Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Aron Eisenberg passed away last night and I watched this episode again in Tribute. Still one of the best episodes of the series, and probably the best holodeck episode of the series.

RIP Aron.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Dom

When I wrote my post it was referring to the article you posted, as I replied to him in a Facebook group. That’s where the whole character paragraph comes from. It was a great read.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That finale was something else. It was full of action, but on thinking about it more, it kind of angers me.

I think my biggest issue with Discovery is two fold: It lacks an identity and the writers cut too many corners to give us emotional moments that are not earned.

What is Star Trek Discovery? What is it's place in the Star Trek Mythos? What I saw in Season 2 was Discovery sidelined in favor of Star Trek mysticism. Pike was great, Spock was decent, but it feels like fans are so entrenched in the original series for some reason (A series that only lasted 3 seasons, by the way) that Star Trek as a whole always has to revert back to that series. Why can't Discovery stand on it's own. Hell, we end season 2 with the Enterprise and not the Discovery. That is a big disservice to Discovery in my opinion.

You were talking about the characters in your piece and I think the character who got the shortest shrift was Paul Stamets. Stamets was a great character in season 1, going from arrogant to standing his ground against Lorca and what he has worked for. In season 2 he's just pining for Culber all year. Anthony Rapp deserves better because he's a much better actor than that.

In terms of cutting corners, look no further than Airiam's death scene. The writers take so much time writing a clip show for this character because they were too lazy to actually work on a character arc for her the prior season and a half. We were lead to believe that these characters are important, then why did the writers treat them as furniture prior to this. The same can be said for the entire secondary bridge crew. We then have scenes with these people writing letters home and it feels empty because why should I care about these people when the writers don't.

I hate how Burnham centric this show is. Everything has to revolve around her, and it makes me roll my eyes. I'm not going to get into a Mary Sue debate, but by making her the Red Angel, did the writers pretty much elevate her to a deity. Also, that story with her mom was a big waste of time. Also, can she stop crying? Every episode this season she is crying and it's ridiculous. She's the most emotionally sad character I've seen in Star Trek and she's the lead.

I hope season 3 is a reboot of the series, and this time they actually give a damn for the characters they write. I don't want Star Trek. I want Star Trek Discovery. That's what the show is called and they should be front and center. By having the final shot of the finale being the Enterprise going on it's mission, that was a spit in the face to the two seasons of Star Trek Discovery, like These are the Voyages was a spit in the face to Star Trek Enterprise (According to many in fandom).
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

No, but I like the thought.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

So we get 2 4.5 star reviews in a row. Is Jammer turning around his feelings about Orville as a whole? I'm a little surprised and a little impressed.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I called this episode over-waught in sentimentality. I don’t remember many shows (Star Trek or otherwise) having this much crying, and then it feels like the entire crew is bowing at the feet of Burnham and it’s really hard to connect with the emotions this series wants us to connect. For example there was a scene where we see the characters writing letters to families and like Airiam Death, it felt unearned. Compare this to say A Call to Arms in terms of goodbyes and there is much more gravitas to it. Granted we know the characters more but that’s provided by the writing of those characters. We want to see this succeed, we understand why Sisko is pissed at Jake staying on the station. That’s what character development is.

In this series we never see these people as people, except for Burnham and occasionally Suru and Tilly. Heck, even Stamets has been sidelined this season to relationship drama. We haven’t seen this connection the crew supposedly has with Burnham, so those scenes in the episode feel empty.

My favorite episode this season is If Memory Serves and not just because it was the long awaited sequel to the Cage. It was an episode that slowed down and allowed these characters to be actually people. The scene with Pike and Vina, or the scenes with Burnham and Spock really delivered the emotional weight those scenes deserved.

The last few episodes have shown more crying and more emotional baggage than probably the entire franchise combined. Melodrama for the sake of melodrama doesn’t work unless it’s earned. This series is basically cutting corners and leaving all the important stuff on the cutting room floor. It’s a shame because I do think this season is better for the most part than season 1 but it’s ending like season 1 ended, with the feeling the series can be so much more.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'm starting to get really confused by this storyline. The mystery seems to be dissipating in favor of AI Terminator II style Judgement Day. Because of that, I wasn't really a fan of this episode and unfortunately that seems to be the thing that wraps up this season.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

The more I think about this episode the more I didn't like it and it's because of the one thing this show does that I hate. The smaller characters are not developed at all, so when we get a big episode featuring one of them, it rings a little hallow. I mean Burnham and Airiam were friends? Since when?

The scene where Airiam is sharing memories of her hanging out with Tilly and Detmer is a clear example of why this series doesn't develop these people all that well. If she was an important character in death, she should have almost been an important character in life too.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I enjoy reading your reviews Jammer, and this one was no exception. However, I thought the Jar of pickles was not hopelessly corny, but kinda sweet. I'm going to miss Alara. She was a great character and I loved her two big episodes last year (Command Performance and Firestorm).
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I've been liking Discovery so far, but I really hope the review mentions how this spore drive technology is taken straight out of Voyager's Equinox storyline. With all this talk about Orville not being original, Discovery is basically borrowing something Voyager did and making an arc out of it. I wouldn't say that's original either.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I'm very happy I didn't need to wait three years for the Beyond review. Thanks Jammer.

