Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Sun, May 1, 2016, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Horrible. I want to see the trial once they get back. This episode was one of the worst ever in all of television, even black and white and color television shows. Horrendous.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Fri, Apr 22, 2016, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Hello. The Ferengi are space Jews, as offensive as that may be, it's just the way it is. The overt racism that went into creating the Ferengi makes it very difficult for me to ever enjoy episodes revolving around them. Anyone who doesn't understand this is living in a fantasy world. TV writers are racist, too. The Ferengi are the worst atrocity to come out of the Trek franchise, it's too bad nobody ever figured that out and its also too bad no one ever figured out that they weren't funny, in that their only reason for existence was comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Sun, Apr 17, 2016, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

I'm sorry, but as good as this episode is, Visitors' over the top melodramatic delivery comes close to ruining it. Fortunately the great writing and Yulins superb award-deserving acting come in and save the day. Nana is the worst actor on the show, and much like the infamous Beverly, gets too many chances to prove it.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Sun, Apr 17, 2016, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Only sports hating nerds would predict a future earth where there is no more baseball. Come on now. No money, no hunger, no wars, no baseball? What will they do with their free time?
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Wed, Apr 13, 2016, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Nagus

So I guess attempted murder isn't illegal when it's a Ferengi. I was kind of disappointed when they didn't say "bars of gold-pressed latinum"27 times in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Thu, Apr 7, 2016, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Peter
"Star Trek is fundamentally a show about science,"
I have to disagree. Star Trek is an outer-space adventure show that creates new and frequently preposterous science to propel its stories and develop its characters and plot lines, very rarely does it introduce any original scientific material or ideas. Not to say it's never original and/or successful in its execution of the stories themselves, if it weren't I wouldn't be such a fan. To say it's a show about science is like saying The Walking Dead is a show about viruses.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 3:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Why doesn't the universal translator recognize the Klingon language?
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Correction:
I love the Star Trek franchise.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I'd like to set the reset button to a time when I never saw this episode.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

What happened to Troi's lips?
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Tue, Apr 5, 2016, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

@Chrome
"Plausible"may be the word I was looking for.
Or maybe "possible".
Hyperspace works because Asimov introduces us to a hypothetical phenomena that exists outside of our physical universe, so it is not a slave to our laws. Warp drive attempts the same with its "folding" of space, but is then constantly misused as just another way of going real fast. I remember an episode where they used their momentum at warp speed to carry them through an anomaly safely with the engines turned off. If they could do this, why wouldn't they do it all the time and save on plasma or whatever it is they use for propulsion. (If their speed with warp drive off is anywhere near light speed then it is an impossibility in our physical universe.) Is it folding space or moving real fast. It can't be both.
I just recently started to read these reviews, and I was seeing a lot of people liking or criticising episodes for their under or over use of sci fi themes, and bashing episodes because of their scientific impossibility and I just felt like saying something. I love Star Trek, but if I based my opinion of the show on its scientific accuracy I would have stopped watching a long time ago. (It's true, this comment was not specific to "Masks").
That being said, this wasn't a bad episode because it wasn't good sci fi, it was bad because it didn't mean anything or make any sense in our universe, of course this is just my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Tue, Apr 5, 2016, 4:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

Worthless garbage. Saw it in the theatre and laughed out loud during the yoda fight. Only one of the series that I haven't seen multiple times. George Lucas died and now his doppelganger has taken over the franchise. Thank God for Disney.
Set Bookmark
Greg Q
Tue, Apr 5, 2016, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

As much of a fan of the franchise as i am, I have never considered any of the series good science fiction. Good science fiction presents futuristic stories and ideas that may be out there, but ultimately are believable. Holodeck, transporters, replicators, interspecies procreation, universal translaters, a utopian Earth where there's no more war or hunger or money for Pete's sake, medical instruments that not only heal wounds instantly but also vaporize the clotted blood on the skin, warp drive that bends space yet also moves through it whilst the stars go streaking by, cloaking devices that not only cloak the ship but somehow its occupants at the same time: these are all impossibilities that we look past because we like the characters and stories, but let's stop referring to it as science fiction. It's science fantasy at best. That said, this was an horrendous science fantasy story.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.