Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 142 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Glad you are ok Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I hope Jammer is ok. Considering the time in which we live, him not reviewing the recent episode before the new episode airs is slightly concerning.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Happy 25 years Jammer. I found this site through the Trekbbs and I've been following it ever since. I'm glad you've kept up with it with the current era of Star Trek. I also agree with the review for this recent episode. So much better than last week, and it's probably my favorite episode of the season so far.
Set Bookmark
Gregory
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

This was the best episode since the pilot. I hope Jammer likes it.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Tue, Feb 11, 2020, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Jammer,

Hugh was mentioned by name. It was quick, but Soji mentions his name late in the episode.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

I must agree with Brundledan's assessment of this episode. The make up was garish. The camera angles and closeups were distracting. With Frank Gorshin running up and down the corridors in his tights I was half expecting Batman to make an appearance. It was overall a terrible episode and surely helped give the third season its well deserved reputation for being uneven. It has all the subtlety of an H-bomb. And yet while preaching about the dangers of racism it is itself guilty of much the same sin. "Cheron, that's the Southernmost part of the galaxy, isn't it?" That quote pretty much presupposes the concept of us and them and that we are better.
This isn't quite as bad as And the Children Shall Lead or The Way to Eden but it's so close the distinction is hardly worth noticing. Way too preachy, way too presumptuous and in the final analysis guilty of hypocrisy while at the same time being oblivious to the fact.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Aron Eisenberg passed away last night and I watched this episode again in Tribute. Still one of the best episodes of the series, and probably the best holodeck episode of the series.

RIP Aron.
Set Bookmark
Original Greg
Wed, Jun 12, 2019, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

I thought this was a fair though not great episode if for no other reason that the fact, noted by other commenters, that this episode had a Twilight Zone feel to it. It pretty much was Roddenberry meets Serling. I think it rates about 2.5 stars.
I haven't read all the comments on this page but I'm a bit surprised that no one seems to have mentioned that DeForest Kelly had been in two separate remakes of Gunfight at the O.K. Corral prior to this one.
I have to kind of suspect that they had a partial Western stage set up and the writers were asked to somehow incorporate it into an episode. The fact that Kelly had been in two previous incarnations of the O.K. Corral had to be the genesis for this episode.
It's main weakness does seem to be that there just wasn't enough dialogue to fill 50 minutes so there seemed to be a bit of fluff here and there. And the Western characters all had a cardboard cutout quality to them but that may have been the intention to add to the surreal effect.
As for the commenter that objected to Spock knowing about a 400 year old piece of Earth history....come on, it's Spock. It fits his character perfectly. He's half Vulcan, a species that is mentally superior to humans. And he is half human, so he would have a special interest in humanity. And the guy was a genius by any standards, so yeah he has Earth history down pat. And if all that isn't enough he under goes ponn farr just once every seven years. Just think how much smarter the average guy would be if he didn't spent so much time and energy on sex.
And in the final, errie shootout scene did any one notice that the off camera wind machine had to be turned up to high and was blowing 90 degrees to the path of the supposed bullets? This was because the shots were being fired point blank at the actors and they needed a high wind speed to deflect any blast debris away from them.
And I have to say the best comment on this page was given by the guy that said, "There is no spoon." Perfect!
Finally, for what it's worth I have noticed that there is another commenter on this site named Greg so I have changed my nick to Original Greg.
Set Bookmark
AggregatVier
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Just finished watching this episode. The Crystal (you can't assume it's an "entity") travels at warp speed seeking out "life" to consume (destroy). If this crystal had been around for any considerable length of time there would be a much broader path of destruction in the immediate warp range the Federation is capable of in several years time. In other words, it would be very likely there would no longer be any life left in within the Federation's warp range. Just look at what it was able to devastate within a very few days time. So, why no consideration this crystal was a deliberately created and released weapon of mass destruction within Federation space. A bio-destroy weapon of unimaginable evil and viciousness? That any communication would already be with a war machine?

Or would others rather talk it out and reach a compromise with Hitler?

Destroying it was the only rational course of action. The Doctor is a hero who killed an uncompromising weapon of war while Picard was moralizing genocide.