I don't agree with your star ratings but I enjoy your reviews. I thought Beyond was a 3 Star film and Into Darkness was a 2.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Mon, Dec 29, 2014, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

So Jammer, are you going to review Into Darkness before the two year anniversary of the film? Yeah I know you're busy being a father and that's great, but you did do a review of Intersteller. Does it really take a year and a half to formulate thoughts about a Star Trek movie?
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer,

Just curious if you are going to write a review for this movie. It's been out for over a year. Of course there is no rush. Hope your daughter is doing great and life is good for you and yours.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Mar 27, 2013, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Great review Jammer. This episode was not just about the plot, as many plotholes as it was, but it was about the people with Picard (As it should have been) serving as the center. This episode represents all that is great about TNG and why I love it as my favorite series. Yeah DS9 is awesome too, but TNG really does have that nostalgia feel and it was the trek that I grew up with.

I do wonder, which review was longer, this or your review for What you Lave Behind. This review felt kind of like a review not just for the finale, but a look at the series as a whole, kind of like how you did the recap write ups for DS9, VOY, and Enterprise. This review was worth the wait, and I'm really happy that my favorite series finale not just of Trek, but of all time, got the 4 stars on this site.

Thanks for Everything Jammer, and again, fantastic review.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

Could we say that The Homecoming might be DS9's most underrated premiere episode? It sure seems that way. I watched it and the entire trilogy tonight and it still holds up really well. Loved the scenes on Cardassia 4, and Li Nalas having to adjust to being the symbol the Bajorans see him as.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Circle

One thing that struck me about the scenes with Winn, Kira, and Bareil were that the school incident wasn't brought up. It was almost like that whole situation was forgotten, and if you watch ITHOTP and the Circle Trilogy together, that is a little jarring. Really do wish we could have gotten some fallout from the school and what Neela did. I mean while there was no proof, Bareil's life was almost ended by an assassination attempt.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

Surprised there are so few comments to this episode. Just watched the entire trilogy tonight and it holds up very well today. I also agree with Jammer that the best scenes were with Kira and Dax in the small ship. It added a sense of humor to the episode that needed it.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Jammer,

It seems whenever I watch an episode of Trek, I come by here to see what kind of review it's gotten, even if I've read the review many times. Tonight was "Take me out to the Holosuite", which is a very funny episode and probably IMO DS9's best comedy. Yeah I know it was missed placed with the war going on and such, but that's neither here nor there.

What I did want to say was you started this review talking about the Home Run chase with Sosa and McGuire and that kind of made me realize how long ago that happened. This episode was done in 1998, and I was just awed that this episode came out the same year as that chase.

Of course I'm not sure if you're ever going to read this and maybe one of these days you can do a blog post about it, but this was at the height of the Steroid scandal. I wonder if when everything was happening, that soured you, much like everyone else, towards this event or maybe the game as a whole. Also, with the Hall of Fame in a predicament for the next several years, it would be interesting to get your thoughts on it. It just wowed me, though, watching this episode tonight on how long ago that was and where we've come since.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

I think 3 stars is a fair review. This didn't need to be a two parter, but I still think the final dream sequence is one of the best dream sequences in the entire series. It was just a beautiful atmospheric scene with a beautiful score.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, Jun 23, 2012, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

I typically don't like the way Torture is done on TV because I feel like a lot of it is just hollow and does nothing to add to the characters. One show that comes to mind as an example is 24. It seemed like torture was used only as a device and when it happened every week, it borders on more annoying than actually useful.

Despite that though, there are two instances I've seen where Torture added a bunch to an episode, and that's here and DS9's die is cast. It's one thing to torture someone, but what I want to see is how this affects the torturer and the victim on a psychological level. If movies/series/episodes manage that, than the torture scene works.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jul 27, 2011, 3:38am (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Jammer,

I was just curious if you ever went back to finish Andromeda. I have no interest in the show, and know you won't review it, but just as a matter of free time were you ever curious about where the series went post season 2?
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Feb 3, 2011, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

Navamske,

Regarding point two, have you ever watched Quantum leap. I think everyone saw her as Kirina, yet we saw her normally. Not sure if that's a valid nitpick.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Tue, Jun 23, 2009, 1:04am (UTC -6)
Re: Jammer Goes to L.A.: Day 2

Yet you commented on an article that was written 9 years ago. And I thought I was bored.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

I don't know how long it's been since the comments section has been here, but I'm very surprised this episode doesn't get any talk around here, much like Equilibrium. I mean for one Sisko gets promoted to Captain, which was big in and of itself. It needed to be done and I'm glad it was finally done in the season 3 finale. Then you had the revelation about the Changelings being everywhere, and that's a great episode to transition between Season 3 and 4. I wonder if this episode would get more comments if Way of the Warrior hadn't been the premiere, but I'd like to think the real premiere was pushed back with Homefront and Paradise Lost.

As for this one, maybe it's not in the top 3 finales, but it's still a great one anyway. Nice way to end season 3.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, May 30, 2009, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Jammer,

Good review. I liked the movie, but I found myself agreeing with most of what you had to say. This movie was fun, and the character work was great, but in terms of lasting impact and what it had to say, and the plot, I think it could have done a lot better. I just hope with this rebooted version, we don't see a reboot of The Wrath of Kahn or something like that. The whole point of this movie was to give Star Trek a fresh look. Having to retell old stories will not be very good when there is so much possibility to do whatever you want with what you have currently. Perhaps in time they can bring in some familiar faces, but until then, I hope the next one is another new story of something we've never seen before.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.