, 2015, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

To those arguing the timeline of Seven's age and the time of the Hansen's explorations: This was addressed in Q-Who - Borg Maturation Chambers; it's possible Seven's growth/age was accelerated by a number of years when she was assimilated....how many assimilated small children have we seen running around in Borg ships? Not many.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Fri, Aug 21, 2015, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Genocide is the only answer for war mongering races.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Thu, Aug 20, 2015, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

It makes me proud to be a ST fan to see that even after all these years, these shows still spark passionate and relevant debate.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Thu, Aug 20, 2015, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I just imagine Gates as she appeared in the tv series "Dream On" - showing alot of skin and some tits that is - and I can beat off to this episode. It takes awhile admittedly, but I get there eventually.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Wed, Aug 19, 2015, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I always cut Sonya Gomez some slack because she is walking around with that third breast.(Cookie for you if you know what I am talking about).
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Ahh the episode with "Treevis and Trunkhead"
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@Mike - Guinan(the El Aurians) and the Q have a history. See "Q Who" Knowing Q and The Q, I hardly think Guinan was unprovoked.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Re: "Leah"(supposedly Brahms) - The message to all you geeks out there from the writers - "If you obsess over snd stalk a woman long enough, eventually she will marry you"

This has been your completely non-contributory and useless comment of the day.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Fri, Aug 14, 2015, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

@Robert - I am Libertarian, so you'll get no argument from me there, but it seems that leftist liberals have the upper hand in the media and the public eye these days, so naturally I'm going to go after the bigboy first.

The left wants to control your thoughts/speech and money while the right wants to control you morals, beliefs and sexuality.

Pick your poison.
Set Bookmark
Shoregrey
Fri, Aug 14, 2015, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

I have noticed that the episodes considered bad are always much more highly commented on in most cases than good episodes or average ones.

That being said, I am one of those sci-fi fans that can turn my brain off and just enjoy stoopid, silly fun for what it is. This episode has a very TOS feel for me, as others have commented.

I dont mind the occasional foray into the absurd and silly, but admittedly some episodes do this much better than others. This is one of my favorites, especially considering how heavy and emotionally involving the series becomes later on.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.