Picard should have been court martialed for dereliction of duty and the trivialization of human life that would undoubtedly affect any of his future command decisions.

But, then again, what can you expect from copies?
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Dom

When I wrote my post it was referring to the article you posted, as I replied to him in a Facebook group. That’s where the whole character paragraph comes from. It was a great read.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That finale was something else. It was full of action, but on thinking about it more, it kind of angers me.

I think my biggest issue with Discovery is two fold: It lacks an identity and the writers cut too many corners to give us emotional moments that are not earned.

What is Star Trek Discovery? What is it's place in the Star Trek Mythos? What I saw in Season 2 was Discovery sidelined in favor of Star Trek mysticism. Pike was great, Spock was decent, but it feels like fans are so entrenched in the original series for some reason (A series that only lasted 3 seasons, by the way) that Star Trek as a whole always has to revert back to that series. Why can't Discovery stand on it's own. Hell, we end season 2 with the Enterprise and not the Discovery. That is a big disservice to Discovery in my opinion.

You were talking about the characters in your piece and I think the character who got the shortest shrift was Paul Stamets. Stamets was a great character in season 1, going from arrogant to standing his ground against Lorca and what he has worked for. In season 2 he's just pining for Culber all year. Anthony Rapp deserves better because he's a much better actor than that.

In terms of cutting corners, look no further than Airiam's death scene. The writers take so much time writing a clip show for this character because they were too lazy to actually work on a character arc for her the prior season and a half. We were lead to believe that these characters are important, then why did the writers treat them as furniture prior to this. The same can be said for the entire secondary bridge crew. We then have scenes with these people writing letters home and it feels empty because why should I care about these people when the writers don't.

I hate how Burnham centric this show is. Everything has to revolve around her, and it makes me roll my eyes. I'm not going to get into a Mary Sue debate, but by making her the Red Angel, did the writers pretty much elevate her to a deity. Also, that story with her mom was a big waste of time. Also, can she stop crying? Every episode this season she is crying and it's ridiculous. She's the most emotionally sad character I've seen in Star Trek and she's the lead.

I hope season 3 is a reboot of the series, and this time they actually give a damn for the characters they write. I don't want Star Trek. I want Star Trek Discovery. That's what the show is called and they should be front and center. By having the final shot of the finale being the Enterprise going on it's mission, that was a spit in the face to the two seasons of Star Trek Discovery, like These are the Voyages was a spit in the face to Star Trek Enterprise (According to many in fandom).
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

No, but I like the thought.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

So we get 2 4.5 star reviews in a row. Is Jammer turning around his feelings about Orville as a whole? I'm a little surprised and a little impressed.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I called this episode over-waught in sentimentality. I don’t remember many shows (Star Trek or otherwise) having this much crying, and then it feels like the entire crew is bowing at the feet of Burnham and it’s really hard to connect with the emotions this series wants us to connect. For example there was a scene where we see the characters writing letters to families and like Airiam Death, it felt unearned. Compare this to say A Call to Arms in terms of goodbyes and there is much more gravitas to it. Granted we know the characters more but that’s provided by the writing of those characters. We want to see this succeed, we understand why Sisko is pissed at Jake staying on the station. That’s what character development is.

In this series we never see these people as people, except for Burnham and occasionally Suru and Tilly. Heck, even Stamets has been sidelined this season to relationship drama. We haven’t seen this connection the crew supposedly has with Burnham, so those scenes in the episode feel empty.

My favorite episode this season is If Memory Serves and not just because it was the long awaited sequel to the Cage. It was an episode that slowed down and allowed these characters to be actually people. The scene with Pike and Vina, or the scenes with Burnham and Spock really delivered the emotional weight those scenes deserved.

The last few episodes have shown more crying and more emotional baggage than probably the entire franchise combined. Melodrama for the sake of melodrama doesn’t work unless it’s earned. This series is basically cutting corners and leaving all the important stuff on the cutting room floor. It’s a shame because I do think this season is better for the most part than season 1 but it’s ending like season 1 ended, with the feeling the series can be so much more.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'm starting to get really confused by this storyline. The mystery seems to be dissipating in favor of AI Terminator II style Judgement Day. Because of that, I wasn't really a fan of this episode and unfortunately that seems to be the thing that wraps up this season.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

The more I think about this episode the more I didn't like it and it's because of the one thing this show does that I hate. The smaller characters are not developed at all, so when we get a big episode featuring one of them, it rings a little hallow. I mean Burnham and Airiam were friends? Since when?

The scene where Airiam is sharing memories of her hanging out with Tilly and Detmer is a clear example of why this series doesn't develop these people all that well. If she was an important character in death, she should have almost been an important character in life too.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Kudos to Trek Fan for the best and most thought provoking analysis of this episode. You are spot on.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I enjoy reading your reviews Jammer, and this one was no exception. However, I thought the Jar of pickles was not hopelessly corny, but kinda sweet. I'm going to miss Alara. She was a great character and I loved her two big episodes last year (Command Performance and Firestorm).
Set Bookmark
Greg L. Turnquist
Sun, Dec 23, 2018, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

This is my favorite DS9 episode, possibly favorite episode of the entire ST franchise.

The way it depicts Sisko in such an anti-hero fashion. With such a believable twist of character driven by the threat of war. Well...you have already captured that.

But the fact that it cuts away the ensemble cast and lets Robinson and Avery have the full stage makes it a high quality play. Seeing the back and forth between Garek and Sisko gives me fuzzies.

Everytime I rewatch DS9, I can't help but get excited in every episode which they place Garek. The acting is incredible. Compare that with something like Smallville, where the only "good" acting was the actor portraying Lex.

The creator of DS9, Ira Behr, had always felt TOS and TNG were too "pure" and wanted a different environment. One subject to breakdowns and frailties. Well this episode really shines in depicting such a realistic visage.

That combined with the Section 31 episodes + the moral ambiguities shown with Gul Dukat makes for a relishing series that quickly erased any initial concerns of "how can they create a Star Trek without a starship???"
Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Fun and interesting episode, but why didn't Professor Galen simply come on board the Enterprise, tell Picard what he had discovered, and enlisted Picard and the Enterprise to complete his discovery? As he himself indicated, he could have completed the whole thing in a couple of weeks that way. And Picard would have been happy to oblige him.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Maybe this has been addressed already or maybe the episode addressed this and I just missed it, but it seems like to me a much larger issue than 82 civilians who got slaughtered is why is this earth like planet now uninhabited? Did everyone on this planet get wiped out somehow? Because if anyone inhabited this planet surely Voyager would have contacted them.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I've been liking Discovery so far, but I really hope the review mentions how this spore drive technology is taken straight out of Voyager's Equinox storyline. With all this talk about Orville not being original, Discovery is basically borrowing something Voyager did and making an arc out of it. I wouldn't say that's original either.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

That episode and the doomsday machine episode were two of the best in my opinion. Each one is like a movie. Of course balance of terror in what are little girls made of are third and fourth.

Roddenberry was able to put together the finest cast and guest stars in to get the absolute most out of his actors in that first season.

Could Kirk have returned to retrieve Edith Keeler? When would think if there was any possibility of that he would have done so. And why not go back in time to retrieve Spock's girlfriend left in the icy wasteland of 5000 years ago while he's at it? Perhaps by bringing them forward in time they would damage the future in some unknown way. Maybe they wouldn't prevent some cosmic catastrophe from happening because they were busy with their lovers instead. We can only speculate.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Skeptical,
If memory serves the salt creature did plead for its life after McCoy shot it for the first time. "Leonard No!"
Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Skeptical,
Very astute analysis of the episode. I too noticed the religious overtones of Mitchel creating the garden, and then completely missed the significance of him being the one that hands the apple to Dehner. And no, I, like you, can't believe for a minute that is was unintentional.
I also find it interesting that you postulate that Mitchell may not have been a really good person from the beginning and that Dehner was, and this might have been the thing that allowed her to hold onto her humanity long enough to realize that Mitchell had to die. I had always assumed that it was simply because she was not as far along in the process as Mitchell and that eventually she would also succumb to the temptation to be amoral. We do apparently both agree that Kellerman turned in a great performance as Dehner.
In any event you had some great insights about the episode that I had never considered.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.